Medicines Management in Mental Health Care by
Medicines are the most common form of treatment for those with mental health problems worldwide. Medicines Management in Mental Health Care is the first detailed evidence-based medicines management text for mental health practitioners in the UK. Medicines Management in Mental Health Care is divided into two parts. Part one provides mental health nurses and other mental health workers with a detailed understanding of the evidence-base for medicines management covering subjects including psychotropic medication and co-morbidity. Part two addresses the practical implications for clinical practice and provides vital guidance on prescribing and medicines management, working with service users, treatment adherence, evaluation skills and problem solving as well as specific advice relating to the realities of practice. Medicines Management in Mental Health Care is an essential resource for mental health nurses and mental health practitioners. * Discusses evidence-based interventions * Outlines the main types of medicines offered * Discusses co-morbidity * Outlines a model of medicines management * Discusses good prescribing practice
Psychiatric Drugs Explained by
Now in its sixth edition, and written by an author internationally recognised in his field, Psychiatric Drugs Explained offers a wealth of information in a handy easy-to-use format. Organised by disorder, and providing a comprehensive review of drug effects, action and side-effects, this fully updated new edition covers the latest drugs on the market, and explores changes in prescribing practice. The author's approach is distinctive and reader-friendly, to help guide mental health professionals through the benefits and impacts of psychotropic drugs. Additional topics include management of disorders including stimulants and drugs for children, cognitive impairment and sleep disorders. Includes management of disorders including stimulants and drugs for children, cognitive impairment and sleep disorders Gives particular focus on areas that are of major concern to mental health practitioners including management of dependence and withdrawal and issues of consent, abuse and liability 'User Issues' boxes highlight the most crucial aspects of drug effects and their implications Key references point the reader to the most up-to-date research and literature in the field Fresh design and updated artwork gives added appeal to the volume Organised by disorder this new edition now covers the latest drugs on the market and explores changes in prescribing practice Includes updated references pointing the reader to the most recent research and literature in the field
Psychiatric Drugs Explained by
Psychiatric Drugs Explained offers a wealth of evidence-based information on psychiatric drugs in an easy-to-use format that can be quickly referenced in the clinical setting. Written by internationally recognised author Dr David Healy, the book provides a comprehensive review of drug effects, action and side-effects. There is an emphasis on the lived experience of patients, providing the reader with a sense of what the adverse effects of drugs might feel like to those who use them. A reader-friendly approach and clear layout, with information organised by disorder, make this popular title accessible and useful not only to nursing staff, but to all members of the multidisciplinary team. Quick reference guide suitable for all members of the multidisciplinary team Helpful boxes on user issues make potential complications easy to spot Distinctive, reader-friendly style helps the reader understand the benefits and impacts of psychotropic drugs New topics include management of dependence disorders, stimulants and drugs for children, cognitive impairment and sleep disorders The only book with detailed coverage of the sexual side effects of psychiatric drugs and the abusive prescribing of prescription drugs
Medicines Management in Mental Health Nursing by
Medicines are a crucial part of the jigsaw when considering how to provide recovery-focussed care in mental health. It is important that mental health nurses understand how psychiatric drugs work, what the common treatments are and appreciate the ethical and legal dimensions that affect how medicines can and should be used in mental health care. Using innovative activities and real-life case studies, this book has been carefully designed to provide all this and more making it the ideal resource to build knowledge and confidence in this crucial area of practice. Key features · Clear explanations of both the underlying biology and pharmacology as well as the wider practicalities of working with medicines · Provides accessible information on the most common conditions and treatments · Linked to the NMC standards and essential skills clusters · Activities and case studies help students to apply what they have learnt to practice and consider the full impact that medicines will have on service users
Mental Health Medicines Management for Nurses by
Mental Health Medicines Management for Nurses provides nursing students with guidance on how to manage medicines safely and effectively when treating patients with mental health conditions. It outlines how psychiatric drugs work, what the common treatments are, the ethical, legal, and person-centred aspects of working with psychiatric medicines, and how medicines can and should be used in mental health care. Using innovative activities and real-life case studies, this book has been carefully designed to be the ideal resource to build knowledge and confidence in this important area of practice.Key features: Updated in-line with the latest NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses. Includes clear explanations of both the underlying biology and pharmacology as well as the wider practicalities of working with medicines. Highlights the most common mental health conditions and associated treatments, including coverage of the possible side effects for all drugs described in the book. NEW: Increased emphasis on prescribing with new content on consultation, history taking, and decision-making when prescribing. NEW: Updated sections on ethics, consent, pharmacokinetics, antipsychotics, and adverse drug reactions.
Pharmageddon by
This searing indictment, David Healy's most comprehensive and forceful argument against the pharmaceuticalization of medicine, tackles problems in health care that are leading to a growing number of deaths and disabilities. Healy, who was the first to draw attention to the now well-publicized suicide-inducing side effects of many anti-depressants, attributes our current state of affairs to three key factors: product rather than process patents on drugs, the classification of certain drugs as prescription-only, and industry-controlled drug trials. These developments have tied the survival of pharmaceutical companies to the development of blockbuster drugs, so that they must overhype benefits and deny real hazards. Healy further explains why these trends have basically ended the possibility of universal health care in the United States and elsewhere around the world. He concludes with suggestions for reform of our currently corrupted evidence-based medical system.
The Use and Misuse of Psychiatric Drugs by
"Dr. Paris has written an honest, balanced presentation of the ways in which psychiatric drugs are evaluated and prescribed. He highlights the complexity of the task, the limits of what is known and the mixed picture that research often produces. His conclusions are refreshing because they are built from an even-handed, pragmatic assessment of the empirical evidence. The result is a stimulating look at the world of treatments for emotional disorders that acknowledges the usefulness of both biological and psychosocial explanations where appropriate. His recommendations provide helpful roadmaps for patients, practitioners and researchers alike. The book is sure to serve as a welcome catalyst for the continuing debates about which treatments are likely to produce the best outcomes." --Roger P. Greenberg, Ph.D. Distinguished Professor and Head, Psychology Division Dept. of Psychiatry & Behavioral Science SUNY Upstate Medical University, NY, USA The message of this book is that psychiatrists have some very good drugs, but can expect bad results when they are over-used, prescribed outside of evidence-based indications, or given to the wrong patients. While acknowledging that many current agents are highly effective and have revolutionized the treatment of certain disorders, Joel Paris criticizes their use outside of an evidence base. Too many patients are either over-medicated or are misdiagnosed to justify aggressive treatment. Dr. Paris calls for more government funding of clinical trials to establish, without bias, the effectiveness of these agents. He has written this book for practitioners and trainees to show that scientific evidence supports a more cautious and conservative approach to drug therapy. After describing the history of psychopharmacology, including its early successes, Dr. Paris reviews the relationship between psychiatry and the pharmaceutical industry. This problem has received considerable popular attention in recent years and Dr. Paris documents initiatives to increase transparency and decrease the influence of pharmaceutical marketing on diagnosis and prescribing habits. Dr Paris then examines some major controversies. One is the fact that newer drugs have not been shown to be superior to older agents. Another is that while the number of prescriptions for antidepressants has increased dramatically, meta-analyses show that their value is more limited than previously believed. Still another is the widespread prescription of mood stabilizers and antipsychotic drugs for patients, including children and adolescents, who do not have bipolar illness. Polypharmacy is an especially contentious area: very few drug combinations have been tested in clinical trials, yet many patients end up on a cocktail of powerful drugs, each with its own side effects. Dr Paris briefly considers alternatives to pharmacology and again calls for more clinical trials of these approaches. He also discusses the current trend to medicalizing what many would describe as normal distress and states succinctly: Some things in life are worth being upset about.