Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing by
This new edition of a bestselling, evidence-based textbook provides a comprehensive overview of psychiatric and mental health nursing. Keeping service users and their recovery at the centre of care, the holistic approach will help nurses to gain the tools and understanding required to work in this complex area. Extensively updated for this new edition, the text looks at: Aspects of mental health nursing: covering topics such as ethics, developing therapeutic relationships and supervision. The foundations of mental health nursing: discussing diagnosis, assessment and risk. Caring for those experiencing mental health distress: looking at wide range of troubles including anxiety, bipolar disorder, eating disorders and issues around sexuality and gender. Care planning and approaches to therapeutic practice: exploring ideas, pathways and treatments such as recovery, CBT, psychodynamic therapies and psychopharmacology. Services and support for those with mental health distress: covering topics such as collaborative work, involvement of service users and their families and carers, and a range of different mental healthcare settings. Mental health nursing in the twenty-first century: highlighting emerging and future trends including the political landscape, physical health and health promotion, and technological advances. This accessible and comprehensive textbook integrates service user perspectives throughout and includes student-friendly features such as learning outcomes, key points summaries, reflection points and further reading sections. It is an essential resource for all mental health nursing students, as well as an invaluable reference for practising nurses.
Values and Ethics in Mental Health by
Mental health is the one area of health care where people are often treated against their will, with the justification that it is in their own interest. This raises significant ethical questions and value dilemmas; questions of autonomy, human rights, power and treatment. An understanding of how values matter is of vital importance across all disciplines working within the mental health field. This book provides a comprehensive and exploratory text for practitioners, students and all those interested in developing a knowledge of both ethics and the wider framework of values-based practice. It is unique in being fully co-written by authors representing both service user and service provider perspectives. This exciting new text will enable the mental health practitioner to work more co-productively with service users within a humane and just approach to care. With an emphasis on rights-based compassionate care throughout, this book: - Tackles the issues of how mental health is understood through key theoretical debates about mental distress, values and labelling; - Encourages readers to think critically about their understanding of key issues such as recovery, autonomy, power, knowledge, diagnoses and empathy; - Draws on a wide range of case examples and exercises to help readers deepen their knowledge of values-based practice and ethics in mental health.
Values and Ethics in Mental Health Practice by
This book draws on both the historical context and contemporary research evidence to present the roles of the Mental Health Social Worker, the Approved Mental Health Professional and Best Interest Assessor, within an ethical framework. Codes of practice and statutory legal requirements, such as the Mental Health Act, Mental Capacity Act and the Human Rights Act, are all considered and linked to a competency-based approach that will assist both those in training and those in practice to understand the dilemmas, complexities and conflicts that are evident in the practice environment.
The Politics of Happiness by
New insights into what makes people happy and how policymakers can foster greater satisfaction for all During the past forty years, thousands of studies have been carried out on the subject of happiness. Some have explored the levels of happiness or dissatisfaction associated with typical daily activities, such as working, seeing friends, or doing household chores. Others have tried to determine the extent to which income, family, religion, and other factors are associated with the satisfaction people feel about their lives. The Gallup organization has begun conducting global surveys of happiness, and several countries are considering publishing periodic reports on the growth or decline of happiness among their people. One nation, tiny Bhutan, has actually made "Gross National Happiness" the central aim of its domestic policy. How might happiness research affect government policy in the United States--and beyond? In The Politics of Happiness, former Harvard president Derek Bok examines how governments could use the rapidly growing research data on what makes people happy--in a variety of policy areas to increase well-being and improve the quality of life for all their citizens. Bok first describes the principal findings of happiness researchers. He considers how reliable the results appear to be and whether they deserve to be taken into account in devising government policies. Recognizing both the strengths and weaknesses of happiness research, Bok looks at the policy implications for economic growth, equality, retirement, unemployment, health care, mental health, family programs, education, and government quality, among other subjects. Timely and incisive, The Politics of Happiness sheds new light on what makes people happy and how government policy could foster greater satisfaction for all.
The Politics of Healthcare in Britain by
This is an excellent textbook for which there is currently a niche in the market. The chapters on rationing, professionalism, politics of clinical knowledge and the politics of democracy and participation are particularly strong and will be invaluable to students of health policy, health studies and health service research′ - Professor Michael Calnan, University of Bristol Written by leading academics in their field, this book provides a clear and considered overview of the politics of health care in Britain. Bringing together a wide range of material on both past events and recent developments, the chapters cover issues such as the politics of health professionalism, clinical knowledge and organisation and management. Each chapter offers a a unique combination of theory, historical detail and analysis of contemporary events. It features case studies to illustrate how policy has evolved and developed in recent years, and the implications these changes have for practice. Written in an accessible style the chapters also include comprehensive introductions, summaries and further reading sections. The final chapter is based on three detailed case studies that illuminate the tensions and debates discussed throughout the book. The Politics of Healthcare in Britain is a timely and authoritative textbook that covers a key topic of the curriculum whilst also contributing to topical debates. The book will be essential reading for students of social policy, health policy, public policy and nursing. It will also be of interest to policy makers and practitioners in the field of health care.
Leadership Roles and Management Functions in Nursing by
Awarded second place in the 2017 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Nursing Management and Leadership. Help your students develop the skills they'll need on the job with today's #1 bestseller. Taking an active learning approach, this Ninth Edition emphasizes the symbiotic elements of leadership and management. All professional nurses today face limited resources and emerging technologies, and this book prepares students through up-to-date and comprehensive coverage of leadership and management concepts, ranging from managing conflict and working collaboratively to organizing patient care and staffing. Benefitting students who often have limited opportunities to observe high-performing middle- and top-level managers in practice, a variety of real-world scenarios are featured throughout and provide opportunities for hands-on learning. New to the Ninth Edition: More than 280 learning exercises (26 NEW to this edition) help students see how concepts can be applied in a wide range of practice situations and health-care settings. The variety of learning modes in the exercises gives students opportunities to apply theory, develop strong critical-thinking skills, and internalize learning. Updated Content Crosswalks --based on the latest AACN, AONE, QSEN, and, new to this edition, ANA standards and competencies--show how content in each chapter draws from or contributes to content identified as essential for baccalaureate and graduate education, for practice as a nurse administrator, and for safety and quality in clinical practice. Updated content on new trends/developments in health care includes the Affordable Care Act, meaningful EHR use, projected nursing shortages, and newer care delivery models focused on ambulatory care and outpatient settings. Expanded coverage of workplace topics includes whistleblowing, liability of supervision of unlicensed workers, bullying, incivility, mobbing, workplace violence, and the authority-power gap. Improved leveling in the test bank allows for better assessment of student progress.
Nursing in Context: Policy Politics, Profession by
Want a sophisticated, witty and engaging introduction to the nursing profession? Based on over 20 years of research and experience, Nursing in Context offers a critical discussion of the nursing profession, with frank and honest answer to 'What is nursing?' - making it thoroughly absorbing reading. It addresses core topics which underpin nursing education including history, values, evidence-based practice, caring, compassion, policy and politics. This book will truly prepare students of nursing for the complexities of their chosen career, giving them the confidence to practice in modern healthcare settings.