Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing by
This new edition of a bestselling, evidence-based textbook provides a comprehensive overview of psychiatric and mental health nursing. Keeping service users and their recovery at the centre of care, the holistic approach will help nurses to gain the tools and understanding required to work in this complex area. Extensively updated for this new edition, the text looks at: Aspects of mental health nursing: covering topics such as ethics, developing therapeutic relationships and supervision. The foundations of mental health nursing: discussing diagnosis, assessment and risk. Caring for those experiencing mental health distress: looking at wide range of troubles including anxiety, bipolar disorder, eating disorders and issues around sexuality and gender. Care planning and approaches to therapeutic practice: exploring ideas, pathways and treatments such as recovery, CBT, psychodynamic therapies and psychopharmacology. Services and support for those with mental health distress: covering topics such as collaborative work, involvement of service users and their families and carers, and a range of different mental healthcare settings. Mental health nursing in the twenty-first century: highlighting emerging and future trends including the political landscape, physical health and health promotion, and technological advances. This accessible and comprehensive textbook integrates service user perspectives throughout and includes student-friendly features such as learning outcomes, key points summaries, reflection points and further reading sections. It is an essential resource for all mental health nursing students, as well as an invaluable reference for practising nurses.
Recovery: An Alien Concept? by
Extensively extended, revised and updated by Ron Coleman and edited by Eleanor Longden, with a new index and reference section. An exploration of the concept of recovery by Ron Coleman, including how he gave up being a "chronic schizophrenic" and went back to being Ron.
Interviewing for Solutions by
Written in a clear, informative, and informal style, INTERVIEWING FOR SOLUTIONS features a unique solutions-oriented approach to basic interviewing in the helping professions. Peter DeJong and Insoo Kim Berg's proven approach views clients as competent, helps them to visualize the changes they want, and builds on what they are already doing that works. Throughout the book, the authors present models for solution-focused work, illustrated by examples and supported by research.
Assessment and Care Planning in Mental Health Nursing by
This book is a practical and up-to-date text on Assessment, a fundamental skill for mental health nurses. Assessment of mental health problems is a challenging area of practice that covers a range of symptoms and behaviours - and involves building a trust relationship with service users while also using specialist skills. Using a values-based approach focused on engaging and working in partnership with the service user, this book is designed to take you from the core building blocks of assessment through to practice-based guidance about mental health behaviours, and concludes with case studies 'on the ground'. The first section of the book explores core aspects of assessment such as communication skills and engaging the service user, and explores how assessment guides the nursing process as a whole. The next section will be ideal for quick reference during practice and looks at 23 different clinical behaviours that nurses will assess, under 4 categories: Physical factors in mental health Behavioural aspects in mental health The role of thoughts in mental health Feelings in mental healthThe final section gives 4 case studies of different assessment stories which relate to the different types of clinical behaviour you will encounter. This practical book is essential reading for student nurses and all healthcare staff involved in the assessment of people with mental health problems."I would highly recommend this book to all mental health nursing students. Whilst the focus is on assessment and care planning; knowledge and skills on a range of essential areas are present in this text. It is an essential handbook for key mental health nursing skills. Case studies are presented with clarity, and Nick Wrycraft is clearly committed to nurses learning from service users, which is essential for values-based practice."Julia Terry, Senior Lecturer in Mental Health Nursing, Swansea University, UK "This text is a good fit for mental health nursing students new to assessment and care planning, providing a practical rather than academic approach to these important aspects of the role."Dr Janine Archer Lecturer School of Nursing, Midwifery & Social Work, University of Manchester, UK "Dr. Nick Wrycraft has done tremendously in making available the maiden edition of this book. Assessment and Care Planning in Mental Health Nursing will be a valued reference book for mental health student nurses who are new to the process of assessment and care planning. The book will therefore go a long way to provide educational and learning support to pre-registration nursing students as well as the newly qualified mental health nurses in practice.
Assessment in Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing by
This unique book provides a step-by-step guide to conducting assessment, giving student nurses a humanistic perspective on the subject. This best-seller, written by one of the most experienced authors in this field has been updated to reflect new concepts and ideas.
The Art and Science of Mental Health Nursing: Principles and Practice by 
Social Inclusion and Recovery by
Although it is widely agreed that the experiences of service users have much to offer mental health professionals, the majority of books for this group focus on either conditions or different types of service provision (acute, community). This book is different. It takes as its starting point the lived experience of recovery which is the process whereby individuals can be helped to understand and come to terms with their illness. The role and actions of mental health professionals is explored as part of the process of recovery. The major part of the book will focus on ways in which direct care staff can assist people with mental health problems, reflecting the accounts of the nature and type of assistance which have been valuable, and the ways in which such help can best be offered. It addresses two key components of recovery accessand inclusion to life opportunities and acceptance. Each chapter of the book looks at an aspect of recovery and clearly shows how practitioners must accept the individuals needs and work with them towards this goal Based on users' experiences Focus on recovery as both a personal journey and goal and the basis for care and interventions Addresses key issues - access and social inclusion Practical guidance in implementing a new model of mental health practice.
Living with Voices by
This book is a groundbreaking development in modern mental health because it recognises the importance of the first hand experience and argues that hearing voices is not a sign of madness but a reaction to serious problems in life. Must-read book for all concerned with mental health issues.
Psychological Interventions in Mental Health Nursing by
"This book provides excellent foundations in common psychological interventions that are used in mental health and other fields of nursing ... Each chapter uses a scenario, which helps to apply the concepts to the real world of providing healthcare. This is reinforced by the robust manner in which the text signposts readers to examples which they may use or test out in their day to day practice of mental health nursing." Paul Barber, Senior Lecturer, University of Chester, UK "This accessible scenario based text gets to the heart of how to effectively integrate psychological values and emotional intelligence with professional, ethical and cognitive skills to develop a meaningful collaborative therapeutic relationship with mental health service users and their families. The language, style, and format is engaging and linked to mental health field-specific competencies which all pre-registration mental health nurses must now achieve to graduate and register with the Nursing & Midwifery Council (NMC 2010)." Linda Cooper, Professional Head Mental Health Nursing, Learning Disability and Psychosocial Care, Cardiff University, UK (former Chair Mental Health Nurse Academics UK "This book takes you on a developmental journey of psychological interventions and provides a good grounding in the subject. It is one of few that successfully endeavours to preserve the true meaning of the service user''s experience whilst promoting the importance of clinical effectiveness and evidence base. This is an ideal text for student nurses and qualified practitioners ... and is particularly rewarding given the balance of authors from a clinical, academic and research background." Dr Joy A Duxbury, Head of Centre of Mental Health and Wellbeing, University of Central Lancashire, UK "Whether you struggle with mental health as a service user, or a student embarking on a career in mental health nursing, you will find this book accessible and useful ... It provides students and health professionals from a variety of backgrounds the opportunity to advance their knowledge and skills, and offers a developing and innovative approach that will place them at the forefront of mental health practice." Robert Walker, Fellow Member of the Institute of Mental Health and Associate Expert for the School of Inclusion and Communities, UK This ground-breaking and accessible book is the ideal resource for trainee and qualified mental health nurses looking for a guide to the main psychological therapies and interventions available in practice. Framed by the Nursing and Midwifery Council''s (2010) standards for pre-registration nursing education and written by experts in the field, the book explains which interventions are most effective for each of the most common mental health disorders. It also shows you how these interventions work in practice and illustrates the skills required to use them in your own practice. The book also: Provides a practical and pragmatic approach to the delivery of psychological interventions Promotes collaboration, effective risk management and consideration of the value-base of mental health nursing practice Encourages critically reflective learning through use of scenarios and interactive quizzes Considers the influence of policies and guidelines Particular attention is paid to the ethical context of psychological interventions and to the use of psychological interventions by newly qualified mental health nurses. The book challenges you to question your underlying beliefs, values and assumptions. Bursting with examples based on real practitioners'' experiences, this is a must have book for pre-registration mental health nursing students and qualified mental health nurses looking to develop their therapeutic skills and understanding. Contributors: Denise Aspinall, May Baker, Ged Carney, John Harrison, Paula Kennedy, Deborah Knott, Denise Parker, Karen Rea, James Ridley, Rebecca Rylance, Peter Simpson and Lisa Woods.
Theories for Mental Health Nursing: A Guide for Practice by
An understanding of the theories that shape and define mental health policy and practice is essential for every mental health nurse. This book gives you the knowledge you need to understand those complex and varying theories, concepts and approaches. It helps you to deconstruct mental health and become a critical practitioner by drawing on a wealth of literature and research. Topics covered include cognitive behavioural therapy, recovery, risk and critical theories
Recovery in Mental Health Nursing by