Midwifery Essentials Vol 2: Antenatal by 
Midwifery essentials Vol 4: Postnatal by 
Midwifery Essentials Vol 5: Infant Feeding by
New title in the popular Midwifery Essentials series originally published in conjunction with The Practising Midwife journal. The series covers core topics in midwifery education in an engaging and friendly format using a helpful 'jigsaw' approach which encourages readers to explore topics from a variety of perspectives e.g. effective communication, team working and health promotion. Helpful 'scenarios' throughout each volume encourage debate and reflection, core elements of midwifery education. Provides a useful, friendly source of information Strong focus on contemporary women-centred care Designed to stimulate debate and reflection upon current practice, local policies and procedures Scenarios enable practitioners to understand the context of maternity care and explore their role in safe and effective service provision Helpful 'jigsaw' approach enables readers to explore specific topics from a variety of perspectives e.g. consent, safety and health promotion Explains the professional and legal issues surrounding clinical procedures Chapters designed to be read as a 'standalone' or in succession Emphasises the crucial role of effective communication
Midwifery Essentials Vol 6: Emergency Maternity Care by
New addition to the popular Midwifery Essentials series designed to help readers understand and master a range of core issues safely and with confidence! Written by leading midwifery academics, each book in the series provides a user-friendly source of information which has been fully updated throughout to reflect the latest evidence-base for current practice. Now with an improved design to make learning as easy as possible, each paperback in the series focuses on the importance of communication and contemporary women-centred care and presents helpful 'scenarios' to encourage debate and reflection. The Midwifery Essentials series is ideal for all midwives - whether qualified or in training - and is also helpful to nurses and HCAs working in the maternity environment. Provides a useful, friendly source of information Strong focus on contemporary women-centred care Designed to stimulate debate and reflection upon current practice, local policies and procedures Scenarios enable practitioners to understand the context of maternity care and explore their role in safe and effective service provision Helpful 'jigsaw' approach enables readers to explore specific topics from a variety of perspectives e.g. consent, safety and health promotion Explains the professional and legal issues surrounding clinical procedures Chapters designed to be read as a 'standalone' or in succession Emphasises the crucial role of effective communication
Emergencies Around Childbirth by
Designed to enhance the confidence, knowledge and skills needed to perform effectively in urgent or emergency situations that can occur in a hospital, at a birth centre or at home, this fully updated third edition provides an accessible resource for all practising midwives. With contributions from highly experienced midwives, this practical handbook　incorporates an all-new chapter on serious infections and continues to provide key, up-to-date information on high-risk medical and obstetric situations. It also covers relevant information on litigation and the conclusions arising from the reports from the Confidential Enquiries into Maternal Deaths. Emergencies Around Childbirth is essential reading for practising and trainee midwives, and those who teach them.
Midwifery Emergencies at a Glance by
Midwifery Emergencies at a Glance is a succinct, illustrated guide covering the practical skills needed to manage obstetric and midwifery emergencies, as well as high-risk midwifery care. It provides clear guidance on the factors which predispose to complications so that preventative management can be employed whenever possible. Broad-ranging yet easy-to-read, Midwifery Emergencies at a Glance details the underlying physiology and pathophysiology related to the emergency and explores both the physical and psychological care of the woman, partner and newborn during and following the emergency. Key features: Evidence-based, with guidance from the NMC, RCOG, NICE, and The Resuscitation Council Presented in an innovative, visual style that makes the key concepts easy to understand Provides helpful websites that expand on various topics as well as providing information on support groups for the woman and her family Midwifery Emergencies at a Glance is an ideal guide for practising midwives, pre‐registration student midwives, general practitioners and junior doctors to support both revision and clinical practice.
The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook by
Praise for the previous edition: "...An outstanding handbook. It will be a familiar volume on most midwifery bookshelves, providing an excellent guide to midwifery focused care of both woman and child in the birthing setting." - Nursing Times Online Providing a practical and comprehensive guide to midwifery care, The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook continues to promote best practice and a safe, satisfying birthing experience with a focus on women-centred care. Covering all aspects of care during labour and birth, from obstetric emergencies to the practicalities of perineal repair (including left-hand suturing), the fourth edition has been fully revised and updated to include: Full colour photographs of kneeling extended breech and footling breech births New water birth and breech water birth photographs Female genital mutilation Sepsis Group B streptococcus Care of the woman with diabetes /Neonatal hypoglycaemia Mental health Seeding/microbirthing It also addresses important issues such as: Why are the numbers of UK women giving birth in stirrups RISING rather than falling? Why are so few preterm babies given bedside resuscitation with the cord intact? Would the creation of midwife breech practitioners/specialists enable more women to choose vaginal breech birth and is breech water birth safe? What is the legal position for women who choose to free birth - and their birth partners? Why are midwives challenging the OASI care bundle? Incorporating research, evidence and anecdotal observations, The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook remains an essential resource for both student midwives and experienced practising midwives.
Handbook of CTG Interpretation by
This book promotes an evidence-based paradigm of fetal heart rate monitoring during labour, with a move away from the traditional 'pattern-based' interpretation to physiology-based interpretation. Chapters are presented in a systematic and accessible format, covering topics such as non-hypoxic causes of fetal brain injury, pre-existing hypoxia, types of intrapartum hypoxia, erroneous monitoring of maternal heart rate, fetal scalp blood sampling and fetal ECG (STAN), intermittent auscultation and medico-legal issues. Sections on 'pearls' and 'pitfalls' highlight good practice and common errors to promote best practice. End-of-chapter exercises allow the reader to engage with the theory and test their knowledge of key areas. This is a highly practical manual aimed at obstetricians and midwives, particularly those undergoing CTG training. The book will also be very useful to midwifery and medical students and to all those involved in multiprofessional intrapartum care.
Normal Midwifery Practice by 
Skills for Midwifery Practice by
Now with a new design, the ever popular Skills for Midwifery Practice continues to provide the ideal level of instruction and guidance for a wide range of clinical skills, each one of which is presented in a unique, template format to help make learning easy. Step-by-step guidance is given on a range of topics including abdominal examination, taking of maternal and neonatal vital signs, infection control, mother and baby hygiene, elimination and drug administration. Childbearing and intrapartum skills are also extensively covered as are neonatal assessment and nutrition, principles of phlebotomy and intravenous therapy, moving and handling, wound management and CPR. Skills for Midwifery Practice is invaluable to midwives in training, qualified midwives returning to practice, as well as other members of the obstetric healthcare team. Presents over 150 essential midwifery procedures in an easy-to-read, quick reference format 'Learning Objectives' and 'end-of-chapter' self-assessment exercises allow readers to monitor their progress Refers to the latest evidence and research, including current national and international guidelines Explains the underlying physiology associated with pregnancy and childbirth Over 150 artworks help explain physiological processes and clinical procedures 'Roles and Responsibilities' boxes define the nature and extent of current practice Ideal for use as a basis for teaching and assessment New format - now with colour - makes learning even easier! Explores the use and significance of the Modified Early Obstetric Warning Scoring Chart Discusses advances in equipment usage including the application of sequential compression devices, temporal artery thermometers, and pulse oximetry in the early detection of critical congenital heart disease Contains advances in microbiology and infection control including the application and removal of gloves and the use of ANTT for each relevant procedure Physiology updates include an expanded section on normal and abnormal breathing patterns, the structure of the stratum corneum at birth and the factors that affect its barrier function, and neonatal reflexes present at birth Updated information regarding the use of the automated external defibrillator during maternal resuscitation, and the use of blended air and oxygen and pulse oximetry during neonatal resuscitation Care of the traumatised perineum - including expanded discussion of modern suture materials Recognition and management of complications associated with infusion therapy and epidural analgesia
Drug Calculations for Nurses by
The administration of drug treatments in hospitals has become increasingly complex. It sometimes involves potent drugs that may be fatal if administered incorrectly. The ability to perform drug calculations accurately is therefore paramount to prevent placing patients at risk.Drug Calculations for Nurses: A Step-by-Step Approach teaches healthcare
Mayes' Midwifery by
Now available for the first time in full colour, the 15th edition of Mayes Midwifery retains all of the features that characterised the success of earlier editions - authority, accessibility and comprehensiveness - while addressing the wider context of current midwifery practice by applying evidence into practice. The book explores anatomy and applied physiology, a wide range of public health issues, as well as cultural competence. Fast moving areas such as professional and leadership issues, fertility control, genetics, foetal development, medical problems in pregnancy and care of the new born and baby with complex needs are brought right up to date. The latest edition of Mayes' Midwifery has also been redesigned to further assist with engagement of the topics while the artwork programme has been upgraded to help with the understanding of complex physiological processes. As with the previous edition, the book also comes with an associated website containing over 600 MCQs, case studies, and reflective activities together with a wealth of other learning tools. Mayes' Midwifery 15th edition is an essential tool for midwives at every stage of their professional career - student midwives seeking knowledge, skills and guidance on their journey to becoming midwives - midwives returning to practice and for qualified midwives wherever they work. Nurses and health care assistants working on maternity units in the UK and overseas will also find the volume an important resource. New edition of a classic textbook updated and designed for today's midwifery student! Chapters authored by experts in their field, including midwifery academics and clinicians as well as allied professionals such as researchers, physiotherapists, neonatal nurse specialists, social scientists and legal experts Evidence and research based throughout to help facilitate safe clinical practice Learning outcomes and key points help readers structure their study and recap on what they have learned Reflective activities encourage the application of theory to practice Contains practice based tools and checklists Presents and discusses the latest national and international guidelines Associated website with over 600 MCQs, reflective activities to encourage the application of theory to practice, case studies and additional learning tools Downloadable image bank to assist readers with essay preparation and other assignments Suitable for use in normal community and midwife led arenas, high tech environments and more rural areas of clinical practice Brand new design - incorporating helpful learning features - aids reader engagement and retention of facts Updated artwork program helps clarify complex physiological processes and other challenging concepts
Myles Textbook for Midwives by
Myles Textbook for Midwives is the world's best-selling midwifery textbook, now in its 16th edition, with sales to 75 countries and with a large and growing market for the International Edition in Asia. Retaining the clear, accessible writing style that so readily characterised the success of earlier editions, Myles Textbook for Midwives 16th edition continues to offer an exceptionally clear explanation of the relevant anatomy and physiology relating to pregnancy and childbirth as well as comprehensive coverage of the other associated topics which range from antenatal education for birth and parenting to the effective management of midwifery and obstetric emergencies. Prepared by editors of international renown, the 16th edition has been fully updated to include the latest guidance on professional regulation, midwifery supervision, legal and ethical issues, risk management and clinical governance. Completely new chapters - many written by authors from the multi-professional team - cover obesity, perineal trauma (including care of the woman who has undergone FGM), the neonatal physiological examination and neonatal life support. Now published for the first time in full colour, Myles Textbook for Midwives 16th edition also comes with Elsevier EVOLVE ancillaries - an exciting online learning package consisting of 500 self-assessment questions and answers and a fully downloadable image bank. Designed to enable midwifery practitioners to provide safe and competent care, which is tailored to the patient's individual needs Extensively illustrated to assist visual learning with additional 'pull out' textboxes to highlight key information Streamlined chapters with similar themes and approach help consolidate learning Reflects all modern midwifery curricula by presenting a strong emphasis on evidenced-based practice and the use of technology Over 500 on-line multiple-choice questions to enable readers to test their knowledge Offers a full image bank of downloadable illustrations to assist with personal projects and/or further learning References, Further Reading and Useful Websites promote further learning Glossary of Terms and Acronyms provide simple definitions of more complex terminologies Full colour illustrations now used throughout the book, in response to student feedback Contains many new chapters, some of which are authored by members of the multi-professional team Up-to-date guidance on professional regulation, midwifery supervision, legal and ethical issues, risk management and clinical governance Recognition that midwives increasingly care for women with complex health needs, in a multicultural society Examination of the dilemmas involved in caring for women with a raised body mass index Chapter on optimising care of the perineum for women with perineal trauma, including those who have experienced female genital mutilation Guidance to support the trend for midwives to undertake the neonatal physical examination of the healthy term infant Additional coverage of basic neonatal resuscitation
Oxford Handbook of Midwifery by
Now in its third edition the Oxford Handbook of Midwifery continues to be the essential one-stop guide to the key principles of the care and management of pregnancy, birth and beyond. Concise yet comprehensive, with its recognisable and easy-to-use Oxford Handbook format, midwives will findthis a treasure trove of clear, practical guidance. Whether you are a student needing a helping hand through the subject, or an experienced practitioner needing to refresh your knowledge in an emergency, you can be sure that this handbook will be there for you.Written by experienced midwives, and following the latest guidelines and key care protocols, this is handbook is up-to-date and authoritative, with sections on sexual health, contraception, neonatal care and infant feeding. Each chapter includes assessment, diagnosis and management of care withtreatment interventions. Now including new information on initiation of breast feeding with biological nurturing as well as a highlighted section on how to manage obstetric emergencies. Important psychosocial care issues are also addressed. This edition provides concise, practical and accessibleinformation in a logical sequence, as the layout follows the woman's journey through pregnancy, birth and early motherhood.
PROMPT Course Manual by
The PROMPT (Practical Obstetric Multi-Professional Training) course covers the management of a range of obstetric emergency situations. Over the past five years, there has been increasing evidence that PROMPT training is having significant impact on outcomes in the UK, and internationally. In 2016, PROMPT was recognised in the NHS England: National Maternity Review. The PROMPT training package consists of interactive lectures, drills and workshops, providing hands-on experience of practical skills and team-working in simulated obstetric emergency situations. This third edition has been comprehensively updated in line with recent evidence and national and international guidelines to reflect the latest research and current clinical practice. There are new modules, algorithms, implementation tools, scenarios and videos. The course manual is essential reading for all those attending a local PROMPT course. It is also useful as a stand-alone textbook, providing evidence-based, up-to-date information for any health professional involved in maternity care.
Trust Guidelines - You will need to check the NHS Trust you are placed in
