Examination of the Newborn by
Newborn babies are examined at around 6 to 72 hours after their birth to rule out major congenital abnormalities and reassure the parents that their baby is healthy. This practical text is a step-by-step guide for all practitioners who undertake this clinical examination. It is particularly valuable for midwives and nurses undertaking Examination of the Newborn modules as well as a useful reference work for those already performing this role. It provides midwives and other practitioners involved in neonatal examination with a comprehensive guide to the holistic examination of the newborn infant. Examination of the Newborn encourages the reader to view each mother and baby as unique, taking into account their experiences preconceptually, antenatally and through childbirth. The text covers: * the role of the first examination as a screening tool; * normal fetal development; * parents' concerns and how to respond to them; * the impact of antenatal diagnostic screening; * the events of labour and birth; * the clinical examination of the neonate; * the identification and management of congenital abnormalities; * accountability and legal issues. This new edition is thoroughly revised throughout to meet current Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC), General Medical Council (GMC) and National Screening Committee standards. It reflects the new standards and key performance indicators (KPIs) from Public Health England (2016b). Case scenarios, model answers, questions and further reading help the reader to apply the content to their own practice.
Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation : A Reference Guide to Fetal and Neonatal Risk by
Put essential information at your fingertips - before you prescribe. The updated 11th edition of Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation: A Reference Guide to Fetal and Neonatal Risk lists more than 1,200 commonly prescribed drugs taken during pregnancy and lactation, with detailed monographs that provide the information you need on known or possible effects on the mother, embryo, fetus, and nursing infant. For the 11th edition, this bestselling reference has two new authors, both highly knowledgeable on the effects of drugs on the embryo-fetus and nursing infant: Craig V. Towers, a maternal-fetal medicine specialist, and Alicia B. Forinash, a clinical pharmacologist specialist in obstetrics. Key Features: More than 140 new drugs included in this edition. A-to-Z organization helps you find valuable information quickly. Each monograph covers: generic name (in US); risk factors; pharmacologic class; pregnancy and breastfeeding recommendations; pregnancy, fetal risk and breastfeeding summaries; as well as updated references. Quarterly updates , available online, keep you at the forefront of the field. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Physical Examination of the Newborn at a Glance by
Physical Examination of the Newborn at a Glance provides a comprehensive guide for all those involved with both the routine neonatal examination and the more specific full physical examination of a newborn. Covering the routine care and the competencies required to perform the examination of the newborn as set out by the Newborn and Infant Physical Examination (NIPE) Screening Programme, this beautifully illustrated book encourages the critical appraisal of personal and practice standards relating to the examination of the newborn in order to promote effective and high quality holistic care of the family unit. Encapsulating the learning requirements across a pre and post-registration audience, Physical Examination of the Newborn at a Glance is an indispensable resource for those beginning their journey to become a NIPE practitioner, as well as those who are looking to update their professional knowledge and understanding.
The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook by
Praise for the previous edition: "...An outstanding handbook. It will be a familiar volume on most midwifery bookshelves, providing an excellent guide to midwifery focused care of both woman and child in the birthing setting." - Nursing Times Online Providing a practical and comprehensive guide to midwifery care, The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook continues to promote best practice and a safe, satisfying birthing experience with a focus on women-centred care. Covering all aspects of care during labour and birth, from obstetric emergencies to the practicalities of perineal repair (including left-hand suturing), the fourth edition has been fully revised and updated to include: Full colour photographs of kneeling extended breech and footling breech births New water birth and breech water birth photographs Female genital mutilation Sepsis Group B streptococcus Care of the woman with diabetes /Neonatal hypoglycaemia Mental health Seeding/microbirthing It also addresses important issues such as: Why are the numbers of UK women giving birth in stirrups RISING rather than falling? Why are so few preterm babies given bedside resuscitation with the cord intact? Would the creation of midwife breech practitioners/specialists enable more women to choose vaginal breech birth and is breech water birth safe? What is the legal position for women who choose to free birth - and their birth partners? Why are midwives challenging the OASI care bundle? Incorporating research, evidence and anecdotal observations, The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook remains an essential resource for both student midwives and experienced practising midwives.
Handbook of CTG interpretation : from patterns to physiology by
This book promotes an evidence-based paradigm of fetal heart rate monitoring during labour, with a move away from the traditional 'pattern-based' interpretation to physiology-based interpretation. Chapters are presented in a systematic and accessible format, covering topics such as non-hypoxic causes of fetal brain injury, pre-existing hypoxia, types of intrapartum hypoxia, erroneous monitoring of maternal heart rate, fetal scalp blood sampling and fetal ECG (STAN), intermittent auscultation and medico-legal issues. Sections on 'pearls' and 'pitfalls' highlight good practice and common errors to promote best practice. End-of-chapter exercises allow the reader to engage with the theory and test their knowledge of key areas. This is a highly practical manual aimed at obstetricians and midwives, particularly those undergoing CTG training. The book will also be very useful to midwifery and medical students and to all those involved in multiprofessional intrapartum care.
Anatomy and Physiology for Midwives by
This is a new edition of a highly popular textbook which presents the fascinating field of reproductive anatomy and physiology in a style which is ideal for those who are new to the subject. Now with a significantly upgraded artwork program, this helpful volume builds up from the founding principles of human structure and function through to conception, embryological and fetal development and growth, the maternal responses to the growing fetus, parturition and the transition to neonatal life. Containing the latest scientific advances such as improvements in fertility treatment, postnatal care of premature infants, and the impact of the gestational environment and early nutrition on later health, the volume also includes developments in midwifery policy and practice. Each chapter comes with Learning Outcome boxes, Case Studies, Key Points and Application to Practice boxes, all of which reinforce learning and help 'bring the subject to life'. A well-established introduction to the science underpinning modern midwifery practice, Anatomy and Physiology for Midwives, fourth edition will be ideal for all students of midwifery, as well as midwives returning to practice or undertaking post-graduate study. Highly popular midwifery resource that explains and contextualises the principles of reproductive A&P Learning Objectives at the start of each chapter help readers structure their study time Case Studies 'bring the subject to life' and provide an opportunity to reflect on the implications for clinical practice Acknowledges the importance of underlying research and integrates theory and practice End of chapter Key Points and Application to Practice boxes further reinforce learning Helps midwives deal with questions from increasingly informed 'parents to be' More than 200 illustrations help clarify sometimes complex anatomical, physiological and clinical information New authorship brings additional expertise into the areas of cell physiology and research, particularly its clinical application to fertility and parturition An upgraded artwork program enhances the look and feel of the book Contains updates in the fast-moving field of reproductive physiology such as recent advances in fertility treatment, postnatal care of premature infants, and the impact of the gestational environment and early nutrition on later health Updated case studies reflect areas of advancing midwifery practice
Examination of the Newborn and Neonatal Health by
Examination of the Newborn contains the most up to date and comprehensive information on how to perform a complete assessment of the newborn infant. Specialists from different disciplines provide in-depth information on examination of the body systems, and the book includes discussion of the psychosocial and emotional elements resulting from any unexpected findings. An essential purchase for all health professionals wishing to enhance the quality of care they provide. An essential guide to this most important of examinations The first book to assist in the recognition of the psychosocial and emotional elements of physical disability that may impact on the family Provides a multi-professional perspective, with contributors from specialists in their fields Each chapter addresses the subject from a holistic perspective that includes ethical, legal and psychosocial aspects as well as the physical
Skills for Midwifery Practice by
Now with a new design, the ever popular Skills for Midwifery Practice continues to provide the ideal level of instruction and guidance for a wide range of clinical skills, each one of which is presented in a unique, template format to help make learning easy. Step-by-step guidance is given on a range of topics including abdominal examination, taking of maternal and neonatal vital signs, infection control, mother and baby hygiene, elimination and drug administration. Childbearing and intrapartum skills are also extensively covered as are neonatal assessment and nutrition, principles of phlebotomy and intravenous therapy, moving and handling, wound management and CPR. Skills for Midwifery Practice is invaluable to midwives in training, qualified midwives returning to practice, as well as other members of the obstetric healthcare team. Presents over 150 essential midwifery procedures in an easy-to-read, quick reference format 'Learning Objectives' and 'end-of-chapter' self-assessment exercises allow readers to monitor their progress Refers to the latest evidence and research, including current national and international guidelines Explains the underlying physiology associated with pregnancy and childbirth Over 150 artworks help explain physiological processes and clinical procedures 'Roles and Responsibilities' boxes define the nature and extent of current practice Ideal for use as a basis for teaching and assessment New format - now with colour - makes learning even easier! Explores the use and significance of the Modified Early Obstetric Warning Scoring Chart Discusses advances in equipment usage including the application of sequential compression devices, temporal artery thermometers, and pulse oximetry in the early detection of critical congenital heart disease Contains advances in microbiology and infection control including the application and removal of gloves and the use of ANTT for each relevant procedure Physiology updates include an expanded section on normal and abnormal breathing patterns, the structure of the stratum corneum at birth and the factors that affect its barrier function, and neonatal reflexes present at birth Updated information regarding the use of the automated external defibrillator during maternal resuscitation, and the use of blended air and oxygen and pulse oximetry during neonatal resuscitation Care of the traumatised perineum - including expanded discussion of modern suture materials Recognition and management of complications associated with infusion therapy and epidural analgesia
Pharmacology for Midwives by
The new edition of this ground-breaking text is an essential resource for the management of drugs during pregnancy, labour and the postnatal period. Fully updated in line with current midwifery practice, it includes new chapters on Disorders of the Immune System and Recreational Drugs, and expanded coverage of pain relief.
Examination of the Newborn by
Examination of the Newborn is essential reading for students and practitioners involved in neonatal examinations. Now in its third edition, this practical evidence-based guide reflects the most current Public Health England (PHE) Newborn and Infant Physical Examination (NIPE) Standards to help readers deliver high quality, family-centered care within current national guidelines. Each chapter is firmly placed within the context of the current PHE standards to help ensure good practice in both hospital and community settings. This fully-revised edition incorporates current educational and healthcare guidelines relevant to the neonatal examination, including up-to-date information on the new Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) Standards for Education. New and expanded topics include history taking and the examination of the newborn, midwifery professional issues, the use of pulse oximetry, and the importance of observing maternal and infant attachment during examination. An invaluable guide to neonatal examination, this book: Reflects the most current UK National Screening Committee (UK NCS) Standards of clinical practice Includes contributions from a multidisciplinary team of specialists, covering cardiovascular and respiratory assessment; examinations of skin, head, neck and eyes; chromosomal and genetic problems; newborn behavioural aspects, and more Features full-colour photographs and illustrations, clinical case studies, and an updated and expanded companion website containing interactive questions, checklists, links to video resources, and a wealth of information on all aspects of examining the newborn Examination of the Newborn is an indispensable source of authoritative knowledge for nursing students, midwives, neonatal nurses and practitioners, pediatricians, physiotherapists, and general practitioners.
PROMPT - practical obstetric multi-professional training. Course Manual by
The PROMPT (Practical Obstetric Multi-Professional Training) course covers the management of a range of obstetric emergency situations. Over the past five years, there has been increasing evidence that PROMPT training is having significant impact on outcomes in the UK, and internationally. In 2016, PROMPT was recognised in the NHS England: National Maternity Review. The PROMPT training package consists of interactive lectures, drills and workshops, providing hands-on experience of practical skills and team-working in simulated obstetric emergency situations. This third edition has been comprehensively updated in line with recent evidence and national and international guidelines to reflect the latest research and current clinical practice. There are new modules, algorithms, implementation tools, scenarios and videos. The course manual is essential reading for all those attending a local PROMPT course. It is also useful as a stand-alone textbook, providing evidence-based, up-to-date information for any health professional involved in maternity care.
Public Health England (2018) Newborn and infant physical examination screening programme handbook.
Public Health England (2018) Newborn and infant physical examination screening standards.
National Institute for Health Care Excellence (2019) Antenatal Care for Uncomplicated Pregnancies. Available at: https://www.nice.org.uk/guidance/cg62
National Institute for Health Care Excellence (2017) Intrapartum Care for Healthy Women and Babies. Available at: https://www.nice.org.uk/guidance/cg190
National Institute for Health Care Excellence (2015) Postnatal Care up to 8 Weeks After Birth. Available at: https://www.nice.org.uk/guidance/cg37
It is also recommended that you access your trust guidelines.