Normal Midwifery Practice by
For new students the language and concepts of midwifery care can at first be daunting. This book helps students to understand the expectations of midwifery training in relation to normal midwifery practice. It covers the basics of midwifery care including professional practice, frameworks informing midwifery care, key concepts and philosophies of care, communication and care skills, antenatal care, normal labor and birth, postnatal care, neonatal care and breastfeeding, as well as a brief introduction to medicines management in normal midwifery care. The book is designed to work alongside first taught modules in midwifery, and underpin training in subsequent years.Key FeaturesReflects the latest practice approaches, issues and evidenceLinks theory to practice through case studies and problem based learningActivities help develop key skills such as decision making and critical thinkingLinks knowledge to the NMC Standards and ESCs required for registration
Anatomy and Physiology for Midwives by
This is a new edition of a highly popular textbook which presents the fascinating field of reproductive anatomy and physiology in a style which is ideal for those who are new to the subject. Now with a significantly upgraded artwork program, this helpful volume builds up from the founding principles of human structure and function through to conception, embryological and fetal development and growth, the maternal responses to the growing fetus, parturition and the transition to neonatal life. Containing the latest scientific advances such as improvements in fertility treatment, postnatal care of premature infants, and the impact of the gestational environment and early nutrition on later health, the volume also includes developments in midwifery policy and practice. Each chapter comes with Learning Outcome boxes, Case Studies, Key Points and Application to Practice boxes, all of which reinforce learning and help 'bring the subject to life'. A well-established introduction to the science underpinning modern midwifery practice, Anatomy and Physiology for Midwives, fourth edition will be ideal for all students of midwifery, as well as midwives returning to practice or undertaking post-graduate study. Highly popular midwifery resource that explains and contextualises the principles of reproductive A&P Learning Objectives at the start of each chapter help readers structure their study time Case Studies 'bring the subject to life' and provide an opportunity to reflect on the implications for clinical practice Acknowledges the importance of underlying research and integrates theory and practice End of chapter Key Points and Application to Practice boxes further reinforce learning Helps midwives deal with questions from increasingly informed 'parents to be' More than 200 illustrations help clarify sometimes complex anatomical, physiological and clinical information New authorship brings additional expertise into the areas of cell physiology and research, particularly its clinical application to fertility and parturition An upgraded artwork program enhances the look and feel of the book Contains updates in the fast-moving field of reproductive physiology such as recent advances in fertility treatment, postnatal care of premature infants, and the impact of the gestational environment and early nutrition on later health Updated case studies reflect areas of advancing midwifery practice
Normal Childbirth: Evidence and Debate. 2nd edn. by 
Squaring the Circle by
Squaring the Circle is a cutting-edge and comprehensive collection of the latest research and debate on normal childbirth. Based on a salutogenic approach - focusing on factors that support human health and well-being, rather than on factors that cause disease - it helps our understanding of what works and why it works, as well as helping health practitioners turn this knowledge into best practice. Written by world-renowned experts in their field, and edited by Soo Downe and Sheena Byrom, the editors of the acclaimed The Roar Behind the Silence, Squaring the Circle includes an examination of a range of associated evidence in areas as diverse as architecture for optimal birth environments, the impact of birth events on neonatal DNA methylation and the microbiome, the current knowledge base around oxytocin production in labour, and the role of emotion in the workplace. Case studies of successful change from around the world - from service users, activists and maternity care staff - provide inspiration for innovation while hints and tips help to make such change happen.
Writing for Nursing and Midwifery Students by
Combining a theoretical approach with practical activities, this book is invaluable for nursing and midwifery students and will help them to master the basics of writing at university. It equips students with the skills needed to examine cognitive processes such as reflection and critical thinking and includes essential information on referencing correctly and avoiding plagiarism. Going beyond the traditional essay, it provides support and guidance on producing care critiques, action plans, portfolios and journal article reviews alongside complex argumentative writing and undergraduate dissertation proposals. Written in an engaging and accessible style, this is a comprehensive writing toolkit for students of nursing, midwifery, health and social care. Suitable for students of all levels, it is ideal for use in class or for independent study. New to this Edition: - A new section on writing systematic reviews and responding to case studies for assessment purposes - Extended content on referencing, engaging with sources and critical and argumentative writing, featuring new examples and exercises
Give birth like a feminist : your body, your baby, your choices by 
Skills for Midwifery Practice by
Now with a new design, the ever popular Skills for Midwifery Practice continues to provide the ideal level of instruction and guidance for a wide range of clinical skills, each one of which is presented in a unique, template format to help make learning easy. Step-by-step guidance is given on a range of topics including abdominal examination, taking of maternal and neonatal vital signs, infection control, mother and baby hygiene, elimination and drug administration. Childbearing and intrapartum skills are also extensively covered as are neonatal assessment and nutrition, principles of phlebotomy and intravenous therapy, moving and handling, wound management and CPR. Skills for Midwifery Practice is invaluable to midwives in training, qualified midwives returning to practice, as well as other members of the obstetric healthcare team. Presents over 150 essential midwifery procedures in an easy-to-read, quick reference format 'Learning Objectives' and 'end-of-chapter' self-assessment exercises allow readers to monitor their progress Refers to the latest evidence and research, including current national and international guidelines Explains the underlying physiology associated with pregnancy and childbirth Over 150 artworks help explain physiological processes and clinical procedures 'Roles and Responsibilities' boxes define the nature and extent of current practice Ideal for use as a basis for teaching and assessment New format - now with colour - makes learning even easier! Explores the use and significance of the Modified Early Obstetric Warning Scoring Chart Discusses advances in equipment usage including the application of sequential compression devices, temporal artery thermometers, and pulse oximetry in the early detection of critical congenital heart disease Contains advances in microbiology and infection control including the application and removal of gloves and the use of ANTT for each relevant procedure Physiology updates include an expanded section on normal and abnormal breathing patterns, the structure of the stratum corneum at birth and the factors that affect its barrier function, and neonatal reflexes present at birth Updated information regarding the use of the automated external defibrillator during maternal resuscitation, and the use of blended air and oxygen and pulse oximetry during neonatal resuscitation Care of the traumatised perineum - including expanded discussion of modern suture materials Recognition and management of complications associated with infusion therapy and epidural analgesia
Mayes' Midwifery by
Now available for the first time in full colour, the 15th edition of Mayes Midwifery retains all of the features that characterised the success of earlier editions - authority, accessibility and comprehensiveness - while addressing the wider context of current midwifery practice by applying evidence into practice. The book explores anatomy and applied physiology, a wide range of public health issues, as well as cultural competence. Fast moving areas such as professional and leadership issues, fertility control, genetics, foetal development, medical problems in pregnancy and care of the new born and baby with complex needs are brought right up to date. The latest edition of Mayes' Midwifery has also been redesigned to further assist with engagement of the topics while the artwork programme has been upgraded to help with the understanding of complex physiological processes. As with the previous edition, the book also comes with an associated website containing over 600 MCQs, case studies, and reflective activities together with a wealth of other learning tools. Mayes' Midwifery 15th edition is an essential tool for midwives at every stage of their professional career - student midwives seeking knowledge, skills and guidance on their journey to becoming midwives - midwives returning to practice and for qualified midwives wherever they work. Nurses and health care assistants working on maternity units in the UK and overseas will also find the volume an important resource. New edition of a classic textbook updated and designed for today's midwifery student! Chapters authored by experts in their field, including midwifery academics and clinicians as well as allied professionals such as researchers, physiotherapists, neonatal nurse specialists, social scientists and legal experts Evidence and research based throughout to help facilitate safe clinical practice Learning outcomes and key points help readers structure their study and recap on what they have learned Reflective activities encourage the application of theory to practice Contains practice based tools and checklists Presents and discusses the latest national and international guidelines Associated website with over 600 MCQs, reflective activities to encourage the application of theory to practice, case studies and additional learning tools Downloadable image bank to assist readers with essay preparation and other assignments Suitable for use in normal community and midwife led arenas, high tech environments and more rural areas of clinical practice Brand new design - incorporating helpful learning features - aids reader engagement and retention of facts Updated artwork program helps clarify complex physiological processes and other challenging concepts
Theory for Midwifery Practice by
This new edition of a highly regarded classic midwifery text encourages critical thinking about the art and science of midwifery. Promoting the idea that thinking directly affects practice, it offers a clear explanation of the concepts, theories and models that shape effective evidence-informed care for women. This insightful book challenges the reader to reconsider the knowledge at the heart of your own midwifery practice. It is the essential text on midwifery's growing theoretical framework for students and practitioners alike. New to this Edition: - Extensively updated and reworked edited collection - New exercises: undergraduate and postgraduate specific activities highlight the significance of the theoretical framework to everyday practice
Essential Anatomy and Physiology in Maternity Care by
Anatomy and physiology presented in a clear and accessible manner for the midwifery student. Well illustrated with numerous line diagrams, Anatomy & Physiology in Maternity Care takes a system-approach to the physiological changes that occur throughout the childbearing year. Varied case studies reflecting the latest research findings ensure that theory is firmly rooted in midwifery practice. This is an excellent first textbook for those students needing to understand the anatomy and physiology of pregnancy and childbirth An introductory text covering anatomy and physiology relevant to midwifery students Simple, accessible language ensures complete understanding of complex theory Case studies relate anatomy and physiology to midwifery practice Covers physiological changes throughout the childbearing year Updated references New case studies reflecting latest research findings
Physiology in Childbearing by
The new edition of Physiology in Childbearing with Anatomy and Related Biosciences continues to offer readers with a sound introduction to human biology as it relates to pregnancy and childbirth. Retaining the features that characterised the popularity of previous editions - namely, a clear and accessible writing style, extensive artwork program and online question bank with downloadable image collection - the volume addresses basic biochemistry, cellular biology, genetics and fertility. Chapters on embryology then explore fetal growth and development together with congenital anomalies. A 'systems-based' series of chapters examine the adult human body linking normal structure and function to changes that occur during pregnancy. Complications of pregnancy such as bleeding, hypertension and metabolic disorders are included. Chapters then explore labour, including its complications and the effective use of pain relief. Finally, the neonate is examined with an explanation of the adaptation to extra-uterine life and potential health challenges. The book concludes with an exploration of infant feeding and bio-behavioural aspects of parenting. Fully updated throughout, this successful textbook will be ideal for midwives, whether qualified or in training, worldwide, in both high tech environments within the developed world or more remote areas of practice. Straightforward writing style helps demystify a challenging subject area Applies theory to practice to show how a knowledge of the biological sciences can enhance the care given to mothers and babies Designed to facilitate early recognition of pathology to help prevent morbidity and mortality Ideal introduction to basic biochemistry, cellular biology and genetics for those who have no prior knowledge of the subject areas Chapters on embryology help explain the occurrence of neonatal pathology A 'body systems approach' - including embryological development - enables an understanding of the physiological and pathophysiological changes that occur during pregnancy Clear diagrams allow an understanding of the complex three-dimensional concepts seen in biology Helpful pedagogy such as 'Main Points' boxes at the end of each chapter act as useful aide-memoires Enhances the safety of mothers and babies, both in the developed world and those countries where the provision of adequate care remains limited Revised contributor team provides an international perspective Updated design presents shorter sections of information with concise summaries of 'key points' and easy to interpret figures and tables
Myles Textbook for Midwives by
Written by midwives for midwives, Myles Textbook for Midwives has been the seminal textbook of midwifery for over 60 years. It offers comprehensive coverage of topics fundamental to 21st midwifery practice. Co-edited for the second time, by internationally renowned midwife educationalists, Professor Jayne E Marshall and Maureen D Raynor from the United Kingdom with a team of contributors from across the midwifery community it retains its clear, accessible writing style. Most chapters provide useful case studies, websites of key organisations and charities for individuals to access further information. Reflective questions at the end of each chapter as well as annotated further reading aid reflective learning and stimulate discussions relating to continuing professional development. The book covers key frameworks that govern midwifery practice, exploring ethical and legal frameworks that are essential to every accountable, autonomous, professional midwife. Includes employer-led models of supervision, vital elements of leadership and clinical governance that supports the provision of high quality maternity services and standards of midwifery practice. The concept of resilience is introduced for the reader to contemplate their personal contribution in creating an environment that is conducive to protecting the wellbeing of themselves and colleagues within the workplace. The text covers the UN 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, highlighting the importance of midwives as global citizens with common goals, and together they form a strong global community prepared to challenge social inequalities and take action to help end extreme poverty. Covers designing and implementing high quality midwifery care using evidence, policy and models of care. Highlights why a holistic and evidence-informed approach is necessary to achieve effective care for all. Working examples will help the reader to think critically about their own practice. For this edition several new chapters are introduced covering concealed pregnancy, fear of childbirth (tocophobia), care of the acutely unwell woman and end of life issues including rights of the fetus/neonate and ethical considerations.