Law and Ethics in Nursing and Healthcare by Avery, G.Now in its second edition, Law and Ethics in Nursing and Healthcare: An Introduction continues to provide all the information nursing and healthcare students need to know about 'what is legal' and 'how to decide what is right' in order to practise safely and ethically. Graham Avery focuses directly on the vital areas - such as negligence, consent, confidentiality, and professional conduct - with a practical and accessible approach aimed at healthcare students as well as practitioners. Key features include: a new chapter on Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards. Up-to-date information related to the Health and Social Care Act 2012 and the Francis Report. Real life case studies to help students think critically about difficult clinical situations. End-of-chapter scenarios activities with suggested answers to reinforce knowledge. Qualified as a Registered Nurse and holding an MA in Medical Law and Ethics, Graham Avery is a Lecturer at the University of Essex.
Call Number: 344.420414 AVE
Publication Date: 2017
Reflective Practice by Bolton, G.; Delderfield, R.Reflecting thoughtfully on your work is vital for improving your own self-awareness, effectiveness and professional development. This newly updated fifth edition of Gillie Bolton's bestselling book explores reflective writing as a creative and dynamic process for this critical enquiry. New to this edition: An expanded range of exercises and activities A new emphasis on using e-portfolios Further guidance on reflective writing assignments Enhanced discussion of reflection as a key employability skill Additional online resources This popular book has been used worldwide in various disciplines including education, social work, business and management, medicine and healthcare and is essential reading for students and professionals seeking to enhance their reflective writing skills and to examine their own practice in greater critical depth.
Call Number: STSK 808.06661 BOL
Publication Date: 2018
Essential Study Skills by Burns, T.; Sinfield, S.Do you want to do better at university? Packed with study tips and handy activities, Essential Study Skills is a proven guide that shows you step-by-step how to study effectively and make the best of your time at university - whatever level you′re at. Whether you are going to university straight from school, a mature student, or an overseas student studying in the UK for the first time, you′ll find out how to: Sail through those tricky first weeks Get the most out of lectures by understanding how you learn Learn techniques for academic writing and research Stay cool and cope with stress Pass exams with flying colours Plan your career after graduation. Don′t miss in this edition... Even more tips and advice on learning methods, online learning and developing job skills - ensuring success throughout your course Additional case studies and student tips to help you apply the skills you need A companion website packed with toolkits and resources, to help you study smarter. The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips and resources for study success!
Call Number: STSK 371.30281 BUR
Publication Date: 2016
Supporting Compassionate Healthcare Practice by Chambers, C.; Ryder, E.The pursuit of excellent compassionate care should be at the heart of all practice. However, it can be challenging for practitioners to deliver this day after day in a context of tight budgets and targets, which can erode the passion with which they entered their professions. Supporting Compassionate Healthcare Practiceencourages healthcare professionals to look after themselves in order to maintain and develop their compassionate practice. This book considers how stress management, resilience, wellbeing and positivity can help all health professionals remain close to the values, attitudes and attributes that brought them into the caring professions. It presents and critiques the evidence base for these key concepts, bringing them to life with numerous case studies and examples, and develops a framework - RESPECT - for practice. This innovative volume is essential reading for all healthcare students, academics and professionals interested in improving both the quality of care and the wellbeing of patients and practitioners alike.
Call Number: 362.173068 CHA
Publication Date: 2019
Principles and Practice of Research in Midwifery by Bluff, R.; Cluett, E.Building on the strengths of the first edition, this new edition of Principles and Practice of Research in Midwifery clearly and concisely examines evidence based practice and research from a midwifery standpoint. This book provides an excellent introduction to the subject and looks at various methods and principles from practical and theoretical perspectives. Equal weight is given to the quantitative and qualitative approaches. New chapters on evidence based research and interviewing in qualitative research ensure that this edition is fully relevant to current research and practice. Written by authors with clinical and research experience, this book is intended for midwives and student midwives participating in Diploma, Advanced Diploma and first level degree programmes. It aims to increase research awareness and develop the skills of critical appraisal of research evidence that are essential to evidence based practice. Used in conjunction with other texts, Principles and Practice of Research in Midwifery will give confidence to those undertaking research projects by helping to bridge the 'reality gap' between research and theory and its application to midwifery practice. Key features: · Introduces research methods in midwifery · Discusses the application of research to practice and looks at the route from practice to research · Presents both quantitative and qualitative research methods · Provides a framework for the appraisal of midwifery research evidence · New chapters on evidence based research and interviewing in qualitative research · Maternity care related examples used throughout. New chapter on interviewing as a means of data collection, including information on using focus groups New chapter on evidence-based practice including issues around supervision for evidence-based projects Inclusion of new material in relation to such topics as undertaking case studies
Call Number: 618.20072 CLU
Publication Date: 2006
Critical Thinking Skills by Cottrell, S.Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels. New to this Edition: - Brand new chapter on critical thinking and employability - Includes a wider range of examples to highlight the variety of contexts in which critical thinking can be used - Coverage of both academic and professional forms of critical writing
Call Number: STSK 370.152 COT
Publication Date: 2017
Communication Skills for Midwives by England, C.; Morgan, R."This book is easy to read and has relevant content for student midwives, with inclusion of reflective activities which are clear and appropriate. I particularly like the vignette's which are relevant and explore the challenges that midwives face. The script-like format of these adds a further layer to the narratives, and the inclusion of non-verbal communication as well is excellent. This will be an essential text for all student midwives." Mary Beadle, Midwifery Lecturer, Faculty of Health and Social Care, University of Hull, UK "Communication Skills for Midwives is a unique book that focuses not only on fundamental communication issues, but goes much further by including the many difficult and tricky issues experienced within contemporary midwifery practice. This much needed text provides detailed and comprehensive information which is reinforced by illustrations, vignettes and activities that engage the reader from the beginning. This is an excellent resource for students, practitioners and educators." Nicky Clark, Lead Midwife for Education, University of Hull, UK "This book covers many poignant examples of difficult and challenging communication that midwives face in everyday practice ... It covers both every day aspects of care such as facilitating choice and less common experiences like responding to domestic violence ... This book is unique and would be good bedtime reading for any midwife!" Tandy Deane-Grey, Senior Midwifery Lecturer, University of Hertfordshire, UK "This comprehensive and reader friendly text ... utilises a variety of strategies to aid understanding and application to practice. Each chapter has clear aims to address a challenging situation that readers will readily identify with and provides an excellent mix of vignettes, reflective activities, text and diagrams to support the development of knowledge and skills ..." Heather Passmore, Senior Lecturer, UCS, UK This is the first book on communication skills to explore the more challenging contexts and circumstances that midwives encounter in practice. As these occur infrequently and often unexpectedly in the daily practice of many midwives, they may find it difficult to communicate effectively to alleviate the situation. Knowing what to say and how to say it is part of this dilemma. The book uses case vignettes, reflective questions, illustrations, tools and techniques to provide the evidence base needed to cope effectively in a range of situations by offering support to enhance your communication skills. Communication Skills for Midwives explores challenges relating to: Negotiating with others within inter-professional and inter-agency teams Working with minority groups Breaking significant news when labour threatens the life of a baby Telling parents that their baby has an abnormality Coping with loss and bereavement Addressing issues of domestic abuse Importantly the book provides information on how thoughts and feelings may be expressed both through body language and in words. Taking a practical and problem solving approach, the book will help you to enhance your learning and improve interaction with your colleagues, the women you care for and their families.
Call Number: 618.20014 ENG
Publication Date: 2012
Writing for Nursing and Midwifery Students by Gimenez, J.Combining a theoretical approach with practical activities, this book is invaluable for nursing and midwifery students and will help them to master the basics of writing at university. It equips students with the skills needed to examine cognitive processes such as reflection and critical thinking and includes essential information on referencing correctly and avoiding plagiarism. Going beyond the traditional essay, it provides support and guidance on producing care critiques, action plans, portfolios and journal article reviews alongside complex argumentative writing and undergraduate dissertation proposals. Written in an engaging and accessible style, this is a comprehensive writing toolkit for students of nursing, midwifery, health and social care. Suitable for students of all levels, it is ideal for use in class or for independent study. New to this Edition: - A new section on writing systematic reviews and responding to case studies for assessment purposes - Extended content on referencing, engaging with sources and critical and argumentative writing, featuring new examples and exercises
Professional Development, Reflection and Decision-Making in Nursing and Healthcare by Rosser, M.; Jasper, M.; Mooney, G.This essential text brings together in one place the inextricably linked concepts of professional development, reflective practice and decision-making. Fully updated and revised throughout, the new edition of this easy-to-follow, jargon-free title is targeted at nursing and healthcare practitioners and nursing students, providing clear guidance to help the reader think critically about their practice, work within professional boundaries, be accountable for their actions, and plan for their future.
Call Number: 610.73 JAS + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Cite Them Right by Pears, R.; Shields, G.This is the leading guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone. The 11th edition of this bestselling book is an essential resource for anyone doing original research for written assignments, including students, teachers, authors, librarians and non-academic researchers. Cite Them Right is also available as an institutional subscription product, Cite Them Right Online. New to this Edition: - Updated examples for all referencing styles to match the latest referencing standards - Now covers IEEE referencing - Expanded APA, MHRA, OSCOLA and Vancouver sections - Advice on how to reference first language texts that are not in English - Coverage of even more sources, including body art, collages, musicals, sewing patterns, Snapchat, WhatsApp and working papers - Simplified advice on referencing legal and parliamentary sources
Call Number: STSK 808.027 PEA
Publication Date: 2019
Becoming a Midwife in the 21st Century by Peate, I.; Hamilton, C.The NMC have produced standards of proficiency for pre registration midwifery education and those standards have been written in an "academic" language, for higher education institutions. Each student prior to being admitted to the profession must have achieved the proficiencies stated in the NMC publication. The purpose of this book is to provide students with material related to the standards of midwifery education. The students will be able to use the contents of this text and relate it to their own approved programme of midwifery study, as their programme of study would have had to comply with NMC's requirements. It will help student midwives appreciate how their own programmes have been designed, and why they are required to study and understand some of the subjects they are, or will be studying.
Call Number: 618.2
Publication Date: 2008
Reflection in Action by Redmond, B.Newly available in paperback, this original and informative volume outlines a new, well-designed reflective teaching and learning model that can be used with single- or multi-disciplinary groups of students and professionals. It offers an overview of the origins of the different theories of reflection and explains how different levels of reflection can be understood and incorporated into everyday teaching and training. Outlining specific teaching and learning techniques to be used in training situations, it also includes examples of how these techniques have been successfully used with groups of professionals from health and social care areas. This edition features a substantive new preface, bringing the book up to date with recent developments in the field. It is a well-researched guide to both the theory and the practice of reflection, and it also offers those who teach and train professionals a clearly delineated reflective model for use in the classroom or professional training environment.
Call Number: 361.32 RED + eBook
Publication Date: 2006
Introduction to Research for Midwives by Rees, C.This title is now available under ISBN 9780702051654. Printed book plus PageburstT access. You will receive a printed book and access to the complete book content electronically. PageburstT enhances learning not only by bringing world class content to your fingertips but also by letting you add to it, annotate it, and categorize it in a way that suits you. PageburstT frees you to spend more time learning and less time searching. Struggling to understand the language of research? Need to understand the basic principles and processes of research? Do you find it difficult to know how to apply research to clinical practice? This third edition of Introduction to Research for Midwives is the answer! In simple language, it explains the world of research both for those who must use it as part of evidence-based practice and those undertaking research. The content is particularly student-friendly and provides clear guidelines on critiquing research articles and producing successful reviews of the literature, with many tips on producing assignments that really work. All midwives and other health professionals will find this book invaluable in applying research to their own practice. No prior knowledge of research needed Written in a simple, practical style Applied to the context of evidence-based practice Comprehensive glossary of research terms Quantitative and qualitative research approaches clarified and illustrated Time-saving study skills highlighted Key points summaries for quick revision Clear emphasis on evidence-based practice All chapters include new material Major chapters extensively rewritten Up-to-date references and examples New research techniques included Glossary updated and simplified
Evidence Based Midwifery by Spiby, H.; Munro, J.Evidence based practice is now widely accepted as a fundamental tenet of midwifery. The importance of evidence in defining midwifery policy and practice in the UK health system, and others, is acknowledged and enduring. While the development and evaluation of research in midwifery is well charted, the question of how such evidence is incorporated into practice has, to date, received less attention and discussion in the midwifery profession. Answering this need, Evidence Based Midwifery focuses on the dissemination and use of evidence for midwifery practice, and explores midwives' experiences in using the evidence base to inform policy and enhance clinical practice. Written by a highly-regarded and diverse group from the UK and international midwifery community, Evidence Based Midwifery addresses issues of relevance to all midwives whether clinical practitioners or educators, students or supervisors, researchers or managers. Issues that influence evidence based midwifery are discussed, and topics covered include problem based learning, implementation of evidence based guidelines and the involvement of service users. Edited by founder members of the Evidence Based Midwifery Network International collaboration with contributions from the UK, Greece, Canada and the Netherlands Primary focus on the incorporation of evidence into midwifery practice Real-life examples throughout