Principles and Practice of Research in Midwifery by 
Critical Thinking Skills by
Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels.
Understanding research for nursing students by
If you're learning about research for the first time, or grappling with an essay or final year project, this is the nursing research book you're looking for. Using plain language and case studies that relate research directly to every-day nursing situations, the author guides you through the central concepts you need to know to truly understand research in nursing. Key features Each chapter is linked to the new NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses Seven concise chapters that quickly answer the most common questions about research Activities, scenarios and case studies bring the theory to life and show why research is so important to nursing Nine podcasts to bring topics from the book to life
Evidence-based practice in nursing by
Do your students feel unsure about what exactly constitutes evidence? Would you like them to feel more confident in evaluating evidence and applying it to their practice? Delivering safe, high-quality, patient-centred care is dependent upon nurses having a good understanding of evidence-based practice, and how to apply this successfully. However, for many students engaging with this side of practice is a challenge. This book has been specifically designed to help guide students through the process of identifying, evaluating and applying evidence in nursing practice. Using a variety of learning features, this text will help your students to see how the theory applies to their everyday practice and help them develop the skills they need to confidently use evidence in their clinical decision-making.
Research methods for nurses and midwives : theory and practice by
This book is the only research methods book you need to succeed whilst studying nursing and midwifery. Ideal for all pre and beyond registration nurses, this book has everything you need to know about consuming, critiquing and using research; it then builds on this foundation to develop these ideas into workable practice for real-world research. Inspired by over 25 years combined experience, the authors have structured the book around the complimentary spheres of theory and practice and take you through each step of the research process, demonstrating how to choose a question, design your research proposal, collect data, analyse your findings and write up your research. It explores: · Evidence-based research · Literature and systematic reviews · Ethics · Secondary Data · Research design · Methodologies and individual methods · Data analysis - quantitative and qualitative Interwoven with case studies and embracing quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods alike, this balanced textbook provides an introduction to a wide range of theories and methods and is packed full of material specially created to meet student and instructor needs. Whether you are new to research methods or returning to formal education and hoping to conduct your own research, this book is your ideal companion.
Nursing research : methods and critical appraisal for evidence-based practice by
Find out why this book is a student favorite! Providing a solid foundation in nursing research and evidence-based practice, Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice, 10th Edition offers balanced coverage of both qualitative and quantitative research methodologies and an easy-to-read, easy-to-understand approach. This edition features new content on trending topics, including the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN), as well as improved usability, user-friendly learning aids, and full-text research articles to help you better understand how to apply research to everyday clinical practice. Balanced coverage explores the nursing research process and the EBP process, as well as qualitative and quantitative research methodologies. User-friendly writing style and engaging learning aids throughout the text include full-text research examples, Helpful Hints, EBP Tips, IPE Highlights, Research Vignettes, Clinical Judgment Challenges, Critical Appraisal Criteria, and more! Innovative format integrates examples from current, high-quality, relevant full-text research articles. "All-star" team of contributors is a widely respected collection of experts in nursing research and EBP. NEW and UPDATED! Full-text research articles, including a population health study and a quality improvement study, serve as foundational examples throughout the text and Research Vignettes illustrate the types of high-quality research and evidence-based practice (EBP) projects that are driving advances in nursing practice. NEW! Content on trending topics includes: Precision science and tailored healthcare based on evidence Big data Secondary analysis Data collection using social media and technology Focus groups Descriptive qualitative methods Genetics, genomics, and "omics" Social determinants of health and population health Healthy People 2030 The new U.S. Surgeon General's Report on Oral Health The NIH funding roadmap IPEC Core Competencies The opioid crisis HPV NEW! Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN) content introduces the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model and includes Clinical Judgment Challenges in each chapter to help prepare students for the NGN. NEW! Expanded coverage of the latest developments in the field includes: Content on research methods (scoping, rapid realist, etc.) and guidelines (evidence- versus expert-based) other than meta-analysis. Content on mixed-methods research that reflects the growing emphasis on mixed research methodologies. Content on quality improvement (including the National Database of Nursing Quality Indicators [NDNQI], magnet status, and the Triple Aim) that addresses the growing importance of evidence-based quality improvement initiatives in clinical settings. NEW! Improved usability, with more illustrations, larger table type, increased use of bulleted text, enhanced readability, italicized in-text research examples for greater visibility, and better-aligned learning outcomes and chapter-ending key points make it easier for students to locate, understand, and retain information.
Evidence-based practice in nursing & healthcare : a guide to best practice by
Enhance your clinical decision-making capabilities and improve patient outcomes through evidence-based practice. Develop the skills and knowledge you need to make evidence-based practice (EBP) an integral part of your clinical decision-making and everyday nursing practice with this proven, approachable text. Written in a straightforward, conversational style, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Healthcare delivers real-world examples and meaningful strategies in every chapter to help you confidently meet today's clinical challenges and ensure positive patient outcomes.
Nursing research: principles, process and issues by
Learning about research can be a daunting task. This best-selling core text book offers a comprehensive introduction to important research concepts, processes and issues. The author guides readers who are new to research but also introduces new debates and perspectives to those with some experience wanting to develop their skills further.
This popular book equips students with the information and skills they need to read, comprehend and critique research. Whether an undergraduate taking an introductory research module, a postgraduate nursing student embarking on a project, or an experienced practitioner wanting to sharpen your skills, Parahoo's accessible writing style will ensure readers are able to utilise research throughout their study and in everyday practice.
Nursing Research: generating and assessing evidence by 
Essentials of nursing research : appraising evidence for nursing practice by
Overview of nursing research and its role in evidence-based practice -- Preliminary steps in quantitative and qualitative research -- Designs and methods for quantitative and qualitative nursing research -- Analysis, interpretation, and application of nursing research.
Introduction to Research for Midwives by
This title is now available under ISBN 9780702051654. Printed book plus PageburstT access. You will receive a printed book and access to the complete book content electronically. PageburstT enhances learning not only by bringing world class content to your fingertips but also by letting you add to it, annotate it, and categorize it in a way that suits you. PageburstT frees you to spend more time learning and less time searching. Struggling to understand the language of research? Need to understand the basic principles and processes of research? Do you find it difficult to know how to apply research to clinical practice? This third edition of Introduction to Research for Midwives is the answer! In simple language, it explains the world of research both for those who must use it as part of evidence-based practice and those undertaking research. The content is particularly student-friendly and provides clear guidelines on critiquing research articles and producing successful reviews of the literature, with many tips on producing assignments that really work. All midwives and other health professionals will find this book invaluable in applying research to their own practice. No prior knowledge of research needed Written in a simple, practical style Applied to the context of evidence-based practice Comprehensive glossary of research terms Quantitative and qualitative research approaches clarified and illustrated Time-saving study skills highlighted Key points summaries for quick revision Clear emphasis on evidence-based practice All chapters include new material Major chapters extensively rewritten Up-to-date references and examples New research techniques included Glossary updated and simplified
Researching health : qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods by
Saks and Allsop′s Researching Health offers a comprehensive introduction to research methods for health care students and practitioners. The new third edition includes important theoretical updates, and further international content, with contributors from the UK, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Portugal, Canada, and Spain, covering a number of specialisms and providing perspectives on core topics. There are 6 NEW chapters on: Principles of Health Research Methods of Sampling in Qualitative Health Research Qualitative Data Analysis and Health Research Researching Health Care Management Using Secondary Data Online Research in Health Disseminating and Evaluating Health Research The book is supported by case studies, end-of-chapter exercises, annotated further reading, and access to online resources for both students and lecturers, consisting of SAGE journal articles, web links, PowerPoint slides, and teaching notes for each chapter.
Nursing and midwifery research : methods and appraisal for evidence-based practice by
Nursing and Midwifery Research: methods and appraisal for evidence-based practice 5th edition has been fully revised and updated to include the latest developments in Australian and New Zealand nursing and midwifery practice. It is an essential guide to developing research skills, critically appraising research literature and applying research outcomes to practice. Visit http://evolve.elsevier.com/AU/Schneider/research/ for additional resources Student resources An Unexpected Hurdle-concise suggested answer guides for alternatives to study design Learning Activities-answers to end-of-chapter tests Research Articles and Questions-exploring the themes of each chapter through examining qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods studies Time to Reflect-supporting answer guides for further reflection on ideas explored within each chapter Glossary Instructor resources Tutorial Triggers-answer guides to tutorial activities, designed to initiate class discussions and further debate based on content within the chapter PowerPoint presentations for each chapter Chapters on 'Indigenous approaches to research' and 'A research project journey: from conception to completion' An Unexpected Hurdle-exploring challenges to overcome in research Time to Reflect-reflecting on the topic of each chapter Contemporary research articles selected for each chapter and questions developed for further study on Evolve Expanded and updated glossary of terms and definitions
The Handbook of Midwifery Research by 
Qualitative research in midwifery and childbirth phenomenological approaches by
Qualitative research, particularly phenomenology, is increasingly popular as a method for midwifery and health-related research. These approaches enable rich and detailed explanations to be uncovered and bring experience to life. Important recommendations and practice- based implications may then be raised and debated for future use. This book brings together a range of phenomenological methods and insights into one accessible text. Illustrated with plenty of examples of successful phenomenological research, Qualitative Research in Midwifery and Childbirth keeps the focus applied to midwifery and childbirth and makes clear the links to practice throughout. The book introduces three key phenomenological approaches - descriptive, interpretive and the life world - and includes a comparative chapter which discusses the differences between these varied perspectives and methods. Each chapter focuses on how these approaches are used within midwifery research. The remaining chapters present a number of different research projects. These demonstrate how different phenomenological approaches have been used to explore and uncover experiences of childbirth and maternity as well as offering important insights into how women experience different facets of the birth experience during the antenatal, intra-partum and postnatal period. Designed for researchers and students undertaking research projects on midwifery and childbirth, this text includes contributions from a range of international and highly regarded phenomenological authors and researchers.
Doing a literature review in health and social care : a practical guide by
This best-selling book is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review for students in all areas of health and social care. It is vital reading for all those doing their undergraduate dissertation or any study which involves doing a literature review.
How to do a systematic literature review in nursing : a step-by-step guide by
From writing a review question to writing up a review, this practical book presents a useful workbook companion for students undertaking their first literature review for study or clinical practice improvement.
Conducting research literature reviews : from the internet to paper by
Providing readers with an accessible, in-depth look at how to synthesize research literature, Conducting Research Literature Reviews: From the Internet to Paper is perfect for students, researchers, marketers, planners, and policymakers who design and manage public and private agencies, conduct research studies, and prepare strategic plans and grant proposals. Bestselling author Arlene Fink shows readers how to explain the need for and significance of research, as well as how to explain a study's findings. Offering a step-by-step approach to conducting literature reviews, the Fifth Edition features new research, examples, and references from the social, behavioral, and health sciences, expanded coverage of qualitative research, updated and revised meta-analysis procedures, a brand new glossary of key terms, double the number of exercises, and additional examples of how to write reviews.
How to read a paper : the basics of evidence-based medicine and healthcare by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
Doing a literature review : releasing the research imagination by
The ultimate guide to the 'what', 'how' and 'why' of literature reviewing, the second edition of the classic text shows how the literature review will unlock the full potential of one′s research with: A thorough exploration of the literature review process from start to finish Two brand new chapters explaining the different types of review and evidence and evaluation Extended examples that show you how to apply key techniques and procedures A new 'core skills' framework to help you turn your research experience into employability A critical thinking focus that will help you construct convincing arguments and improve your research decisions In combining a critical, philosophical approach with an expertly selected body of practical examples, the Second Edition of Chris Hart′s landmark text provides both the intellectual understanding and the technical skills required to produce sophisticated, robust literature reviews of the very highest standard. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Doing a research project in nursing & midwifery : a basic guide to research using the literature review methodology by
Due to ethical issues surrounding data collection in the field of healthcare, students are no longer able to undertake their own empirical research. This book is written for nursing and midwifery students completing a research project based on reviewing published literature and using secondary data. It de-mystifies the concept of literature review methodology and supports students writing up their dissertation, thesis or work-based learning project. The book provides step-by-step guidance on: - Identifying a research problem - Qualitative and quantitative research design - Literature searching - Ethical considerations - Analysis of secondary data - Writing your dissertation Through its discussion of non-empirical methods, the book also prepares students for future empirical research by providing examples of best practice in healthcare research. The book is essential reading for undergraduates and postgraduates who want to succeed in their nursing or midwifery research project.
Succeeding in literature reviews and research project plans for nursing students by
Now in it′s fourth edition and thoroughly updated to ensure all content is mapped to the new 2018 NMC standards, this book is a practical and readable guide to undertaking a research project plan or a literature review for final year assessment. The book guides readers from start to finish, beginning with choosing a nursing topic and developing questions about it, then accessing and critically reviewing research literature, considering ethical issues, proposing research where applicable, and finally, writing up and completing the literature review or research proposal. The authors also explore how to translate evidence into practice and how this can improve day to day decision-making, as well as feeding into assessments.