Midwifery Essentials: Infant Feeding by Baston, H. ; Marshall, J. ; Hall, J.New addition to the popular Midwifery Essentials series which continues to help readers understand and master a range of core issues safely and with confidence! Written by leading midwifery academics, each book in the series provides a user-friendly source of information which has been fully updated throughout to reflect the latest evidence-base for current practice. Now with an improved design to make learning as easy as possible, each paperback in the series focuses on the importance of communication and contemporary women-centred care and presents helpful 'scenarios' to encourage debate and reflection. The Midwifery Essentials series is ideal for all midwives - whether qualified or in training - and is also helpful to nurses and HCAs working in the maternity environment. Provides a useful, friendly source of information Strong focus on contemporary women-centred care Designed to stimulate debate and reflection upon current practice, local policies and procedures Scenarios enable practitioners to understand the context of maternity care and explore their role in safe and effective service provision Helpful 'jigsaw' approach enables readers to explore specific topics from a variety of perspectives e.g. consent, safety and health promotion Explains the professional and legal issues surrounding clinical procedures Chapters designed to be read as a 'standalone' or in succession Emphasises the crucial role of effective communication
Call Number: 618.2 MAR
Publication Date: 2017
Normal Midwifery Practice by Chenery-Morris, S. ; McLean, M.For new students the language and concepts of midwifery care can at first be daunting. This book helps students to understand the expectations of midwifery training in relation to normal midwifery practice. It covers the basics of midwifery care including professional practice, frameworks informing midwifery care, key concepts and philosophies of care, communication and care skills, antenatal care, normal labor and birth, postnatal care, neonatal care and breastfeeding, as well as a brief introduction to medicines management in normal midwifery care. The book is designed to work alongside first taught modules in midwifery, and underpin training in subsequent years.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Skills for Midwifery Practice, 5E by Johnson, R.Skills for Midwifery Practice is the go-to book for all midwifery students who need to learn what to do in a range of situations, how to perform a skill, and why they need to do it in a certain way. Written by midwifery educators Ruth Johnson and Wendy Taylor, the book makes learning easy with background information, learning outcomes, helpful diagrams and lists to represent the skill flow. It explains the underlying physiology associated with pregnancy and childbirth, and clearly defines the nature and extent of current practice. This version is fully updated and referenced throughout to provide a detailed evidence base to support learning and further study. It is ideal for midwives in training, qualified midwives returning to practice, as well as other members of the obstetric healthcare team. Clear and logical - easy to follow and understand for training midwives Accurate, up-to-date evidence base that is relevant to contemporary midwifery practice Each skill contextualized with background, indications and contraindications to support both clinical practice and study Learning objectives and end-of-chapter self-assessment exercises allow readers to monitor their progress New to this edition Latest guidelines and standards New information on resuscitation and other emergencies Now in full color throughout Expanded chapter on the use of standard precautions in light of the global pandemic Developed discussion of alternative feeding methods
Mayes' Midwifery by Macdonald, S. ; Johnson, G.Now available for the first time in full colour, the 15th edition of Mayes Midwifery retains all of the features that characterised the success of earlier editions - authority, accessibility and comprehensiveness - while addressing the wider context of current midwifery practice by applying evidence into practice. The book explores anatomy and applied physiology, a wide range of public health issues, as well as cultural competence. Fast moving areas such as professional and leadership issues, fertility control, genetics, foetal development, medical problems in pregnancy and care of the new born and baby with complex needs are brought right up to date. The latest edition of Mayes' Midwifery has also been redesigned to further assist with engagement of the topics while the artwork programme has been upgraded to help with the understanding of complex physiological processes. As with the previous edition, the book also comes with an associated website containing over 600 MCQs, case studies, and reflective activities together with a wealth of other learning tools. Mayes' Midwifery 15th edition is an essential tool for midwives at every stage of their professional career - student midwives seeking knowledge, skills and guidance on their journey to becoming midwives - midwives returning to practice and for qualified midwives wherever they work. Nurses and health care assistants working on maternity units in the UK and overseas will also find the volume an important resource. New edition of a classic textbook updated and designed for today's midwifery student! Chapters authored by experts in their field, including midwifery academics and clinicians as well as allied professionals such as researchers, physiotherapists, neonatal nurse specialists, social scientists and legal experts Evidence and research based throughout to help facilitate safe clinical practice Learning outcomes and key points help readers structure their study and recap on what they have learned Reflective activities encourage the application of theory to practice Contains practice based tools and checklists Presents and discusses the latest national and international guidelines Associated website with over 600 MCQs, reflective activities to encourage the application of theory to practice, case studies and additional learning tools Downloadable image bank to assist readers with essay preparation and other assignments Suitable for use in normal community and midwife led arenas, high tech environments and more rural areas of clinical practice Brand new design - incorporating helpful learning features - aids reader engagement and retention of facts Updated artwork program helps clarify complex physiological processes and other challenging concepts
Call Number: 618.2 MAC
Publication Date: 2017
Myles Textbook for Midwives by Marshall, J. ; Raynor, M.Written by midwives for midwives, Myles Textbook for Midwives has been the seminal textbook of midwifery for over 60 years. It offers comprehensive coverage of topics fundamental to 21st midwifery practice. Co-edited for the second time, by internationally renowned midwife educationalists, Professor Jayne E Marshall and Maureen D Raynor from the United Kingdom with a team of contributors from across the midwifery community it retains its clear, accessible writing style. Most chapters provide useful case studies, websites of key organisations and charities for individuals to access further information. Reflective questions at the end of each chapter as well as annotated further reading aid reflective learning and stimulate discussions relating to continuing professional development. The book covers key frameworks that govern midwifery practice, exploring ethical and legal frameworks that are essential to every accountable, autonomous, professional midwife. Includes employer-led models of supervision, vital elements of leadership and clinical governance that supports the provision of high quality maternity services and standards of midwifery practice. The concept of resilience is introduced for the reader to contemplate their personal contribution in creating an environment that is conducive to protecting the wellbeing of themselves and colleagues within the workplace. The text covers the UN 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, highlighting the importance of midwives as global citizens with common goals, and together they form a strong global community prepared to challenge social inequalities and take action to help end extreme poverty. Covers designing and implementing high quality midwifery care using evidence, policy and models of care. Highlights why a holistic and evidence-informed approach is necessary to achieve effective care for all. Working examples will help the reader to think critically about their own practice. For this edition several new chapters are introduced covering concealed pregnancy, fear of childbirth (tocophobia), care of the acutely unwell woman and end of life issues including rights of the fetus/neonate and ethical considerations.
Call Number: 618.2 MAR
Publication Date: 2020
Oxford Handbook of Midwifery by Medforth, J.Now in its third edition the Oxford Handbook of Midwifery continues to be the essential one-stop guide to the key principles of the care and management of pregnancy, birth and beyond. Concise yet comprehensive, with its recognisable and easy-to-use Oxford Handbook format, midwives will findthis a treasure trove of clear, practical guidance. Whether you are a student needing a helping hand through the subject, or an experienced practitioner needing to refresh your knowledge in an emergency, you can be sure that this handbook will be there for you.Written by experienced midwives, and following the latest guidelines and key care protocols, this is handbook is up-to-date and authoritative, with sections on sexual health, contraception, neonatal care and infant feeding. Each chapter includes assessment, diagnosis and management of care withtreatment interventions. Now including new information on initiation of breast feeding with biological nurturing as well as a highlighted section on how to manage obstetric emergencies. Important psychosocial care issues are also addressed. This edition provides concise, practical and accessibleinformation in a logical sequence, as the layout follows the woman's journey through pregnancy, birth and early motherhood.