Midwifery Essentials: Emergency Maternity Care by
New addition to the popular Midwifery Essentials series designed to help readers understand and master a range of core issues safely and with confidence! Written by leading midwifery academics, each book in the series provides a user-friendly source of information which has been fully updated throughout to reflect the latest evidence-base for current practice. Now with an improved design to make learning as easy as possible, each paperback in the series focuses on the importance of communication and contemporary women-centred care and presents helpful 'scenarios' to encourage debate and reflection. The Midwifery Essentials series is ideal for all midwives - whether qualified or in training - and is also helpful to nurses and HCAs working in the maternity environment. Provides a useful, friendly source of information Strong focus on contemporary women-centred care Designed to stimulate debate and reflection upon current practice, local policies and procedures Scenarios enable practitioners to understand the context of maternity care and explore their role in safe and effective service provision Helpful 'jigsaw' approach enables readers to explore specific topics from a variety of perspectives e.g. consent, safety and health promotion Explains the professional and legal issues surrounding clinical procedures Chapters designed to be read as a 'standalone' or in succession Emphasises the crucial role of effective communication
Emergencies Around Childbirth by
Designed to enhance the confidence, knowledge and skills needed to perform effectively in urgent or emergency situations that can occur in a hospital, at a birth centre or at home, this fully updated third edition provides an accessible resource for all practising midwives. With contributions from highly experienced midwives, this practical handbook　incorporates an all-new chapter on serious infections and continues to provide key, up-to-date information on high-risk medical and obstetric situations. It also covers relevant information on litigation and the conclusions arising from the reports from the Confidential Enquiries into Maternal Deaths. Emergencies Around Childbirth is essential reading for practising and trainee midwives, and those who teach them.
Midwifery Emergencies at a Glance by
Midwifery Emergencies at a Glance is a succinct, illustrated guide covering the practical skills needed to manage obstetric and midwifery emergencies, as well as high-risk midwifery care. It provides clear guidance on the factors which predispose to complications so that preventative management can be employed whenever possible. Broad-ranging yet easy-to-read, Midwifery Emergencies at a Glance details the underlying physiology and pathophysiology related to the emergency and explores both the physical and psychological care of the woman, partner and newborn during and following the emergency. Key features: Evidence-based, with guidance from the NMC, RCOG, NICE, and The Resuscitation Council Presented in an innovative, visual style that makes the key concepts easy to understand Provides helpful websites that expand on various topics as well as providing information on support groups for the woman and her family Midwifery Emergencies at a Glance is an ideal guide for practising midwives, pre‐registration student midwives, general practitioners and junior doctors to support both revision and clinical practice.
Handbook of CTG Interpretation by
This book promotes an evidence-based paradigm of fetal heart rate monitoring during labour, with a move away from the traditional 'pattern-based' interpretation to physiology-based interpretation. Chapters are presented in a systematic and accessible format, covering topics such as non-hypoxic causes of fetal brain injury, pre-existing hypoxia, types of intrapartum hypoxia, erroneous monitoring of maternal heart rate, fetal scalp blood sampling and fetal ECG (STAN), intermittent auscultation and medico-legal issues. Sections on 'pearls' and 'pitfalls' highlight good practice and common errors to promote best practice. End-of-chapter exercises allow the reader to engage with the theory and test their knowledge of key areas. This is a highly practical manual aimed at obstetricians and midwives, particularly those undergoing CTG training. The book will also be very useful to midwifery and medical students and to all those involved in multiprofessional intrapartum care.
The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook by
Praise for the previous edition: "...An outstanding handbook. It will be a familiar volume on most midwifery bookshelves, providing an excellent guide to midwifery focused care of both woman and child in the birthing setting." - Nursing Times Online Providing a practical and comprehensive guide to midwifery care, The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook continues to promote best practice and a safe, satisfying birthing experience with a focus on women-centred care. Covering all aspects of care during labour and birth, from obstetric emergencies to the practicalities of perineal repair (including left-hand suturing), the fourth edition has been fully revised and updated to include: Full colour photographs of kneeling extended breech and footling breech births New water birth and breech water birth photographs Female genital mutilation Sepsis Group B streptococcus Care of the woman with diabetes /Neonatal hypoglycaemia Mental health Seeding/microbirthing It also addresses important issues such as: Why are the numbers of UK women giving birth in stirrups RISING rather than falling? Why are so few preterm babies given bedside resuscitation with the cord intact? Would the creation of midwife breech practitioners/specialists enable more women to choose vaginal breech birth and is breech water birth safe? What is the legal position for women who choose to free birth - and their birth partners? Why are midwives challenging the OASI care bundle? Incorporating research, evidence and anecdotal observations, The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook remains an essential resource for both student midwives and experienced practising midwives.
PROMPT Course Manual by
The PROMPT (Practical Obstetric Multi-Professional Training) course covers the management of a range of obstetric emergency situations. Over the past five years, there has been increasing evidence that PROMPT training is having significant impact on outcomes in the UK, and internationally. In 2016, PROMPT was recognised in the NHS England: National Maternity Review. The PROMPT training package consists of interactive lectures, drills and workshops, providing hands-on experience of practical skills and team-working in simulated obstetric emergency situations. This third edition has been comprehensively updated in line with recent evidence and national and international guidelines to reflect the latest research and current clinical practice. There are new modules, algorithms, implementation tools, scenarios and videos. The course manual is essential reading for all those attending a local PROMPT course. It is also useful as a stand-alone textbook, providing evidence-based, up-to-date information for any health professional involved in maternity care.