Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A-Z eResources List
Full list of eResources the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List
A-Z eJournal List
Full list of eJournals the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List
If you're unable to find the article you're looking for, we can order articles for you using the resource request service. You should check the service details for your local University of Suffolk library.
University of Suffolk Ipswich students:
You can request to order an article by completing the correct form and returning a signed copy to the Information Desk at the library.
The number of article requests available to you depends on your level of study.
Database and Journal information
The following databases / journal collections will be useful for your area of study:
Anatomy TV This link opens in a new window
Anatomy TV is an interactive educational resource on human anatomy. It provides interactive 3D models as well as text, slides and video clips.
British Nursing Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
From Proquest, the UK nursing and midwifery database, covering over 270 UK journals and other English language titles, including international nursing and midwifery journals, as well as selective content from medical, allied health and management titles
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
There is currently an issue logging in to personal EBSCOHost accounts through the log-in button at the top of the CINAHL screen. Instructions on the workaround are here: https://vimeo.com/681914476/06d713b108
The world’s most comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides full text for hundreds of journals indexed in the CINAHL database, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937 and expanded content.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
independent high quality evidence for healthcare decision making
e-Anatomy This link opens in a new window
We strongly recommend that you use Chrome.
is an interactive human anatomy atlas with medical imaging and illustrations. (Not included in Discovery) You will receive a certificate error that you will need to confirm or add an exception for when accessing this resource off-campus.
Family Health Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Proquest Family Health database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines
Health & Medical Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Proquest has combined the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library™ with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. ProQuest Health and Medical Complete provides in-depth coverage from over 1,950 publications with more than 1,660 available in full text and of these, over 910 include MEDLINE® indexing
Healthcare Administration Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Proquest. This database is designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. This high-demand healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 29 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Medline contains authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Coverage from 1950 until present day.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Proquest database offering reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 11 million articles/chapters, a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year.
Education Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
Emerald Management Plus This link opens in a new window
a portfolio of over 280 journals full -text management journals published from 1994 onwards. Titles include International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management; International Journal of Culture, Tourism and Hospitality Research; International Journal of Event and Festival Management; Tourism Review
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world
Psychology Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Proquest provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
The following are core journals within the nursing and health disciplines:
Royal College of Nursing (RCN) This link opens in a new window
RCNi is the premier provider of innovative and creative information solutions for the whole nursing team and associated health professionals. The range of publications and online resources enable both qualified nurses and students to deliver excellent patient care and advance their career
Advanced Literature Searching
All images included in this guide are available from Flickr through Creative Commons licensing CC-BY-2.0