Routine blood results explained. 3rd edn. by
Now in its third edition, this essential handbook for nurses and allied health professionals gives clear, simple explanations of blood results, focusing on routinely requested investigations. There have been many changes since the second edition - from alterations in units (such as g/L for haemoglobin, rather than g/dL) to the merging of haematology with biochemistry, blood transfusion and immunology to form blood science. Accordingly, in this new edition there are more details of immunology, immunological diseases, and the blood tests involved.These changes reflect the new roles which nurses, podiatrists and physiotherapists are developing, often with increased responsibility for examining, diagnosing and managing patients, and ordering and interpreting blood tests. The objective of this book is to support and enable these professionals to be successful in their new roles. Wherever possible, each chapter concludes with a brief case study. In addition, more complete case reports - reflecting the different aspects of primary and secondary care - are presented in the concluding chapters.
Concordance by
Persuading patients to take their prescribed medicines has long been regarded as problematic, and this non-compliance often has serious and wide reaching outcomes. Concordance is a new way of looking at the processes within the consultation, and allowing the patients agenda to be taken into account when coming to a management decision. This new book not only provides a concise overview of the area but describes its implications for practice. Written by a multidisciplinary team, no other publication on concordance has the depth and breadth of coverage. It will be of interest to all healthcare professionals, academics and students with an interest in this emerging area.
Clinical Skills for OSCEs. 5th edn. by
Clinical Skills for OSCEs has been a bestseller since it was first published in 2002. The clear and concise writing style coupled with easy-to-follow line diagrams and essential clinical photographs have made this book a firm favourite with medical students.
This new edition features contributions from over 30 current students from medical schools across the UK, to ensure that the book remains current and appropriate for the requirements of today's students. The book has been fully revised and updated and includes 8 brand new stations: Blood cultures; Cognitive testing; Dementia diagnosis; Weight loss history; Ophthalmic history; Choking; Imaging tests explanation; Endoscopies explanation.
With over 120 stations in total, Clinical Skills for OSCEs 5e continues to provide the essential skills and knowledge for all of the key topics you will need to know at medical school.
Macleod's Clinical Examination. 13th edn. by
2014 BMA Medical Book Awards Highly Commended in Medicine category! This classic textbook sets out clearly and concisely how to evaluate symptoms and elicit relevant physical signs. It describes the practical skills which every clinician must acquire and develop in order to evolve diagnostic procedures and management strategies and plans. 'Highly Commended' in the 2006 and 2010 BMA Medical Book Competitions, this Thirteenth Edition contains over 500 clinical photographs and diagrams to illustrate the text, with new topics added to make the book even more comprehensive.
Medical Microbiology and Infection at a Glance. 4th edn. by
This concise and popular introduction to medical microbiology and infection encapsulates the fundamental facts and principles of this rapidly growing and changing subject area. Written by experienced clinicians and teachers, it covers the basic concepts of medical microbiology, and the main human pathogens and infectious syndromes, in an accessible and lucid format.
This fully updated fourth edition is now supported by a companion website at www.ataglanceseries.com/medicalmicrobiologycontaining extra self-assessment cases, colour slides, further reading, and key point summaries.
Medical Microbiology and Infection at a Glance is an invaluable revision aid for medical and allied health students and junior doctors, and is ideal for anyone seeking a comprehensive and concise guide to this subject area.
History and Clinical Examination at a Glance by
Every medical student must be able to take an accurate history and perform a physical examination. This third edition of History and Clinical Examination at a Glance provides a concise, highly illustrated companion to help you develop these vital skills as you practice on the wards. Building on an overview of the patient/doctor relationship and basic enquiry, the text supports learning either by system or presentation of common conditions, with step-by-step and evidence-based information to support clinical examination and help you formulate a sound differential diagnosis.
Legal Aspects of Nursing. 7th edn. by
The definitive guide to the law that all nurses need to know. Written specifically for student nurses as well as those already in practice, Dimond's Legal Aspects of Nursing is your essential practical guide to the legal principles you need to be aware of in your everyday nursing practice. Building on previous editions of the book by Bridgit Dimond, this 8th edition has been significantly reworked by a new author team with extensive experience in teaching nursing law. It has also been fully updated and revised in line with recent legal developments and the new Nursing standards to ensure it continues to meet the requirements of nursing law modules.
Nurses' Clinical Decision Making by
This work includes a foreword by Carl Thompson, Senior Research Fellow, Department of Health Sciences, University of York. This inspiring text offers guidance and innovative ideas for teaching and learning. It explains how nurses make clinical decisions through the development of narratives, and how, using narratives, nurses gain a far more intimate knowledge of the patient than doctors can. The book considers service delivery around patients, renegotiation of professional roles of medical staff and their boundaries of responsibility and authority. "Nurses' Clinical Decision Making" will appeal to all undergraduate and postgraduate students of nursing, registered nurses and nurse managers. Nurse educators, hospital managers, doctors and healthcare risk managers will also find the information contained here invaluable. 'If nurses are decision-makers how can their role and practice be explained? Can decision-making be taught and are there different levels of decision-making skill? If so, how can expert decision-makers be recognised? These are just some of the pertinent questions that need to be asked if we are to recognise and understand the centrality of clinical decision-making in nursing practice. Clinical work is complex and takes place in a complex environment that centres around individuals who themselves are physically, socially and spiritually complex. Clinical work also involves multiple participants (nurses, doctors, patients, physiotherapists, occupational therapists, pharmacists to name a few) who in the course of a days work can make scores of decisions.' - Russell Gurbutt, in the Preface.
The Good Consultation Guide for Nurses by
This invaluable guide for nurses improves the skills and knowledge required to consult effectively with patients. It is highly practical, easy to read and comprehend, and is designed for use in daily practice, and as an aid for professional development. The 'Consultation Assessment and Improvement Instrument for Nurses' (CAIIN) concept is introduced, and sample forms, suggested strategies and tables containing key information are also provided. The recent substantial changes that have taken place in health service structures, staffing arrangements and nursing practice have led to more nurses working in first contact roles and within nurse-led services. Nurses at all levels in primary and secondary care, including those in pre-registration training will find this guide vital, as will nurses considering taking on autonomous roles such as independent prescribing. It is also highly suitable for nurse lecturers, nurse managers, learning and health service managers, and undergraduate and postgraduate nursing students.
Bioethics by
An essential resource for both undergraduate and postgraduate students and registered nurses to develop new insights and moral wisdom around ethical issues they will face in clinical practice. Bioethics: A Nursing Perspective, 6th Edition continues to set the standard for bioethical issues in nursing practice. As with previous editions, this highly respected text provides a comprehensive framework to assist students and registered nurses to understand the ethical challenges, obligations and responsibilities they will encounter in daily practice. Greater depth on ethical issues, particularly those concerning ethical conduct, unprofessional conduct, professional misconduct and 'morality politics' Case scenarios and critical questions that encourage students and registered nurses to reflect on key issues that relate to their own practice New chapters: - Ethics, dehumanisation and vulnerable populations - Professional obligations to report harmful behaviours with a focus on impaired practitioners, child abuse and elder abuse Introduces a new concept: 'cultural humility' Content on 'needs versus wants', 'the right not to be informed', palliative sedation, preventing ethical conflicts, the relationship between professional judgment and moral decision-making in nursing and health care contexts, and future ethical difficulties concerned with climate change, peak oil, pandemic influenza, antimicrobial resistance and health inequalities All chapters and references have been updated to reflect contemporary nursing practice, locally and globally
The Hands-On Guide to Practical Prescribing by
The hands-on guide to practical prescribing is a concise, easy-to-use guide to the practical aspects of pharmacology for junior doctors who are making the transition from studying pharmacology to prescribing drugs for the first time.
This new addition to 'The hands-on guide' series brings together the core pharmacological knowledge required by house officers, structured in a way to address the very hands-on, practical aspects of prescribing. This book is not designed to replace the factual drug information in the BNF, but to complement and build upon it, so that The hands-on guide to practical prescribing provides junior doctors with a solid guide to prescribing in the clinical setting.
Beginning with the general principles of prescribing and basics of writing a prescription form, the book guides you through topics such as using the BNF, drug interactions and monitoring toxicity, before moving on to cover both surgical and medical topics such as preoperative and postoperative patients, prophylaxis, organ failure and diabetes.
The hands-on guide to practical prescribing is a problem-based book that covers the common problems and questions a house officer might encounter, and will be an invaluable guide to life on the wards. The authors are specialist registrars in medicine and surgery, have undertaken SHO and registrar posts in the major specialities and also write and teach regularly on clinical pharmacology.
The Naked Consultation by
Don't Wait Until Something Goes Wrong to Think About Your Consultation Skills Designed specifically for busy health professionals working in primary care, The Naked Consultation: A Practical Guide to Primary Care Consultation Skills covers all aspects of the primary care consultation in a clear, concise, and highly readable manner. The book begins by breaking the primary care consultation into its components, making it easier to focus on particular areas and practise skills such as encouraging patients to explain what's wrong, summarising and reflecting, and giving information to patients. The book then describes how to effectively use educational tools--such as videoing, random case analysis, problem case debriefing, and feedback--to improve consultations. It also explains in detail how to demonstrate proficient consultation skills in the Membership of the Royal College of General Practitioners (MRCGP) exam and the importance of these skills in appraisal/revalidation. Certified for continuing professional development (CPD®) by The CPD Certification Service, this fully updated and revised Second Edition incorporates new thinking and consultation models, including the 6 S model and the new doctor, patient, illness model. It also provides detailed analysis of the latest Royal College of General Practitioners (RCGP) assessment tools, such as the clinical skills assessment exam (CSA) and the consultation observation tool (COT). Complete with illuminating case studies, photocopiable forms, and a jargon-busting appendix, The Naked Consultation: A Practical Guide to Primary Care Consultation Skills, Second Edition offers valuable insight into the key phases of the primary care consultation, the best features of common consultation models, and the real-world application of popular consultation techniques. Highly Commended at the BMA Medical Book Awards 2016
Inner Consultation by
The Inner Consultation, Second Edition sets out the author's thoughts on how consulting skills, and methods of teaching them, have evolved in the 17 years since the book's first publication. It also develops the theme of 'curiosity' as the key requirement for patient-centred consulting and provides a practical consultation model with five checkpoints to work to, advice for developing skills, and suggestions for doctors to ensure they know the cues in the consultation that require their full attention. All general practitioners, GP registrars, and medical professionals will find this book essential and thought-provoking reading.
Orthodox and Alternative Medicine by
This fascinating book explores the changing relationship between orthodox and alternative medicine in Britain and the United States from the sixteenth century to the present day.
Mike Saks sees the development of orthodox and alternative medicine as two sides of the same coin and his analysis centers on the role of professionalization in health care. In the sixteenth century, the line between orthodox and alternative medicine was blurred. By the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the increasing professionalization of orthodox bio-medicine had marginalized medical alternatives. In recent years, following the growth of a strong counter-culture in the 1960s and 1970s, perceptions of the relationship between the two forms of practice have begun to change again. The de-professionalization of orthodox medicine is being debated, while ironically, alternative medicine has become increasingly professionalized.
Mike Saks considers the political dynamics of the process of professionalization, and looks at the dilemmas posed for both medical orthodoxy and alternative medicine in the development of a more integrated health care system in Britain and the United States in the future
Educating the Reflective Practitioner by
Building on the concepts of professional competence that he introduced in his classic The Reflective Practitioner, Schon offers an approach for educating professional in all areas that will prepare them to handle the complex and unpredictable problems of actual practice with confidence, skill, and care.
Dale and Appelbe's Pharmacy and Medicines Law by
This new edition ofthis highly popular book provides an outline of the law that affects thepractice of pharmacy in Great Britain. It incorporates material from a widerange of well-known individuals in academia, professional and legal practiceand has been fully revised in line with current law and regulation. In particular, thechapters on controlled drugs and poisons have been completely rewritten to makethem more accessible, information on Falsified Medicines Directive andpharmacovigilance has been added to all the relevant chapters and there is commentaryon the latest standards and guidance from the General Pharmaceutical Council. Thechapter on Fitness to Practise has also been considerably enhanced with new caselaw and revised procedural protocols and the chapter organisation has been re-orderedand consolidated. Chapters 2-16 now cover all human medicines legislation,including controlled drugs; chapter 17 covers legislation on animal medicines.A new chapter 18 consolidates the law on poisons, denatured alcohols andchemicals. The book is an invaluablesource for pharmacy undergraduates, pre-registration students and pharmacistsin all branches of the profession, and also for others in Britain and overseaswho may need some knowledge of contemporary British law relating to medicinesand poisons and pharmacy professional regulation.