Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Mental Health Texts reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Mental Health Texts
Julien's Primer of Drug Action by In its 40th anniversary edition, A Primer of Drug Action continues to evolve side by side with the field it covers, drawing on the expertise of its authors in medicine, basic science, and clinical science to offer the most current and comprehensive guide to psychopharmacology available.
Call Number: 615.788 ADV
Publication Date: 2014
Anxiety Disorders by In this book, the discussion of the normal and pathological aspects ofanxiety is critically examined. A chapter on the molecular basis ofanxiety is included, outlining the potential of such approach in thediscovery of novel effective pharmacological interventions. The facevalidity, predictability and usefulness of animal models in the designof valid new efficacious products are discussed. Separate chaptersdedicated to each particular type of anxiety such as generalized anxietydisorder, social phobia, posttraumatic stress disorder, panic andobsessive-compulive disorder are included.This book should be of benefit to psychiatrists, clinical psychologists,general practitioners, nurses, students and all those engaged inneuropsychiatric research.
Call Number: 616.8522 EMI
Publication Date: 2002
Psychiatric Drugs Explained. 6th edn. by Now in its sixth edition, and written by an author internationally recognised in his field, Psychiatric Drugs Explained offers a wealth of information in a handy easy-to-use format. Organised by disorder, and providing a comprehensive review of drug effects, action and side-effects, this fully updated new edition covers the latest drugs on the market, and explores changes in prescribing practice.
The author's approach is distinctive and reader-friendly, to help guide mental health professionals through the benefits and impacts of psychotropic drugs. Additional topics include management of disorders including stimulants and drugs for children, cognitive impairment and sleep disorders.
Includes management of disorders including stimulants and drugs for children, cognitive impairment and sleep disorders
Gives particular focus on areas that are of major concern to mental health practitioners including management of dependence and withdrawal and issues of consent, abuse and liability
'User Issues' boxes highlight the most crucial aspects of drug effects and their implications
Key references point the reader to the most up-to-date research and literature in the field
Fresh design and updated artwork gives added appeal to the volume
Organised by disorder this new edition now covers the latest drugs on the market and explores changes in prescribing practice
Includes updated references pointing the reader to the most recent research and literature in the field
Call Number: 615.78 HEA + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Nurse Prescribing in Mental Health by Nurse Prescribing in Mental health is a practical handbookfor mental health nurses who are being training, have aspirationsto train or who are trained in nurse prescribing. It introduces thereader to the different types of nurse prescribing and how they canbe used in practice, now and in the future and reflects on themyriad of issues that are facing novice and experienced nurseprescribers. These include inter-professional relationships, teamwork, ethical and legal issues, governance and patient safety.
The text goes on to explore the different types of medicinescommonly prescribed for major disease groups and will help nurseprescribers to understand the practical application of prescribingas seen in clinical practice.
Outlines the principles of prescribing and pharmacology asapplied to mental health nursing
Running through all of the chapters is a review of relevantnurse prescribing research and evidence that supports generalprescribing practice with a direct application to clinical practicein mental health settings.
Accessible, with case studies and scenarios in each chapter
Call Number: 615.6 JON + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
The Maudsley Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry by The revised 13th edition of the essential reference for the prescribing of drugs for patients with mental health disorders The revised and updated 13th edition of The Maudsley Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry provides up-to-date information, expert guidance on prescribing practice in mental health, including drug choice, treatment of adverse effects and how to augment or switch medications. The text covers a wide range of topics including pharmacological interventions for schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, depression and anxiety, and many other less common conditions. There is advice on prescribing in children and adolescents, in substance misuse and in special patient groups. This world-renowned guide has been written in concise terms by an expert team of psychiatrists and specialist pharmacists. The Guidelines help with complex prescribing problems and include information on prescribing psychotropic medications outside their licensed indications as well as potential interactions with other medications and substances such as alcohol, tobacco and caffeine. In addition, each of the book's 165 sections features a full reference list so that evidence on which guidance is based can be readily accessed. This important text: Is the world's leading clinical resource for evidence-based prescribing in day-to-day clinical practice and for formulating prescribing policy Includes referenced information on topics such as transferring from one medication to another, prescribing psychotropic medications during pregnancy or breastfeeding, and treating patients with comorbid physical conditions, including impaired renal or hepatic function. Presents guidance on complex clinical problems that may not be encountered routinely Written for psychiatrists, neuropharmacologists, pharmacists and clinical psychologists as well as nurses and medical trainees, The Maudsley Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry are the established reference source for ensuring the safe and effective use of medications for patients presenting with mental health problems.
Call Number: 616.8918 TAY
Publication Date: 2018