Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Numeracy Texts reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Calculating Drug Doses Safely. 2nd edn. by This book is designed to help nurses make accurate drug calculations and improve patient safety. It is written in an accessible style to make learning as easy as possible. The simple, clear and friendly approach will be a major help to anyone who hates maths. Real examples from prescriptions and medicine labels are used to simulate actual practice and help make the link with the theory. The range of specialties covered makes the content relevant to all areas of nursing practice.
Real-life examples taken from prescriptions and medicine labels will help nurses to relate the mathematical theory to everyday clinical practice
Revision of the underlying arithmetic ensures a solid basis
A stepped approach allows readers to proceed at their own pace
More advanced material is included to suit a range of abilities
New 'How to use this book' section
More examples relating to renal, ITU, drug dosing, fluid balance and a wider range of examples
Text restructured so less intimidating material is at the beginning e.g. molarity comes later
Level of examples and exercises made clearer
Call Number: 615.14 DOW + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Nursing Calculations by This internationally renowned guide to basic arithmetic for nursing students has been fully revised and updated for a new generation of readers. Now entering its ninth edition - with over 200,000 copies sold worldwide - this popular and friendly volume has been designed to make medication calculations straightforward and easy to perform in a variety of settings. Written in response to nurse educators, Nursing Calculations features an initial self-testing chapter to help readers to identify and address areas of difficulty before moving on to numerous practical examples. Chapters then cover the core areas of clinical practice including calculations relating to oral medications (including both tablets and liquid form), injections, intravenous infusions and intravenously administered medication, and paediatric specific medication. Throughout the book, emphasis is placed on giving confidence to the reader by explaining in a step-by-step manner how the correct answer is derived together with a wide range of practice questions and later revision opportunities. This edition comes with a quick-reference card to fit in the pocket to remind readers of essential formulae and an additional on-line question bank to allow readers to practice their calculations on the move! Nursing Calculations will be perfect for student nurses and midwives at different levels in a variety of courses, 'Return to Practice' students, student paramedics and anyone involved with medication administration in the healthcare setting. Over 200,000 copies sold since publication! Initial self-testing chapter allows readers to identify and address areas of difficulty before moving onto practical examples 'Important Boxes' highlight potential pitfalls for the reader Special section on paediatrics covers medication calculations relating to body weight and body surface area Contains glossary and useful abbreviations Brings together basic math skills and clinical examples to prepare readers for real life drug calculations Quick-reference card fits in the pocket and remind readers of essential formulae Questions have been revised and updated when necessary to reflect current practice New material includes the use of medication charts in questions that involve medication labels Additional worked examples facilitate understanding of the 24-hour clock Contains a new revision chapter to help consolidate learning NOW COMES WITH AN ON-LINE PROGRAM TO ALLOW FURTHER SELF-TESTING VIA THE USE OF MOBILE DEVICES!
Call Number: STSK 513.02461 GAT + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Dosage Calculations. 5th edn. by Calculate correct dosages with safety and confidence, with the easy-to-follow nursing expertise of Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy! 5th edition . This fully illustrated guide offers the complete how-to on calculating dosages for all drug forms and administration routes, with numerous practice exercises and seasoned guidance on interpreting drug orders accurately. Understand class materials more fully, get ready for the NCLEX or certification exam, or refresh your calculation skills with this enjoyable, colorful text.
Your Incredible Easy editors know from experience that learning the basics isn't always easy so you'll find full coverage of topics including:
o math basics such as fractions, decimals, and percentages
o measurement systems and conversions
o calculating oral, topical, liquid, and rectal drug dosages
o calculating parenteral injections and IV infusions
o calculating pediatric, obstetric, and critical care dosages
o recording drug administration
An easy-reference format with clearly worded, bulleted content demonstrated with numerous photos, illustrations, and diagrams will give you step-by-step direction on:
o calculating dosages of all kinds o starting an infusion, including IV guidelines
o choosing administration equipment
o dealing with poor handwriting
o understanding medication labels and drug Abbreviations
o avoiding common drug errors
Plus, you'll get all of the learning aids, tips, and tricks that nurses have come to expect from the books in the Incredibly Easy series:
* Full-color inserts include: improving patient safety by using infusion devices; the anatomy of a medication label
* Appendices include: multiple choice Q&A; drug therapy conversions chart; dosage calculation formulas table; glossary with key terms and definitions
* Before you give that drug! - Crucial advice on avoiding medication errors
* Advice from the experts - Tips on ensuring accurate dosages
* For math phobics only - Hints, tips, and drawings to help you dissolve math obstacles
* Dosage drill - Real-life clinical dosage situations to practice your calculation skills on
* Memory jogger - Fortifies content with easy-to-remember tips and formulas
* Quick quiz - Questions with answers/explanations at end of every chapter to help you remember vital points
Call Number: 615.1401513 HAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Drug Calculations for Nurses. 4th edn. by The administration of drug treatments in hospitals has become increasingly complex. It sometimes involves potent drugs that may be fatal if administered incorrectly. The ability to perform drug calculations accurately is therefore paramount to prevent placing patients at risk.
Drug Calculations for Nurses: A Step-by-Step Approach teaches healthcare professionals how to perform drug calculations with confidence and competence. It provides step-by-step guidance to carry out accurate drug calculations, with units and drug strengths clearly explained.
This bestselling pocket-size book begins with the basic mathematical skills required to perform calculations, including tips on estimating answers. It then covers drug strengths and concentrations, dosage calculations, IV infusion therapies, and pharmacodynamics and pharmacokinetics. Two separate chapters focus on children and the elderly, addressing specific challenges encountered in these populations.
Helpful worked examples, key points, and objectives are included in every chapter. Useful tables with common prescription abbreviations, estimation of renal function, and body surface area estimates are easily accessible through the appendices.
This new edition comes with an online pre-test enabling readers to benchmark their knowledge. Specific weaknesses can then be identified and addressed in the printed book. Also included is a revision test that allows readers to assess their ability to perform drug calculations after completing the book.
Call Number: STSK 513.02461 WRI
Publication Date: 2015
Calculate with Confidence. 6th edn. by Calculate with Confidence provides a clear consistent format with a step-by-step approach to the calculation and administration of drug dosages. It covers the ratio and proportion, formula, and dimensional analysis methods. This popular text focuses on enhancing the learning experience of students at all curricular levels by making content clinically applicable. Concepts relating to critical thinking, logical thinking, and nursing process are presented throughout. New practice problems have been added throughout this edition and rationales for the answers continue to be provided giving the students a better understanding of principles related to drug dosages. This fifth edition addresses the increasing responsibility of nurses in medication and administration; emphasizes the priority for client care, and presents material that reflects the current scope of the nursing practice.
Tips for Clinical Practice boxes call attention to information critical to math calculation and patient safety.
Safety Alert boxes highlight issues that may lead to mediation errors and empower you to identify actions that must be taken to avoid calculation errors
Chapter review problems test all major topics presented in the chapter.
Separate basic math review test allows you to assess and evaluate your understanding of basic math material covered in Unit 1, directing you to review chapters if you miss any of these test questions.
Pre-test basic math review tests help you assess your basic math skills and identify areas of strength and weakness in competency of basic math.
Comprehensive unit on basic math review offers complete coverage of basic math: roman numerals, fractions, decimals, ratio and proportion, and percentages.
NEW! Integration of QSEN information related to patient safety in the Medication Administration chapter and throughout text.
NEW! NCLEX-style questions on Evolve help prepare you for the NCLEX-RN Examination.
NEW! Content additions and updates includes word problems involving dosages, Critical Thinking Scenarios, a discussion of the concepts regarding safety issues with medication administration, plus significant updates in the insulin, critical care and IV chapters.
NEW! Reorganization of Answer Key features answers and the work to practice problems at the end of each chapter rather than in the back of the book.
Call Number: 615.14 MOR + eBook
Publication Date: 2014