Essentials of pharmacology for nurses. 3rd edn. by
This ideal starter text for student nurses makes pharmacology less intimidating by focusing on the knowledge needed at pre-registration level in order to practice as a newly qualified nurse.
Noted for its clear layout and jargon-free language, this updated edition introduces pharmacology in a friendly, informative way. The book does not assume previous knowledge of pharmacology, or a level of confidence with maths and drugs calculations.
This new edition has been carefully expanded to include a new chapter introducing drug calculations and measurements as well as more detail on drugs used in chronic conditions, as well as more on pharmacology for the older patient and for other specific groups such as children, pregnant women or those with minor illness. More case scenarios have been added to encourage nurses to apply knowledge to a range of different people with a range of needs.
The book contains:
90 calculations and 100 multiple choice questions to help perfect your skills and assess learning
Clinical tip boxes linking pharmacology to the role of the nurse
35 patient scenarios across a range of clinical settings
References to key clinical tests and the latest NICE guidelines
The book emphasises application of pharmacological principles to all areas of practice including drug action, interaction and side effects, and is useful to all students of pharmacology whether as part of a 3 year course, post-qualifying course, top-up course or standalone module.
Pharmacology. 4th edn. by
Pharmacology, 4th Edition helps you master the "must-know" concepts in this subject and how they apply to everyday clinical problem solving and decision making. This concise yet comprehensive text clearly explains and illustrates challenging concepts and helps you retain the material - from course exams and the USMLE Step 1 right through to clinical practice.
Quickly reference essential information thanks to abundant tables throughout, and drug classification boxes at the beginning of each chapter.
See how pharmacology applies to practice with real-world case studies.
Prepare for exams with self-assessment questions at the end of each chapter.
Understand complex concepts visually with the aid of superb full-color illustrations.
Access the complete contents online at www.studentconsult.com, along with an additional glossary, chapter-by-chapter summaries and case studies, a full list of featured drugs, 150 USMLE-style questions, animations, and more.
Learn the latest pharmacologic mechanisms and applications with new and updated drug information throughout.
Be aware of new "off label" uses, including important FDA regulations.
Clinical Pharmacology by
'The very last thing a drug regulator wishes to be able to say is, like Lord Byron (1788-1824), on the publication of his poem Childe Harold's Pilgrimage, 'I awoke one morning and found myself famous.' The twelfth edition of this long-established textbook of clinical pharmacology (first published in 1960) continues its fine tradition of balancing science and practice for improved evidence-based drug therapy and good prescribing in therapeutic settings increasingly complicated by intercurrent disease and polypharmacy. Coverage of all major therapeutic topics by body system. Introductory sections give brief chapter synopses. Case studies where relevant. Covers the needs of the developing world with a focus on practical prescribing and health technology assessment. Definition, tips, brief explanation boxes throughout. Interesting histories, etymologies and provenances of terms throughout. Entertaining footnotes throughout. Fully updated throughout. New co-editor: Fraz Mir, Addenbrooke's Hospital and Department of Medicine, University of Cambridge. Now with free e-book on StudentConsult.
Pharmacology and Medicines Management for Nurses by
This title is directed primarily towards health care professionals outside of the United States. An understanding of medicines and their effects on patients remains a crucial area of nursing knowledge. This book provides a thorough foundation upon which nurses can build their clinical experience to achieve competence. It not only provides information on the actions of drugs on the body but also gives clear guidance on the practical aspects of medicines management in both hospital and community. Organisation of the text broadly follows the British National Formulary for ease of use.
Management of medicines linked to their therapeutic use
Medicine administration linked with relevant care of patients where possible
Basic principles of clinical pharmacology underpin the therapeutic chapters
A chapter on the role of patients and carers is included
All content revised in the light of changes in drug therapy, clinical practice and medicines management including nurse prescribing
Key objectives for each chapter
Self-assessment exercises with answers
More detail relating to palliative care; nurse prescribing
A new section on Intensive Therapy
Totally redesigned in two colours with improved design and page layout, and better illustrations
Fundamentals of Pharmacology; An applied approach for nursing and health by
Your comprehensive and current introduction to the fascinating field of Pharmacology, applied to Nursing and Health! Now fully updated in line with changes in clinical practice, new drugs and research developments.
This clear and readable text will guide you through how drugs act within the body coupled with their clinical application. Sections covering social, legal and professional issues are included alongside the scientific principles of pharmacology. Drug groups are considered according to their pharmacological effects, their action on physiological processes and the conditions they are used to treat.
Trounce's Clinical Pharmacology for Nurses by
With the important part played by nurses in the administration of drugs and in recording their effects, an understanding of pharmacology and its application to patient care is an integral part of pre-registration nursing education. This popular textbook gives an up-to-date account of the action and use of drugs in the treatment and prevention of disease, as well as exploring the principles underlying drug usage. The eighteenth edition of this highly successful textbook builds on the foundation of its predecessors by bringing the text fully up to date with developments in the world of clinical pharmacology and current trends in clinical practice.
Adverse Drug Interactions by
This handy, portable book provides information on potential adverse effects when prescribing two or more drugs for simultaneous use, organised by drug class in a convenient, user-friendly format. Interactions that are likely to give rise to life-threatening conditions and which must therefore be completely avoided are clearly highlighted. Less threatening, but nonetheless important, interactions necessitating practical measures such as frequent monitoring and advice to patients are also detailed.
Presented in tabular form for ease of reference, the book also provides a brief summary of the mechanism underlying a particular interaction, alternative drugs lacking the same reactions that may be considered, and instructions for monitoring patients when adverse affects occur.
This book is an essential companion for the physician, nurse prescriber and pharmacist in the clinical setting and an invaluable reference for medical students.
Adverse Drug Reactions. 2nd Edition by
Adverse reactions to medicines continue to present a considerable burden on healthcare, causing considerable morbidity and mortality. As well as knowing about the benefits of medicines, healthcare professionals need to understand the problem of adverse drug reactions and be aware of how they can be prevented and managed. The new edition of this essential and practical guide has been extensively revised and updated.
How Drugs Work by
This fourth edition of How Drugs Work equips readers with a set of clear concepts for matching the pharmacology to the diagnosis, and has been completely revised and updated to reflect the latest knowledge and terminology. Rather than providing overwhelmingly comprehensive information, it condenses the aspects of pharmacology directly relevant to everyday practice into a concise, accessible volume, including material on the half life of drugs, patient non-compliance and severe chronic inflammation.
Medical Pharmacology at a Glance by
Medical Pharmacology at a Glance is recognised as an excellent starting point for pharmacology study. This international best-seller is the perfect companion for all medical and health students, providing an accessible, visual overview of pharmacology. This 8th edition has been extensively updated, especially in the areas of anaesthetics, drugs used in AIDs, cardiovascular drugs, drugs used in anxiety, depression and schizophrenia, urological drugs, drug metabolism, as well as practical concerns such as drug indications and side effects. Ideal for USMLE and pharmacology exam revision, Medical Pharmacology at a Glance features: * The basic principles of drug action, interaction, absorption and excretion * Chapters based on diseases or syndrome, for efficient clinical learning * An emphasis on drug mechanisms * References to the pathophysiology of disease, to aid understanding of drug choice and action * Case studies with questions and full explanation of answers * A companion website at www.ataglanceseries.com/pharmacology featuring online cases and flashcards
Nursing Anti-Infective Drug Handbook 2011 by
Based on the best-selling Nursing Drug Handbook, this compact handbook offers the latest information on a vanguard of germ- and disease-fighting drugs. Nursing2011 Anti-infective Drug Handbook features complete monographs on hundreds of anti-infective drugs, including amebicides, antiprotozoals, and anthelmintics; aminoglycosides; antifungals, antimalarials; antiretrovirals; antituberculotics; antivirals; cephalosporins; fluoroquinolones; local anti-infectives; macrolide anti-infectives; penicillins; scabicides and pediculicides; sulfonamides; tetracyclines; and miscellaneous anti-infectives. Each monograph provides generic and trade names, pronunciation key, pregnancy risk category, pharmacologic class, available forms, indications and dosages, administration, action, adverse reactions, interactions, contraindications and cautions, nursing considerations, patient teaching, and more.
Nursing Cardiovascular Drug Handbook 2011 by
Based on the best-selling Nursing Drug Handbook, this compact handbook offers the latest information on a host of preventive, maintenance, and emergency/lifesaving cardiovascular and hematologic drugs. Nursing2011 Cardiovascular Drug Handbook features complete monographs on hundreds of antianginals, antiarrhythmics, antihypertensives, antilipidemics, diuretics, inotropics, vasodilators, vasopressors, miscellaneous cardiovascular drugs, antianemics, anticoagulants, blood derivatives, neutropenia drugs, platelet drugs, and thrombolytic enzymes. Each monograph provides generic and trade names, pronunciation key, pregnancy risk category, pharmacologic class, available forms, indications and dosages, administration, action, adverse reactions, interactions, contraindications and cautions, nursing considerations, patient teaching, and more.
A Nurses Survival Guide to Drugs in Practice by
The 'Nurses' Survival Guide to Drugs in Practice' is a handy pocketbook designed to provide succinct information on a wide variety of drugs that nurses need to look up quickly. It provides an understandable and detailed account of common drugs and their actions. The level is suitable for all nurses in practice, including qualified and student nurses, as well as those taking Supplementary Prescribing Courses and will also be useful to other healthcare professionals . Pocket sized and easily transportable, it will become a constant companion both in ward and community environments. As well as the more routine use of drugs in clinical practice it covers emergency situations, such as cardiac arrest and anaphylaxis.
Cancer Clinical Pharmacology by
Cancer Clinical Pharmacology provides a comprehensive account of the scientific basis of anti-cancer therapy in patients with solid tumours and haematological malignancies. An international group of experts have brought together information on the basic principles of pharmacology and tumourbiology, bioanalytical aspects, pharmacokinetics, and the pharmacodynamics of anti-cancer agents. The clinical pharmacology of individual anti-cancer agents are covered, including the most important recently registered novel anti-cancer drugs.This book will prove an invaluable source of information for all trainees in oncology, haematology and internal medicine. Since cancer clinical pharmacology is a vast subject this book will be useful for all individuals involved in cancer pharmacology such as nurses, pharmacists, generalpharmacologists, and cancer scientists.
Nursing Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy! by
Nursing Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy! explains difficult and complex pharmacology concepts in clear, concise, and interesting language, making the information easy to learn and, most importantly, to remember. The text covers fundamentals of pharmacology, including where drugs come from, how they are classified and administered, drugs by pharmacologic class for all body systems, plus pain medications, and potentially dangerous drug interactions. All aspects of how the body processes a drug and the subsequent actions of that drug on the body are discussed in detail, and many are illustrated for clarity. The text is organised by body system, and illustrated with numerous features to enhance comprehension.
Clinical Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy! 3rd edn. by
Written in the award-winning Incredibly Easy style, this book provides complete and clear explanations of how drugs act and interact in the treatment of disease. Focusing on mechanisms of drug action, the book details specific drugs by pharmacologic class for all body systems as well as drugs for pain, psychiatric disorders, infection, fluid and electrolyte imbalances, and cancer. Potentially dangerous drug and drug-herb interactions are highlighted. This thoroughly updated edition covers the newest drugs in each pharmacologic class and includes information on obesity drugs, a new chapter on genitourinary system drugs, a new medication safety feature, and a new appendix on common herbal preparations and their drug interactions.
Minor Illness or Major Disease? by
This is a new edition of a well-established textbook covering the diagnosis and management of disease symptoms frequently encountered in practice and how to establish whether referral to a medical practitioner is necessary. The sixth edition has been thoroughly revised with updated advice and also features the current most updated products available in the market.
Symptoms in the Pharmacy. 7th edn. by
Symptoms in the Pharmacy is the indispensable guide to the management of common symptoms seen in the pharmacy. Designed for quick and easy reference with separate chapters for each ailment, each chapter incorporates a decision making framework in which the information necessary for treatment and suggestions on 'when to refer' is distilled into helpful summary boxes. Decision making support is provided in cases involving ethical dilemmas. It also includes example case studies providing the view of pharmacists and doctors and, in their own words, patient perspectives of what it is like to live with and manage conditions such as migraine and eczema. These easy-to-follow chapters can be read cover to cover or turned to for quick reference. This seventh edition covers the availability of new medicines and includes new sections and case studies for 'POM' to 'P' switches. It continues to draw upon the latest evidence for treatment guidelines and includes expanded coverage of common infectious diseases and important safety advice on the use of medicines in children. It also features colour photographs of skin conditions enabling the differentiation and diagnosis of common skin complaints. With advice from a pharmacist and GP author team, Symptoms in the Pharmacy covers ailments which will be encountered in the pharmacy on a daily basis and should be kept close at hand for frequent consultation.
The Minor Illness Manual by
This new edition of the best-selling Minor Illness Manual has been completely revised and updated with the latest clinical guidance and prescribing information, and includes a new chapter on the changing demands of Primary Care. The simple, clear and easy-to-use format enables Primary Care professionals - such as nurses, pharmacists, midwives, doctors, and paramedics - to quickly access the current procedures for dealing with situations they are likely to encounter in their daily practice.