Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Non-Medical Prescribing Texts reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
BNF for Children 2019-2020 by The BNF for Children (BNFC) 2019-2020 provides essential practical information to all healthcare professionals involved in the prescribing, dispensing, monitoring and administration of medicines to children.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Bnf 78 (British National Formulary) September 2019 by Compiled with the advice of clinical experts and continually updated to reflect the latest evidence from credible sources worldwide, the new edition of the British National Formulary 78 (BNF) provides up-to-date guidance on prescribing, dispensing, and administering medicines. Access to the latest edition of the BNF is vital for healthcare professionals, as it reflects current best practice as well as legal and professional guidelines relating to the uses of medicines. NICE has accredited the editorial process used by the British National Formulary to produce its resources.
Call Number: 615.13 BRI
Publication Date: 2019
Oxford Handbook of Prescribing for Nurses and Allied Health Professionals by Prescribing is a relatively recent extension of the nursing role, and there are few resources to support the prescriber through this complex and expanding initiative. The Oxford Handbook of Prescribing for Nurses and Allied Health Professionals, second edition gives concise, practical andexpert advice on all aspects of non-medical prescribing.Giving a complete picture of the role of the prescriber, the handbook provides evidence-based advice for all nurse and non-medical prescribers from novice and student level through to the established prescriber; for all prescribing courses; and following all the competency areas. Helping you achievethe best possible results for your patients, the authors offer a wealth of recommendations, guidance and information from their years of experience as practitioners and teachers.Whatever situation you are in, the Oxford Handbook of Prescribing for Nurses and Allied Health Professionals will give you the information you need. It contains the practical principles required to enable you to practice safely, effectively and cost-consciously. Information included ranges frombasic pharmacology, to the legal aspects and processes of prescribing practice, and prescribing for specific conditions and special groups, such as the older person and the very young. This new edition has been fully revised to include new legislation and changes to prescribing standards. Chapterson complementary and alternative medicine, and evidence-based practice have been expanded, and guidelines regarding prescribing for cosmetic effect have also been included.So you can find the information you need without delay, the book is clearly laid out with one topic per page, and written in an easily readable note-based style. All this is available at your fingertips, in an accessible and pocket-sized handbook. Written by practising nurses and checked by subjectexperts and pharmacologists, the Oxford Handbook of Prescribing for Nurses and Allied Health Professionals is a unique and invaluable companion to those undertaking prescribing training and novice prescribers, as well as qualified nurse prescribers, extended nurse prescribers, supplementary nurseprescribers, and other legally designated health professional prescribers including physiotherapists, radiographers, podiatrists, optometrists and pharmacists.
Call Number: 615.6 BEC
Publication Date: 2011
Non-Medical Prescribing by The foundations of good prescribing are quality engagement with trusted healthcare staff, access to knowledgeable and skilled personnel, and full involvement in decisions about care. Beginning with a discussion of how prescribing practices have evolved, this book then proceeds to outline how non-medical prescribing is now implemented from the perspectives of nurses, pharmacists and allied health professionals. It explores the impact on practice, and integrates the views and experiences of patients and service users, as individuals assume responsibility for their own health and select from a range of treatment options. The findings reported in this book describe the challenges posed by policy initiatives, the implications they have for healthcare personnel, and highlight areas in which further organisational change is required before the full impact of non-medical prescribing will be felt.
Call Number: 615.14 BRA + eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Non-Medical Prescribing in Healthcare Practice by This text offers a contemporary insight into non-medical prescribing initiatives in everyday situations, covering the latest phase in this ever-evolving field of professional practice. With contributors from a variety of health professions, this practical text examines prescribing as it stands now, how it may develop in the future.
Call Number: 615.6 BRO
Publication Date: 2006
Independent and Supplementary Prescribing by The second edition of Independent and Supplementary Prescribing builds on the success of this classic text by providing a unique resource for prescribing and medicines management for both new and experienced prescribers. This is an essential resource for anyone undertaking the non-medical prescribing programme. The book explores a number of key areas for prescribers, including the ethical and legal issues surrounding prescribing, prescribing within a public health context, evidence-based prescribing, basic pharmacology, medication safety, monitoring skills and drug calculations. Each chapter has been updated for the second edition and an additional chapter 'Minimising the risk of prescribing error' has been added. Written by a group of multi-professional authors working at all stages of the medication management process, this book will be essential reading for all nurses, midwives, pharmacists and allied health professionals qualified to prescribe as independent and/or supplementary prescribers.
Call Number: 615.14 COU
Publication Date: 2010
The Textbook of Non-Medical Prescribing by The Textbook of Non-Medical Prescribing is an authoritative and accessible overview of the vital skills, contemporary issues and essential knowledge relevant to both students and healthcare practitioners. Written as a response to the growing emphasis placed on prescribing in the modern health service, this text provides up-to-date information on safe and effective prescribing. This wide-ranging book helps students and trainees develop foundational knowledge of the key areas and prescribing competencies and provides healthcare professionals with a continued source of current information. Now in its third edition, this text has been fully updated and revised to reflect changes in legislation, current practices and new guidelines. New and updated topics include independent prescribing for therapeutic radiologists, supplementary prescribing for dietitians, paramedics working in advanced roles to independently prescribe and the Royal Pharmaceutical Society's Competency Framework for all Prescribers. Provides up-to-date information essential to safe and effective prescribing in a clear, easy-to-understand style Discusses current issues and practices in pharmacology, prescribing and therapeutics and medicine management Links to the Royal Pharmaceutical Society's Competency Framework for all Prescribers for non-medical prescribers Presents learning objectives, key theme summaries, activities and numerous case studies Offers access to additional online resources including interactive exercises, quizzes, self-assessment tests and web links The Textbook of Non-Medical Prescribing is an essential resource for students, nurses, dieticians, pharmacists, and allied health practitioners pursuing a prescribing qualification or looking for an updated refresher on the subject.
Call Number: 615.1 NUT + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Non-medical Prescribing by Non-medical Prescribing is an essential new guide designed to ensure confident prescribing in specialist areas. The need for this text stems from the necessity to develop non-medical prescribing in practice. It will be an indispensable resource for all non-medical prescribers including nurses, pharmacists, optometrists, physiotherapists and other healthcare professionals who desire to become supplementary or independent prescribers in their field. The book is divided into two comprehensive sections and provides an overview of non-medical prescribing by healthcare professionals other than doctors. In addition to providing background information on history and prescriber insights and reflections, it includes: competencies needed (including RPSGB guidelines); the moral aspects of prescribing; nine specialist clinical topics from prescribing in diabetes, through to prescribing in oncology and palliative care; clinical case studies for support; sources for more detailed information in areas such as consultation skills. Non-medical Prescribing is aimed both at those studying to obtain a prescribing qualification and at those who are qualified and need to develop their practical clinical skills. It is an indispensable guide to the key areas which consider safe and effective prescribing.
Call Number: 615.14 SOD + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
History of Non-Medical Prescribing
Supplementary Prescribing Texts
Resources with free access for NHS Medicines Information Services