There are no essential texts for this module. Instead, students may choose one or more texts from the "Recommended Reading" section, based on their personal preferences for textbook style and presentation. Students may use relevant web pages to supplement the resources listed below. Academic staff will assist with the selection and interpretation of web pages.
Clinical Nutrition. 2nd edn. by
This second edition of Clinical Nutrition, in the acclaimed textbook series by the Nutrition Society, has been revised and updated in order to: Provide students with the required scientific basis in nutrition, in the context of a systems and health approach. Enable teachers and students to explore the core principles of nutrition and to apply these throughout their training to foster critical thinking at all times. Each chapter identifies the key areas of knowledge that must be understood and also the key points of critical thought that must accompany the acquisition of this knowledge. Are fully peer reviewed to ensure completeness and clarity of content, as well as to ensure that each book takes a global perspective and is applicable for use by nutritionists and on nutrition courses throughout the world. Ground breaking in scope and approach, with an additional chapter on nutritional screening and a student companion website, this second edition is designed for use on nutrition courses throughout the world and is intended for those with an interest in nutrition in a clinical setting. Covering the scientific basis underlying nutritional support, medical ethics and nutritional counselling, it focuses solely on the sick and metabolically compromised patient, dealing with clinical nutrition on a system by system basis making the information more accessible to the students. This is an essential purchase for students of nutrition and dietetics, and also for those students who major in other subjects that have a nutrition component, such as food science, medicine, pharmacy and nursing. Professionals in nutrition, dietetics, food sciences, medicine, health sciences and many related areas will also find this an important resource. Libraries in universities, medical schools and establishments teaching and researching in the area of nutrition will find Clinical Nutrition a valuable addition to their shelves.
Human Nutrition and Dietetics. 10th edn. by
This classic textbook covers the entire field of nutrition. Written by a large number of expert contributors, it contains comprehensive coverage of all aspects of the subject: physiology of nutrition, foods and their composition, dietary requirements in health, and nutritional management of disease.
Introduction to Human Nutrition by
Now in its third edition, the best-selling Introduction to Human Nutrition continues to foster an integrated, broad knowledge of the discipline and presents the fundamental principles of nutrition science in an accessible way. With up-to-date coverage of a range of topics from food composition and dietary reference standards to phytochemicals and contemporary challenges of global food safety, this comprehensive text encourages students to think critically about the many factors and influences of human nutrition and health outcomes. Offers a global, multidisciplinary perspective on food and nutrition Covers nutrition and metabolism of proteins, lipids, carbohydrates and vitamins and minerals Explores new developments in functional foods, supplements and food fortification, and future challenges for nutrition research and practice Explains the digestion, absorption, circulatory transport, and cellular uptake of nutrients Demonstrates the structure and characteristics of nutrients, and the relationship with disease prevention A primary text in nutritional science classes worldwide, Introduction to Human Nutrition is a vital resource for students in areas of nutrition, dietetics, and related subjects that involve principles of nutrition science.
Public Health Nutrition by
In this second edition of the bestselling title from the acclaimed Nutrition Society Textbook series, Public Health Nutrition has been extensively revised to ensure that it reflects the latest evidence-based knowledge and research. Ground-breaking and comprehensive in both its scope and approach, Public Health Nutrition has been fully updated by an expert editorial team to cover the most recent changes in the field. It now offers a structured overview of the subject's core concepts and considers public health nutrition tools and the application of intervention strategies. Divided into five key sections, Public Health Nutrition contains a wealth of information, including: Public health nutrition concepts and assessment tools, and their application in light of the latest evidence. Case studies to illustrate how best to apply the theory and evidence to policy and practice. An examination of nutrition throughout the lifecycle, and the relationship between diet and disease, including in relation to obesity, diabetes, cancer, as well as mental health. The impact of environmental factors on public health. Public health strategies, policies and approaches. With a clear and concise structure, Public Health Nutrition is an essential purchase for students of nutrition, dietetics and other healthcare areas, as well as an invaluable practical guide for health professionals working within public health. A supporting companion website featuring multiple-choice, short answer, and essay style questions is available at www.wiley.com/go/buttriss/publichealth
Nutrition and Metabolism by
Nutrition and Metabolism Second Edition Edited by Susan A Lanham-New, Ian A Macdonald and Helen M Roche EditionIn this second edition of the second title in the acclaimed Nutrition Society Textbook Series, Nutrition and Metabolism has been revised and updated to meet the needs of the contemporary student. Groundbreaking in their scope and approach, the titles in the series: Provide students with the required scientific basics of nutrition in the context of a systems and health approach Enable teachers and students to explore the core principles of nutrition, to apply these throughout their training, and to foster critical thinking at all times. Throughout, key areas of knowledge are identified Are fully peer-reviewed, to ensure completeness and clarity of content, as well as to ensure that each book takes a global perspective Nutrition and Metabolism is an essential purchase for students of nutrition and dietetics, and also for those students who major in other subjects that have a nutrition component, such as food science, medicine, pharmacy and nursing. Professionals in nutrition, dietetics, food science, medicine, health sciences and many related areas will also find much of great value within its covers.
Nutrition :a lifespan approach by
Nutrition, Health and Disease Nutrition, Health and Disease In this newly revised third edition of Nutrition, Health and Disease, prominent researcher and Professor of Human Nutrition Simon Langley-Evans delivers an easy-to-read and student-friendly textbook on the changing demands for nutrients made by the body throughout the human lifespan. Thorough introductions to lifespan nutrition, maternal nutrition prior to conception, pregnancy, and the relationship between fetal nutrition and disease later in life Practical discussions of lactation and infant feeding, nutrition during childhood, nutrition during adolescence, and nutrition in the adult years Detailed examination of contemporary evidence of the relationship between diet, body weight, and the major nutrition-related diseases: cancer, heart disease and diabetes Exploration of vegetarian, vegan, and other alternative diets, as well as dieting for weight loss in adults, gender and nutrition, macro- and micronutrients, and a background on nutritional epidemiology Access to an updated student companion website with additional resources Perfect for nutrition and dietetics students, as well as newly qualified nutrition and dietetics professionals, this foundational textbook will also earn a place on the bookshelves of other healthcare students and professionals who seek a one-stop reference on the impact that nutrition has on health and disease.
Sport and Exercise Nutrition by
Now widely adopted on courses throughout the world, the prestigious Nutrition Society Textbook series provides students with the scientific basics in nutrition in the context of a systems and disease approach rather than on a nutrient by nutrient basis. In addition books provide a means to enable teachers and students to explore the core principles of nutrition and to apply these throughout their training to foster critical thinking at all times. This NS Textbook on Sport and Exercise Nutrition has been written to cover the latest information on the science and practice of sport and exercise nutrition. A key concept behind this textbook is that it aims to combine the viewpoints of world leading nutrition experts from both academia/research and a practical stand point. Plus where necessary there are additional practitioner based authors to ensure theory is translated into practice for each chapter in the form of either ?practice tips' or ?information sheets' at the end of relevant chapters. The textbook in essence can be divided into three distinct but integrated parts: Part 1: covers the key components of the science that supports the practice of sport and exercise nutrition including comprehensive reviews on: nutrients both in general and as exercise fuels; exercise physiology; hydration, micronutrients; and supplements. Part 2: moves into focusing on specific nutrition strategies to support different types of training including: resistance; power/sprint; middle distance/speed endurance; endurance; technical/skill, team; and specific competition nutrition needs. The unique format of this textbook is that it breaks down nutrition support into training specific as opposed to the traditional sport specific support. This reflects the majority of current sport and exercise requirements of the need to undertake concurrent training and therefore facilitating targeted nutrition support to the different training components through the various macro and micro training cycles. Part 3: explores some of the practical issues encountered in working in the sport and exercise nutrition field and includes key sport related topics such as: disability sport; weight management; eating disorders; bone and gut health; immunity; injury; travel; and special populations and situations. READERSHIP: Students of nutrition and dietetics at both undergraduate and postgraduate level. All those working in the field of nutrition and related health sciences.
Essentials of Human Nutrition by
Food is one of the basic necessities of life, yet nutrition has only relatively recently been recognised as one of the most important determinants of individual and public health. A full understanding of this multi-faceted subject area requires an integrated approach, from molecular to societal level. Essentials of Human Nutrition provides a complete and student-friendly introduction to the field making it an ideal companion forstudents throughout their study of nutrition. Careful editing of contributions from an international team of experts draws together a broad spectrum of disciplines and promotes the practical application ofnutritional science at the human level, covering everything a student needs to know in order to understand the importance of nutrition to health and disease.
Lehninger principles of biochemistry. 6th edn. by 
Nutrition and Science Applications. 4th edn. by
Nutrition: Science and Applications, 3rd edition helps develop the scientific understanding to support personal and professional decisions. Using a critical thinking approach, Smolin brings nutrition out of the classroom and allows students to apply the logic of science to their own nutrition concerns both as consumers and as future scientists and health professionals. The text has been developed through collaboration between the authors and the Nutrition Advisory Board, a team of dedicated nutrition instructors who help review and develop all of Wiley s nutrition resources. Access to WileyPLUS sold seperately.
Manual of Dietetic Practice by
The authoritative guide for dietetic students and both new and experienced dietitians - endorsed by the British Dietetic Association Now in its sixth edition, the bestselling Manual of Dietetic Practice has been thoroughly revised and updated to include the most recent developments and research on the topic. Published on behalf of the British Dietetic Association, this comprehensive resource covers the entire dietetics curriculum, and is an ideal reference text for healthcare professionals to develop their expertise and specialist skills in the realm of dietetic practice. This important guide includes: The latest developments and scientific evidence in the field New data on nutrition and health surveillance programs Revised and updated evidence-based guidelines for dietetic practice An exploration of how Public Health England has influenced the field Practical advice on public health interventions and monitoring A companion website with helpful materials to support and develop learning Written for dietitians, clinical nutritionists, and other healthcare professionals by leading dietitians and other professionals, the Manual of Dietetic Practice continues to provide a crucial resource for experts and novices alike.