Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Dissertation reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
There is no essential reading for this module.
No specific journals have been recommended for this module, however, you can access useful journals and databases for Science through your Subject Guide.
Doing a Successful Research Project by This straightforward, student-friendly guide contains all the practical advice for successfully undertaking a research project, leading students through all the stages of the research process. The second edition of this no-nonsense textbook supports students in conducting their own research projects, whatever discipline they are from. Describing processes, tools and strategies in a simple, succinct way, it supports the reader carefully through the planning and design stages, to implementation, analysis and completion. Doing a Successful Research Project is suitable for an interdisciplinary audience all over the world. It is aimed at undergraduate and postgraduate students undertaking a research project or dissertation across the social sciences, applied social sciences, education, health and business studies. It can also be used as essential or complimentary reading on modules on qualitative and quantitative research and research design.< New to this Edition: - Enhanced coverage of essential topics, including research ethics, the literature review and online methodologies - Increased coverage on quantitative methods - New up-to-date examples of real-life research studies - Broadened scope to encourage appeal to a wide range of academic disciplines
Call Number: STSK 001.42 DAV + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by Now thoroughly updated and expanded, this new edition of a classic guide offers practical advice on preparing and publishing journal articles as well as succeeding in other communication-related aspects of a scientific career. Writing and publishing journal articles are essential aspects of a successful scientific career. Unfortunately, many scientists find the process of communicating about their work intimidating and confusing. Now in its eighth edition, How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper teaches how to apply clear focus, good organization, and simple, straightforward language to write papers as well as communicate effectively in many other scientifically related applications. By providing practical, readable, and sometimes humorous guidance, this book enables researchers to gain the knowledge, skills, and confidence to succeed in communicating about their work. The authors not only guide readers in the craft of scientific writing--broken down into the separate tasks of writing the respective sections of a scientific paper and then publishing the paper--but also address important related psychological, ethical, logistical, and cultural considerations in communicating about science. Chapter topics include composing (and requesting) recommendation letters, writing grant proposals, providing peer review, editing one's own work, preparing oral presentations and poster presentations, and working with the popular media. This is an essential resource for researchers--both native and non-native users of English--with limited experience writing scientific papers, such as graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and early-career faculty members. Provides practical, easy-to-read, and immediately applicable guidance on preparing each part of a scientific paper: from the title and abstract, through each section of the main text, to the acknowledgments and references Explains step by step how to decide to which journal to submit a paper, what happens to a paper after submission, and how to work effectively with a journal throughout the publication process Includes key advice on other communication important to success in scientific careers, such as giving presentations and writing proposals Presents an insightful insider's view of how journals actually work--and describes how best to work with them
Call Number: 808.0665 GAS
Publication Date: 2016
Modern Statistics for the Life Sciences by This textbook teaches statistics in a different way. It is aimed at undergraduate students in the life sciences, and it will also be invaluable for many graduate students. It makes the powerful methods of model formulae and the General Linear Model accessible to undergraduates for the firsttime. The computer revolution has finally made it possible to teach life sciences undergraduates how to use the statistics they really need to know - this book provides the course materials needed to fulfil that possibility. This text presents the fundamental statistical concepts without being tiedto any one statistical package. Three supplements available on the web site provide all the information you need to conduct the analyses in either Minitab, SAS, or SPSS. All datasets are available on the web site.
Call Number: 519.502457 GRA
Publication Date: 2002
Research Methods for the Biosciences by Scientific research is a proven and powerful tool for discovering the answers to biological questions. As such, today's students need to be well-versed in experimental design, analysis, and the communication of research. Furthermore, they must appreciate how all of these aspects areinterlinked - how, for example, statistics can be used to inform the design of a particular experiment. As a resource which skillfully integrates all of the key aspects relating to biological research, Research Methods for the Biosciences is the perfect guide for undergraduates.The exceptionally clear layout takes students through choosing a project and planning their research; collecting, evaluating, and analyzing their data; and finally reporting their results. Research methods, which can often seem abstract, are brought to life through the use of examples taken fromreal undergraduate research. Friendly guidance and advice is provided throughout the text, and little prior knowledge or mathematical experience is required. Since statistics is a subject best learned through doing, frequent worked examples appear throughout Part Two "Handling your data", showingstep-by-step how to carry out the various statistical tests. In addition, online software walkthroughs and video screencasts clearly demonstrate how to use software such as SPSS, Minitab, and Excel to carry out statistical analyses.Online Resource CentreThe Online Resource Centre to accompany Research Methods for the Biosciences features:For students:* New video screencasts showing how to carry out statistical tests using software* Statistical software walkthroughs for SPSS, Excel, and Minitab* Additional statistical tests not included in the main text* Full details of calculations given in the in-text boxes* Interactive and printable decision tree, to help you design your experiment* Interactive and printable risk assessment form* Integrative exercises to help students test their understanding of the topics in the bookFor lecturers:* A test bank of questions* Figures from the book available to download
Call Number: 570.72 HOL
Publication Date: 2017
A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology by From reading technical literature, to writing scientific papers and lab reports, gain practical advice in communicating specifically for biology with the Student Handbook for Writing in Biology.
Call Number: STSK 808.06657 KNI
Publication Date: 2017
Nutrition Research Methodologies by A new book in the acclaimed Nutrition Society Textbook Series, Nutrition Research Methodologies addresses the rapidly advancing field of nutrition research. It covers the diverse methodologies required for robust nutritional research to ensure thorough understanding of key concepts, both for students at undergraduate and postgraduate levels and for scientists working in nutrition research. Combining theory with practical application, Nutrition Research Methodologies addresses both traditional research methods and new technologies, and focuses on a range of complex topics, including energy compensation, nutrient-gene interactions and metabolic adaptation. It also considers statistical issues as well as application of data to policy development. Provides the reader with the required scientific basics of nutrition research in the context of a systems and health approach Written specifically to meet the needs of individuals involved in nutrition research Combines the viewpoints of world-leading nutrition experts from academia and research with practical applications Accompanied by a companion website with a range of self-assessment material (www.wiley.com/go/lovegrove/nutritionresearch)
Call Number: 610.724 LOV + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Successful Scientific Writing by Thoroughly revised and updated, the new edition of this acclaimed and best-selling guide offers a rich blend of practical advice and real-life examples. The authors draw on fifty years of experience, providing detailed step-by-step guidance designed to help students and researchers write and present scientific manuscripts more successfully through knowledge, practice, and an efficient approach. Retaining the user-friendly style of the previous editions, this fourth edition has been broadened to include detailed information relevant to today's digital world. It covers all aspects of the writing process, from first drafts, literature retrieval, and authorship to final drafts and electronic publication. A new section provides extensive coverage of ethical issues, from plagiarism and dual publication to honesty in reporting statistics. Both the text and 30 hands-on exercises include abundant examples applicable to a variety of writing contexts, making this a powerful tool for researchers and students across a range of disciplines.
Call Number: STSK 808.06661 MAT
Publication Date: 2014
Research Methods in Physical Activity by Research Methods in Physical Activity, Seventh Edition, systematically guides students through the research process, introducing methods and tools specifically for kinesiology and exercise science disciplines, including the subdisciplines of physical therapy, rehabilitation, and occupational therapy. The seventh edition leads students and novice researchers to research competency with the distinctive humor that has become a trademark of this internationally recognized text. This text provides step-by-step information for every aspect of the research process, from identifying and devising research questions to analyzing data and compiling results for presentation. Methods for qualitative, quantitative, and mixed-methods research approaches are addressed, and real-world research questions--including historical, experimental, epidemiological, and philosophical--are presented by scholarly contributors who give suggestions for approaches to follow. Photos, anecdotes, and humorous stories are used throughout the text to put students at ease and emphasize key points through practical applications. Enhancements to the seventh edition include the following: * Updated information and techniques for electronic searches to ensure students use best research practices * New information on meta-analysis and the benefits of journal-style writing that teach readers to evaluate and prepare data for scholarly journals and publication * Special attention to ethical issues to help readers understand the regulations involved in using human and animal subjects * New information on logistic regression that aids in the understanding of complex ideas * Further explanation of qualitative and mixed-methods research approaches, in addition to quantitative approaches, to ensure readers use the most appropriate methodology for their research The content of the seventh edition maintains and expands upon the logical content progression that has made Research Methods in Physical Activity the leading text in the field. Part I presents an overview of the research process, including problem development, preparation of the research plan, and understanding ethical issues in research and writing. Part II introduces statistical and measurement issues in research, and part III presents various types of or approaches to research and methodology from expert researchers in the field. Part IV includes a writing guide for result findings and details how to develop and organize research papers and presentations. Statistical tables and guides are available in the appendix. To aid instructors, Research Methods in Physical Activity, Seventh Edition, includes a suite of ancillary materials featuring an instructor guide, test package, an extra data set for instructors who wish to create specialized learning activities, and presentation package plus image bank. Research Methods in Physical Activity, Seventh Edition, instills in students the confidence to devise, collect, analyze, and present their research in a competent manner by systematically guiding them through the research process. It is an essential text for all emerging researchers in physical activity.
Call Number: 613.71072 THO
Publication Date: 2015