Food Analysis by
This fifth edition provides information on techniques needed to analyze foods for chemical and physical properties. The book is ideal for undergraduate courses in food analysis and is also an invaluable reference to professionals in the food industry. General information chapters on regulations, labeling, sampling, and data handling provide background information for chapters on specific methods to determine chemical composition and characteristics, physical properties, and objectionable matter and constituents. Methods of analysis covered include information on the basic principles, advantages, limitations, and applications. Sections on spectroscopy and chromatography along with chapters on techniques such as immunoassays, thermal analysis, and microscopy from the perspective of their use in food analysis have been expanded. Instructors who adopt the textbook can contact the editor for access to a website with related teaching materials.
Additionally, reference to AOAC International, Codex, and other International Standardisation Organisations will be emphasized.
Consult your subject guide for recommended journals.
Modern Experimental Biochemistry by
KEY BENEFIT The latest edition of this successful text provides readers with a modern and complete experience in experimental biochemistry. Part I, Theory and Experimental Techniques, provides in-depth theoretical discussion organized around important techniques. A valuable reference for instructors and students, it's particularly useful to instructors who prefer to use their own customized experiments. Part II, Experiments, offers optimum flexibility through 15 tested experiments designed to accommodate the capabilities of laboratories and students at most four-year schools. Alternate methods are suggested and labs may be divided into manageable hour segments. The book offers the latest safety and environmental precautions in each experiment to inform students and instructors of potential hazards and proper disposal of materials. For anyone interested in science.
Food Science and Technology 2E by
Food Science and Technology, Second Edition is a comprehensive text and reference book designed to cover all the essential elements of food science and technology, including all core aspects of major food science and technology degree programs being taught worldwide. The book is supported by the International Union of Food Science and Technology and comprises 21 chapters, carefully written in a user-friendly style by 30 eminent industry experts, teachers, and researchers from across the world. All authors are recognized experts in their respective fields, and together represent some of the world's leading universities and international food science and technology organizations. All chapters in this second edition have been fully revised and updated to include all-new examples and pedagogical features (including discussion questions, seminar tasks, web links, and glossary terms). The book is designed with more color to help enhance the content on each page and includes more photos and illustrations to bring the topics to life. Coverage of all the core modules of food science and technology degree programs internationally Crucial information for professionals in the food industry worldwide Chapters written by subject experts, all of whom are internationally respected in their fields A must-have textbook for libraries in universities, food science and technology research institutes, and food companies globally Additional interactive resources on the book's companion website, including multiple choice questions, web links, further reading, and exercises Food Science and Technology, 2nd Edition is an indispensable guide for food science and technology degree programs at the undergraduate and postgraduate level and for university libraries and food research facilities.
The Biochemistry of Human Nutrition by
A supplemental handbook for advanced nutrition or biochemistry of nutrition courses taught by nutrition, nursing, or biochemistry (for non-majors) instructors. Covers fundamentals of biochemistry for persons in health professions who are studying nutrition or who need to locate a forgotten biochemical concept. Organized like an encyclopedia (covers topics in alphabetical order). Also available for sale for professional use.
McCance and Widdowson's the Composition of Foods by
McCance and Widdowsons's The Composition of Foods, Seventh Summary Edition provides a timely, authoritative and comprehensive update of the nutrient data for the most commonly consumed foods in the UK. Foods that are less commonly consumed but are important in the diets of sub-groups of the population are also included. Aimed at students and professionals in all food and health disciplines, this essential handbook should be on the bookshelf of everyone who needs to know the nutritional value of foods consumed in the UK.
Principles of biochemistry 6th edn. by 
Wilson and Walker's Principles and Techniques of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by
Bringing this best-selling textbook right up to date, the new edition uniquely integrates the theories and methods that drive the fields of biology, biotechnology and medicine, comprehensively covering both the techniques students will encounter in lab classes and those that underpin current key advances and discoveries. The contents have been updated to include both traditional and cutting-edge techniques most commonly used in current life science research. Emphasis is placed on understanding the theory behind the techniques, as well as analysis of the resulting data. New chapters cover proteomics, genomics, metabolomics, and bioinformatics, as well as data analysis and visualisation. Using accessible language to describe concepts and methods, and with a wealth of new in-text worked examples to challenge students' understanding, this textbook provides an essential guide to the key techniques used in current bioscience research.
