Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Food Quality & Production reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
There are no essential texts for this module. Instead, students may choose one or more texts from the "Recommended Reading" section,based on their personal preferences for textbook style and presentation. Students may use relevant webpages to supplement the resources listed below. Academic staff will assist with selection and interpretation of webpages.
Food Microbiology, 4th ed. by Now in its fourth edition, this highly successful text covers the full range of topics encompassed in modern food microbiology. The new edition provides updated and revised individual chapters and uses new examples to illustrate incidents with particular attention being paid to images. The textbook is a thorough and accessible account designed for students in the biological sciences, biotechnology and food science. It will also be valuable to researchers, teachers and practising food microbiologists.
Call Number: 664.001579 ADA
Publication Date: 2016
Food Science and Technology 2E by Food Science and Technology, Second Edition is a comprehensive text and reference book designed to cover all the essential elements of food science and technology, including all core aspects of major food science and technology degree programs being taught worldwide. The book is supported by the International Union of Food Science and Technology and comprises 21 chapters, carefully written in a user-friendly style by 30 eminent industry experts, teachers, and researchers from across the world. All authors are recognized experts in their respective fields, and together represent some of the world's leading universities and international food science and technology organizations. All chapters in this second edition have been fully revised and updated to include all-new examples and pedagogical features (including discussion questions, seminar tasks, web links, and glossary terms). The book is designed with more color to help enhance the content on each page and includes more photos and illustrations to bring the topics to life. Coverage of all the core modules of food science and technology degree programs internationally Crucial information for professionals in the food industry worldwide Chapters written by subject experts, all of whom are internationally respected in their fields A must-have textbook for libraries in universities, food science and technology research institutes, and food companies globally Additional interactive resources on the book's companion website, including multiple choice questions, web links, further reading, and exercises Food Science and Technology, 2nd Edition is an indispensable guide for food science and technology degree programs at the undergraduate and postgraduate level and for university libraries and food research facilities.
Call Number: 664.024 CAM
Publication Date: 2017
McCance and Widdowson's the Composition of Foods. 7th edn. by McCance and Widdowsons's The Composition of Foods, Seventh Summary Edition provides a timely, authoritative and comprehensive update of the nutrient data for the most commonly consumed foods in the UK. Foods that are less commonly consumed but are important in the diets of sub-groups of the population are also included. This Seventh Summary Edition contains data which has been reviewed and updated since the last edition was published in 2002 and incorporates data from previously published supplements plus new analytical data and additional data from manufacturers. New data includes updates on key foods in the UK diet including flours and grains, bread, pasta, breakfast cereals, biscuits, cakes, eggs, fat spreads, fruits, vegetables, fish and fish products. Values for a wide range of nutrients (e.g. proximates, inorganics, vitamins, fibre and fatty acids) are provided and additional tables provide data for carotenoid fractions, vitamin E fractions and vitamin K for selected foods. Values for specific nutrients, including sodium, sugars, saturated and trans fatty acids in processed foods have been updated to reflect changes resulting from health policy and recent industry initiatives on reformulations. AOAC fibre values have been included for a wide range of foods to enable energy calculations, including fibre for food labelling purposes. Aimed at students and professionals in all food and health disciplines, this essential handbook should be on the bookshelf of everyone who needs to know the nutritional value of foods consumed in the UK.
Call Number: 613.7 MCC
Publication Date: 2015
Food Safety and Food Quality by The quality and safety of the food we eat attracts a great deal of publicity and is high on the list of public concerns. This highly emotive issue is discussed in this timely book, which brings together a group of experts to present up-to-date and balanced overviews on a wide range of topics including GM crops; hazardous microorganisms such as E. coli; the BSE/CJD problem; and cancer-causing chemicals, both natural and synthetic. Thought-provoking and of interest to a wide readership, this authoritative review will be welcomed by food scientists, legislators, government officials and advisors. Students of food science or environmental science will also find it essential reading.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007
Modern Food Microbiology. 7th edn. by With thirty revised and updated chapters the new edition of this classic text brings benefits to professors and students alike who will find new sections on many topics concerning modern food microbiology. This authoritative book builds on the trusted and established sections on food preservation by modified atmosphere, high pressure and pulsed electric field processing. It further covers food-borne pathogens, food regulations, fresh-cut produce, new food products, and risk assessment and analysis. In-depth references, appendixes, illustrations, index and thorough updating of taxonomies make this an essential for every food scientist.
Call Number: 664.001579 JAY
Publication Date: 2006
Fox and Cameron's Food Science, Nutrition and Health. 8th edn. by This popular textbook is thoroughly updated to ensure that it remains up to date and relevant to todays students: *Some of the complex science (eg. chemical formulae) has been simplified * All chapters incorporate new evidence, technologies and current issues with greater analysis, reflection and focus on current issues * Chapters are reorganised in functional sub-units, grouping together 1) biochemical basics and facts 2) elements relevant to food science, including tests and measurements 3) elements relevant to health and nutrition * More diagrams and photos to aid understanding * More text boxes with extra salient information * Introduction of case studies and Q&As to add interest and stimulate learning * A brand new web conponent with a series of public debate type questions integrating the two fields: food science and nutrition; as well as model exam questions to encourage learning.
Call Number: 613.2 LEA
Publication Date: 2014
Food Analysis 5th edn. by This fifth edition provides information on techniques needed to analyze foods for chemical and physical properties. The book is ideal for undergraduate courses in food analysis and is also an invaluable reference to professionals in the food industry. General information chapters on regulations, labeling, sampling, and data handling provide background information for chapters on specific methods to determine chemical composition and characteristics, physical properties, and objectionable matter and constituents. Methods of analysis covered include information on the basic principles, advantages, limitations, and applications. Sections on spectroscopy and chromatography along with chapters on techniques such as immunoassays, thermal analysis, and microscopy from the perspective of their use in food analysis have been expanded. Instructors who adopt the textbook can contact the editor for access to a website with related teaching materials.
Call Number: 664.07 NIE
Publication Date: 2017
Haccp by Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point (HACCP) is a systematic method to identify, evaluate and control food safety hazards. Since its initial development in the 1960s, HACCP has been increasingly used at every stage of the food chain. In many countries, it is a legal requirement for all food business operators to have some form of hazard analysis based on this system, and so there has been a growing interest in all aspects of HACCP.. Leatherhead Food Research has, for many years now, offered a comprehensive food safety training programme. These training courses are now going to be complemented with the first in a series of food safety publications. This guide is designed as an easy-to-use reference book to help all staff implement a thorough HACCP plan into their industry. A good understanding of HACCP is essential right across the board, from team leaders, production and engineering staff, and supervisors to those working the line including CCP monitors. The book contains detailed descriptions of all the basic information required to undertake a HACCP study. In addition to this, the book has been designed to allow photocopying of certain figures, tables and workflow diagrams. This publication has been designed as a practical user-friendly guide to HACCP, and is intended to be used as a reference back in the factory. It can be used as an introduction to the basics for those who have never received HACCP training or as a checklist for those who are already using HACCP on a daily basis.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010