Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Advanced Nutrition and Metabolism reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
There are no essential texts for this module. Instead, students may choose one or more texts from the "Recommended Reading" section,based on their personal preferences for textbook style and presentation. Students may use relevant webpages to supplement the resources listed below. Academic staff will assist with selection and interpretation of webpages.
Functional Foods and Nutraceuticals by "Functional food or medicinal food is any fresh or processed food claimed to have a health-promoting and/or disease-preventing property beyond the basic nutritional function of supplying nutrients, although there is no consensus on an exact definition of the term. This is an emerging field in food science, in which such foods are usually accompanied by health claims for marketing purposes, such as a company's 'cereal is a significant source of fiber. Studies have shown that an increased amount of fiber in one's diet can decrease the risk of certain types of cancer in individuals.' Functional foods are sometimes called nutraceuticals, a portmanteau of nutrition and pharmaceutical, and can include food that has been genetically modified. The general category includes processed food made from functional food ingredients, or fortified with health-promoting additives, like "vitamin-enriched" products, and also fresh foods (e.g., vegetables) that have specific claims attached. Fermented foods with live cultures are often also considered to be functional foods with probiotic benefits."
Call Number: 613.2 ALU
Publication Date: 2012
Nutraceutical and Functional Food Regulations in the United States and Around the World 2nd ed by This fully revised and updated edition begins with insights into the scope, importance and continuing growth opportunities in the nutraceutical and functional food industries and explores the latest regulatory changes and their impacts. The book demonstrates the global scenario of the acceptance and demand for these products and explores the regulatory hurdles and claim substantiation of these foods and dietary supplements, as well as addressing the intricate aspects of manufacturing procedures. As the public gains confidence in the quality of these products based on sophisticated quality control, a broad spectrum of safety studies and GRAS, peer-reviewed publications and cutting-edge human clinical studies have emerged. An increasing number of additional populations around-the-world now recognize the efficacy and functions of nutraceuticals and functional foods as established by those scientific research studies. As a result, a number of structurally and functionally active novel nutraceuticals and several new functional beverages have been introduced into the marketplace around the world. Features fully revised and updated information with current regulations from around the world, including GRAS status and DSHEA regulators Offers 45% new content including three new chapters -NSF: Ensuring the Public Health and Safety Aspects of Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods; Role of the United States Pharmacoepia in the Establishment of Nutraceuticals and Functional Food Safety; An Overview on the New Dietary Ingredient (NDI) and Generally Recognized as Safe (GRAS) Status, and the addition of cGMP regulations for dietary supplements Includes insight into working with regulatory agencies, processes and procedures Provides a link to the contact information for most regulatory bodies for readers wishing to gain further knowledge
Call Number: 664 BAG
Publication Date: 2014
Clinical Aspects of Functional Foods and Nutraceuticals by In the last three decades, revolutionary achievements have taken place in nutraceutical and functional food research including the introduction of a number of cutting-edge dietary supplements supported by human clinical trials and strong patents. Novel manufacturing technologies including unique extraction processes, bioavailability improvements through delivery technologies such as nanotechnology, and innovative packaging have been critical steps for their successful positioning in the marketplace and consumer acceptance worldwide. Nonetheless, mixed messages have emerged from both the scientific community and the media concerning the potential benefits of foods and nutrients in the treatment and prevention of disease. This confusion, in addition to existing marketed products making questionable health claims, have led health practitioners and consumers to become skeptical about nutritional claims of new and emerging food products. Clinical Aspects of Functional Foods and Nutraceuticals provides an extensive overview of the clinical aspects of functional foods and nutraceuticals. It contains information on both nutritional challenges and potential health benefits of functional foods and nutraceuticals. In addition to exploring the underpinning science, the book also focuses on food innovation, functional foods in human health, food-drug interactions, functional foods in medicine, the seed-to-clinic approach, global regulatory frameworks, challenges, and future directions. The book provides an essential overview of the clinical aspects surrounding functional foods and nutraceuticals for key stakeholders, drawing links between areas of knowledge that are often isolated from each other. This form of knowledge integration will be essential for practice, especially for policy makers and administrators.
Call Number: 613.2 GHO + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Probiotic Bacteria and Their Effect on Human Health and Well-Being by Our microflora is an individual personal feature, providing a distinct tag to individuals. However, our intestinal microbiome is strongly affected by genetic, nutritional, and other external factors, and evolves with age. An effect of different microbial patterns on health appears very likely as there seem to be specific changes of intestinal microflora associated with various diseases. Specific microbial tags may thus be used as biomarkers of disease: to diagnose it, to monitor its evolution, and eventually to predict its response to treatment. This scenario opens the opportunity for targeting intestinal microflora using probiotics, both for prevention and treatment of an increasing number of conditions. Probiotic therapy is applied either as an adjunct to other treatments or as primary therapy, and evidence of efficacy is accumulating in several conditions, affecting either the intestine or nonintestinal organs. This publication provides an update on probiotics directed at physicians, biologists, biotechnologists, and researchers working in the food industry and agriculture, as well as in the environmental and basic sciences.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Lactic acid bacteria : microbiological and functional aspects. 4th ed by While lactic acid-producing fermentation has long been used to improve the storability, palatability, and nutritive value of perishable foods, only recently have we begun to understand just why it works. Since the publication of the third edition of Lactic Acid Bacteria: Microbiological and Functional Aspects, substantial progress has been made in a number of areas of research. Completely updated, the Fourth Editioncovers all the basic and applied aspects of lactic acid bacteria and bifidobacteria, from the gastrointestinal tract to the supermarket shelf. Topics discussed in the new edition include: Revised taxonomy due to improved insights in genetics and new molecular biological techniques New discoveries related to the mechanisms of lactic acid bacterial metabolism and function An improved mechanistic understanding of probiotic functioning Applications in food and feed preparation Health properties of lactic acid bacteria The regulatory framework related to safety and efficacy Maintaining the accessible style that made previous editions so popular, this book is ideal as an introduction to the field and as a handbook for microbiologists, food scientists, nutritionists, clinicians, and regulatory experts.
Call Number: 579.35 WRI + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Nutrition and Metabolism 2nd ed by In this second edition of the second title in the acclaimed Nutrition Society Textbook Series, Nutrition and Metabolism has been revised and updated to meet the needs of the contemporary student. Groundbreaking in their scope and approach, the titles in the series: Provide students with the required scientific basics of nutrition in the context of a systems and health approach Enable teachers and students to explore the core principles of nutrition, to apply these throughout their training, and to foster critical thinking at all times. Throughout, key areas of knowledge are identified Are fully peer reviewed, to ensure completeness and clarity of content, as well as to ensure that each book takes a global perspective Nutrition and Metabolism is an essential purchase for students of nutrition and dietetics, and also for those students who major in other subjects that have a nutrition component, such as food science, medicine, pharmacy and nursing. Professionals in nutrition, dietetics, food science, medicine, health sciences and many related areas will also find much of great value within its covers.
Call Number: 612.39 LAN + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Polyphenols in Human Health and Disease by Polyphenols in Human Health and Disease documents antioxidant actions of polyphenols in protection of cells and cell organelles, critical for understanding their health-promoting actions to help the dietary supplement industry. The book begins by describing the fundamentals of absorption, metabolism and bioavailability of polyphenols, as well as the effect of microbes on polyphenol structure and function and toxicity. It then examines the role of polyphenols in the treatment of chronic disease, including vascular and cardiac health, obesity and diabetes therapy, cancer treatment and prevention, and more.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014