Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Health Promotion reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
The Handbook of Health Behavior Change, Fifth Edition by This revised and updated fifth edition of the highly acclaimed "gold standard" textbook continues to provide a foundational review of health behavior change theories, research methodologies, and intervention strategies across a range of populations, age groups, and health conditions. It examines numerous, complex, and often co-occurring factors that can both positively and negatively influence people's ability to change behaviors to enhance their health including intrapersonal, interpersonal, sociocultural, environmental, systems, and policy factors, in the context of leading theoretical frameworks. Beyond understanding predictors and barriers to achieving meaningful health behavior change, the Handbook provides an updated review of the evidence base for novel and well-supported behavioral interventions and offers recommendations for future research. New content includes chapters on Sun Protection, Interventions With the Family System, and the Role of Technology in Behavior Change. Throughout the textbook, updated reviews emphasize mobile health technologies and electronic health data capture and transmission and a focus on implementation science. And the fifth edition, like the previous edition, provides learning objectives to facilitate use by course instructors in health psychology, behavioral medicine, and public health. The Handbook of Health Behavior Change, Fifth Edition, is a valuable resource for students at the graduate and advanced undergraduate level in the fields of public or population health, medicine, behavioral science, health communications, medical sociology and anthropology, preventive medicine, and health psychology. It also is a great reference for clinical investigators, behavioral and social scientists, and healthcare practitioners who grapple with the challenges of supporting individuals, families, and systems when trying to make impactful health behavior change. NEW TO THE FIFTH EDITION: Revised and updated to encompass the most current research and empirical evidence in health behavior changeIncludes new chapters on Sun Protection, Interventions With the Family System, and the Role of Technology in Behavior ChangeIncreased focus on innovations in technology in relation to health behavior change research and interventions KEY FEATURES: The most comprehensive review of behavior change interventionsProvides practical, empirically based information and tools for behavior changeFocuses on robust behavior theories, multiple contexts of health behaviors, and the role of technology in health behavior changeApplicable to a wide variety of courses including public health, behavior change, preventive medicine, and health psychologyOrganized to facilitate curriculum development and includes tools to assist course instructors, including learning objectives for each chapter
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Promoting Health and Well-Being Through Schools by The contribution schools can make to improving students' health and wellbeing is increasingly recognised. Schools that have embraced this role and adapted policies and practices to create an environment in which young people feel safe and happy have reported broad and significant gains. Through expert contributions from active researchers and experienced practitioners, Promoting Health and Wellbeing through Schoolscombines recent research with knowledge of the current climate in which schools are operating. Offering authoritative advice on effective intervention, this book provides an overview of the key issues that need to be addressed, including: alcohol use sexual health drug use obesity mental health. This accessible text is innovative in its focus on how schools can build partnerships with young people, parents, and health professionals to promote their commitment to health and wellbeing. It highlights successful approaches for promoting health and educational goals, and provides useful advice on planning and evaluation. Promoting Health and Wellbeing through Schoolsis invaluable reading for professionals working in and with schools to implement healthy schools programmes and to bring about improvement in health and wellbeing, including teachers, nurses, and health and education managers. It is also of interest to students, researchers and policy-makers.
Call Number: 371.71 AGG + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Counselling Skills for Health Professionals by The latest edition of this popular text has been updated to reflect research, changes and developments in counselling. Written by one of the country's most experienced counselling authors, this text combines theory and practice to give students a full understanding of the complexities of counselling.
Call Number: 361.06 BUR + eBook
Publication Date: 2005
Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Obesity by The first cognitive-behavioral treatment manual for obesity, this volume presents an innovative therapeutic model currently being evaluated in controlled research at Oxford University. From leading clinical researchers, the approach is specifically designed to overcome a major weakness of existing therapies: posttreatment weight regain. The book details powerful ways to help patients not only to achieve weight loss, but also to modify the problematic cognitions that undermine long-term weight control. Drawing on strategies proven effective with such problems as binge eating, the manual contains everything needed to implement the treatment: intervention guidelines, case examples, and reproducible handouts and forms.
Call Number: 616.39806 COO
Publication Date: 2004
Practical Health Promotion. 2nd edn. by The second edition of this popular introductory textbook has been fully revised to provide a totally up-to-date guide to the practical aspects of promoting health. Focusing on the range of skills needed to become an effective practitioner, it takes readers step-by-step through the different settings in which health promotion takes place, and the various tools they might employ. The book offers accessible and comprehensive coverage of all the key topics in contemporary health promotion, including chapters on health promotion through the lifespan, one-to-one communication, working with groups, using the media and digital technologies, advocacy, and planning and management. As well as incorporating the most recent government policies and initiatives in public health, the new edition draws on the very latest literature and statistics. In particular, there is new and expanded material on issues such as: community initiatives and social capital; novel resources offered by digital technologies; health literacy; health in the media; stress in the workplace, and much more. Throughout the text there are activities to develop students' understanding and encourage reflective practice. Each chapter opens with a list of the central issues and learning objectives, and key terms highlighted in the text are clearly explained. Carefully chosen figures and photographs enliven and reinforce the text, while a well-designed website (www.politybooks.com/healthpromotion) offers up-to-date online resources to test and extend students' learning. The new edition of Practical Health Promotion will continue to be the ideal and indispensable practical guide to health promotion for students at all levels. It will inspire anyone involved with health care to find practical ways of promoting positive change.
Call Number: 613 HUB
Publication Date: 2013
Introduction to Health Psychology by This fourth edition retains the highly praised approach of previous editions, with each chapter providing an overview of the theory and research before moving on to explore applications and intervention practice. The primary goals of health psychologists are to describe, predict and then to intervene and this book continues to reflect that process.
Call Number: 616.0019 MOR + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Foundations for Health Promotion. 4th edn. by The new edition of the highly successful Foundations for Health Promotion continues to offer a wealth of information in a unique, user-friendly format. Containing over 300 artworks, tables and 'pull out' boxes, this helpful text covers the theory, strategies and methods, settings and implementation of health promotion. Applicable to a wide range of health and social care professionals and anyone engaged with education about health and wellbeing. Comprehensive updating and expansion to reflect recent research findings and major organizational and policy changes Clear structure and signposting for ease of reading and study Wide choice of examples and illustrative case studies reflect the needs of a variety of professional groups in health services, local and municipal services and education Ineractive learning activities with indicative answers help readers consolidate their learning Comprehensively updated and expanded to reflect major organizational and policy changes Interactive learning activities with indicative answers at the end of each chapter 'Pull out' boxes illustrate recent research findings and case studies of practice
Call Number: 540 NAI + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Health Psychology. 5th edn. by Thoroughly revised to reflect recent research, theory and practice in health psychology, this textbook includes new coverage of topical issues such as behaviour change strategies, health inequalities, exercise dependence, caffeine use and men's health.
Call Number: 616.0019 OGD
Publication Date: 2012
The Psychology of Eating by With its primary focus on the psychology of eating from a social, health, and clinical perspective, the second edition of The Psychology of Eating: From Healthy to Disordered Behavior presents an overview of the latest research into a wide range of eating-related behaviors Features the most up-to-date research relating to eating behavior Integrates psychological knowledge with several other disciplines Written in a lively, accessible style Supplemented with illustrations and maps to make literature more approachable
Call Number: 616.8526 OGD + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Promoting Health by Vital Notes for Nurses: Promoting Health is a concise, accessible introduction to health promotion and public health for pre-registration nursing students and newly qualified nurses. Promoting the health and well-being of patients is a vital part of the nursing role. This introductory text in the Vital Notes for Nurses series explores issues such as public health priorities, health inequalities, health promotion settings, and the role of the nurse in health promotion roles. Written in a clear, accessible style which assumes no prior knowledge Each chapter includes learning objectives, case studies, scenarios, activities and learning outcomes Includes specific application to nursing practice in every chapter Identifies strategies for promoting health with individuals and communities and for protecting the health of the general population
Call Number: 613 WIL + eBook
Publication Date: 2007