Doing your research project : a guide for first-time researchers. 6th edn. by 
Research Methods In Health : Investigating health and health services. 4th edn. by 
The Paramedic's Guide to Research by
"This is an excellent text which covers all of the important research methods in the field, including randomised control trials. A strong component of the text is the inclusion of chapters on ethics and the future of paramedic research... The use of paramedic examples throughout the chapters will help students and other budding paramedic researchers connect with the subject matter and help them link theory, evidence and practice." Professor Peter O'Meara, La Trobe Rural Health School, La Trobe University, Australia This practical book provides a no nonsense guide for student and qualified paramedics looking to understand the key elements of research, and what it means for their profession. The authors explain key concepts and methodologies to help you get to grips with the nature of paramedic research and how it works in practice. By drawing on a wealth of cases and examples, research is placed firmly in the context of clinical practice. The book will enable you to critique research and to engage in small-scale research projects of your own. Emphasising what you need to know, the book includes information on: Knowledge that underpins practice Key elements of qualitative and quantitative research Research ethics and evidence based practice Undertaking a literature review Dissemination of research findings Considerations of the future for paramedic research Written by experienced lecturers, the authors offer practical advice and tips to more advanced researchers on getting work published and giving oral and poster presentations at conferences. Contributors: Jayne Cutter, Gary Rolfe, Megan Rosser, Julia Williams, Malcolm Woollard
Journal of Paramedic Practice: Research (N.B the latest and previous issues can be accessed via the Library here)
Introduction to research methods and methodologies [video]
Developing Research Questions (guide from Monash University)
Developing a Research Topic [video]
How to Write Research Methodology: Overview, Tips, and Techniques
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical guide by 
The Craft of Research. 4th edn. by
With more than three-quarters of a million copies sold since its first publication, The Craft of Research has helped generations of researchers at every level--from first-year undergraduates to advanced graduate students to research reporters in business and government--learn how to conduct effective and meaningful research. Conceived by seasoned researchers and educators Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph M. Williams, this fundamental work explains how to find and evaluate sources, anticipate and respond to reader reservations, and integrate these pieces into an argument that stands up to reader critique. The fourth edition has been thoroughly but respectfully revised by Joseph Bizup and William T. FitzGerald. It retains the original five-part structure, as well as the sound advice of earlier editions, but reflects the way research and writing are taught and practiced today. Its chapters on finding and engaging sources now incorporate recent developments in library and Internet research, emphasizing new techniques made possible by online databases and search engines. Bizup and FitzGerald provide fresh examples and standardized terminology to clarify concepts like argument, warrant, and problem. Following the same guiding principle as earlier editions--that the skills of doing and reporting research are not just for elite students but for everyone--this new edition retains the accessible voice and direct approach that have made The Craft of Research a leader in the field of research reference. With updated examples and information on evaluation and using contemporary sources, this beloved classic is ready for the next generation of researchers.
Handbook of Health Research Methods. 4th edn. by
"an ideal set text" Angela Scriven, Course Leader, Brunel University Which research method should I use to evaluate services? How do I design a questionnaire? How do I conduct a systematic review of research? This handbook helps researchers to plan, carry out, and analyse health research, and evaluate the quality of research studies. The book takes a multidisciplinary approach to enable researchers from different disciplines to work side-by-side in the investigation of population health, the evaluation of health care, and in health care delivery. Handbook of Health Research Methods is an essential tool for researchers and postgraduate students taking masters courses, or undertaking doctoral programmes, in health services evaluation, health sciences, health management, public health, nursing, sociology, socio-biology, medicine and epidemiology. However, the book also appeals to health professionals who wish to broaden their knowledge of research methods in order to make effective policy and practice decisions. Contributors: Joy Adamson, Geraldine Barrett, Jane P. Biddulph, Ann Bowling, Sara Brookes, Jackie Brown, Simon Carter, Michel P. Coleman, Paul Cullinan, George Davey Smith, Paul Dieppe, Jenny Donovan, Craig Duncan, Shah Ebrahim, Vikki Entwistle, Clare Harries, Lesley Henderson, Kelvyn Jones, Olga Kostopoulou, Sarah J. Lewis, Richard Martin, Martin McKee, Graham Moon, Ellen Nolte, Alan O'Rourke, Ann Oakley, Tim Peters, Tina Ramkalawan, Caroline Sanders, Mary Shaw, Andrew Steptoe, Jonathan Sterne, Anne Stiggelbout, S.V. Subramanian, Kate Tilling, Liz Twigg, Suzanne Wait.
Research into Practice. 2nd edn. by 
Statistics for the Health Sciences by 
The Good Research Guide. 5th edn. by 
Conducting Research Literature Reviews. 4th edn. by
Ideal for students, researchers, marketers, planners, and policymakers who design and manage public and private agencies, conduct research studies, and prepare strategic plans and grant proposals, this new edition includes: - Nearly a hundred online examples and references from the social, behavioural, and health sciences - A revised and updated list of online articles databases - Case studies in the use of major online databases (e.g., the Web of Science) - Expansion of the exercises at the end of the chapter to include more online searching - Clarification of some of the basic concepts of research that are essential in making judgments about the quality of research methods - Explanation of the major available formal systems (such as CONSORT, TREND, PRISMA) for evaluating the literature′s transparency and quality - More qualitative research examples and guidelines and checklists for evaluating their quality - Discussion and examples of mixed-methods research - Additional examples of how to write up reviews and how others have done it.
Practical Statistics for Nursing and Health Care by 
How to Read a Paper. 5th edn. by 
Doing a Literature Review by
The ultimate guide to the "what," "how," and "why" of literature reviewing, the Second Edition of the classic text shows how the literature review will unlock the full potential of one's research with: A thorough exploration of the literature review process from start to finish Two brand new chapters explaining the different types of review and evidence and evaluation Extended examples that show you how to apply key techniques and procedures A new "core skills" framework to help you turn your research experience into employability A critical thinking focus that will help you construct convincing arguments and improve your research decisions In combining a critical, philosophical approach with an expertly selected body of practical examples, the Second Edition of Chris Hart's landmark text provides both the intellectual understanding and the technical skills required to produce sophisticated, robust literature reviews of the very highest standard. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Values-Based Health and Social Care by 
Research for Evidence-Based Practice in Healthcare. 2nd edn. by 
The Student's Guide to Research Ethics. 2nd edn. by
Why should every researcher consider the ethical implications of their work? What constitutes ethical research? How can best practice be maintained throughout a research project? This reader-friendly book examines the ethical issues and questions that occur in university and professional research and will help both beginning and experienced researchers to identify ethical issues when they are conducting research. The book thoroughly examines the broader ethical issues that arise throughout research, from the design stage through to data collection and analysis. It also investigates topical issues such as content, confidentiality and ethical questions in the dissemination of research. There are also discussions of ethical theories as well as case studies that highlight dilemmas and how they can be avoided or resolved. This new edition is thoroughly updated to reflect the greater emphasis researchers must now place on ethics and includes information on: Ethical concerns of the internet and technology Regulatory frameworks and research governance Ethical requirements of funding bodies The involvement of research participants in research design Codes of ethics within different disciplines 'Ethical Dialogue' and 'Ethical Dilemmas' boxes feature throughout the book in order to highlight key issues. There are also further reading sections at the end of each chapter as well as expanded coverage of plagiarism. The Student's Guide to Research Ethics is an invaluable tool for both undergraduate and postgraduate students as well as professionals who research as part of their jobs.
Interpreting Qualitative Data. 5th edn. by 
Successful statistics in nursing and healthcare by 
