Clinical Leadership for Paramedics by 
Foundations For Paramedic Practice. 2nd edn. by
"The contents should resonate with all paramedic students as they develop their practice experience, try to make sense of their clinical activity and deal with the ambiguity that is daily paramedic work when responding to emergency calls. Additionally, this excellent book provides a framework for paramedic students as they start to consider their capability in important areas such as communication, managing situations and people, learning from experience and decision making." Andy Freeman-May, Senior Lecturer, Paramedic Emergency Care, Oxford Brookes University, UK "An essential text for new student paramedics discovering their professional identity and working towards registration and also for registered paramedic practitioners as part of their life long learning and continued professional development ... Having an understanding of the subject matter within this book is of paramount importance for the paramedic practitioner of the future." Paul Bates, Higher Education Programme Manager, London Ambulance Service NHS Trust, UK "This book covers areas of emergency care vital to the role of a paramedic, which are traditionally under-taught and often complex to understand. Blaber simplifies legal, ethical and moral issues faced by front line paramedics and also helps students to write constructive academic essays for those all important university assignments. A fantastic, well written book, which is well presented and full of useful references." Ruth Lambert, Paramedic "This enjoyable book is written in a language and a format which is easy to read and follow. The bitesized chapters feature a comprehensive reference list, enabling further research, and 'stop and think' examples which encourage you to consider your own knowledge and experiences whilst reflecting on how theory fits with practice. The additional sections on Vulnerable Adults and End of Life Care are also invaluable. A must for both student and experienced paramedics." Emma Redwood, Paramedic This popular undergraduate level book introduces the main theoretical subjects studied in higher education paramedic courses. The second edition links ways of working to appropriate theory and reflects the current curriculum guidance from paramedic professional bodies. The book covers a wide variety of academic subjects, including those not traditionally taught in ambulance 'in-house' training, such as psychology and sociology. This expanded edition includes three new chapters on Specialist development roles for the paramedic, Care of vulnerable adults and End of life care. The book also covers: Ethics and law for the paramedic Reflective practice and communication Professional issues, including clinical audit and governance and anti-discriminatory practice Psychological perspectives on health and ill health Safeguarding children Sociological perspective on health and ill health and social policy Managing change, decision making and leadership theory Foundations for Paramedic Practice, 2nd Edition is a core text for student paramedics and a valuable resource for students of the allied health professions. Written by a team of experts from across the UK, the book includes numerous links to practice, illuminating case studies and examples to encourage you to 'stop and think' and reflect upon your practice experience. Contributors: Amanda Blaber, Vince Clarke, Alison Cork, Steve Cowland, John Donaghy, Rachael Donohoe, Bob Fellows, Ann French, Graham Harris, Mary Larkin, Linda Nelson, Marion Richardson, Paul Street and Jackie Whitnell.
Paramedic Care by
For courses in Paramedic Emergency Medical Services A strong, evidence-based foundation in the principles and practices of modern EMS Paramedic Care: Principles & Practice, Fifth Edition, offers EMS students and professionals a foundational guide and reference to paramedicine. Developed to stay ahead of current trends and practices, all five volumes are based on the National EMS Education Standards and the accompanying Paramedic Instructional Guidelines. Volume 1, Introduction to Advanced Prehospital Care, covers the principles of advanced prehospital care and EMS operations. Chapters detail the various aspects of paramedic practice as well as an introduction to workforce safety and wellness, EMS research, the EMS role in public health, legal and ethical considerations, and EMS system communications and documentation. The final chapters of this volume cover lifespan development, pathophysiology, emergency pharmacology, intravenous access and medication administration, and airway management and ventilation. Updated throughout, Volume 1 gives readers a fundamental understanding of EMS operations, basic medical science, and basic procedures. Also available with MyBRADYLab(tm) This title is also available with MyBRADYLab-an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with this text to engage students and improve results. Within its structured environment, students practice what they learn, test their understanding, and pursue a personalized study plan that helps them better absorb course material and understand difficult concepts. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyBRADYLab does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyBRADYLab, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information.
Macleod's Clinical Examination. 13th edn. by 
Manual of Clinical Paramedic Procedures by
'I can enthusiastically recommend the Manual of Clinical Paramedic Procedures as the book that I wish had been available to me when I was studying to become a paramedic.' From the foreword by Professor Malcolm Woollard, Chair, College of Paramedics; Professor in Pre-hospital and Emergency Care & Director, Pre-hospital, Emergency & Cardiovascular Care Applied Research Group, Coventry University Clinical procedures are a fundamental aspect of care for practitioners working in pre-hospital settings. The Manual of Clinical Paramedic Procedures is written specifically to support the practice of paramedics, ambulance technicians, first responders and volunteer ambulance personnel. It presents up-to-date, evidence-based expert knowledge, enabling paramedics to deliver effective, patient-focused care. This accessible handbook provides a comprehensive exploration of core competencies and skills, looking at topics including Aseptic Technique, Airway Management, Assisted Ventilation, Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation, Defibrillation and External Cardiac Pacing, Observations, Pain Assessment & Management, Respiratory Therapy, Spinal Management and Venepuncture. Each chapter provides the relevant anatomy & physiology, evidence-based rationales for each procedure, and contraindications of use. Key features: The first UK text to explore clinical procedures for paramedics With further reading and illustrations throughout All procedures include the rationale for the action recommended Guides paramedics in the clinical application of evidence-based procedures
Paramedics by
"A great book written by a truly medical family ... This book will prove invaluable to the student paramedic and a great aid to the practicing paramedic ... The case studies are thought provoking and give an opportunity for students to learn about situations they will encounter during their careers and experienced paramedics and practitioners the opportunity to reflect on similar cases and question their practice ... I would highly recommend this book." Paul Bates (Paramedic), Higher Education Programme Manager, London Ambulance Service NHS Trust, UK "Individuals new to pre-hospital care will find this text well structured and clear. The informative introduction and subsequent case studies are written in an easy to read question and answer style. These provide a starting point for the reader to undertake further focused reading and investigation. A helpful text for students who are new to caring for patients, in the pre-hospital environment." Amanda Blaber, Senior Lecturer, University of Brighton, UK "This book presents a series of medical vignettes of varying complexity. It discusses the differential diagnosis and clinical care, offering important background knowledge to assist the Paramedic in following the best clinical pathway. Fellows and Fellows provide the vital link between the classroom and reality, removing the mysticism from the complex and ever changing world of pre-hospital care" Dr David Zideman, Clinical Lead - Emergency Medical Care, London Organising Committee of the Olympic and Paralympic Games "This is a great introductory text ... The language is easy to read and does not use over complicated medical jargon, which can be off putting for novice students (and experienced ambulance personnel alike!) whilst introducing the reader to 'ambulance language'. The comprehensive glossary is an unexpected find and a fabulous revision tool, explaining many difficult medical concepts and conditions." Emma Redwood, State Registered Paramedic, University of Northampton, UK "Until now there have been very few books that outline the importance of all stages of the care received by a patient. This book fills that gap without overwhelming those new to the paramedic profession. In addition it works well as a supplementary book for anyone working in the pre-hospital field to remind them the importance of seeking a differential diagnosis and not jumping to any conclusions ... A good book for paramedic students to read and enjoy." Ruth Lambert, Student Paramedic, University of Northampton, UK This accessible book will help both practising and student paramedics prepare to deal with 25 of the most commonly seen pre-hospital care scenarios, as well as to revise for practical exams. Part of a new Case Book series, the book starts with a description of the patient history and examination, then challenges you to spot important signs, determine a likely diagnosis and make important management decisions. This technique helps to cement prior knowledge and teach both scientific and practical knowledge, both vital for today's paramedic. By looking at the journey of the patient and paramedic, the authors provide a more complete understanding of the care pathway, helping you to be aware of signs of severe illness and develop safe practice. In addition, the book: Encourages you to develop knowledge of pathophysiology, pharmacology and out of hospital emergency treatment plans to point of handover at definitive care Covers a wide range of scenarios, from everyday situations to more complex Contains practical cases, checklists, clinical tools, key information boxes and clear answers to clinical questions The book is written by a unique father and daughter author team, with the complementary perspectives of a paramedic educator and a student.
UK Ambulance Services Clinical Practice Guidelines 2017 by 
Assessment Skills for Paramedics by 
Case Studies in Palliative and End-of-Life Care by 
Suicide Risk Management. 2nd edn. by 
Risk Assessment and Management for Living Well with Dementia by
Risk is central to professional practice, assessment and decision-making in dementia care. Yet theories of risk are often complex and difficult to translate into everyday practice. This book outlines some of the key issues in risk perception, assessment and management in dementia care in a way that is both practical and accessible to a wide range of practitioners. It develops an approach to risk that promotes choice for people with dementia whilst also acknowledging the complex challenges care providers face. The authors provide an overview of the legislative framework currently in place, and of the ethical dilemmas which may emerge in practice. Frameworks for informed and balanced decision-making are offered, and the importance of including the person with dementia, their family, and care providers in decision-making is emphasised. Throughout the book, case studies are used to illustrate effective negotiation and practical solutions to risk dilemmas in practice. This book highlights principles of good practice for managing risk in dementia care, and presents a rounded approach that will help practitioners negotiate some of the complex issues this entails.
Compact Clinical Guide to Acute Pain Management by 
Emergency Care of Minor Trauma in Children by 
Leadership in Healthcare. 3rd edn. by 
Development Across the Life Span. 7th edn. by 
Clinical examination skills for healthcare professionals. Revised 2nd edn. by 
The Minor Illness Manual. 4th edn. by 
ECG Interpretation for Everyone by 
Advancing Skills in Midwifery Practice by 
Communication Skills in Health and Social Care. 2nd edn. by 
Alcohol and Drug Misuse by
Written by an experienced academic author, lecturer and practitioner, this comprehensive textbook provides an introduction to alcohol and drug misuse. It presents: the context of alcohol and drug misuse, and the nature and theories of addiction, including a historical overview and policy initiatives in contemporary society an overview of the problems associated with psychoactive substances and their impact on groups such as culturally and linguistically diverse communities, young people, women, older people and the homeless an understanding of the generic role responses to substance misuse in a variety of different settings and contexts, including primary care, the community and hospitals a framework for assessment, care planning, harm reduction approaches, dealing with overdose, intoxication and withdrawals, and psychological and pharmacological interventions an accessible and skills-oriented approach to assist students and practitioners in dealing with alcohol and drug misuse. This new edition is fully updated and includes new material on: evidence-based pharmacological interventions; recent global strategies in alcohol and drug; dual diagnosis and women; shisha smoking; and current statistics on prevalence of alcohol and drug misuse Alcohol and Drug Misuse takes into account current policy and practice for substance use and misuse and includes a range of pedagogical features to enhance learning. It is essential reading for nursing, health and social work students taking substance misuse modules, as well as related CPD courses for health and social care professionals.
Crowley's an Introduction to Human Disease by
Updated and reorganized to provide a more accessible, student-friendly experience, Crowley's An Introduction to Human Disease, Tenth Edition provides readers with a clear, well-illustrated explanation of the structural and functional changes associated with disease, the clinical manifestations of disease, and how to determine treatment. The first chapters of the text discuss general concepts and diseases affecting the body as a whole. Later chapters consider the various organ systems and their diseases. The Tenth Edition boasts a wealth of new disease photos, new and expanded case studies, and a robust student and instructor ancillary package.New and Key Features of the Tenth Edition:-NEW! - Now includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access with complete eBook, Animations, Case Studies, Lecture Slides in PowerPoint format, and more-NEW! - Includes new and updated case studies throughout that reinforce difficult concepts-NEW! - New art and photos of diseases-EXPANDED! - Includes deeper coverage of pathophysiology and manifestation of diseases throughout the text- EXPANDED! - Provides new information on inflammation and repair, a core concept which can be challenging for students
Critical reflection in practice; generating knowledge for care. 2nd edn. by 
Evidence-Based Decisions and Economics. 2nd edn. by 
Fundamental Aspects of Infection Prevention and Control. by 
Cardiac Arrhythmia Management by 
