Rapid Assessment of the Acutely Ill Patient by 
Advanced Paediatric Life Support by
Advanced Paediatric Life Support is the internationally renowned manual on emergency paediatric care, written to support the course run by the Advanced Life Support Group. Using their structured approach, a tried and tested practical method of treating children during the crucial first few hours of a life threatening illness or injury, Advanced Paediatric Life Support is used by doctors, nurses and allied health professionals dealing with emergencies in children. Its clear layout and straightforward style make it a highly practical tool both for training and in the event of an emergency. The sixth edition includes major new features bringing it right up to date, including: The latest International Liaison Committee on Resuscitation (ILCOR) 2015 Guidelines The latest consensus guidelines on paediatric trauma Enhanced discussions on the importance of human factors A new and improved design including full colour photographs and diagrams Free access to the Wiley E-Text With this book at hand, all those providing care during paediatric emergencies can be confident in having comprehensive and authoritative guidance on the recognition and management of life threatening conditions necessary to save a child's life. This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from iTunes, Google Play or the MedHand Store.
Clinical leadership for Paramedics by 
Foundations For Paramedic Practice. 2nd edn. by
"The contents should resonate with all paramedic students as they develop their practice experience, try to make sense of their clinical activity and deal with the ambiguity that is daily paramedic work when responding to emergency calls. Additionally, this excellent book provides a framework for paramedic students as they start to consider their capability in important areas such as communication, managing situations and people, learning from experience and decision making." Andy Freeman-May, Senior Lecturer, Paramedic Emergency Care, Oxford Brookes University, UK "An essential text for new student paramedics discovering their professional identity and working towards registration and also for registered paramedic practitioners as part of their life long learning and continued professional development ... Having an understanding of the subject matter within this book is of paramount importance for the paramedic practitioner of the future." Paul Bates, Higher Education Programme Manager, London Ambulance Service NHS Trust, UK "This book covers areas of emergency care vital to the role of a paramedic, which are traditionally under-taught and often complex to understand. Blaber simplifies legal, ethical and moral issues faced by front line paramedics and also helps students to write constructive academic essays for those all important university assignments. A fantastic, well written book, which is well presented and full of useful references." Ruth Lambert, Paramedic "This enjoyable book is written in a language and a format which is easy to read and follow. The bitesized chapters feature a comprehensive reference list, enabling further research, and 'stop and think' examples which encourage you to consider your own knowledge and experiences whilst reflecting on how theory fits with practice. The additional sections on Vulnerable Adults and End of Life Care are also invaluable. A must for both student and experienced paramedics." Emma Redwood, Paramedic This popular undergraduate level book introduces the main theoretical subjects studied in higher education paramedic courses. The second edition links ways of working to appropriate theory and reflects the current curriculum guidance from paramedic professional bodies. The book covers a wide variety of academic subjects, including those not traditionally taught in ambulance 'in-house' training, such as psychology and sociology. This expanded edition includes three new chapters on Specialist development roles for the paramedic, Care of vulnerable adults and End of life care. The book also covers: Ethics and law for the paramedic Reflective practice and communication Professional issues, including clinical audit and governance and anti-discriminatory practice Psychological perspectives on health and ill health Safeguarding children Sociological perspective on health and ill health and social policy Managing change, decision making and leadership theory Foundations for Paramedic Practice, 2nd Edition is a core text for student paramedics and a valuable resource for students of the allied health professions. Written by a team of experts from across the UK, the book includes numerous links to practice, illuminating case studies and examples to encourage you to 'stop and think' and reflect upon your practice experience. Contributors: Amanda Blaber, Vince Clarke, Alison Cork, Steve Cowland, John Donaghy, Rachael Donohoe, Bob Fellows, Ann French, Graham Harris, Mary Larkin, Linda Nelson, Marion Richardson, Paul Street and Jackie Whitnell.
Assessment Skills for Paramedics by 
Paramedic Care by
For courses in Paramedic Emergency Medical Services A strong, evidence-based foundation in the principles and practices of modern EMS Paramedic Care: Principles & Practice, Fifth Edition, offers EMS students and professionals a foundational guide and reference to paramedicine. Developed to stay ahead of current trends and practices, all five volumes are based on the National EMS Education Standards and the accompanying Paramedic Instructional Guidelines. Volume 1, Introduction to Advanced Prehospital Care, covers the principles of advanced prehospital care and EMS operations. Chapters detail the various aspects of paramedic practice as well as an introduction to workforce safety and wellness, EMS research, the EMS role in public health, legal and ethical considerations, and EMS system communications and documentation. The final chapters of this volume cover lifespan development, pathophysiology, emergency pharmacology, intravenous access and medication administration, and airway management and ventilation. Updated throughout, Volume 1 gives readers a fundamental understanding of EMS operations, basic medical science, and basic procedures. Also available with MyBRADYLab(tm) This title is also available with MyBRADYLab-an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with this text to engage students and improve results. Within its structured environment, students practice what they learn, test their understanding, and pursue a personalized study plan that helps them better absorb course material and understand difficult concepts. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyBRADYLab does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyBRADYLab, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information.
Compact Clinical Guide to Acute Pain Management by 
Macleod's Clinical Examination by 
Manual of Clinical Paramedic Procedures by
'I can enthusiastically recommend the Manual of Clinical Paramedic Procedures as the book that I wish had been available to me when I was studying to become a paramedic.' From the foreword by Professor Malcolm Woollard, Chair, College of Paramedics; Professor in Pre-hospital and Emergency Care & Director, Pre-hospital, Emergency & Cardiovascular Care Applied Research Group, Coventry University Clinical procedures are a fundamental aspect of care for practitioners working in pre-hospital settings. The Manual of Clinical Paramedic Procedures is written specifically to support the practice of paramedics, ambulance technicians, first responders and volunteer ambulance personnel. It presents up-to-date, evidence-based expert knowledge, enabling paramedics to deliver effective, patient-focused care. This accessible handbook provides a comprehensive exploration of core competencies and skills, looking at topics including Aseptic Technique, Airway Management, Assisted Ventilation, Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation, Defibrillation and External Cardiac Pacing, Observations, Pain Assessment & Management, Respiratory Therapy, Spinal Management and Venepuncture. Each chapter provides the relevant anatomy & physiology, evidence-based rationales for each procedure, and contraindications of use. Key features: The first UK text to explore clinical procedures for paramedics With further reading and illustrations throughout All procedures include the rationale for the action recommended Guides paramedics in the clinical application of evidence-based procedures
Paramedics by
"A great book written by a truly medical family ... This book will prove invaluable to the student paramedic and a great aid to the practicing paramedic ... The case studies are thought provoking and give an opportunity for students to learn about situations they will encounter during their careers and experienced paramedics and practitioners the opportunity to reflect on similar cases and question their practice ... I would highly recommend this book." Paul Bates (Paramedic), Higher Education Programme Manager, London Ambulance Service NHS Trust, UK "Individuals new to pre-hospital care will find this text well structured and clear. The informative introduction and subsequent case studies are written in an easy to read question and answer style. These provide a starting point for the reader to undertake further focused reading and investigation. A helpful text for students who are new to caring for patients, in the pre-hospital environment." Amanda Blaber, Senior Lecturer, University of Brighton, UK "This book presents a series of medical vignettes of varying complexity. It discusses the differential diagnosis and clinical care, offering important background knowledge to assist the Paramedic in following the best clinical pathway. Fellows and Fellows provide the vital link between the classroom and reality, removing the mysticism from the complex and ever changing world of pre-hospital care" Dr David Zideman, Clinical Lead - Emergency Medical Care, London Organising Committee of the Olympic and Paralympic Games "This is a great introductory text ... The language is easy to read and does not use over complicated medical jargon, which can be off putting for novice students (and experienced ambulance personnel alike!) whilst introducing the reader to 'ambulance language'. The comprehensive glossary is an unexpected find and a fabulous revision tool, explaining many difficult medical concepts and conditions." Emma Redwood, State Registered Paramedic, University of Northampton, UK "Until now there have been very few books that outline the importance of all stages of the care received by a patient. This book fills that gap without overwhelming those new to the paramedic profession. In addition it works well as a supplementary book for anyone working in the pre-hospital field to remind them the importance of seeking a differential diagnosis and not jumping to any conclusions ... A good book for paramedic students to read and enjoy." Ruth Lambert, Student Paramedic, University of Northampton, UK This accessible book will help both practising and student paramedics prepare to deal with 25 of the most commonly seen pre-hospital care scenarios, as well as to revise for practical exams. Part of a new Case Book series, the book starts with a description of the patient history and examination, then challenges you to spot important signs, determine a likely diagnosis and make important management decisions. This technique helps to cement prior knowledge and teach both scientific and practical knowledge, both vital for today's paramedic. By looking at the journey of the patient and paramedic, the authors provide a more complete understanding of the care pathway, helping you to be aware of signs of severe illness and develop safe practice. In addition, the book: Encourages you to develop knowledge of pathophysiology, pharmacology and out of hospital emergency treatment plans to point of handover at definitive care Covers a wide range of scenarios, from everyday situations to more complex Contains practical cases, checklists, clinical tools, key information boxes and clear answers to clinical questions The book is written by a unique father and daughter author team, with the complementary perspectives of a paramedic educator and a student.
Alcohol and Drug Misuse by Rapid Assessment of the Acutely Ill Patient by
Rapid Assessment of the Acutely Ill Patient sets out the principles and practices needed for early recognition and assessment of patients either at risk of or showing signs of acute deterioration, or those recently relocated from higher levels of care. The focus is on patient assessment, interpretation and evaluation of data, immediate management of significant problems, ongoing and further assessments in order to improve clinical outcomes. Rapid Assessment of the Acutely Ill Patient provides a framework for a systematic initial patient assessment and explores principles of effective assessment. Body systems are considered in order of life-threatening priority following the ABCDE approach, dealing with the assessment and management of airway, breathing, circulation, disability - and everything else; covering topics such as visual, palpatory and auscultatory assessment, use of additional documented information (charts, notes etc), and interpreting diagnostic investigations. Methods to ensure effective communication and team-working are also discussed. Key features Part of the Essential Clinical Skills for Nurses series Aimed at nurses working in wards and specialist departments Explores the assessment skills required for a rapid response to a patient at risk of becoming acutely unwell Enables students and practitioners to develop practical and interpretative skills Provides a framework for assessment and principles of first line treatment Includes ?Look?, ?Listen?, ?Feel? and ?Measure? icons Sheila Adam is Head of Nursing, Specialist Hospitals Board, UCL Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and author of Nursing in Critical Care: Science and Practice (now in its 2nd edition), The Oxford Handbook of Critical Care Nursing and Nutrition in the Critically Ill. John Welch is Nurse Consultant in Critical Care, University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, and former Chair of the National Outreach Forum. Mandy Odell is Nurse Consultant in Critical Care, Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust, Nurse and Allied Health Professional representative for the Intensive Care Society and former Chair of the British Association of Critical Care Nurses.
Case Studies in Palliative and End-of-Life Care by 
Leadership in Healthcare by
Leadership in Healthcare examines leadership through the lens of values and explores how they play a major role in leaders effective performance. Author Carson Dye shares the key values that influence a leader's behaviors, priorities, thought processes, and actions. Dye also offers guidance for assessing team values and effectiveness at all career stages. The book is divided into five parts: Leadership in Healthcare, Personal Values, Team Values, Evaluation, and Additional Perspectives on Leadership. New content includes chapters on inclusivity, the role of physicians, and the role of leaders in supporting workers. In addition, a new chapter looks at the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on leadership and the special challenges healthcare leaders have faced-and continue to face-in a very different healthcare environment. The book's special features include opening vignettes reflecting on workplace situations; sidebars, cases, and exercises to support discussions and stimulate reader response; and additional readings that provide an expanded understanding of chapter content. In addition, the book's appendices share tools for evaluating leaders and teams and driving self evaluation.
Risk Assessment and Management for Living Well with Dementia by
Risk is central to professional practice, assessment and decision-making in dementia care. Yet theories of risk are often complex and difficult to translate into everyday practice. This book outlines some of the key issues in risk perception, assessment and management in dementia care in a way that is both practical and accessible to a wide range of practitioners. It develops an approach to risk that promotes choice for people with dementia whilst also acknowledging the complex challenges care providers face. The authors provide an overview of the legislative framework currently in place, and of the ethical dilemmas which may emerge in practice. Frameworks for informed and balanced decision-making are offered, and the importance of including the person with dementia, their family, and care providers in decision-making is emphasised. Throughout the book, case studies are used to illustrate effective negotiation and practical solutions to risk dilemmas in practice. This book highlights principles of good practice for managing risk in dementia care, and presents a rounded approach that will help practitioners negotiate some of the complex issues this entails.
Emergency Care of Minor Trauma in Children by 
Emergency Care of Minor Trauma in Children by
Succinct and highly illustrated, the third edition of this handy pocket guide enables practitioners to successfully manage common minor injuries in children at the point of care. Each chapter has been updated to reflect changes to the treatment for the injury based on recent research and new guidelines. The new edition includes: the latest recommended guidelines and procedures, for instant access to key information generous use of colour, warning boxes, icons, clinical tips and practical advice to help the reader find information at a glance numerous illustrations help explain more difficult concepts detailed guidance on when to treat, how to treat, when to refer or when minor trauma is indicative of a more serious diagnosis. This concise evidence-based book remains an essential purchase for junior doctors, nurse practitioners and emergency care practitioners in the emergency department, minor injury centre or primary care facility. It is a touchstone for all those seeing children following minor injury or trauma.
Accident and Emergency. 3rd edn. by 
Development Across the Life Span. 7th edn. by Paramedics: from street to emergency department by
"A great book written by a truly medical family ... This book will prove invaluable to the student paramedic and a great aid to the practicing paramedic ... The case studies are thought provoking and give an opportunity for students to learn about situations they will encounter during their careers and experienced paramedics and practitioners the opportunity to reflect on similar cases and question their practice ... I would highly recommend this book." Paul Bates (Paramedic), Higher Education Programme Manager, London Ambulance Service NHS Trust, UK "Individuals new to pre-hospital care will find this text well structured and clear. The informative introduction and subsequent case studies are written in an easy to read question and answer style. These provide a starting point for the reader to undertake further focused reading and investigation. A helpful text for students who are new to caring for patients, in the pre-hospital environment." Amanda Blaber, Senior Lecturer, University of Brighton, UK "This book presents a series of medical vignettes of varying complexity. It discusses the differential diagnosis and clinical care, offering important background knowledge to assist the Paramedic in following the best clinical pathway. Fellows and Fellows provide the vital link between the classroom and reality, removing the mysticism from the complex and ever changing world of pre-hospital care" Dr David Zideman, Clinical Lead - Emergency Medical Care, London Organising Committee of the Olympic and Paralympic Games "This is a great introductory text ... The language is easy to read and does not use over complicated medical jargon, which can be off putting for novice students (and experienced ambulance personnel alike!) whilst introducing the reader to 'ambulance language'. The comprehensive glossary is an unexpected find and a fabulous revision tool, explaining many difficult medical concepts and conditions." Emma Redwood, State Registered Paramedic, University of Northampton, UK "Until now there have been very few books that outline the importance of all stages of the care received by a patient. This book fills that gap without overwhelming those new to the paramedic profession. In addition it works well as a supplementary book for anyone working in the pre-hospital field to remind them the importance of seeking a differential diagnosis and not jumping to any conclusions ... A good book for paramedic students to read and enjoy." Ruth Lambert, Student Paramedic, University of Northampton, UK This accessible book will help both practising and student paramedics prepare to deal with 25 of the most commonly seen pre-hospital care scenarios, as well as to revise for practical exams. Part of a new Case Book series, the book starts with a description of the patient history and examination, then challenges you to spot important signs, determine a likely diagnosis and make important management decisions. This technique helps to cement prior knowledge and teach both scientific and practical knowledge, both vital for today's paramedic. By looking at the journey of the patient and paramedic, the authors provide a more complete understanding of the care pathway, helping you to be aware of signs of severe illness and develop safe practice. In addition, the book: Encourages you to develop knowledge of pathophysiology, pharmacology and out of hospital emergency treatment plans to point of handover at definitive care Covers a wide range of scenarios, from everyday situations to more complex Contains practical cases, checklists, clinical tools, key information boxes and clear answers to clinical questions The book is written by a unique father and daughter author team, with the complementary perspectives of a paramedic educator and a student.
Ethics, Law and Professional Issues by 
Advanced Cardiac Life Support by 
The Minor Illness Manual by
This new edition of the best-selling Minor Illness Manual has been completely revised and updated with the latest clinical guidance and prescribing information, and includes a new chapter on the changing demands of Primary Care. The simple, clear and easy-to-use format enables Primary Care professionals ¿ such as nurses, pharmacists, midwives, doctors, and paramedics ¿ to quickly access the current procedures for dealing with situations they are likely to encounter in their daily practice.
ECG Interpretation for Everyone by 
Suicide Risk Management. 2nd edn. by 
An Introduction to Human Disease: Pathology and Pathophysiology Correlations by
An Introduction to Human Disease: Pathology and Pathophysiology Correlations, Ninth Edition provides students with a clear and well-illustrated explanation of the structural and functional changes associated with disease, the clinical manifestations of disease, and how to determine treatment. Ideal for Pathology, Pathophysiology, or Human Disease courses, the first part of the text deals with general concepts and with diseases affecting the body as a whole. The second part considers the various organ systems and their diseases.AncillariesFor InstructorsPowerPoint Presentations, an Instructors Manual, a Test Bank, and an Image Bank. All materials are formatted for online course management systems.For StudentsThe companion website is accessible to students through the redeemable access code provided in every new text. It offers useful study tools and activities including Crossword Puzzles, an Interactive Glossary, Practice Quizzes, Web Links, and more.
Advancing Skills in Midwifery Practice by 
Communication Skills in Health and Social Care by
Our ability to communicate is a key part of everyday life and is an essential skill, particularly when communicating with vulnerable people in a health and social care setting. Presented in a unique and easy-to-use dictionary format, this practical guide will help students and practitioners understand and apply the principles of effective communication. From the "how to" practicalities through to challenges and honing existing skills, this book will ensure they have the confidence and knowledge to communicate skilfully and successfully in many different contexts and settings. Communication Skills in Health and Social Care is essential reading for anyone working in the helping professions for whom good communication skills are an essential part of their role.
Clinical examination skills for healthcare professionals. Revised 2nd edn. by 
Key Concepts in Mental Health. 4th edn. by
Now in its 4th edition, this text continues to give you a complete and concise overview of mental health and all the issues that surround it from a theoretical and practical perspective. Restructured into 4 sections, the book starts by defining mental health and mental abnormality before examining the mental health services and the place mental health takes in society. Fully updated, the book offers: 66 bite-sized chapters including new ones on the Biopsychosocial Model, trauma and mindfulness Key points summarising what you need to know for study and practice Examples of further reading to help you expand your knowledge It is essential reading for students of health, nursing, mental health, social work and social care. It is also valuable reading for students of counselling and psychotherapy.
Critical reflection in practice; generating knowledge for care. 2nd edn. by 
Evidence-Based Decisions and Economics. 2nd edn. by 
Fundamental Aspects of Infection Prevention and Control. by 
Cardiac Arrhythmia Management by 
