Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Patient Management: Care of the Individual reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Foundations For Paramedic Practice. 2nd edn. by "The contents should resonate with all paramedic students as they develop their practice experience, try to make sense of their clinical activity and deal with the ambiguity that is daily paramedic work when responding to emergency calls. Additionally, this excellent book provides a framework for paramedic students as they start to consider their capability in important areas such as communication, managing situations and people, learning from experience and decision making." Andy Freeman-May, Senior Lecturer, Paramedic Emergency Care, Oxford Brookes University, UK "An essential text for new student paramedics discovering their professional identity and working towards registration and also for registered paramedic practitioners as part of their life long learning and continued professional development ... Having an understanding of the subject matter within this book is of paramount importance for the paramedic practitioner of the future." Paul Bates, Higher Education Programme Manager, London Ambulance Service NHS Trust, UK "This book covers areas of emergency care vital to the role of a paramedic, which are traditionally under-taught and often complex to understand. Blaber simplifies legal, ethical and moral issues faced by front line paramedics and also helps students to write constructive academic essays for those all important university assignments. A fantastic, well written book, which is well presented and full of useful references." Ruth Lambert, Paramedic "This enjoyable book is written in a language and a format which is easy to read and follow. The bitesized chapters feature a comprehensive reference list, enabling further research, and 'stop and think' examples which encourage you to consider your own knowledge and experiences whilst reflecting on how theory fits with practice. The additional sections on Vulnerable Adults and End of Life Care are also invaluable. A must for both student and experienced paramedics." Emma Redwood, Paramedic This popular undergraduate level book introduces the main theoretical subjects studied in higher education paramedic courses. The second edition links ways of working to appropriate theory and reflects the current curriculum guidance from paramedic professional bodies. The book covers a wide variety of academic subjects, including those not traditionally taught in ambulance 'in-house' training, such as psychology and sociology. This expanded edition includes three new chapters on Specialist development roles for the paramedic, Care of vulnerable adults and End of life care. The book also covers: Ethics and law for the paramedic Reflective practice and communication Professional issues, including clinical audit and governance and anti-discriminatory practice Psychological perspectives on health and ill health Safeguarding children Sociological perspective on health and ill health and social policy Managing change, decision making and leadership theory Foundations for Paramedic Practice, 2nd Edition is a core text for student paramedics and a valuable resource for students of the allied health professions. Written by a team of experts from across the UK, the book includes numerous links to practice, illuminating case studies and examples to encourage you to 'stop and think' and reflect upon your practice experience. Contributors: Amanda Blaber, Vince Clarke, Alison Cork, Steve Cowland, John Donaghy, Rachael Donohoe, Bob Fellows, Ann French, Graham Harris, Mary Larkin, Linda Nelson, Marion Richardson, Paul Street and Jackie Whitnell.
Call Number: 610.737069 BLA
Publication Date: 2012
Manual of Clinical Paramedic Procedures by 'I can enthusiastically recommend the Manual of Clinical Paramedic Procedures as the book that I wish had been available to me when I was studying to become a paramedic.' From the foreword by Professor Malcolm Woollard, Chair, College of Paramedics; Professor in Pre-hospital and Emergency Care & Director, Pre-hospital, Emergency & Cardiovascular Care Applied Research Group, Coventry University Clinical procedures are a fundamental aspect of care for practitioners working in pre-hospital settings. The Manual of Clinical Paramedic Procedures is written specifically to support the practice of paramedics, ambulance technicians, first responders and volunteer ambulance personnel. It presents up-to-date, evidence-based expert knowledge, enabling paramedics to deliver effective, patient-focused care. This accessible handbook provides a comprehensive exploration of core competencies and skills, looking at topics including Aseptic Technique, Airway Management, Assisted Ventilation, Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation, Defibrillation and External Cardiac Pacing, Observations, Pain Assessment & Management, Respiratory Therapy, Spinal Management and Venepuncture. Each chapter provides the relevant anatomy & physiology, evidence-based rationales for each procedure, and contraindications of use. Key features: The first UK text to explore clinical procedures for paramedics With further reading and illustrations throughout All procedures include the rationale for the action recommended Guides paramedics in the clinical application of evidence-based procedures
Call Number: 616.025 GRE + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Emergency Care in the Streets by The United Kingdom (UK) edition of Nancy Caroline's Emergency Care in the Streets, Revised Seventh Edition builds on the pedigree of the previous UK and United States editions of this seminal paramedic textbook. Not only is the UK Revised Seventh Edition directly relevant to UK practice, but now it is fully referenced and in line with the new 20163 UK Ambulance Service Clinical Practice Guidelines.With an authorship drawn from all aspects of emergency and unscheduled care, from academics to practising practitioners, the writing team have ensured that the textbook is directly relevant to current UK clinical paramedic practices.Up-to-Date ContentThe UK Revised Seventh Edition is the only paramedic textbook to reference the new 20163 UK Ambulance Service Clinical Practice Guidelines. In addition, the latest advanced life support and other evidence-based guidelines have been included to ensure that evidence-based practice is advocated.Relevance to Clinical PracticeEach chapter features a clinical case study to relate the chapter content to real-world application, thus enabling students and paramedics alike to bridge the theory-practice gap.Accessible LanguageSince the first edition, Nancy Caroline's Emergency Care in the Streets has been known for its clear, accessible language that provides the most effective and engaging learning experience for students. The UK Revised Seventh Edition continues Dr. Caroline's legacy with world-class medical content written in a manner that is relevant to today's practice of paramedicine.
Call Number: 616.025 CAR
Publication Date: 2016-08-23
Paramedic Care by For courses in Paramedic Emergency Medical Services A strong, evidence-based foundation in the principles and practices of modern EMS Paramedic Care: Principles & Practice, Fifth Edition, offers EMS students and professionals a foundational guide and reference to paramedicine. Developed to stay ahead of current trends and practices, all five volumes are based on the National EMS Education Standards and the accompanying Paramedic Instructional Guidelines. Volume 3, Medical Emergencies, covers medical emergencies and includes updated material that is consistent with the 2015 American Heart Association Guidelines for Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Emergency Cardiovascular Care. New information is included on Ebola, Zika, and Chikunyaga virus disease, as well as updated toxic syndromes and drugs of abuse tables, and a new section on cardiac arrest in pregnancy. Also available with MyBRADYLab(tm) This title is also available with MyBRADYLab-an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with this text to engage students and improve results. Within its structured environment, students practice what they learn, test their understanding, and pursue a personalized study plan that helps them better absorb course material and understand difficult concepts. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyBRADYLab, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information.
Call Number: 616.025 BLE
Publication Date: 2016
Physical Assessment for Nurses. 2nd edn. by The fully updated second edition of this book continues to take a systematic approach to comprehensive patient assessment. The text explores best practice in history taking and summarises the key clinical skills needed to develop and improve physical examination skills and to competently assess, diagnose, plan and provide care. Pocket book style for use during your course and for easy reference in a clinical setting Easy to follow page layout with key points marked with bullet points and additional information on the right of the page Based on Turner and Blackwood?s well-established Lecture Notes on Clinical Skills New to this edition Fully updated throughout and includes three new chapters on examination of the male genitalia, examination of the female reproductive system and ophthalmic examination Now in full colour throughout Suitable for newly qualified Advanced Nurse Practitioners, Masters and Undergraduate students on Nurse Practitioner/Advanced Nurse Practitioner courses.
Call Number: 616.075 COX + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Paramedics: from street to emergency department by "A great book written by a truly medical family ... This book will prove invaluable to the student paramedic and a great aid to the practicing paramedic ... The case studies are thought provoking and give an opportunity for students to learn about situations they will encounter during their careers and experienced paramedics and practitioners the opportunity to reflect on similar cases and question their practice ... I would highly recommend this book." Paul Bates (Paramedic), Higher Education Programme Manager, London Ambulance Service NHS Trust, UK "Individuals new to pre-hospital care will find this text well structured and clear. The informative introduction and subsequent case studies are written in an easy to read question and answer style. These provide a starting point for the reader to undertake further focused reading and investigation. A helpful text for students who are new to caring for patients, in the pre-hospital environment." Amanda Blaber, Senior Lecturer, University of Brighton, UK "This book presents a series of medical vignettes of varying complexity. It discusses the differential diagnosis and clinical care, offering important background knowledge to assist the Paramedic in following the best clinical pathway. Fellows and Fellows provide the vital link between the classroom and reality, removing the mysticism from the complex and ever changing world of pre-hospital care" Dr David Zideman, Clinical Lead - Emergency Medical Care, London Organising Committee of the Olympic and Paralympic Games "This is a great introductory text ... The language is easy to read and does not use over complicated medical jargon, which can be off putting for novice students (and experienced ambulance personnel alike!) whilst introducing the reader to 'ambulance language'. The comprehensive glossary is an unexpected find and a fabulous revision tool, explaining many difficult medical concepts and conditions." Emma Redwood, State Registered Paramedic, University of Northampton, UK "Until now there have been very few books that outline the importance of all stages of the care received by a patient. This book fills that gap without overwhelming those new to the paramedic profession. In addition it works well as a supplementary book for anyone working in the pre-hospital field to remind them the importance of seeking a differential diagnosis and not jumping to any conclusions ... A good book for paramedic students to read and enjoy." Ruth Lambert, Student Paramedic, University of Northampton, UK This accessible book will help both practising and student paramedics prepare to deal with 25 of the most commonly seen pre-hospital care scenarios, as well as to revise for practical exams. Part of a new Case Book series, the book starts with a description of the patient history and examination, then challenges you to spot important signs, determine a likely diagnosis and make important management decisions. This technique helps to cement prior knowledge and teach both scientific and practical knowledge, both vital for today's paramedic. By looking at the journey of the patient and paramedic, the authors provide a more complete understanding of the care pathway, helping you to be aware of signs of severe illness and develop safe practice. In addition, the book: Encourages you to develop knowledge of pathophysiology, pharmacology and out of hospital emergency treatment plans to point of handover at definitive care Covers a wide range of scenarios, from everyday situations to more complex Contains practical cases, checklists, clinical tools, key information boxes and clear answers to clinical questions The book is written by a unique father and daughter author team, with the complementary perspectives of a paramedic educator and a student.
Call Number: 616.025 FEL
Publication Date: 2012
Clinical Skills by Clinical Skills, Second Edition, is a practical and comprehensive guide to history taking, examination, and interpretation of results for medical students, junior doctors, and nurse practitioners. Written with wit and clarity, and packed with illustrations, this book will teach you how to jointhe dots between signs, symptoms, and diagnoses. This textbook sets out invaluable routines for the examination of each system, and includes chapters on interpreting chest x-rays and spot diagnosis. Over 500 line drawings and colour photographs give practical examples of core and advanced examination skills. Throughout the text, key points andtips dispense essential wisdom, while case studies help you to put theory into practice. This new edition of Clinical Skills is now more useful than ever in your preparation for finals. Each chapter ends with a short set of assesment questions and a section on how the system in question is tested in OSCEs. Even better, the chapter on finals has been expanded and updated to give morepractical advice than ever before. Written in plain English and designed to demystify even the most daunting procedures, Clinical Skills, Second Edition is the ultimate all-round textbook to help you hone your skills and prepare for finals.
Call Number: 616.075 ROP
Publication Date: 2014