Photography BA: Databases and Journals

The Arts and Humanities database contains journal articles, abstracts, and magazines. It is suitable for users of various disciplines, including fine art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, and english.

The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery. 

Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.

a-n The Artist Information Company is the largest artists’ membership organisation in the United Kingdom with over 30,000 members. It is a leader in research and information for and about contemporary visual arts practice, and offers online resources for individuals in all art and design disciplines. It contains professional practice resources, an extensive archive of published materials, a research index of over 400 sectoral research papers, events, and job listings. 

The content of this resource is not searchable in Discovery. 

Access to this resource is provided by the University of Suffolk. To login with your University of Suffolk credentials: 

1. Click the link above
2. Select “Login” in the upper right-hand corner of the screen
3. Click “Login via your host institution”
4. Search for the “University of Suffolk”
5. Login with your standard S number (e.g., S123456) and password

The Art Full Text database contains full-text articles, abstracts, dissertations, and art reproductions. This resource is most likely to be relevant to individuals associated with Art and Design disciplines; it covers topics such as fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as photography, film, and architecture. 

The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery. 

Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.

ARTbibliographies Modern contains abstracts of journal articles, books, PhD Dissertations, exhibition catalogs, and reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art dating from the late 19th century onwards. This resource is most likely to be relevant to individuals associated with Art and Design disciplines; it covers topics such as performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, ceramic and glass art, illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. 

Some of the content of this collection is searchable in Discovery. For optimal results, it is advised to conduct your search directly within the collection.

Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.

The Arts Premium Collection contains journal articles, abstracts, and dissertations. It is suitable for users associated with a wide range of artistic and design disciplines. This collection combines multiple subcollections, including Art, Design and Architecture Collection, Music and Performing Arts Collection, and Screen Studies Collection. The collection includes content on music, performing arts, film, screenwriting, fine art, design, and architecture. 

The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery. 

Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire de la Littérature de l'Art (RILA) index and abstract books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition catalogs, and articles on Western art history from late antiquity through the early 21st century. BHA covers materials published from 1990 to 2007, while RILA focuses on 1975 to 1989. The database encompasses a diverse range of artistic disciplines, from traditional fine arts like painting and sculpture to architecture and decorative arts.

The content of the BHA and RILA is free to access on the open web, and is not searchable in Discovery.

International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is a collection of scholarly literature on Western art. The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). The collection includes at least 500 core journals, with an emphasis on specialist and rare titles that are not covered by other indexes, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues.

The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery.

Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.

JSTOR is a digital library, which provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources from over 75 disciplines. Please note that JSTOR is an archive database and does not include current content.

The content of this collection is partly searchable in Discovery.

Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.

Oxford Art Online offers access to authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources with over 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, and 40,000 links to images. This database includes Grove Art Online (which is a scholarly art encyclopaedia), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and The Encyclopaedia of Aesthetics.

The content of this collection is not searchable in Discovery.

Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.