Patient Care in Radiography by
Learn to master radiography patient care with the book that covers it best! With step-by-step instructions and more than 400 full-color illustrations, Patient Care in Radiography, 10th Edition is the perfect resource to help teach you effective radiography patient care. Each chapter expertly guides you through the latest guidelines, carefully making the connection between the topics being discussed and how they relate to patient care. An emphasis is placed on the skills and procedures that are imperative for quality patient care - including safety, transfer, positioning, infection control, and patient assessment. Also included is information on microbiology, emerging diseases, trans-cultural communication, ECGs, administering medications, and bedside radiography to ensure you are well-versed in both the technical and interpersonal skills needed for professional practice. Coverage of patient care and procedural skills helps provide safe, high-quality patient care and technical proficiency. Step-by-step procedures are shown in photo essays, demonstrated with more than 400 full-color illustrations.? Case studies focus on medicolegal terms, standards, and applications and help build problem-solving skills. Coverage of infection control helps emphasize the importance of preventing the spread of diseases. Special Imaging Modalities chapter provides an overview of patient care for a wide range of imaging methods. Chapter outlines, objectives, key terms, summaries, review questions, and critical thinking exercises focus on the key information in each chapter. Answers to the review questions are included in the back of the book. NEW! New images highlight many patient procedures and visually demonstrate how to care for patients. NEW! Updated content covers the most current exams, procedures, and technologies, as well as the most current information from the American Society of Radiologic Technologists.
Hepatology at a Glance by
Hepatology at a Glance is an accessible, illustrated introduction to this increasingly important specialty. This brand new title helps the reader to develop a solid understanding of liver disease, and to recognise, diagnose and treat all types of routinely encountered liver and biliary disorders. It covers key areas such as the development, structure and function of the liver, transplantation, surgery and nutrition. Common cases of liver disorders and scenario, and the management of rarer diseases and disorders in special patient groups such as the pregnant are included. Hepatology at a Glance: * Is a unique and concise resource on hepatology created for junior medical staff * Maintains a practical emphasis, with advice on history, examination and clinical testing * Includes clinical scenarios, with self-assessment questions and full explanations to answers * Follows the curriculum set by and with the support of the British Society of Gastroenterology * Includes a companion website at www.ataglanceseries.com/hepatology featuring 30 MCQs Providing guidance on all vital aspects of the specialty, Hepatology at a Glance is a succinct and accessible summative resource to enable a thorough understanding of the field.
The Gastrointestinal System at a Glance by
This concise introduction to the gastrointestinal system encapsulates the fundamental facts and principles of this rapidly growing and changing specialty. Written by experienced clinicians and teachers, the text covers the basic concepts of both the science surrounding the gastrointestinal system and the basics of clinical practice in an accessible, lucid format. Now fully supported by a companion website at www.ataglanceseries.com/gastro containing interactive MCQs and downloadable digital flashcards, The Gastrointestinal System at a Glance is the ideal revision aid for medical and allied health students, and provides valuable insight for anyone seeking a comprehensive and concise guide to this subject area. Fully revised and updated to include further coverage of diagnostic and therapeutic endoscopy, revised liver chapters and a new chapter on embryology Now in full colour throughout Supported by a companion website containing interactive self-assessment and digital flashcards - perfect for both study and revision Provides an integrated approach to both the basic and clinical science of this core specialty
Principles of Anatomy and Physiology by
The phenomenally successful Principles of Anatomy and Physiology continues to set the discipline standard with the 15th edition. Designed for the 2-semester anatomy and physiology course, Principles of Anatomy and Physiology combines exceptional content and outstanding visuals for a rich and comprehensive classroom experience. Enhanced for a digital delivery, the 15th edition, gives students the ability to learn and explore anatomy and physiology both inside and outside of the classroom.
Chapman and Nakielny's Guide to Radiological Procedures by
Chapman and Nakielny's Guide to Radiological Procedures has become the classic, concise guide to the common procedures in imaging on which a radiology trainee will be expected to be familiar. Now fully revised and updated in line with current practice, it will also prove invaluable to the wider clinical team that now delivers modern imaging services, including radiographers and radiology nurses, as well as a handy refresher for radiologists at all levels. The highly accessible format has been retained, with every technique described under a set of standard headings, making it ideal for quick reference and exam preparation. * Comprehensively reviewed and updated throughout - incorporating the very latest techniques, clinical practice developments and key recent national and international guidelines * New chapter on the important roles of the radiographer and nurse in procedural radiology - reflecting the delivery of modern radiological practice by multi-professional teams * New chapter on ablative therapies - outlining the various radiological techniques and indications for non-surgical treatment of tumours * Complementary access to the complete, enhanced eBook version - including new, interactive MCQs to check understanding and aid those preparing for the FRCR and similar examinations Previous edition review comments: "The book provides a comprehensive and well-referenced guide to a wide range of imaging techniques and the imaging modalities employed...Overall, an excellent book. " Rad Magazine * Comprehensively reviewed and updated throughout - incorporating the very latest techniques, clinical practice developments and key recent national and international guidelines * New chapter on the important roles of the radiographer and nurse in procedural radiology - reflecting the delivery of modern radiological practice by multi-professional teams * New chapter on ablative therapies - outlining the various radiological techniques and indications for non-surgical treatment of tumours * Complementary access to the complete, enhanced eBook version - including new, interactive MCQs to check understanding and aid those preparing for the FRCR and similar examinations
Diagnostic Radiology by
Long recognized as the standard general reference in the field, this completely revised edition of Grainger and Allison's Diagnostic Radiology provides all the information that a trainee needs to master to successfully take their professional certification examinations as well as providing the practicing radiologist with a refresher on topics that may have been forgotten. Organized along an organ and systems basis, this resource covers all diagnostic imaging modalities in an integrated, correlative fashion and focuses on those topics that really matter to a trainee radiologist in the initial years of training. "...the latest edition ... continues the fine tradition set by its predecessors.... help young radiologists to prepare for their examinations and continue to be a source of information to be dipped in and out of ... senior radiologists will also find the book useful ..." Reviewed by: RAD Magazine March 2015 "I am sure the current edition will be successful and help young radiologists to prepare for their examinations and continue to be a source of information to be dipped in and out of..." Reviewed by RAD Magazine, March 2015 Master the field and prepare for certification or recertification with a succinct, comprehensive account of the entire spectrum of imaging modalities and their clinical applications. Effectively apply the latest techniques and approaches with complete updates throughout including 4 new sections (Abdominal Imaging, The Spine, Oncological Imaging, and Interventional Radiology) and 28 brand new chapters. Gain the fresh perspective of two new editors-Jonathan Gillard and Cornelia Schaefer-Prokop -- eight new section editors -- Michael Maher, Andrew Grainger, Philip O'Connor, Rolf Jager, Vicky Goh, Catherine Owens, Anna Maria Belli, Michael Lee -- and 135 new contributors. Stay current with the latest developments in imaging techniques such as CT, MR, ultrasound, and coverage of hot topics such as: Image guided biopsy and ablation techniques and Functional and molecular imaging. Solve even your toughest diagnostic challenges with guidance from nearly 4,000 outstanding illustrations. Quickly grasp the fundamentals you need to know through a more concise, streamlined format. Access the full text online at Expert Consult.
Introduction to Radiologic and Imaging Sciences and Patient Care by
Using a clear and concise format, Introduction to Radiologic and Imaging Sciences and Patient Care, 7th Edition delivers the latest radiologic, imaging science and patient care skills you need to prepare for certification and practice. This new edition includes updates on current digital imaging and instrumentation, providing you with the essential information and tools needed to master any introduction to radiologic sciences class. Chapter review questions and lab activities available online and on tear sheets in the text give you easy access to on-the-go learning. This text not only helps to prepare you for parts of the certification exam, but the content provides useful and practical information that is needed for professional practice and clinical success. Step-by-step procedures presented in boxed lists throughout the text supply you with easy to follow steps so you are well prepared for clinical success. Back-of-book review questions provide you with an opportunity for review and greater challenge. More than 300 photos and line drawings help you understand and visualize patient-care procedures. Strong pedagogy, including chapter objectives, key terms, outline and summaries helps you organize information and ensure that you understand what is most important in every chapter. NEW and UPDATED! Updates on current digital imaging and instrumentation provide you with the important information you need for clinical success. NEW! The latest technical terminology incorporated throughout text keeps you up-to-date with industry verbiage. NEW and UPDATED! Appendices containing practice standards, professional organizations, state licensing agencies, the ARRT code of ethics and patient care partnership offer you additional information about professional opportunities and obligations and prepare you for what you will encounter in the practice environment.
Abdominal Ultrasound: Step by Step by
The third edition of this practical reference guide has been updated with a modern, visually attractive design and expanded content. The book is ideal for healthcare professionals with little or no experience in administering and interpreting abdominal ultrasound examinations. It is practice-oriented and structured in a way that allows readers with varying degrees of ultra-sonography knowledge to utilize the material according to their individual experience and needs. Each chapter includes a systematic, detailed description of the anatomy involved in the ultrasound examination, with easy-to-digest steps that follow standardized routine and protocol. That straight-forward approach, coupled with more than 1,000 high-quality images and illustrations, enables hands-on learning, yielding the ability to assimilate these techniques quickly and adeptly. This is a stellar resource that provides the requisite tools to locate and display the anatomical structure being tested, position and move the transducers accurately, describe and interpret the findings correctly, and differentiate key findings from the many image artifacts that typically occur. Key Highlights: In-depth discussion of organ boundaries, organ details, anatomical relationships, potentially abnormal findings, tips, and clearly defined learning objectives Anatomical drawings incorporate a "sliced 3-D" view that show how the structures are displayed by the sector-shaper beam Each chapter includes a series of images replicating the 3-D impression that results from the transducer moving across the body Schematic drawings illustrate the ultrasound images, including a body marker that shows the transducer position The "sono-consultant": a systematic guide to evaluating ultrasound findings and establishing a differential diagnosis This step-by-step guide is an invaluable, pragmatic resource to have on hand while performing abdominal ultrasound on the patient. In-depth but concise, this is an essential teaching guide for medical students, residents, technicians, and physicians who need to learn and master these examination techniques.
CT Colonography for Radiographers by
This book explains every aspect of the role of radiographers in performing CT colonography (CTC) and interpreting CTC images with the aim of enabling radiographers to extend the scope of their practice. It provides all the information required with respect to procurement of informed consent, principles of CT and radiation dose, patient preparation and positioning, the use of contrast media, the performance of diagnostic and screening CTC studies, and the interpretation and reporting of images. A wide range of CTC findings are described and depicted, covering normal anatomy, artifacts, hemorrhoids, polyps, colon cancer, diverticular disease, lipomas, and extracolonic structures. In addition, a chapter focusing on self-assessment of image interpretation will aid learning. The rising number of CTC studies for colon disorders is adding to an already burdened radiology workload. To reduce this workload, radiographers will increasingly be given responsibility to carry out CTC examinations and this book will provide the support that they need in order to perform CTC studies to the standard required.
Gastrointestinal Imaging by
Gastrointestinal Imaging presents a comprehensive review of gastrointestinal pathologies commonly encountered by practicing radiologists and residents in training. Chapters are organized by organ system and include the Pharynx and Esophagus, Stomach, Small Bowel, Appendix, Colon, Anorectum,Liver, Gallbladder, Bile Ducts, Pancreas, Spleen, Peritoneum, Mesentery, and Abdominal Wall, and a chapter on multisystem disorders.Part of the Rotations in Radiology series, this book offers a guided approach to imaging diagnosis with examples of all imaging modalities complimented by the basics of interpretation and technique and the nuances necessary to arrive at the best diagnosis. Each pathology is covered with a targeteddiscussion that reviews the definition, clinical features, anatomy and physiology, imaging techniques, differential diagnosis, clinical issues, key points, and further reading. This organization is ideal for trainees' use during specific rotations and for exam review, or as a quick refresher for theestablished gastrointestinal imager.
Treatment of Cancer by
Treatment of Cancer is a multi-author work and comprehensive guide on modern cancer treatment that aims to give clinician and student alike the framework for an integrated approach to patient care, including radiotherapy, chemotherapy, and surgery. Much information is presented in tables and charts for easy assimilation, and clear algorithms for patient pathways are included to make decisions straightforward while allowing for sound clinical judgement.
Diagnostic Imaging by
Diagnostic Imaging will help medical students, junior doctors, residents and trainee radiologists understand the principles behind interpreting all forms of imaging. Providing a balanced account of all the imaging modalities available - including plain film, ultrasound, computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, radionuclide imaging and interventional radiology - it explains the techniques used and the indications for their use. Organised by body system, it covers all anatomical regions. In each region the authors discuss the most suitable imaging technique and provide guidelines for interpretation, illustrating clinical problems with normal and abnormal images. Diagnostic Imaging is extensively illustrated throughout, featuring high quality full-colour images and more than 600 photographs. The images are downloadable in PowerPoint format from the brand new companion website at www.wileydiagnosticimaging.com, which also has over 100 interactive MCQs, to aid learning and teaching. When you purchase the book you also receive access to the Wiley E-Text: Powered by VitalSource. This is an interactive digital version of the book, featuring downloadable text and images, highlighting and note-taking facilities, bookmarking, cross-referencing, in-text searching, and linking to references and abbreviations. Diagnostic Imaging is also available on CourseSmart, offering extra functionality as well as an immediate way to access the book. For more details, see www.coursesmart.com or 'The Anytime, Anywhere Textbook ' section.
Ross and Wilson Anatomy and Physiology in Health and Illness by
Now in its fourteenth edition, this best-selling textbook has been honed over many years to provide a clear, straightforward introduction to the human body for students of nursing, allied health or biomedical and paramedical science. The book covers the core essentials of anatomy and physiology, including basic pathology and pathophysiology of important diseases and disorders. This new edition presents additional illustrations to enhance understanding of key concepts, including pathophysiology and diagnostics. Included for the first time is an introduction to surface anatomy, while other updating reflects current scientific knowledge and developments, including coronavirus. Enhanced learning features and an extensive online resource help you grasp all the important areas. Like millions of readers before you, you will treasure Ross & Wilson as a go-to resource that you will refer to time and again to support this critical aspect of your healthcare education. Clear and easy to read - suitable for students new to the area and anyone whose first language is not English Hundreds of stunning illustrations and images to make learning easy Helpful learning features such as Learning Outcomes boxes, colour coding and orientation icons to facilitate navigation Definitions of common prefixes, suffixes and roots, examples, glossary and an appendix of normal biological values Self-assessment activities in each chapter, including 'spot check' questions for each section and case studies with answers to develop understanding of key principles Accompanying website with animations, videos, audio-glossary and other self-assessment material Evolve Study Resources Online content offered with Ross & Wilson Anatomy and Physiology in Health and Illness 14th edition includes: New for this edition - a set of expert-narrated 3D videos summarizing key topics in the book, powered by Complete Anatomy: the world's most advanced 3D anatomy platform Over 120 animations clarifying underlying principles and make learning fun More than 1700 audio glossary entries Body Spectrum © online colouring and self-test software Self-assessment questions to help students test their knowledge