Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Image Interpretation reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Aids to Radiological Differential Diagnosis 6th edn. by Chapman and Nakielny's Aids to Radiological Differential Diagnosis has become a classic resource for trainees and practitioners worldwide, to hone their knowledge of radiological differential diagnosis for the most commonly encountered conditions throughout the body. It is an invaluable quick-reference companion in everyday practice, as well as an essential study tool when preparing for the FRCR or similar examinations.
This new edition is thoroughly revised and updated in line with latest clinical practice, knowledge and guidelines. The first section presents lists of differential diagnoses, supplemented by notes on useful facts and discriminating factors. These assist with the systematic assessment of radiographs and images from other modalities. The second section offers detailed summaries of the characteristic radiological appearance of a wide range of clinical conditions.
Call Number: 616.0757 DAV + eBooks
Publication Date: 2014
Fundamentals of Skeletal Radiology 4th edn. by Trusted by thousands of radiology residents, students, and clinicians, the "pink book" continues to be the perfect first book for essential, easily accessible information in skeletal imaging. Fundamentals of Skeletal Radiology, 5th Edition, provides an authoritative introduction to x-rays, MR, and other skeletal imaging modalities, offering a quick, effective review of musculoskeletal imaging in a concise, easy-to-read style.
Call Number: 616.71075 HEL + eBooks
Publication Date: 2014
Accident and Emergency Radiology. 3rd edn. by Since it was first published, Accident and Emergency Radiology: A Survival Guide has become the classic in-my-pocket-reference and an indispensable aid to all those who work in the Emergency Department. The core and substantial value lies in the step-by-step analytical approaches which help you to answer this question: "These images look normal to me, but . . . how can I be sure that I am not missing a subtle but important abnormality?"
Call Number: 616.0757 RAB + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Skeletal radiography; a concise introduction to projection radiography. 2nd ed. by This is the second edition of an old favourite written for all students of radiography at all levels of interest. The book includes descriptions of projection radiographic techniques combined with an outline of the more common or noteworthy associated trauma and pathology. Each projection is numbered and cross-referenced; a useful table of projections is included at the beginning of each chapter. Skeletal Radiography provides a good introduction to the medical terminology encountered in radiographic practice. Content has been expanded and updated to take into account the latest guidelines from the Royal College of Radiologists, changes in treatments and other medical knowledge. Some new projections have been added, others removed and a few (notably in the skull chapters) have been retained for historical interest.
Call Number: 616.70757 BUL
Publication Date: 2005
ABC of Emergency Radiology by Rapid acquisition and interpretation of radiographs, portable ultrasound (US) and computed tomography (CT) are now the mainstay of initial successful management of sick and traumatized patients presenting to Accident and Emergency Departments. The ABC of Emergency Radiology is a simple and logical step-by-step guide on how to interpret radiographs, US and CT. It incorporates all the latest technological advances, including replacing plain radiographs with digital radiographs, changes in imaging protocols and the role of portable US and multidetector CT. With over 400 illustrations and annotated radiographs, this thoroughly revised third edition provides more images, new illustrations, and new chapters on emergency US and CT that reflect current practice. Each chapter starts with radiological anatomy, standard and then additional views, a systematic approach to interpretation (ABC approach) and followed by a review of common abnormalities. The ABC of Emergency Radiology is an invaluable resource for accident and emergency staff, trainee radiologists, medical students, nurses, radiographers and all medical personnel involved in the immediate care of trauma patients. This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from iTunes, Google Play or the MedHand Store.
Call Number: 616.07572 CHA + eBooks
Publication Date: 2013
Anatomy: a regional atlas of the human body 6th ed.,International ed. by The Sixth Edition of Clemente's Anatomy features more than 1,000 realistically detailed full-color illustrations, plus a wealth of accompanying diagnostic images and numerous muscle tables. This classically organized regional atlas incorporates the strikingly colorful, yet realistic illustrations of the world-renowned Sobotta Atlas of Human Anatomy.
This edition includes new plates on the brachial plexus and on nerves of the lower limb as well as new clinical images, including CT scans, x-rays, and sonograms. The book also has a new graphic design with brighter colors for headings and section tabs.
A companion website will offer an Interactive Atlas for students and an Image Bank for faculty.
Call Number: 611.00222 CLE
Publication Date: 2011
Musculoskeletal Trauma by Musculoskeletal Trauma: a guide to assessment and diagnosis is a clinically focused text following patient journey from presentation to diagnosis in musculoskeletal trauma. An understanding of this process is essential to ensure that clinical assessment and diagnostic examinations inform decision making and effectively and efficiently optimize patient care. This text is particularly timely given the increasing blurring of professional boundaries within the emergency care setting and need for practitioners recognise the contribution of all professions to the patient care pathway and enhance interdisciplinary communication. Written by an experienced multiprofessional clinical team, the book systematically guides the practitioner from musculoskeletal injury mechanisms, through clinical presentation and assessment, radiographic imaging and interpretation, to the formulation of a diagnosis. It is a coherent, logical and informative guide to contemporary practice for all emergency health care practitioners. An introduction is provided to the principles of clinical assessment and radiographic technique. Radiographic images are provided alongside photographs of radiographic positioning to enhance understanding of anatomical relationships and image appearances. In addition, images of both clinical presentation and radiographic features of trauma are provided to enhance understanding of clinical signs and symptoms of trauma and support accurate decision-making. Whilst conventional imaging remains the mainstay for early diagnosis in the emergency department, the contribution of other imaging modalities (in particular CT, MRI & ultrasound) are explored and illustrated with appropriate clinical cases.
Call Number: 617.47044 HAR + eBooks
Publication Date: 2011
Learning Radiology by A must-have for anyone who will be required to read and interpret common radiologic images, Learning Radiology: Recognizing the Basics is an image-filled, practical, and easy-to-read introduction to key imaging modalities. Skilled radiology teacher William Herring, MD, masterfully covers exactly what you need to know to effectively interpret medical images of all modalities. Learn the latest on ultrasound, MRI, CT, patient safety, dose reduction, radiation protection, and more, in a time-friendly format with brief, bulleted text and abundant high-quality images. Then ensure your mastery of the material with additional online content, bonus images, and self-assessment exercises at Student Consult. Identify a wide range of common and uncommon conditions based upon their imaging findings. Arrive at diagnoses by following a pattern recognition approach, and logically overcome difficult diagnostic challenges with the aid of decision trees. Quickly grasp the fundamentals you need to know through more than 700 images and an easy-to-use format and pedagogy, including: bolding of key points and icons designating special content; Diagnostic Pitfalls; Really, Really Important Points; Weblinks; and Take-Home Points. Gauge your mastery of the material and build confidence with extra images, bonus content, interactive self-assessment exercises, and USMLE-style Q&A that provide effective chapter review and quick practice for your exams. Apply the latest recommendations on patient safety, dose reduction and radiation protection Benefit from the extensive knowledge and experience of esteemed author Dr. William Herring-a skilled radiology teacher and the host of his own specialty website, www.learningradiology.com. Stay current in the latest advancements and developments with meticulous updates throughout including a new chapter on Pediatric Radiology as well as more than 60 new and updated photos, many highlighting newer imaging modalities. Maximize your learning experience with interactive Student Consult extras videos/images of 3D images, functional imaging examinations, dynamic studies, and additional assessments. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: 616.0757 HER + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
A-Z of Emergency Radiology by A-Z of Emergency Radiology is aimed at trainee and practising radiologists, as well as all other healthcare professionals involved in interpreting scans of all imaging modalities in the emergency room setting. It provides a simple, easily accessible guide to the key aspects of the most commonly encountered problems. The simple A-Z format of the book allows the reader to look up the key features of a known condition, or to quickly confirm a suspected diagnosis. For each condition, the presentation, key features on seen imaging, and the diagnostic (and differential diagnostic) aspects are all described, with suggestions made for further useful investigations and subsequent treatment where appropriate. Linked conditions, or those with a similar appearance on imaging, are cross-referenced throughout. Image quality is paramount, and the key features of each image are clearly labeled to help the trainee identify the points of interest.
Call Number: 616.0757 HOL
Publication Date: 2004
Atlas of Normal Roentgen Variants That May Simulate Disease by Seeing is believing with the Atlas of Normal Roentgen Variants That May Simulate Disease, edited by the late Theodore Keats and Mark W. Anderson. Now streamlined into a more concise, portable print format, with a wealth of additional content online, this medical reference book's thousands of images capture the roentgenographic presentation of a full range of normal variants and pseudo-lesions that may resemble pathologic conditions, helping you avoid false positives. You'd be hard pressed to find a comparable image collection in any one place online. Make the correct diagnosis with hundreds of MR and CT correlations. Recognize the entire spectrum of normal variants with over 6,000 images, the largest collection available on this topic. Prepare for the pitfalls of the oral exam with an easily accessible text that's designed to help you avoid false positives. Find the most essential content more quickly with a much more compact print volume that covers only the most important skeletal presentations. Access the complete contents of the book online at www.expertconsult.com, plus Complete coverage of soft tissues Hundreds of additional skeletal images Browse the best collection of normal variants in the world!
Call Number: 616.07572 KEA
Publication Date: 2012
Medical Imaging by This new volume in the popular Illustrated Colour Text series explains everything a non-radiologist needs to know about diagnostic imaging. It provides valuable guidance on which radiological tests to order under various circumstances...how to get the best results from the radiology department...how to read and interpret the resultant reports...and what role interventional radiology can play in diagnosis and treatment. Richly illustrated, user-friendly page layouts make this information easy to understand and apply. Uses a two-page spread to present all of the information on each topic at a glance. Offers abundant diagrams to clarify important principles. Presents summary boxes to expedite review.
Call Number: 616.0754 REN
Publication Date: 2004
Radiology of Skeletal Trauma by Thoroughly updated and revised, the new edition of this classic 2-volume set offers a comprehensive description of the role of diagnostic imaging (including plain film, computed tomography, isotopic bone scanning, and magnetic resonance imaging) in the evaluation of skeletal injury. The 3rd Edition includes the latest advances in the use of CT, especially helical CT, in the assessment of trauma to the skull, face, spine, pelvis, and various sites in the appendicular skeleton. Discusses the epidemiology of fractures; the classification of various special fractures, including chondral, osteochondral, stress, and pathologic; and the patient with multiple injuries. Explores the effects of various traumatic childhood injuries upon the growing skeleton. Offers a chapter on the skull, focusing on differential diagnosis as it relates to congenital anomalies. Addresses diagnostic pitfalls for a complete range of common, rare, and acute injuries. Presents the latest information on the role of helical CT and MR imaging in the evaluation of acute skeletal trauma. Provides nearly 3000 radiographs, CTs, and MR images along with a wealth of line drawings-richly depicting the principal features of all common fractures and dislocations. Incorporates contributions from 28 new authors, providing expert perspectives on all of the latest techniques.
Call Number: 617.150757 ROG
Publication Date: 2001
Skeletal Imaging by Use this atlas to accurately interpret images of musculoskeletal disorders! Taylor, Hughes, and Resnick's Skeletal Imaging: Atlas of the Spine and Extremities, 2nd Edition covers each anatomic region separately, so common disorders are shown within the context of each region. This allows you to examine and compare images for a variety of different disorders. A separate chapter is devoted to each body region, with coverage of normal developmental anatomy, developmental anomalies and normal variations, and how to avoid a misdiagnosis by differentiating between disorders that appear to be similar. All of the most frequently encountered musculoskeletal conditions are included, from physical injuries to tumors to infectious diseases. Over 2,100 images include radiographs, radionuclide studies, CT scans, and MR images, illustrating pathologies and comparing them with other disorders in the same region. Organization by anatomic region addresses common afflictions for each region in separate chapters, so you can see how a particular region looks when affected by one condition as compared to its appearance with other conditions. Coverage of each body region includes normal developmental anatomy, fractures, deformities, dislocations, infections, hematologic disorders, and more. Normal Developmental Anatomy sections open each chapter, describing important developmental landmarks in various regions of the body from birth to skeletal maturity. Practical tables provide a quick reference to essential information, including normal developmental anatomic milestones, developmental anomalies, common presentations and symptoms of diseases, and much more. 400 new and replacement images are added to the book, showing a wider variety of pathologies. More MR imaging is added to each chapter. Up-to-date research includes the latest on scientific advances in imaging. References are completely updated with new information and evidence.
Call Number: 616.710757 TAY + eBooks
Publication Date: 2009
Fundamentals of Body CT by Perfect for radiology residents and practitioners, Fundamentals of Body CT offers an easily accessible introduction to body CT! Completely revised and meticulously updated, this latest edition covers today's most essential CT know-how, including the use of multislice CT to diagnose chest, abdominal, and musculoskeletal abnormalities, as well as the expanded role of 3D CT and CT angiography in clinical practice. It's everything you need to effectively perform and interpret CT scans. "I would recommend this book to junior doctors/AHPs with an interest in CT and its applications, and to those diagnostic consultants who report body CT while specialising in other areas." Reviewed by RAD Magazine, Apr 2015 "..all aspects of this book are relevant to CT practitioners and it is potentially a useful source for students." Reviewed by Louise Mifsud on behalf of Radiography Journal, April 2015 Glean all essential, up-to-date, need-to-know information to effectively interpret CTs and the salient points needed to make accurate diagnoses. Review how the anatomy of each body area appears on a CT scan. Grasp each procedure and review key steps quickly with a comprehensive yet concise format. Achieve optimal results with step-by-step instructions on how to perform all current CT techniques. Compare diagnoses with a survey of major CT findings for a variety of common diseases-with an emphasis on those findings that help to differentiate one condition from another. Make effective use of 64-slice MDCT and dual source CT scanners with coverage of the most current indications. Stay current extensive updates of clinical guidelines that reflect recent changes in the practice of CT imaging, including (ACCP) Diagnosis and Management of Lung Cancer guidelines, paraneoplastic and superior vena cava syndrome, reactions to contrast solution and CT-guided needle biopsy. Get a clear view of the current state of imaging from extensively updated, high-quality images throughout. Access the complete contents online, fully searchable, at ExpertConsult.
Call Number: 616.07572 WEB
Publication Date: 2014