Bodily Communication by
Non-verbal communication - the eye movements, facial expressions, tone of voice, postures and gestures that we all use more or less consciously and more or less effectively - can enhance or diminish every form of social interaction. Michael Argyle's second edition of Bodily Communication is an invaluable up-to-date guide for students of the subject. In the last ten years NVC has become recognized as an important part of social psychology and of professional training, particularly in social work, education and management.Greatly expanded from the first edition, and significantly revised, this second edition has two completely new chapters on social skills and personality, and a new chapter on research methods. The author, a pioneer in the study of non-verbal communication, presents the second edition in the same accessible style as the first, bringing to the reader both his intense interest in the subject and his authoritative knowledge of it.
Reflective Practice by
Reflecting thoughtfully on your work is vital for improving your own self-awareness, effectiveness and professional development. This newly updated fifth edition of Gillie Bolton's bestselling book explores reflective writing as a creative and dynamic process for this critical enquiry. New to this edition: An expanded range of exercises and activities A new emphasis on using e-portfolios Further guidance on reflective writing assignments Enhanced discussion of reflection as a key employability skill Additional online resources This popular book has been used worldwide in various disciplines including education, social work, business and management, medicine and healthcare and is essential reading for students and professionals seeking to enhance their reflective writing skills and to examine their own practice in greater critical depth.
Learning Human Skills by
In order to meet the needs of the client or patient, health care professionals must first understand themselves. The fourth edition of this popular book offers essential theory, reference to the research and a sequence of experiential and reflective learning activities to aid the development of self-awareness and interpersonal skills. It is easy to read and can be used at any stage of professional development. New, updated edition of popular text on the teaching and learning of effective interpersonal skills in nursing A practical guide for all nurses, includes excercises to help develop one-to-one counselling skills and group skills This edition features new, larger format and improved layout
Counselling Skills for Health Professionals by
The latest edition of this popular text has been updated to reflect research, changes and developments in counselling. Written by one of the country's most experienced counselling authors, this text combines theory and practice to give students a full understanding of the complexities of counselling.
Psychology: a Very Short Introduction by
Psychology is part of everyone's experience: it influences the way we think about everything from education and intelligence, to relationships and emotions, advertising and criminality. People readily behave as amateur psychologists, offering explanations for what people think, feel, and do.But what exactly are psychologists trying to do? What scientific grounding do they have for their approach? This Very Short Introduction explores some of psychology's leading ideas and their practical relevance.In this new edition, Gillian Butler and Freda McManus explore a variety of new topics and ways of studying the brain. Until recently it was not possible to study the living human brain directly, so psychologists studied our behaviour, and used their observations to derive hypotheses about what wasgoing on inside. Now - through neuroscience - our knowledge of the workings of the brain has increased and improved technology provides us with a scientific basis on which to understand the structure and workings of the brain, and allows brain activity to be observed and measured. Exploring some ofthe most important advances and developments in psychology - from evolutionary psychology and issues surrounding adolescence and aggression to cognitive psychology - this is a stimulating introduction for anyone interested in understanding the human mind.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Communication Skills Training for Health Professionals by
Providing a review and update of descriptive and theoretical work, this volume includes chapters on skill generalization; interactional strategies, to include negotiating and working with groups; the incorporation of marketing and selling; and the role of communication audit in relation to communication dysfunctions.
Counselling Skills for Nurses, Midwives and Health Visitors by 
Skilled Interpersonal Communication by
Established as the foremost textbook on communication, the seventh edition of Owen Hargie's Skilled Interpersonal Communication is thoroughly revised and updated with the latest research findings, theoretical developments and applications. The contribution of skilled interpersonal communication to success in both personal and professional contexts is now widely recognised and extensively researched. People have a deep-seated and universal need to interact with others, and the greater their communicative ability the more satisfying and rewarding will be their lives. The main focus of this book is on the identification, analysis and evaluation of the core skills needed in these interactions. The first two chapters provide details of the nature of interpersonal communication and socially skilled performance respectively, with a review of the main theoretical perspectives pertaining to each. The book then offers detailed accounts of the fourteen main skill areas: nonverbal communication; reinforcement; questioning; reflecting; listening; explaining; self-disclosure; set induction; closure; assertiveness; influencing; negotiating; and, interacting in and leading group discussions. The book concludes with a discussion on the ethical issues in interpersonal communication. This new edition also features an extended section on groupthink and analyses the impact of the coronavirus pandemic on aspects such as greeting patterns and the effectiveness of Project Fear by the UK government to secure citizen compliance. Written by one of the foremost international experts in the field, this is essential reading for students of interpersonal communication in general, and to qualified personnel and trainees in many fields.
Reflective Practice by
Reflective practice is an essential skill for those working in health and social care, but why is it so vital and how can it be learned? As inter-disciplinary working becomes more common, finding shared ways of reflection on practice are becoming more and more important. How do we share our ideas and thoughts to enrich both professionals and their client base? This book uses stories and exercises to enable readers to develop their skills. Its emphasis is on the practical, from how to construct a reflective essay to the ethical ambiguities of whistleblowing and constructing a professional persona. The book is written with the needs of students of health and social care in mind. For those who want to develop their skills beyond the scope of the book, each chapter ends by with a step-up suggestion enabling them to build on what they have already learned.
Beginning Reflective Practice by 
Becoming a Reflective Practitioner by
'Christopher Johns is an internationally recognised pioneer of reflective practice in nursing and health care.' - Nursing Standard Becoming a Reflective Practitioner provides a unique insight into reflective practice, exploring the value of using models of reflection, with particular reference to Christopher Johns' own model for structured reflection. Now in its fifth edition, this book has been completely revised and updated to include up-to-date literature and reflective extracts. Contemporary in approach, this definitive text contains a variety of rich and insightful reflective extracts that support the main issues being raised in each chapter, and challenges practitioners and students to question their own practice. Now with further scenarios and case studies included throughout, these extracts provide the reader with access to the experience of reflective representation helping to explicate the way in which reflective practice can inform the wider notion of professional practice. With an increase in professional registration requiring reflective evidence, this new edition of Becoming a Reflective Practitioner is an essential guide to all those using reflection in everyday clinical practice.
Communication and Interpersonal Skills in Social Work by 
Communication Skills in Health and Social Care by
Our ability to communicate is a key part of everyday life and is an essential skill, particularly when communicating with vulnerable people in a health and social care setting. Presented in a unique and easy-to-use dictionary format, this practical guide will help students and practitioners understand and apply the principles of effective communication. From the 'how to' practicalities through to challenges and honing existing skills, this book will ensure they have the confidence and knowledge to communicate skilfully and successfully in many different contexts and settings. This book is essential reading for anyone working in the helping professions for whom good communication skills are an essential part of their role. The new edition features: New entries covering social media, mindfulness, several tricky topics, and much more. Service user snippets to help address and understand the issues about service user perspectives. Skills to ensure you are engaging with the Professional Capabilities Framework.
Reflective Practice in Nursing by
From reviews of previous editions: 'This excellent book provides useful guidance on the use of reflection in practice.... a helpful addition to any nursing library.' Primary Health Care '...an excellent investment in any nurses' library portfolio.' Journal of Advanced Nursing 'An extremely welcome addition to nursing's literature on thoughtful, knowledgeable practice.' Nursing Times 'This is an excellent practical guide to reflective practice...I would highly recommend this book to all practice teachers and students.' Journal of Practice Nursing The ability to reflect on practice has become a competency demanded of every healthcare professional in recent years. It can be a daunting prospect- but this practical and accessible text guides the way, using the latest research and evidence to support the development of skills in reflective practice and provides help and advice on how to get started, how to write reflectively and how to continue to use reflective practice in everyday situations. This fifth edition of Reflective Practice in Nursing is an indispensable guide for students and practitioners alike who wish to learn more about reflective practice, as well as containing essential information for teachers and lecturers.
Critical Reflection for Nursing and the Helping Professions: A User’s Guide by 
Patient and Person by
Effective communication is vital for nurses to provide quality care for patients and their families. Patient & Person provides students with an essential framework to establish and build effective interpersonal skills in nursing practice. Incorporating a person-centred approach, Patient & Person focuses on the importance of relating and interacting with patients as people - a concept central in providing quality nursing care and developing a therapeutic relationship in practice. Focus on interprofessional and team communication throughout A suite of scenario-based videos supporting key communication skills and concepts, including empathy, challenging behaviours, advocating for a patient and admitting a patient with reflections from both the nurse and patient perspective A series of video interviews - exploring diverse cultural backgrounds from the patient and practitioner perspective More than 40 Learning Activities to help develop featured skills and concepts Research highlights in each chapter covering the most recent research on communication in nursing
Interprofessional working : an essential guide for health and social care professionals 2nd ed. by 
Developing Professional Knowledge and Competence by