Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Practice Placement 1 reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Skeletal radiography: a concise introduction to projection radiography. 2nd ed. by This is the second edition of an old favourite written for all students of radiography at all levels of interest. The book includes descriptions of projection radiographic techniques combined with an outline of the more common or noteworthy associated trauma and pathology. Each projection is numbered and cross-referenced; a useful table of projections is included at the beginning of each chapter. Skeletal Radiography provides a good introduction to the medical terminology encountered in radiographic practice. Content has been expanded and updated to take into account the latest guidelines from the Royal College of Radiologists, changes in treatments and other medical knowledge. Some new projections have been added, others removed and a few (notably in the skull chapters) have been retained for historical interest.
Call Number: 616.70757 BULL
Publication Date: 2005
Patient Care in Radiography by Learn to master radiography patient care with the book that covers it best! With step-by-step instructions and more than 400 full-color illustrations, Patient Care in Radiography, 10th Edition is the perfect resource to help teach you effective radiography patient care. Each chapter expertly guides you through the latest guidelines, carefully making the connection between the topics being discussed and how they relate to patient care. An emphasis is placed on the skills and procedures that are imperative for quality patient care - including safety, transfer, positioning, infection control, and patient assessment. Also included is information on microbiology, emerging diseases, trans-cultural communication, ECGs, administering medications, and bedside radiography to ensure you are well-versed in both the technical and interpersonal skills needed for professional practice. Coverage of patient care and procedural skills helps provide safe, high-quality patient care and technical proficiency. Step-by-step procedures are shown in photo essays, demonstrated with more than 400 full-color illustrations.? Case studies focus on medicolegal terms, standards, and applications and help build problem-solving skills. Coverage of infection control helps emphasize the importance of preventing the spread of diseases. Special Imaging Modalities chapter provides an overview of patient care for a wide range of imaging methods. Chapter outlines, objectives, key terms, summaries, review questions, and critical thinking exercises focus on the key information in each chapter. Answers to the review questions are included in the back of the book. NEW! New images highlight many patient procedures and visually demonstrate how to care for patients. NEW! Updated content covers the most current exams, procedures, and technologies, as well as the most current information from the American Society of Radiologic Technologists.
Call Number: 616 EHR + eBook
Publication Date: 2020
Bones and Joints by Bones and Joints offers a clear and concise introduction to the bones and joints of the body along with pathology. Heavily illustrated with clear annotations, this is an essential learning, revision aid and reference for all radiography students and other health care students including nurses. Laid out in a logical and systemic way the text is easy to understand with brand new colour illustrations throughout. The three generic chapters at the start of the book, covering an overview of bone, joints and pathology, provide the basic information required to ensure that the student is able to gain the most benefit from the subsequent area-specific chapters. This is an essential book for all health care students who need a good understanding of the skeletal system. Now fully illustrated in colour throughout with clear annotations for easy understanding. Joint illustrations are colour coded to aid learning
Call Number: 612.75 GUN + eBook
Publication Date: 2017-10-23
Principles of Anatomy and Physiology by The phenomenally successful Principles of Anatomy and Physiology continues to set the discipline standard with the 15th edition. Designed for the 2-semester anatomy and physiology course, Principles of Anatomy and Physiology combines exceptional content and outstanding visuals for a rich and comprehensive classroom experience. Enhanced for a digital delivery, the 15th edition, gives students the ability to learn and explore anatomy and physiology both inside and outside of the classroom.
Call Number: 612 TOR
Publication Date: 2017
Clark's Pocket Handbook for Radiographers, 2nd edn. by Drawn from the bestselling Clark's Positioning in Radiography, this pocket handbook provides clear and practical advice to help radiographers in their day-to-day work. Designed for rapid reference, it covers how to position the patient and the central ray, describes the essential image characteristics and illustrates each radiographic projection with a positioning photograph and a radiograph.
Call Number: 616.07572 SLO + eBooks
Publication Date: 2016
Introduction to Radiologic and Imaging Sciences and Patient Care by Using a clear and concise format, Introduction to Radiologic and Imaging Sciences and Patient Care, 7th Edition delivers the latest radiologic, imaging science and patient care skills you need to prepare for certification and practice. This new edition includes updates on current digital imaging and instrumentation, providing you with the essential information and tools needed to master any introduction to radiologic sciences class. Chapter review questions and lab activities available online and on tear sheets in the text give you easy access to on-the-go learning. This text not only helps to prepare you for parts of the certification exam, but the content provides useful and practical information that is needed for professional practice and clinical success. Step-by-step procedures presented in boxed lists throughout the text supply you with easy to follow steps so you are well prepared for clinical success. Back-of-book review questions provide you with an opportunity for review and greater challenge. More than 300 photos and line drawings help you understand and visualize patient-care procedures. Strong pedagogy, including chapter objectives, key terms, outline and summaries helps you organize information and ensure that you understand what is most important in every chapter. NEW and UPDATED! Updates on current digital imaging and instrumentation provide you with the important information you need for clinical success. NEW! The latest technical terminology incorporated throughout text keeps you up-to-date with industry verbiage. NEW and UPDATED! Appendices containing practice standards, professional organizations, state licensing agencies, the ARRT code of ethics and patient care partnership offer you additional information about professional opportunities and obligations and prepare you for what you will encounter in the practice environment.
Call Number: 616.07572 ADL + eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Ball and Moore's Essential Physics for Radiographers by Since its first edition in 1980, Essential Physics forRadiographers has earned an international reputation as a clearand straightforward introduction to the physics of radiography. Nowin its fourth edition, this book remains a core textbook forstudent radiographers. The authors have retained the pragmatic approach of earliereditions and continue to target the book particularly at thosestudents who find physics a difficult subject to grasp. The fourthedition builds on the major revisions introduced in the thirdedition. The content has been updated to reflect recent advances inimaging technology. The chapter on Radiation Safety has beencompletely rewritten in the light of the latest changes in relevantlegislation, and a re-examination of the physical principlesunderpinning magnetic resonance imaging forms the basis of a newchapter. Worked examples and calculations again feature strongly,and the innovative and popular Maths Help File, guidesreaders gently through the mathematical steps and conceptsinvolved. The reference citations have been updated and now includeInternet sources.
Call Number: 616.0757 BAL + eBooks
Publication Date: 2008
Medical Imaging by Medical Imaging has been revised and updated to reflect the current role and responsibilities of the radiographer, a role that continues to extend as the 21st century progresses. This comprehensive book covers the full range of medical imaging methods/techniques which all students and professionals must understand, and discusses them related to imaging principles, radiation dose, patient condition, body area and pathologies. There is comprehensive, up-to-date, referencing for all chapters, with full image evaluation criteria and a systematic approach to fault recognition for all radiographic projections. Highly respected editors, Elizabeth and Barry Carver, have brought together an impressive team of contributing authors, comprising academic, radiographer and radiologist clinical experts. NEW TO THIS EDITION Full colour, including approximately 200 new colour photographs.All techniques have been updated to reflect the use of digital image receptors. All chapters have been updated to reflect current practice, eg CT colonoscopy is now included as part of GI imaging; the nuclear medicine chapter now introduces hybrid imaging; the genitourinary chapter now reflects the use of ultrasound and CT.'The authors have been comprehensive, thorough and innovative. This well-presented book should be adopted by Schools of Diagnostic Imaging in Europe and elsewhere and be a constant companion to the reflective radiographic practitioner.' From the foreword to the first edition by Patrick Brennan. Medical Imaging has been revised and updated to reflect the current role and responsibilities of the radiographer, a role that continues to extend as the 21st century progresses. This comprehensive book covers the full range of medical imaging methods/techniques which all students and professionals must understand, and discusses them related to imaging principles, radiation dose, patient condition, body area and pathologies. There is comprehensive, up-to-date, referencing for all chapters, with full image evaluation criteria and a systematic approach to fault recognition for all radiographic projections. Highly respected editors, Elizabeth and Barry Carver, have brought together an impressive team of contributing authors, comprising academic, radiographer and radiologist clinical experts. Full colour, including approximately 200 new colour photographs.All techniques have been updated to reflect the use of digital image receptors. All chapters have been updated to reflect current practice, eg CT colonoscopy is now included as part of GI imaging; the nuclear medicine chapter now introduces hybrid imaging; the genitourinary chapter now reflects the use of ultrasound and CT.
Call Number: 616.0754 CAR
Publication Date: 2012
An Introduction to Radiography by This book provides an overview of all aspects of radiography for the practitioner. It is written to address the areas of practice of assistant practitioners and practitioners within the clinical environment. Areas covered range from ethics and communication, through to the physics of radiography and x-ray production, and specialist techniques. Anatomy, physiology and pathology are also covered, ensuring the text is a complete introduction to radiography. Each chapter covers key points and provides revision questions (with answers) and recommended reading for exploring the chapter topic in more depth. Very structured text with clear headings and relevance to practice indicated throughout Chapter style will enable students to dip into text to find relevant information as an aid to revision Set of revision questions at end of each chapter All contributors currently teach Assistant Practitioners and student radiographers
Call Number: 616.07572 EAS + eBooks
Publication Date: 2009
Digital and Radiographic Imaging by This book covers all the existing imaging modalities currently in use in imaging departments, providing a sound basis for understanding how individual systems work. It is designed to be accessible to students without minimising the content. Although conventional imaging is being phased out, it still exists in certain areas, e.g. dental surgeries, and therefore is reduced in size and placed in an Appendix. The text has been restructured in list form to increase clarity and aid study Pedagogic features include an introduction and summary for each chapter Glossaries of imaging terms and computer buzz words, and a key to commonly used abbreviations are included New edition is completely rewritten: Digital imaging is main focus CT, ultrasound, MRI and NMR imaging added 'Conventional' imaging retained as an Appendix Text simplified, and block diagrams, flow charts and tables added to increase accessibility of content
Call Number: 616.07572 GUN + eBooks
Publication Date: 2008
Fundamentals of Skeletal Radiology by Trusted by thousands of radiology residents, students, and clinicians, the "pink book" continues to be the perfect first book for essential, easily accessible information in skeletal imaging. Fundamentals of Skeletal Radiology, 5th Edition, provides an authoritative introduction to x-rays, MR, and other skeletal imaging modalities, offering a quick, effective review of musculoskeletal imaging in a concise, easy-to-read style. Depicts musculoskeletal imaging concepts and techniques through hundreds of high-quality digital radiographs, MRIs, bone scans, and CT images. Uses a succinct, highly accessible writing style for easy, straightforward understanding of complex material. Updates include numerous new, high-quality MR images and extensive coverage of MRI of the spine and joints, including imaging protocols, common pathologies, and detailed specifics on reading and interpretation. Presents full-color imaging examples to help you discern subtleties and nuances for efficient and accurate interpretation. Discusses radiation dosage concerns, early detection, avoiding unnecessary exams, and common skeletal conditions, including a chapter on trauma. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: 616.710757 HEL
Publication Date: 2019
Bontrager's Textbook of Radiographic Positioning and Related Anatomy by Master radiographic positioning with this comprehensive, user-friendly text. Focusing on one projection per page, Bontrager's Textbook of Radiographic Positioning and Related Anatomy, 9th Edition includes all of the positioning and projection information you need to know in a clear, bulleted format. Positioning photos, radiographic images, and radiographic overlays, presented side-by-side with the explanation of each procedure, show you how to visualize anatomy and produce the most accurate images. Updated to reflect the latest ARRT competencies and ASRT curriculum guidelines, it features more than 200 of the most commonly requested projections to prepare you for clinical practice. Labeled radiographs (radiographic overlays) identify key radiographic anatomy and landmarks to help you recognize anatomy and determine if you have captured the correct diagnostic information on your images. Positioning chapters, organized with one projection per page, present a manageable amount of information in an easily accessible format. Unique page layout with positioning photos, radiographic images, and radiographic overlays presented side-by-side with the text explanation of each procedure to facilitate comprehension and retention. Pathologic Indications list and define the pathologies most likely to be encountered during procedures covered in each chapter to help you understand the whole patient and improve your ability to produce radiographs that make diagnosis easy for the physician. Pathology Demonstrated sections explain why a particular projection is needed, or what pathology might be demonstrated, to give you a larger frame of reference and a better understanding of the reasoning behind each projection. Radiographic Criteria on positioning pages provide standards for evaluating the quality of each radiograph, helping you develop a routine for evaluating radiographic quality. Pediatric Applications prepare students for clinical success - and prepare technologists to deal competently with the special needs of their pediatric patients. Geriatric Applications include general information on positioning techniques and patient handling for geriatric patients, fostering an understanding of the challenges these patients present to the technologist. Critique Radiographs demonstrate positioning errors and help you avoid similar errors in clinicals. Instructor resources include an accompanying Evolve website with PowerPoint slides, an image collection, and a test bank to help instructors prepare for class. Student resources include a workbook and handbook to help you better understand and retain complicated material. NEW! Updated art visually demonstrates the latest digital technology used in radiography with approximately 250 new radiographs, positioning, and equipment images. NEW and UPDATED! Increased emphasis on radiation safety practices arms you with the information you need to know to succeed in clinical practice. NEW! Obese Patient Considerations include general information on positioning techniques and positioning modifications for obese patients to show you how to position this subset of patients accurately. UPDATED! Reflects the latest ARRT competencies and ASRT curriculum guidelines to prepare you for boards and clinical practice. UPDATED! Completely revamped surgical procedures chapter reflects current ARRT competencies and ASRT curriculum guidelines. UPDATED! Routine and Special Procedures sections moved to an appendix so you can refer to this necessary material quickly and efficiently.
Call Number: 616.0757 LAM
Publication Date: 2017
Illustrated Physiology by A concise, highly visual account of normal human physiology. Information is presented in single page units to convey the essentials of a topic. Complex processes are explained by memorable diagrams, making this book excellent for both learning and exam preparation.
Call Number: 612 MAC
Publication Date: 1997
Radiographic Image Analysis by Learn to produce quality radiographs on the first try with Radiographic Image Analysis, 5th Edition. This updated, user-friendly text reflects the latest ARRT guidelines and revamped chapters to reflect the latest digital technology. Chapters walk you through the steps of how to carefully evaluate an image, how to identify the improper positioning or technique that caused a poor image, and how to correct the problem. For each procedure, there is a diagnostic-quality radiograph along with several examples of unacceptable radiographs, a complete list of radiographic evaluation guidelines, and detailed discussions on how each of the evaluation points is related to positioning and technique. It's everything you need to critically think, evaluate, and ultimately produce the best possible diagnostic quality radiographs. Chapter objectives, key terms, and outlines reinforce what is most important in every chapter. Bold and defined key terms at first mention in the text ensure that you understand the terms from the start of when they are used in discussions. Expanded glossary serves as a quick reference and study tool. Two-color text design makes it easier to read and retain pertinent information. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest ARRT guidelines. NEW! Revamped sections on digital imagery within pediatric, obesity, and trauma situations incorporate the latest technology. NEW! Additional images offer further visual guidance to help you better critique and correct positioning errors. NEW! More robust digital halftones throughout images paint a clearer picture of proper technique.
Call Number: 616.07572 MCQ
Publication Date: 2019
Workbook for Radiographic Image Analysis by Get all the tools you need to hone your imaging and evaluation skills with Kathy Martensen's Workbook for Radiographic Image Analysis, 5th Edition. This complete workbook offers ample opportunities to practice and apply information from the main Radiographic Image Analysis text via study questions for each procedure, positioning and technique exercises, and additional suboptimal images to identify. This new workbook edition features updated content that reflects the latest ARRT guidelines plus additional images not found in the main text. Workbook users can easily check your work in the answer key found in the back of the book. Study questions reinforce text material and prepare you for certification. Incorrectly positioned images with questions ensure you understand what features need to be visible in an image and how to adjust when the images are poor. Additional images not included in the main text offer additional practice with identifying poor quality images and recognizing how they are produced. Positioning and technique exercises prepare you for success in radiography practice. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest ARRT guidelines. NEW! Additional images offer further visual guidance to help you better critique and correct positioning errors. NEW! More robust digital halftones across images paint a clearer picture of proper technique.
Call Number: 616.07572 MCQ
Publication Date: 2019
Imaging Skeletal Trauma by Last published over a decade ago, this classic radiology text has been exhaustively updated by leading experts to provide the latest techniques and advances available in radiology today. Exceptional in scope and lavishly illustrated throughout, Imaging of Skeletal Trauma continues to offer a comprehensive view of diagnostic imaging in the evaluation of skeletal trauma, now in one consolidated single volume. ".. the change in focus from an authoritative reference to primer has been a good one.." Reviewed by RAD Magazine, June 2015 Master imaging techniques for the patient with multiple injuries, and understand the epidemiology and classification of various fractures, including chondral, osteochondral, stress, and pathologic. Explore the effects of various traumatic childhood injuries on the growing skeleton. Address the diagnostic pitfalls for a complete range of common, rare, and acute injuries. Access up-to-date information on the role of helical CT and MR imaging in the evaluation of acute skeletal trauma. View nearly 3,000 radiographs, CTs, and MR images, along with a wealth of line drawings that richly depict the principal features of all common fractures and dislocations. Access the most important, need-to-know information regarding all aspects of imaging skeletal trauma with this consolidated single-volume edition. Quickly reference critical material with an organization based on anatomical region. Efficiently read and understand images while in an emergency setting with an expanded presentation of CT and MRI. Take advantage of global expertise from brand-new contributing authors, including diagnostic radiologist Dr. O. Clark West. View the fully searchable contents online at Expert Consult.
Call Number: 617.471044 ROG + eBooks
Publication Date: 2014
Ross and Wilson Anatomy and Physiology in Health and Illness by The new edition of the hugely successful Ross and Wilson Anatomy & Physiology in Health and Illness continues to bring its readers the core essentials of human biology presented in a clear and straightforward manner. Fully updated throughout, the book now comes with enhanced learning features including helpful revision questions and an all new art programme to further clarify the explanations given in the text. The 13th edition retains its popular website, which contains a wide range of 'critical thinking' exercises as well as new animations, an audio-glossary, the unique Body Spectrum© online colouring and self-test program, and helpful weblinks. This book is ideal for students of nursing and allied health professions, biomedical and paramedical science, operating department practice, complementary therapy and massage therapy, as well as trainee Health Care Assistants and those studying A' level or BTEC (or equivalent) human biology. Ross and Wilson Anatomy & Physiology in Health and Illness will be of particular help to readers new to the subject area, those returning to study after a period of absence and for anyone whose first language is not English. Latest edition of the world's most popular textbook on basic human anatomy and physiology with over 1.5 million copies sold worldwide Clear, no nonsense writing style helps make learning easy Accompanying website contains animations, audio-glossary, case studies and other self-assessment material, the unique Body Spectrum© online colouring and self-test software, and helpful weblinks Includes basic pathology and pathophysiology of important diseases and disorders Contains helpful learning features such as Learning Outcomes boxes, colour coding and design icons together with a stunning illustration and photography collection Contains clear explanations of common prefixes, suffixes and roots, with helpful examples from the text, plus a glossary and an appendix of normal biological values. Particularly valuable for students who are completely new to the subject, or returning to study after a period of absence, and for anyone whose first language is not English All new illustration programme brings the book right up-to-date for today's student Helpful 'Spot Check' questions at the end of each topic to monitor progress Fully updated throughout with the latest information on common and/or life threatening diseases and disorders Review and Revise end-of-chapter exercises assist with reader understanding and recall Over 120 animations - many of them newly created - help clarify underlying scientific and physiological principles and make learning fun
Call Number: 612 WAU
Publication Date: 2018
Clark's Positioning in Radiography 13E by First published in 1939, Clark's Positioning in Radiography is the preeminent text on positioning technique for diagnostic radiographers. Whilst retaining the clear and easy-to-follow structure of the previous edition, the thirteenth edition includes a number of changes and innovations in radiographic technique. The text has been extensively updated, including a new section on evaluating images, The 10-point plan, which is linked throughout to a listing of Essential image characteristics for each procedure. The section on digital imaging has been expanded not only to elaborate more extensively on the technology but to demonstrate its various clinical applications. New sections also include imaging informatics and its role in the modern world of medical imaging, holistic approaches to patient care and discussion of the important aspect of the patient journey. Students will also benefit from more detailed reference to positioning errors and how to avoid mistakes, as well as a greater emphasis on standard radiation protection measures and guidance on the most recent radiation dose reference levels for specific examinations. Clark's Positioning in Radiographycontinues to be the definitive work on radiographic technique for all students on radiography courses, radiographers in practice and trainee radiologists.
Call Number: 616.07572 WHI + eBooks
Publication Date: 2015