Patient Care in Radiography by
Learn to master radiography patient care with the book that covers it best! With step-by-step instructions and more than 400 full-color illustrations, Patient Care in Radiography, 10th Edition is the perfect resource to help teach you effective radiography patient care. Each chapter expertly guides you through the latest guidelines, carefully making the connection between the topics being discussed and how they relate to patient care. An emphasis is placed on the skills and procedures that are imperative for quality patient care - including safety, transfer, positioning, infection control, and patient assessment. Also included is information on microbiology, emerging diseases, trans-cultural communication, ECGs, administering medications, and bedside radiography to ensure you are well-versed in both the technical and interpersonal skills needed for professional practice. Coverage of patient care and procedural skills helps provide safe, high-quality patient care and technical proficiency. Step-by-step procedures are shown in photo essays, demonstrated with more than 400 full-color illustrations.? Case studies focus on medicolegal terms, standards, and applications and help build problem-solving skills. Coverage of infection control helps emphasize the importance of preventing the spread of diseases. Special Imaging Modalities chapter provides an overview of patient care for a wide range of imaging methods. Chapter outlines, objectives, key terms, summaries, review questions, and critical thinking exercises focus on the key information in each chapter. Answers to the review questions are included in the back of the book. NEW! New images highlight many patient procedures and visually demonstrate how to care for patients. NEW! Updated content covers the most current exams, procedures, and technologies, as well as the most current information from the American Society of Radiologic Technologists.
Radiology 101 by
Radiology 101 is a popular introduction to radiologic anatomy, the imaging manifestations of common disease processes, and what imaging studies to use when. The first section addresses basic principles of the various imaging modalities, while the second section deals with imaging of body regions plus, contains a chapter on nuclear imaging. Each chapter starts with a brief outline and ends with key points. Great depictions of normal anatomy and common pathology help guide those seeking a basic understanding of radiology especially interns and radiology residents, and non-radiology professionals desiring a concise overview of the field, such as nurse practitioners, physician assistants and primary-care physicians. Emphasis is placed on plain-film imaging with CT, MRI & Ultrasound included. Plus, there are numerous tables for typical symptoms, causes and differential diagnosis of common diseases and disorders. New for this edition: Book is 4-color for first time with new anatomic variants added to each chapter Inside cover lists common acronyms and treatment of acute contrast media reactions Discussion of biopsy of thyroid nodules (procedure commonly ordered by primary-care providers) Expanded nuclear imaging section to include basics of PET/CT New chapters on radiation protection/dose reduction and medical decision-making
Accident and Emergency Radiology by
Since it was first published, Accident and Emergency Radiology: A Survival Guide has become the classic in-my-pocket-reference and an indispensable aid to all those who work in the Emergency Department. The core and substantial value lies in the step-by-step analytical approaches which help you to answer this question: "These images look normal to me, but . . . how can I be sure that I am not missing a subtle but important abnormality?" "This book will provide essential reading and support to A&E trainees, medical students, radiology trainees, reporting radiographers and clinical nurse specialists, all of whom may be faced with trauma cases requiring accurate diagnosis and treatment." Reviewed by: RAD Magazine Feb 2015 "... Very nearly flawless...contains just the right amount of information to accommodate readers from trainees through to consultant or attending level." Reviewed by African Journal of Emergency Medicine , Jun 2015 Ensure accuracy in reading and interpretation of any given image. Common sources of error and diagnostic difficulty are highlighted. Prevent mistakes. Pitfalls and associated abnormalities are emphasized throughout. Avoid misdiagnoses. Normal anatomy is outlined alongside schemes for detecting variants of the norm. Each chapter concludes with a summary of key points. Will provide a useful overview of the most important features in diagnosis and interpretation. Easily grasp difficult anatomical concepts. Radiographs accompanied by clear, explanatory line-drawings. Spend less time searching with an improved layout and design with succinct, easy-to-follow text. A templated chapter approach helps you access key information quickly. Each chapter includes key points summary, basic radiographs, normal anatomy, guidance on analyzing the radiographs, common injuries, rare but important injuries, pitfalls, regularly overlooked injuries, examples, and references. Grasp the nuances of key diagnostic details. Updated and expanded information, new radiographs, and new explanatory line drawings reinforce the book's aim of providing clear, practical advice in diagnosis. Avoid pitfalls in the detection of abnormalities that are most commonly overlooked or misinterpreted. Access the complete contents and illustrations online at Expert Consult-fully searchable!
Principles of Anatomy and Physiology by
The phenomenally successful Principles of Anatomy and Physiology continues to set the discipline standard with the 15th edition. Designed for the 2-semester anatomy and physiology course, Principles of Anatomy and Physiology combines exceptional content and outstanding visuals for a rich and comprehensive classroom experience. Enhanced for a digital delivery, the 15th edition, gives students the ability to learn and explore anatomy and physiology both inside and outside of the classroom.
Chapman and Nakielny's Guide to Radiological Procedures by
Chapman and Nakielny's Guide to Radiological Procedures has become the classic, concise guide to the common procedures in imaging on which a radiology trainee will be expected to be familiar. Now fully revised and updated in line with current practice, it will also prove invaluable to the wider clinical team that now delivers modern imaging services, including radiographers and radiology nurses, as well as a handy refresher for radiologists at all levels. The highly accessible format has been retained, with every technique described under a set of standard headings, making it ideal for quick reference and exam preparation. * Comprehensively reviewed and updated throughout - incorporating the very latest techniques, clinical practice developments and key recent national and international guidelines * New chapter on the important roles of the radiographer and nurse in procedural radiology - reflecting the delivery of modern radiological practice by multi-professional teams * New chapter on ablative therapies - outlining the various radiological techniques and indications for non-surgical treatment of tumours * Complementary access to the complete, enhanced eBook version - including new, interactive MCQs to check understanding and aid those preparing for the FRCR and similar examinations Previous edition review comments: "The book provides a comprehensive and well-referenced guide to a wide range of imaging techniques and the imaging modalities employed...Overall, an excellent book. " Rad Magazine * Comprehensively reviewed and updated throughout - incorporating the very latest techniques, clinical practice developments and key recent national and international guidelines * New chapter on the important roles of the radiographer and nurse in procedural radiology - reflecting the delivery of modern radiological practice by multi-professional teams * New chapter on ablative therapies - outlining the various radiological techniques and indications for non-surgical treatment of tumours * Complementary access to the complete, enhanced eBook version - including new, interactive MCQs to check understanding and aid those preparing for the FRCR and similar examinations
Grainger and Allison's Diagnostic Radiology, 2 Volume Set by
Master the information you need to know for practice and prepare for certification or recertification with a succinct, comprehensive account of the entire spectrum of imaging modalities and their clinical applications. Throughout six outstanding editions, Grainger and Allison's Diagnostic Radiology has stood alone as the single comprehensive reference on general diagnostic radiology. Now in two succinct volumes, the 7th Edition of this landmark text continues to provide complete coverage of all currently available imaging techniques and their clinical applications - the essential information you need to succeed in examinations and understand current best practices in radiological diagnosis. Organizes content along an organ and systems basis, covering all diagnostic imaging techniques in an integrated, correlative fashion, with a focus on the topics that matter most to a trainee radiologist in the initial years of training. Contains more than 4,000 high-quality illustrations that enhance and clarify the text. Features an expanded section on cardiac imaging to reflect major developments in cardiac MRI, including 3D ultrasound, PET, and SPECT. Integrates functional and molecular imaging throughout each section, and includes the latest image-guided biopsy and ablation techniques. Provides an ideal resource for written, oral, and re-certifying board study as well as for a clinical practice refresher on topics that may have been forgotten. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Introduction to Radiologic and Imaging Sciences and Patient Care by
Using a clear and concise format, Introduction to Radiologic and Imaging Sciences and Patient Care, 7th Edition delivers the latest radiologic, imaging science and patient care skills you need to prepare for certification and practice. This new edition includes updates on current digital imaging and instrumentation, providing you with the essential information and tools needed to master any introduction to radiologic sciences class. Chapter review questions and lab activities available online and on tear sheets in the text give you easy access to on-the-go learning. This text not only helps to prepare you for parts of the certification exam, but the content provides useful and practical information that is needed for professional practice and clinical success. Step-by-step procedures presented in boxed lists throughout the text supply you with easy to follow steps so you are well prepared for clinical success. Back-of-book review questions provide you with an opportunity for review and greater challenge. More than 300 photos and line drawings help you understand and visualize patient-care procedures. Strong pedagogy, including chapter objectives, key terms, outline and summaries helps you organize information and ensure that you understand what is most important in every chapter. NEW and UPDATED! Updates on current digital imaging and instrumentation provide you with the important information you need for clinical success. NEW! The latest technical terminology incorporated throughout text keeps you up-to-date with industry verbiage. NEW and UPDATED! Appendices containing practice standards, professional organizations, state licensing agencies, the ARRT code of ethics and patient care partnership offer you additional information about professional opportunities and obligations and prepare you for what you will encounter in the practice environment.
Chapman and Nakielny's Aids to Radiological Differential Diagnosis by
Chapman & Nakielny's Aids to Radiological Differential Diagnosis is a well-loved radiology resource, used by trainees and practitioners worldwide to hone their knowledge of radiological differential diagnosis for the most commonly encountered conditions throughout the body. It is an invaluable quick-reference companion in everyday practice, as well as an essential study tool when preparing for the FRCR or similar examinations. First published 35 years ago Stephen Chapman and Richard Nakielny's original aims remain as relevant today as when the book was originally conceived. However radiology has expanded rapidly in recent years and this Seventh Edition is the biggest revision this book has had in its long history with major changes incorporated into nearly every section. Comprehensive lists of differential diagnoses to aid effective diagnoses Closely aligned to the needs of current FRCR curriculum Brief, to the point text and clear page format allows for rapid access to key information Part 2 of the book has been restructured to focus on multisystem disorders which cannot be fully covered in the individual chapters in Part 1. A new chapter on Nuclear Medicine has been added to reflect its importance in modern medical imaging. The chapter on head and neck conditions has been significantly expanded. Important discriminating features have been added to nearly every differential to aid the reader in developing a strategy for reaching a diagnosis. The top differentials in each list which are considered important for radiology trainees to learn for exams are underlined.
Atlas of Normal Roentgen Variants That May Simulate Disease by 
Accident and emergency radiology: interpretation of plain films by 
Radiographic Image Analysis by
Learn to produce quality radiographs on the first try with Radiographic Image Analysis, 5th Edition. This updated, user-friendly text reflects the latest ARRT guidelines and revamped chapters to reflect the latest digital technology. Chapters walk you through the steps of how to carefully evaluate an image, how to identify the improper positioning or technique that caused a poor image, and how to correct the problem. For each procedure, there is a diagnostic-quality radiograph along with several examples of unacceptable radiographs, a complete list of radiographic evaluation guidelines, and detailed discussions on how each of the evaluation points is related to positioning and technique. It's everything you need to critically think, evaluate, and ultimately produce the best possible diagnostic quality radiographs. Chapter objectives, key terms, and outlines reinforce what is most important in every chapter. Bold and defined key terms at first mention in the text ensure that you understand the terms from the start of when they are used in discussions. Expanded glossary serves as a quick reference and study tool. Two-color text design makes it easier to read and retain pertinent information. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest ARRT guidelines. NEW! Revamped sections on digital imagery within pediatric, obesity, and trauma situations incorporate the latest technology. NEW! Additional images offer further visual guidance to help you better critique and correct positioning errors. NEW! More robust digital halftones throughout images paint a clearer picture of proper technique.
Apley's System of Orthopaedics and Fractures by
Since the publication of the first edition in 1959, Apley's System of Orthopaedics and Fractureshas been an essential textbook for those seeking to understand the structure and function of the musculoskeletal system, its diseases, and its response to trauma. As the leading textbook of modern orthopaedics for over 50 years, this book is a testament to the late Alan Apley's skills as a teacher, and the care and forethought he brought to the presentation of the content. The current authors have developed and extended this foundation to produce a thoroughly modern textbook of orthopaedic surgery, bringing contemporary expertise while retaining the book's characteristic philosophy and approach. They are joined by a selection of expert contributors from around the world who provide added material on a wide variety of subjects-- including radiology, open fractures, neuromuscular disorders, and inflammatory arthropathies. This ninth edition echoes its predecessors in following Apley's approach to the orthopaedic patient. As before, the work is divided into three sections: General Orthopaedics, Regional Orthopaedics, and Fractures and Joint Injuries. The material has been fully updated and revised and includes more than 1,000 illustrations. Apley's System'swide readership of practicing orthopaedic surgeons, postgraduate trainees and residents in orthopaedics and general surgery, A&E specialists, and physiotherapists is evidence of the authors' ability to instruct and inspire. The book is a truly fitting introduction to modern-day orthopaedics.amp;nbsp;ninth edition echoes its predecessors in following Apley's approach to the orthopaedic patient. As before, the work is divided into three sections: General Orthopaedics, Regional Orthopaedics, and Fractures and Joint Injuries. The material has been fully updated and revised and includes more than 1,000 illustrations. Apley's System'swide readership of practicing orthopaedic surgeons, postgraduate trainees and residents in orthopaedics and general surgery, A&E specialists, and physiotherapists is evidence of the authors' ability to instruct and inspire. The book is a truly fitting introduction to modern-day orthopaedics.
Skeletal Imaging by
Use this atlas to accurately interpret images of musculoskeletal disorders! Taylor, Hughes, and Resnick's Skeletal Imaging: Atlas of the Spine and Extremities, 2nd Edition covers each anatomic region separately, so common disorders are shown within the context of each region. This allows you to examine and compare images for a variety of different disorders. A separate chapter is devoted to each body region, with coverage of normal developmental anatomy, developmental anomalies and normal variations, and how to avoid a misdiagnosis by differentiating between disorders that appear to be similar. All of the most frequently encountered musculoskeletal conditions are included, from physical injuries to tumors to infectious diseases. Over 2,100 images include radiographs, radionuclide studies, CT scans, and MR images, illustrating pathologies and comparing them with other disorders in the same region. Organization by anatomic region addresses common afflictions for each region in separate chapters, so you can see how a particular region looks when affected by one condition as compared to its appearance with other conditions. Coverage of each body region includes normal developmental anatomy, fractures, deformities, dislocations, infections, hematologic disorders, and more. Normal Developmental Anatomy sections open each chapter, describing important developmental landmarks in various regions of the body from birth to skeletal maturity. Practical tables provide a quick reference to essential information, including normal developmental anatomic milestones, developmental anomalies, common presentations and symptoms of diseases, and much more. 400 new and replacement images are added to the book, showing a wider variety of pathologies. More MR imaging is added to each chapter. Up-to-date research includes the latest on scientific advances in imaging. References are completely updated with new information and evidence.
Ross and Wilson Anatomy and Physiology in Health and Illness by
The new edition of the hugely successful Ross and Wilson Anatomy & Physiology in Health and Illness continues to bring its readers the core essentials of human biology presented in a clear and straightforward manner. Fully updated throughout, the book now comes with enhanced learning features including helpful revision questions and an all new art programme to further clarify the explanations given in the text. The 13th edition retains its popular website, which contains a wide range of 'critical thinking' exercises as well as new animations, an audio-glossary, the unique Body Spectrum© online colouring and self-test program, and helpful weblinks. This book is ideal for students of nursing and allied health professions, biomedical and paramedical science, operating department practice, complementary therapy and massage therapy, as well as trainee Health Care Assistants and those studying A' level or BTEC (or equivalent) human biology. Ross and Wilson Anatomy & Physiology in Health and Illness will be of particular help to readers new to the subject area, those returning to study after a period of absence and for anyone whose first language is not English. Latest edition of the world's most popular textbook on basic human anatomy and physiology with over 1.5 million copies sold worldwide Clear, no nonsense writing style helps make learning easy Accompanying website contains animations, audio-glossary, case studies and other self-assessment material, the unique Body Spectrum© online colouring and self-test software, and helpful weblinks Includes basic pathology and pathophysiology of important diseases and disorders Contains helpful learning features such as Learning Outcomes boxes, colour coding and design icons together with a stunning illustration and photography collection Contains clear explanations of common prefixes, suffixes and roots, with helpful examples from the text, plus a glossary and an appendix of normal biological values. Particularly valuable for students who are completely new to the subject, or returning to study after a period of absence, and for anyone whose first language is not English All new illustration programme brings the book right up-to-date for today's student Helpful 'Spot Check' questions at the end of each topic to monitor progress Fully updated throughout with the latest information on common and/or life threatening diseases and disorders Review and Revise end-of-chapter exercises assist with reader understanding and recall Over 120 animations - many of them newly created - help clarify underlying scientific and physiological principles and make learning fun
