Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Preparation for Practice reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Developing Practical Nursing Skills. 4th ed. by Developing Practical Nursing Skills, Fourth Editionhelps you learn and perfect the practical skills required to become a qualified nurse. Patient-focussed and adopting a caring approach, this essential text will also help you to integrate nursing values alongside physical skills in your daily practice.
Call Number: 610.73 BAI
Publication Date: 2014
Patient Care in Radiography by Learn to master radiography patient care with the book that covers it best! With step-by-step instructions and more than 400 full-color illustrations, Patient Care in Radiography, 10th Edition is the perfect resource to help teach you effective radiography patient care. Each chapter expertly guides you through the latest guidelines, carefully making the connection between the topics being discussed and how they relate to patient care. An emphasis is placed on the skills and procedures that are imperative for quality patient care - including safety, transfer, positioning, infection control, and patient assessment. Also included is information on microbiology, emerging diseases, trans-cultural communication, ECGs, administering medications, and bedside radiography to ensure you are well-versed in both the technical and interpersonal skills needed for professional practice. Coverage of patient care and procedural skills helps provide safe, high-quality patient care and technical proficiency. Step-by-step procedures are shown in photo essays, demonstrated with more than 400 full-color illustrations.? Case studies focus on medicolegal terms, standards, and applications and help build problem-solving skills. Coverage of infection control helps emphasize the importance of preventing the spread of diseases. Special Imaging Modalities chapter provides an overview of patient care for a wide range of imaging methods. Chapter outlines, objectives, key terms, summaries, review questions, and critical thinking exercises focus on the key information in each chapter. Answers to the review questions are included in the back of the book. NEW! New images highlight many patient procedures and visually demonstrate how to care for patients. NEW! Updated content covers the most current exams, procedures, and technologies, as well as the most current information from the American Society of Radiologic Technologists.
Call Number: 616 EHR + eBook
Publication Date: 2020
Introduction to Radiologic and Imaging Sciences and Patient Care by Using a clear and concise format, Introduction to Radiologic and Imaging Sciences and Patient Care, 7th Edition delivers the latest radiologic, imaging science and patient care skills you need to prepare for certification and practice. This new edition includes updates on current digital imaging and instrumentation, providing you with the essential information and tools needed to master any introduction to radiologic sciences class. Chapter review questions and lab activities available online and on tear sheets in the text give you easy access to on-the-go learning. This text not only helps to prepare you for parts of the certification exam, but the content provides useful and practical information that is needed for professional practice and clinical success. Step-by-step procedures presented in boxed lists throughout the text supply you with easy to follow steps so you are well prepared for clinical success. Back-of-book review questions provide you with an opportunity for review and greater challenge. More than 300 photos and line drawings help you understand and visualize patient-care procedures. Strong pedagogy, including chapter objectives, key terms, outline and summaries helps you organize information and ensure that you understand what is most important in every chapter. NEW and UPDATED! Updates on current digital imaging and instrumentation provide you with the important information you need for clinical success. NEW! The latest technical terminology incorporated throughout text keeps you up-to-date with industry verbiage. NEW and UPDATED! Appendices containing practice standards, professional organizations, state licensing agencies, the ARRT code of ethics and patient care partnership offer you additional information about professional opportunities and obligations and prepare you for what you will encounter in the practice environment.
Call Number: 616.07572 ADL
Publication Date: 2018
Principles of Biomedical Ethics by Building on the best-selling tradition of previous editions, Principles of Biomedical Ethics, Seventh Edition, provides a highly original, practical, and insightful guide to morality in the health professions. Acclaimed authors Tom L. Beauchamp and James F. Childress thoroughly develop and advocate for four principles that lie at the core of moral reasoning in health care: respect for autonomy, nonmaleficence, beneficence, and justice. Drawing from contemporary research--and integrating detailed case studies and vivid real-life examples and scenarios--they demonstrate how these prima facie principles can be expanded to apply to various conflicts and dilemmas, from how to deliver bad news to whether or not to withhold or withdraw life-sustaining treatments. Illuminating both theory and method throughout, Principles of Biomedical Ethics, Seventh Edition, considers what constitutes moral character and addresses the problem of moral status: what rights are due to people and animals, and when. It also examines the professional-patient relationship, surveys major philosophical theories--including utilitarianism, Kantianism, rights theory, and virtue theory--and describes methods of moral justification in bioethics. Ideal for courses in biomedical ethics, bioethics, and health care ethics, the text is enhanced by hundreds of annotated citations and a substantial introduction that clarifies key terms and concepts. NEW TO THE SEVENTH EDITION Ch. 1: A clarified and more concise treatment of the common morality and its distinction from both particular moralities and the broad descriptive use of the term "morality" Ch. 3: New sections on degrees of moral status and the moral significance of moral status Ch. 4: A revised section on the therapeutic use of placebos and expanded coverage of theories of autonomy and information-processing issues Ch. 5: New material on historical problems of underprotection and recent problems of overprotection in human subjects research Ch. 6: A new section on expanded access and continued access in research and a relocated and integrated discussion of surrogate decision making for incompetent patients Ch. 7: A distinction between traditional theories of justice and more recent theories like capabilities and well-being Ch. 8: A new section on clinical ethics and research ethics Ch. 9: A whole new section on virtue theory, which expands the account from Ch. 2 of the previous edition, and on rights theory Ch. 10: An extended and more in-depth discussion of the authors' theory of method and justification in bioethics A new Companion Website at www.oup.com/us/beauchamp featuring suggestions for effectively using the book in the classroom, possible syllabi and examination questions, additional readings, useful exercises, and cases for discussion
Call Number: 174.2 BEA
Publication Date: 2012
Health by The second edition of Mildred Blaxter's successful and highlyrespected book offers a comprehensive and engaging introduction tothe key debates surrounding the concept of health today. Itdiscusses how health is defined, constructed, experienced and actedout in contemporary developed societies, drawing on a range ofempirical data from the USA, Britain, France, and many othercountries. The new edition has been thoroughly revised and updated, withnew material added on health and identity, the "new genetics", thesociology of the body, and the formation of health capitalthroughout the life course. The topic is the concept of health,rather than the more usual emphasis on illness and health-caresystems. Special emphasis is given to the lay perspective to showhow people themselves think about and experience health. Blaxterguides students through all the relevant conceptual models of therelationship of health to the structure of society, from inequalityin health to the ideas of the risk society, the?socio-biological translation? and the contribution ofhealth to social capital. The book concludes with a comprehensivelyrevised and thought-provoking discussion of the impact of newtechnology, the boundaries between life and death, moderncommodification of health, technological transformations of thebody and theories of evolutionary biology. Health is an invaluable textbook for students of medicineand other health professions as well as those studying sociology,health sciences and health promotion.
Call Number: 306.461 BLA + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Health and Illness by Health and illness underpin our everyday existence. Health allowsus to live full lives and to function as social beings; illnessdisrupts our lives, sometimes seriously. But health not onlyaffects individuals, it also impacts upon society as a whole.Medical breakthroughs and scandals, health scares and healthservice problems all vie for the attention of politicians andpublic alike. Michael Bury provides a lively introduction to the sociology ofhealth and illness for students approaching the topic for the firsttime. Drawing on classic writings and up-to-date research, hediscusses the conceptualization and patterning of health andillness in contemporary society. He highlights a range of factors,such as gender, age, ethnicity and class, which influence theoccurrence and distribution of illness over time. The book thenfocuses on debates about the body, the role of health services andthe politics of health policy. In conclusion, Bury argues that wemust take a dynamic view of health and illness as processes thatare shaped by social circumstances and altering perceptions. This short introduction will be essential reading for allstudents studying the sociology of health as part of their degreeprogramme.
Call Number: 306.461 BUR
Publication Date: 2005
Key Concepts in Medical Sociology by "Fills an important gap in medical sociology. In an era of information overload, busy scholars and students will appreciate these accessible introductions to the field′s key concepts."- Alan Petersen, Monash University"A handbook for any student to have by their side as they embark on any course exploring the sociology of health, medicine and disease."- Jessica Clark, University Campus Suffolk"A really useful collection of concise, accessible and informative mini essays on a range of medical concepts and conceptualisations. The book is ideal for students, including those following health professional courses, and for more seasoned academics and scholars. A very handy volume."- Jacquelyn Allen-Collinson, Lincoln UniversityHow do we understand health in relation to society? What role does culture play in shaping our experiences of, and orientation to, health and illness? How do we understand medicine and medical treatment within a sociological framework?Medical sociology is a dynamic and complex field of study, comprising many concepts which students sometimes find difficult to grasp. This title manages to successfully elucidate this conceptual terrain. The text systematically explains the key concepts that have preoccupied medical sociologists from its inception and which have shaped the field as it exists today.Thoroughly revised and updated, this second edition: Provides a systematic and accessible introduction to medical sociology Includes new relevant entries as well as classic concepts Begins each entry with a definition of the concept, then examines its origins, development, strengths and weaknesses Offers further reading guidance for independent learning Draws on international literature and examples. This title has proved hugely popular among students in medical sociology as well as those undertaking professional training in health-related disciplines. It is essential reading for anyone wanting to find an easily accessible, yet critical and thoughtful, information source about the building blocks of medical sociology and the sociology of health and illness.
Call Number: 306.461 GAB + eBooks
Publication Date: 2013
Nursing Practice and Health Care 5E by Nursing Practice and Health Care is an essential companion to pre-registration nursingnbsp;education programmes, for those studying at degree and diploma level, and for students on post-registration courses. nbsp; This fifth edition has been completely revised to reflect the current professional and educational requirements for those preparing for registration as a nurse, while maintaining a strong focus on practice and reflecting the needs of those requiring nursing and health care. Additionally, it uses thenbsp;2008 NMC Code as the cornerstone for many of its chapters.nbsp; Building on the changes in the fourth edition, the requirements of pre-registration nursing programmes, the fitness for practice initiative and other developments in health policy within the four countries of the UK, thenbsp;book provides an invaluablenbsp;support for students as theynbsp;learn the skills in critical thinking that will enable the development of an accountable, professional practitioner. Both student- and patient-centred, the book is divided intonbsp;five parts: Perspectives on nursing, Learning nursing, Practisting nursing, Key aspects of care and Professional support and development. Key features: Completely revised and updated to reflect the new NMC Code Both student- and patient-centred Tackles key issues for today's student nurse, including health promotion, quality and the patient experience, informatics, diversity of care settings, accountable practice and ethics and the law Incorporates a wide range of helpful text features including learning objectives, section and chapter summaries, patient scenarios and reflective points, useful websites and further reading Reflects the governmental reports, policies, frameworks and targets of all four UK countries
Call Number: 610.73 HIN + eBooks
Publication Date: 2008
Health Psychology by Health Psychology students will need to understand how to evaluate and critically-appraise the latest theory and research before it can be applied. This fully-revised and updated fourth edition takes a critical approach and places Health Psychology in a real-world context, enabling students to understand how public policy, theory and research can influence communities and individuals alike. The new edition includes: A new chapter on diet and obesity Updated material on stress and coping, doctor-patient communication, death, dying, bereavement and quality of life Introductions to the social, political and economic conditions that influence our health Breadth of coverage from social inequality through to chronic illness and screening An enhanced SAGE edge(tm) companion website (edge.sagepub.com/marks4e) with a suite of features to enhance students′ learning experience.
Call Number: 616.0019 MAR
Publication Date: 2015
Clinical Governance by Clinical Governance: A Guide to Implementation for HealthcareProfessionals provides a comprehensive overview of what ismeant by clinical governance and how it can be implemented inpractice. It explores the evolution of clinical governance, its keycomponents, legal implications, the barriers to implementing it,and its impact. Clinical Governance provides step-by-step practicaladvice, facilitating better understanding of the key principles ofclinical governance. This third edition has been fully updatedthroughout to incorporate a more integrated approach to achievingclinical governance, with an additional chapter on education andtraining. Each chapter includes reflective questions, activitiesand case studies taken from clinical practice as well as a fulllist of references and further reading.
Call Number: 362.1068 MCS + eBooks
Publication Date: 2010
Health Studies by This new edition of a very successful textbook provides an up-to-date, broad and authoritative introduction to studying health. With chapters including biology, epidemiology, anthropology, politics and psychology, it is the only book to explore all the major disciplines and highlight how they can contribute to our understanding of health in one single volume. Comprehensive, accessible and written by leading experts in the different fields, this is the introductory text for all students of health studies.
Call Number: 362.1 NAI + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Essential Nursing Skills by As a nursing student you will have learnt lots of nursing theory and research - but how do you translate this into practice and apply it to the skills you need? Where do you start? What steps should be carried out and in what order? What should you do afterwards? Essential Nursing Skills answers these questions for over 120 clinical skills. Each one is explained from start to finish, using a step-by-step approach, with clear illustrations and colour photographs to enhance understanding. Small enough to carry with you and specifically designed and written to aid learning, this book is invaluable for nurses across all fields. Attractive design - easy to use Skills explained step by step Comprehensive list of skills covers all that students will encounter in practice Points for Practice sections encourage readers to reflect and learn Further reading and references point to the evidence and knowledge base for each skill Full-colour photographs illustrate many of the procedures Full colour is used throughout to help navigate procedures Section listing normal values of commonly used blood tests Skills to assess deteriorating patients and care for patients undergoing surgery Reflects changes in nursing and professional national guidelines Essential skills series
Call Number: 610.73 NIC
Publication Date: 2012
Compendium of Clinical Skills for Student Nurses by This textbook is primarily intended for student nurses, students studying for National Vocational Qualifications (levels II and III Health Care) and those students who are undertaking an Access to Nursing Course. It provides these students with a user-friendly and contemporary understanding of some of the key clinical practice issues that they will experience in clinical areas. The book presents the reader with an institutional perspective as well as a community approach to general aspects of adult nursing care. The text is clearly written with useful illustrations. A well known model of nursing is used in which to frame the information - Roper et al' s Activities of Living Model. The reader will begin to develop his/her practical nursing skills with a sound knowledge base underpinning the delivery of care. There are 14 chapters, a detailed glossary and a comprehensive list of "normal values" is included at the end. The book is designed to be used as a reference book in either the clinical setting, the classroom or at home.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2005
The Psychology of Health by The first edition of The Psychology of Health has become the standard recommended text for many courses. This completely revised and updated second edition contains new material in all chapters and has several additional chapters on such topics as cancer, nutrition and exercise, social drugs, and the impact of social inequalities upon health. The Psychology of Health will continue to be invaluable for students of health psychology and related fields, including nursing, social work, community care and health studies. The Psychology of Health, second edition, is: * comprehensive: its four parts cover the scope and ambition of health psychology, acute and chronic illness, hospitalisation and the management of disease, primary prevention and health promotion, the importance of the family and the wider social context for health * user-friendly: includes tables, figures and boxes with discussion ideas and questions in each chapter. Prefaces to each part, key point summaries and a glossary of terms give students a useful framework for revision * clearly written by an experienced team involved in undergraduate teaching * a source for further study: with annotated guides to reading and an extensive bibliography.
Call Number: 613.019 PIT + eBook
Publication Date: 1998
Tortora's Principles of Anatomy of Principles and Physiology: Study Guide 15th Ed by The phenomenally successful Principles of Anatomy and Physiology continues to set the discipline standard with the 15th edition. Designed for the 2-semester anatomy and physiology course, Principles of Anatomy and Physiology combines exceptional content and outstanding visuals for a rich and comprehensive classroom experience. Enhanced for a digital delivery, the 15th edition, gives students the ability to learn and explore anatomy and physiology both inside and outside of the classroom.
Call Number: 612 TOR + eBooks
Publication Date: 2017
Walter and Miller's Textbook of Radiotherapy: Radiation Physics, Therapy and Oncology by Walter and Miller's Textbook of Radiotherapy is a key textbook for therapeutic radiography students as well as trainee clinical and medical oncologists, clinical physicists and technologists. The book is divided into 2 sections. The first section covers physics and provides a comprehensive review of radiotherapy physics. This section is designed to be non-physicist friendly, to simply and clearly explain the physical principles upon which radiotherapy and its technology are based. The second section is a systematic review by tumour site giving an up to date summary of radiotherapy practice. The title also covers the place of chemotherapy, surgery and non-radiotherapy treatments as well as the principles of cancer patient treatment including supportive care and palliative treatments. It is a comprehensive must-have resource for anyone studying therapeutic radiotherapy. Highly illustrated in full colour including 350 photographs. Clearly and simply explains the fundamental physics for clinicians Gives an up to date summary of radiotherapy practice organised by tumour site making it very easy to navigate. Describes the wide range of devices and clearly explains the principles behind their operation. Comprehensively explains the calculation models of dose predictions for treatment preparation. Heavy emphasis on how clinical trials have influenced current practice. Shows how radiobiological knowledge has influenced current practice such as the fractionation regimens for breast and prostate cancer Proton therapy; machines, dose measurement, covering the clinical advantages and pitfalls of this treatment modality. New radiotherapy modalities such as stereotactic radiotherapy, types of intensity modulated radiotherapy and imaged guided radiotherapy are comprehensively covered as are recent advances in chemotherapy and molecular targeted therapy. In depth coverage of dose measurement and new devices.
Call Number: 616.99406 SYM + eBooks
Publication Date: 2019