Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Principles of Imaging reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Principles and Application of Radiological Physics by Printed book plus Pageburst access - you will receive a printed book and access to the complete book content electronically. Pageburst enhances learning by not only bringing world class content to your fingertips but also letting you add to it, annotate it, and categorize it all in a way that suits you. Pageburst frees you to spend more time learning and less time searching. Principles and Application of Radiological Physics 6E provides comprehensive and easy-to-follow coverage of the principles and application of physics for both diagnostic and therapeutic radiography students. Regardless of changes in technology and clinical grading, the most important role of the radiographer remains unchanged - ensuring the production of high quality images and optimal treatment. These should be performed with the minimum of radiation hazard to patients, staff and others. An understanding of physics and the basics of radiographic technology is essential to do this effectively. The book covers all the physics and mathematics required by undergraduate diagnostic and therapeutic radiography students, catering for those who do not have a mathematics qualification as well as for those who do. NEW TO THIS EDITION: A focus upon application of physics to reflect current teaching approaches Completely revised structure, leading from science principles to applications New chapters on CT, MRI, ultrasound, PET, RNI, mammography and digital imaging Electronic learning resources for students, hosted on EVOLVE *Strong links between theory and practice throughout *Clear and concise text Focus on application of physics, as well as principles New, updated 2-colour design New Sections - Equipment for X-ray production, The Radiographic Image and Diagnostic Imaging Technologies Electronic learning resources for students support the text
Call Number: 616.0757 GRA + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Ball and Moore's Essential Physics for Radiographers by Since its first edition in 1980, Essential Physics forRadiographers has earned an international reputation as a clearand straightforward introduction to the physics of radiography. Nowin its fourth edition, this book remains a core textbook forstudent radiographers. The authors have retained the pragmatic approach of earliereditions and continue to target the book particularly at thosestudents who find physics a difficult subject to grasp. The fourthedition builds on the major revisions introduced in the thirdedition. The content has been updated to reflect recent advances inimaging technology. The chapter on Radiation Safety has beencompletely rewritten in the light of the latest changes in relevantlegislation, and a re-examination of the physical principlesunderpinning magnetic resonance imaging forms the basis of a newchapter. Worked examples and calculations again feature strongly,and the innovative and popular Maths Help File, guidesreaders gently through the mathematical steps and conceptsinvolved. The reference citations have been updated and now includeInternet sources.
Call Number: 616.0757 BAL + eBooks
Publication Date: 2008
Farr's Physics for Medical Imaging by The new edition of Physics for Medical Imaging has been fully updated to reflect the latest advances in technology and legislation and the needs of today's radiology trainees. Invaluable reading, particularly for those sitting the primary and final examinations of the Royal College of Radiology, UK, the book will also be of value to radiographers and personnel interested in medical imaging. The concise text is also accompanied by clear line drawings and sample images to illustrate the principles discussed. Closely matches needs of FRCR examination candidates. Updated to reflect changes to FRCR examination. More medically orientated. Covers new legislation concerning radiological safety etc. 'Must-know' summaries at end of each chapter. Completely new design.
Call Number: 616.0754 FAR
Publication Date: 2007
Introduction to Biological Physics for the Health and Life Sciences by This book aims to demystify fundamental biophysics for students in the health and biosciences required to study physics and to understand the mechanistic behaviour of biosystems. The text is well supplemented by worked conceptual examples that will constitute the main source for the students, while combining conceptual examples and practice problems with more quantitative examples and recent technological advances.
Call Number: 571.4 FRA + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Physics in Biology and Medicine by Physics in Biology and Medicine, Fourth Edition, covers topics in physics as they apply to the life sciences, specifically medicine, physiology, nursing and other applied health fields. This is a concise introductory paperback that provides practical techniques for applying knowledge of physics to the study of living systems and presents material in a straightforward manner requiring very little background in physics or biology. Applicable courses are Biophysics and Applied Physics. This new edition discusses biological systems that can be analyzed quantitatively, and how advances in the life sciences have been aided by the knowledge of physical or engineering analysis techniques. The volume is organized into 18 chapters encompassing thermodynamics, electricity, optics, sound, solid mechanics, fluid mechanics, and atomic and nuclear physics. Each chapter provides a brief review of the background physics before focusing on the applications of physics to biology and medicine. Topics range from the role of diffusion in the functioning of cells to the effect of surface tension on the growth of plants in soil and the conduction of impulses along the nervous system. Each section contains problems that explore and expand some of the concepts. The text includes many figures, examples and illustrative problems and appendices which provide convenient access to the most important concepts of mechanics, electricity, and optics in the body. Physics in Biology and Medicine will be a valuable resource for students and professors of physics, biology, and medicine, as well as for applied health workers.
Call Number: 612.014 DAV + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Elementary Particles by This highly readable book uncovers the mysteries of the physics of elementary particles for a broad audience. From the familiar notions of atoms and molecules to the complex ideas of the grand unification of all the basic forces, this book allows the interested lay public to appreciate the fascinating building blocks of matter that make up our universe.Beginning with a description of the quantum nature of atoms and particles, readers are introduced to the elementary constituents of atomic nuclei: quarks. The book goes on to consider all of the important ideas in particle physics: quantum electrodynamics and quantum chromodynamics, the theory of strong interactions, the gauge theories of the weak and electromagnetic interactions, as well as the problem of mass generation. To conclude the book, the ideas of grand unification are described, and finally, some applications to astrophysics are discussed.Your guide to this exciting world is an author who, together with the originator of the idea of quarks, Murray Gell-Mann, has played an important role in the development of the theory of quantum chromodynamics and the concept of grand unification.
Call Number: 539.72 FRI + eBook
Publication Date: 2005
The Elements of Physics by An introduction to physics for first-year physics students, designed to deliver information clearly and concisely.The authors guide the student through the foundations of university physics in this authoritative introduction. the two-colour text design and over 500 diagrams bring out the key points, and the text makes full advantage of features such as worked examples, graded problems, and an appendix onnecessary mathematics in order to better explain the subject and meet the needs of the modern student.TEACHING AIDSOn-line solutions for students written by the authors
Call Number: 530 GRA
Publication Date: 2001
The Elementary Process of Bremsstrahlung by This book deals with the theory and experiment of the elementary process of bremsstrahlung, where photons are detected in coincidence with decelerated outgoing electrons. Such experiments allow for a more stringent check of the theoretical work. The main emphasis is laid on electron-atom bremsstrahlung and electron-electron bremsstrahlung, but further bremsstrahlung processes are also dealt with. In the theoretical parts, triply differential cross sections are derived in various approximations, including electron spin and photon-polarization. In the experimental sections, electron-photon coincidence experiments are discussed. These are done partly with transversely polarized electron beams and partly with detectors for the bremsstrahlung linear polarization.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2004
Clark's Essential Physics in Imaging for Radiographers by It is essential that any practitioner working in an imaging department and using ionizing radiation has a sound knowledge base. In order to understand the various factors affecting the production of diagnostic images, practitioners must demonstrate a grasp of the fundamental definitions of physics and how these principles may be applied to radiography. The easy-to-understand, portable format of Clark's Essential Physics in Imaging for Radiographers makes it an invaluable tool for students, assistant practitioners, and radiographers. The book opens with chapters providing an overview of image production, basic mathematics, and physics relevant to medical imaging, which are followed by detailed chapters on physics relevant to producing diagnostic images using x-rays. Each chapter features clear learning objectives and a series of multiple choice questions to test these learning outcomes, and diagrams and photographs support the text.
Call Number: 616.07572 HOL + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Practical Radiation Protection in Healthcare by The application of radiation to medical problems plays an ever-increasing role in diagnosis and treatment of disease. It is essential that medical physicists have the knowledge, understanding and practical skills to implement radiation protection as new techniques are developed. PracticalRadiation Protection in Healthcare provides a practical guide for medical physicists and others involved with radiation protection in the healthcare environment. The guidance is based on principles set out in current recommendations of the International Commission for Radiological Protection andmethods developed by a variety of professional bodies.Written by practitioners experienced in the field this practical reference manual covers both established techniques and new areas of application. This new edition has be fully revised and updated to cover new requirements linked to the increased knowledge of radiation effects, and the developmentof new technology. Each specialist area is covered in a separate chapter to allow easy reference with individual chapters being assigned to different types of non-ionising radiations. Tabulated data is included to allow the reader to carry out calculations for situations encountered frequentlywithout reference to further texts.
Call Number: 616.07570289 MAR
Publication Date: 2015
Hendee's Radiation Therapy Physics by The publication of this fourth edition, more than ten years on from the publication of Radiation Therapy Physics third edition, provides a comprehensive and valuable update to the educational offerings in this field. Led by a new team of highly esteemed authors, building on Dr Hendee's tradition, Hendee's Radiation Therapy Physics offers a succinctly written, fully modernised update. Radiation physics has undergone many changes in the past ten years: intensity-modulated radiation therapy (IMRT) has become a routine method of radiation treatment delivery, digital imaging has replaced film-screen imaging for localization and verification, image-guided radiation therapy (IGRT) is frequently used, in many centers proton therapy has become a viable mode of radiation therapy, new approaches have been introduced to radiation therapy quality assurance and safety that focus more on process analysis rather than specific performance testing, and the explosion in patient-and machine-related data has necessitated an increased awareness of the role of informatics in radiation therapy. As such, this edition reflects the huge advances made over the last ten years. This book: Provides state of the art content throughout Contains four brand new chapters; image-guided therapy, proton radiation therapy, radiation therapy informatics, and quality and safety improvement Fully revised and expanded imaging chapter discusses the increased role of digital imaging and computed tomography (CT) simulation The chapter on quality and safety contains content in support of new residency training requirements Includes problem and answer sets for self-test This edition is essential reading for radiation oncologists in training, students of medical physics, medical dosimetry, and anyone interested in radiation therapy physics, quality, and safety.
Call Number: 615.842 PAW
Publication Date: 2016