A Handbook for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education by
Focused on developing professional academic skills for supporting and supervising student learning and effective teaching, the fifth edition of A Handbook for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education recognises the complex demands of teaching, research, scholarship and academic management in higher education institutions. Fully updated to reflect changes in practice and policy, this new edition has been written to enhance excellence in teaching and learning design and support all involved in facilitating a world-class inclusive education. Offering plentiful and rich practical advice, this rigorous and sound introduction to the basics of teaching and learning in higher education draws together a large number of expert authors and a range of global case studies. A definitive guide for anyone working in higher education, this edition: Offers new chapters covering an inclusive curriculum, the importance of student well-being and the scholarship of teaching and learning Considers the impact of technological changes on policy and practice Discusses the use of digital learning environments Explores how best to engage students in their disciplines and embed skills for employability The ultimate guide to support all those involved in providing student learning of the highest quality, A Handbook for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education is essential reading for all new lecturers. It will be particularly useful for anyone taking an accredited course in teaching and learning in higher education, as well as more experienced lecturers who wish to improve their teaching practice.
Reflection in Learning and Professional Development by
Reflection is a technique for aiding and reinforcing learning, used in education and professional development. This volume offers practitioners and students guidance that cuts across theoretical approaches, enabling them to understand and use reflection to enhance learning in practice.
Interprofessional working : an essential guide for health and social care professionals 2nd ed. by
This new edition of Interprofessional Working: An Essential Guide for Health and Social Care Professionals provides the underpinning theoretical and practical knowledge all undergraduate nursing and healthcare students will need to learn how to successfully communicate and work effectively as part of an integrated, interprofessional team. As part of the topical Nursing and Health Care Practice series, this highly accessible text offers a host of practice based, real-life scenarios to show theory in practice along with a real -life case studies, boxed features and new activities to develop critical thinking and understanding.
Developing Professional Knowledge and Competence by
This volume analyzes different types of knowledge and know-how used by practising professionals in their work and how these different kinds of knowledge are acquired by a combination of learning from books, learning from people and learning from personal experience.; Drawing on various examples, problems addressed include the way theory changes and is personalized in practice, and how individuals form generalizations out of their practice. Eraut considers the meaning of client-centredness and its implications, and to what extent professional knowledge is based on intuition, understanding and learning. He considers the issue of competence versus knowledge and the effect of lifelong learning on the quality of practice.
Learning and Teaching in Higher Education by
''This book provides teachers in higher education with what they need - a compelling framework for improving student learning. It combines a comprehensive synthesis of the latest research on learning and teaching with practical strategies for implementing it in their classrooms." -Ken Bain, Vice Provost for Instruction, Montclair State UniversityPraise for the First Edition "For too long we have waited for a book that brings together the best contemporary thinking about learning and teaching and that connects with academics' everyday teaching practice in an engaging way. At last, in this book, we have it."-Ronald Barnett, Institute of Education, University of London Around the world, higher education services are challenged by increased numbers and diversity of students, tougher demands for professional accountability, increasing calls for educational relevance and thinning resources. This new edition addresses key issues in the practice and theory of teaching and learning in the sector and includes updated and revised discussions of:the professional in academic practicementoringteaching with technologythe relationship between learning objectives, outcomes and assessment the novice teacherThe authors draw upon theory, practice and current research to provide a new way of thinking about the many aspects of learning and teaching in higher education, enabling the reader to critically reflect upon their teaching. They also propose a model for developing, conducting and producing evidence for continuous professional development appropriate to the higher education academic community.Learning & Teaching in Higher Education: The Reflective Professional is intended for lecturers, researchers, staff developers and others providing and/or supporting teaching in higher and professional education.
Clinical Governance by
Clinical Governance: A Guide to Implementation for HealthcareProfessionals provides a comprehensive overview of what ismeant by clinical governance and how it can be implemented inpractice. It explores the evolution of clinical governance, its keycomponents, legal implications, the barriers to implementing it,and its impact. Clinical Governance provides step-by-step practicaladvice, facilitating better understanding of the key principles ofclinical governance. This third edition has been fully updatedthroughout to incorporate a more integrated approach to achievingclinical governance, with an additional chapter on education andtraining. Each chapter includes reflective questions, activitiesand case studies taken from clinical practice as well as a fulllist of references and further reading.
Interprofessional Issues in Health and Community Care by
Dramatic reforms in the NHS and the social services in the 1980s and 1990s have highlighted the need for close co-operation between professional groups. Doctors, nurses and social workers are increasingly taking roles as managers with financial responsibility for services. The varying backgrounds of education and socialisation of managers and different professional groups creates barriers to mutual understanding and to effective and efficient care. This book sets out to examine inter-professional work looking at theories and frameworks and focusing on the important areas where systems fail because of lack of collaboration. This text will contribute to the knowledge of inter-professional relationships and can be used as a basic guide to the issues involved, the services that require a multidisciplinary approach, and the strategies for working together.
Teaching Today by
The fourth edition of this impressive text has been updated to become more focused on the UK’s Post Graduate Certificate in Education. In particular, it now includes signposting for coverage of the UK's Further Education National Training Organization standards and further coverage of key areas, such as Interactive Whiteboard training. Providing full coverage for the City and Guilds (teaching qualification) 7407, 7302, and Cert Ed courses in the UK, the approach is practical and user friendly. The unique style of the previous editions is retained, ensuring the author's enthusiasm, humor, and insight are shared with tutors and students. As in the previous edition, the focus remains on practical strategies that can be implemented in the classroom. This new edition now features completely new sections including: assessing learner's needs, the monitoring and support of learners, the teacher as a professional, the teacher as a reflective practitioner, learning styles, dyslexia, and differentiation. In addition, all of the existing chapters have been revised in response to developments in the areas of: the use of information and learning, learning theories and principles, and formative assessment.
Quinn's principles and practice of nurse education 6th ed. by
Maintaining the comprehensive coverage offered by the previous editions, this highly regarded text, now in its sixth edition and 32nd year of publication, is considered to be an indispensable resource for nurses and health care professionals engaged in the business of teaching and learning.Retaining the balance between theoretical issues and practical application, the text has been fully revised to reflect the most recent changes in nursing and nurse education including updated content on developments in teaching and learning, the introduction of the new NMC standards in the UK; developments in the NHS and the growing role of eLearning and technology.
Adults Learning by
How do adults really learn? How do I handle the first class or session? How can I get my material across in a way that will interest and excite people? Completely revised and updated throughout, the new edition of this friendly and practical book is the guide on how to teach adults. Written in an accessible style, it unravels the myths of teaching adults, while explaining why it is both a rewarding and a complex task. Using case studies and examples from a wide range of sources including higher education, adult education and management development, Adults Learning answers questions such as: How do I deal with a group of mixed ability? How can I can I manage the conflicts that may arise in a group? Which teaching methods work best and which are least effective? The author includes new chapters on problem-based learning and action learning, updated and extensive new material on handling groups, and a revised chapter on coaching, providing plenty of points for further discussion. Adults Learning is a must-read for anyone involved in teaching adults.
Our future health secured? : a review of NHS funding and Performance by
This is a report on spending on the NHS since 2002. It looks at where the money has been spent, what it has achieved, whether government policy has promoted effective use of the resources, and what should happen next.
The Philosophy of Human Learning by
The Philosophy of Human Learning addresses current concerns with the nature of human learning from a distinctive philosophical perspective. Using insights derived from the work of Wittgenstein, it mounts a vigorous attack on influential contemporary accounts of learning, both in the 'romantic' Rousseauian tradition and in the 'scientific' cognotivist tradition. These two schools, Professor Winch argues, are more closely related than is commonly realised.
