There is no essential reading for this module as students will develop their own literature and make use of texts from the research methods module.
Doing a Literature Review in Health and.Social Care.4th edn. by
This bestselling book is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review in health and social care. It is vital reading for all those undertaking their undergraduate or postgraduate dissertation or any research module which involves a literature review. The book provides a practical guide to doing a literature review from start to finish. This third edition includes: Even more examples of real life research scenarios More emphasis on how to ask the right question New and updated advice on following a clear search strategy Expanded guide to using a range of critical appraisal tools More coverage of how to write up your results Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care, 3rd Edition is essential reading for students at all levels within the health and social care field and a useful text for anyone new to reviewing and appraising evidence. Amazon reviews for the 2nd edition: "This really helped me complete my dissertation. Well set out, easy to understand and for literature review beginners a very good place to start." "This book has really helped me understand what a literature review is, and gives great insight into what is expected from your literature review." "Buy this book: it's a God send!" Over 25,000 copies sold "This deceptively small book provides a comprehensive, user-friendly, step-by-step guide to the development of a literature review. Key strengths are the clarity of expression and the logical flow of information. Chapters match the stages of a literature review, from start to finish. Useful examples and key questions will help to keep the reader on track. With this book as your guide, developing a literature review need not be a daunting or overwhelming task." Dr Merryl E Harvey, Senior Academic, Faculty of Health, Birmingham City University, UK
Doing your research project : a guide for first-time researchers. Seventh edition by
This is the market-leading book for anyone doing a research project for the first time. Clear, concise and extremely readable, this bestselling resource provides a practical, step-by-step guide from initial concept through to completion of your final written research report.
Conducting Research Literature Reviews by
Providing readers with an accessible, in-depth look at how to synthesize research literature, Conducting Research Literature Reviews: From the Internet to Paper is perfect for students, researchers, marketers, planners, and policymakers who design and manage public and private agencies, conduct research studies, and prepare strategic plans and grant proposals. Bestselling author Arlene Fink shows readers how to explain the need for and significance of research, as well as how to explain a study's findings. Offering a step-by-step approach to conducting literature reviews, the Fifth Edition features new research, examples, and references from the social, behavioral, and health sciences, expanded coverage of qualitative research, updated and revised meta-analysis procedures, a brand new glossary of key terms, double the number of exercises, and additional examples of how to write reviews.
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy by
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy: The Matrix Method, Fifth Edition describes the practical and useful methods for reviewing scientific literature in the health sciences. The goal of this text is to serve as a resource for students who need a practical, step-by-step set of instructions for how to organize, conduct, and write a synthesis of literature on a topic of their choice. Key Features: Includes author hints for conducting a review Caroline's Quest details the process for conducting a review Method Maps provide a visual approach for conducting a methodological review Data Visualization reviews the history of data visualization to communicate scientific findings Features websites and e-tutorials for citing reference materials
Systematic Reviews in Health Care by
The past two decades have seen increasing interest and developments in methods for doing high quality systematic reviews. This volume provides a clear introduction to the concepts of systematic reviews, and lucidly describes the difficulties and traps to avoid. A unique feature of the manual is its description of the different methods needed for different types of health care questions: frequency of disease, prognosis, diagnosis, risk, and management. This book also provides illustrative examples and exercises for each of the sections.
Research Methods for Clinical Therapists E-Book by
Struggling to do a project or dissertation, evaluate published research or conduct your own research? Help is at hand with this 5th edition of Research Methods for Clinical Therapists, which explains, in a clear and simple manner, how to evaluate existing research and how to conduct your own research. Aimed at undergraduate and postgraduate students, as well as the practising health care professional, the focus of the text is the design and analysis of experimental studies. These are vital to the effectiveness studies that are central to the work of the healthcare professional. Specific examples from different areas of healthcare are used to explain the core research concepts and relate them to clinical situations. Statistical theory and jargon are kept to a minimum. 'Key concept' boxes to explain technical research terms Activities and exercises (with answers provided in an appendix) to reinforce learning Sample critique of a published research article Comprehensive coverage of the key components of a robust research study Explanation of basic mathematical concepts Extended section on calculating sample sizes Guidelines on the preparation of posters Calculation of Inter-rater reliability measures, including Cohen's Kappa, ICC (interclass correlation) and Bland-Altman graphs of inter-rater agreement Introduction to Receiver Operating Characteristics, for use in screening and diagnostic testing against gold-standards The Thurstone Paired Comparison Technique, valuable in capturing the user voice on a variety of service planning, design and development issues Undertaking Systematic Reviews Relevant further reading for each chapter to support readers in their work.
Understanding Research by
Understanding Research: a Consumer's Guide is the first text that places its focus squarely on the needs of the research consumer. This text helps develop in readers the skills, knowledge and strategies needed to read and interpret research reports and to evaluate the quality of such reports.
Survey Research by
This much-anticipated Second Edition presents an informative and accessible account of survey research. It guides the reader through the main theoretical and practical aspects of the subject and illustrates the application of survey methods through examples. Thoroughly revised and updated, it presents:- concise and analytic coverage of multivariate analysis techniques- a brand new chapter giving theoretical and practical advice on the stages involved in constructing scales to measure attitude or personality- an up-to-date account of using materials on the internet- addition of concise introductions and summaries to all chaptersThis book will prove to be equally useful for students conducting small research projects in the social sciences or related professional/applied areas, researchers planning systematic data collection for applied purposes and policy makers who want to understand and analyse the research with whose conclusions they are presented.
Your Undergraduate Dissertation by
In the second edition of this best-selling guide, Nicholas Walliman provides expert, step-by-step advice on managing and developing a successful undergraduate project. This book takes you through each stage of your dissertation, answering questions including: How do I choose an appropriate topic for my dissertation? How do I write a research proposal? What′s a literature review, how do I conduct it and how do I write it up? How can I ensure I′m an ethical researcher? What methods of data collection are appropriate for my research question? Once I have collected my data, what do I do? What′s the best structure for my dissertation? Full of examples from real student projects, interdisciplinary case studies and illustrated with cartoons to make you smile along the way, this book will tell you all you need to know to write a brilliant dissertation. The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips and resources for study success!
