Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your The Service User in Radiography reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Chapman and Nakielny's Guide to Radiological Procedures by Chapman and Nakielny's Guide to Radiological Procedures has become the classic, concise guide to the common procedures in imaging on which a radiology trainee will be expected to be familiar. Now fully revised and updated in line with current practice, it will also prove invaluable to the wider clinical team that now delivers modern imaging services, including radiographers and radiology nurses, as well as a handy refresher for radiologists at all levels. The highly accessible format has been retained, with every technique described under a set of standard headings, making it ideal for quick reference and exam preparation. * Comprehensively reviewed and updated throughout - incorporating the very latest techniques, clinical practice developments and key recent national and international guidelines * New chapter on the important roles of the radiographer and nurse in procedural radiology - reflecting the delivery of modern radiological practice by multi-professional teams * New chapter on ablative therapies - outlining the various radiological techniques and indications for non-surgical treatment of tumours * Complementary access to the complete, enhanced eBook version - including new, interactive MCQs to check understanding and aid those preparing for the FRCR and similar examinations Previous edition review comments: "The book provides a comprehensive and well-referenced guide to a wide range of imaging techniques and the imaging modalities employed...Overall, an excellent book. " Rad Magazine * Comprehensively reviewed and updated throughout - incorporating the very latest techniques, clinical practice developments and key recent national and international guidelines * New chapter on the important roles of the radiographer and nurse in procedural radiology - reflecting the delivery of modern radiological practice by multi-professional teams * New chapter on ablative therapies - outlining the various radiological techniques and indications for non-surgical treatment of tumours * Complementary access to the complete, enhanced eBook version - including new, interactive MCQs to check understanding and aid those preparing for the FRCR and similar examinations
Call Number: 616.0757 WAT + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Patient Care in Radiography by Learn to master radiography patient care with the book that covers it best! With step-by-step instructions and more than 400 full-color illustrations, Patient Care in Radiography, 10th Edition is the perfect resource to help teach you effective radiography patient care. Each chapter expertly guides you through the latest guidelines, carefully making the connection between the topics being discussed and how they relate to patient care. An emphasis is placed on the skills and procedures that are imperative for quality patient care - including safety, transfer, positioning, infection control, and patient assessment. Also included is information on microbiology, emerging diseases, trans-cultural communication, ECGs, administering medications, and bedside radiography to ensure you are well-versed in both the technical and interpersonal skills needed for professional practice. Coverage of patient care and procedural skills helps provide safe, high-quality patient care and technical proficiency. Step-by-step procedures are shown in photo essays, demonstrated with more than 400 full-color illustrations.? Case studies focus on medicolegal terms, standards, and applications and help build problem-solving skills. Coverage of infection control helps emphasize the importance of preventing the spread of diseases. Special Imaging Modalities chapter provides an overview of patient care for a wide range of imaging methods. Chapter outlines, objectives, key terms, summaries, review questions, and critical thinking exercises focus on the key information in each chapter. Answers to the review questions are included in the back of the book. NEW! New images highlight many patient procedures and visually demonstrate how to care for patients. NEW! Updated content covers the most current exams, procedures, and technologies, as well as the most current information from the American Society of Radiologic Technologists.
Call Number: 616 EHR + eBook
Publication Date: 2020
Radiography of Children by Radiography of Children covers the different skills needed to x-ray children successfully - radiographic positioning, choice and number of views, patient communication with child and parents, achieving patient co-operation, and immobilization. It provides a solid introduction to radiography, based on knowledge of child development/ psychology, pediatric pathology, and the emotional needs of the child and parents. Discusses IRMER, the Children Act, and advice on setting up a pediatric x-ray room in a general department. The only detailed book that covers the differences between x-raying children & adults. Written by practicing pediatric radiographers. Includes child development/ psychology relevant to radiographic examinations of children. Includes coverage of current legislation and children's rights. Features a chapter dedicated to radiation protection and immobilization. Provides an abundance of photographs illustrating various imaging positions. Offers unique information on providing a comfortable environment for children. Presents imaging methods applicable to all hospitals. Includes information on the radiographer as 'play therapist.'
Call Number: 618.920757 HAR
Publication Date: 2005
Nursing Practice and Health Care 5E by Nursing Practice and Health Care is an essential companion to pre-registration nursingnbsp;education programmes, for those studying at degree and diploma level, and for students on post-registration courses. nbsp; This fifth edition has been completely revised to reflect the current professional and educational requirements for those preparing for registration as a nurse, while maintaining a strong focus on practice and reflecting the needs of those requiring nursing and health care. Additionally, it uses thenbsp;2008 NMC Code as the cornerstone for many of its chapters.nbsp; Building on the changes in the fourth edition, the requirements of pre-registration nursing programmes, the fitness for practice initiative and other developments in health policy within the four countries of the UK, thenbsp;book provides an invaluablenbsp;support for students as theynbsp;learn the skills in critical thinking that will enable the development of an accountable, professional practitioner. Both student- and patient-centred, the book is divided intonbsp;five parts: Perspectives on nursing, Learning nursing, Practisting nursing, Key aspects of care and Professional support and development. Key features: Completely revised and updated to reflect the new NMC Code Both student- and patient-centred Tackles key issues for today's student nurse, including health promotion, quality and the patient experience, informatics, diversity of care settings, accountable practice and ethics and the law Incorporates a wide range of helpful text features including learning objectives, section and chapter summaries, patient scenarios and reflective points, useful websites and further reading Reflects the governmental reports, policies, frameworks and targets of all four UK countries
Call Number: 610.73 HIN + eBooks
Publication Date: 2008
Imaging in Pediatric Skeletal Trauma by This is a comprehensive textbook on the imaging of pediatric skeletal trauma. It gives radiologists and pediatric surgeons a detailed description of the techniques used as well as examples of the imaging findings and details of their clinical relevance. Each chapter is written by an expert in the field and includes a wealth of illustrations. The book provides invaluable advice on those features which will affect the orthopedic management of a child.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007
The Great Ormond Street Hospital Manual of Children's Nursing Practices by Clinical skills are a fundamental aspect of nursing care of children and young people. The Great Ormond Street Hospital Manual of Children's Nursing Practices is an evidence-based manual of practical skills in children's nursing which builds on the extensive expertise developed at Great Ormond Street Hospital. It encompasses all aspects of children's nursing from the most basic aspects of everyday practice to advanced practice in high dependency and intensive care to provide a comprehensive resource for all qualified nurses, students, and other health-care professionals involved in caring for children, both in the hospital and the community setting. Children's and young people's nursing presents unique challenges. The Great Ormond Street Hospital Manual utilises the latest clinical research and expert clinical knowledge to address these challenges, and provides the underlying theory and evidence for nursing care of children. It provides a definitive guide to clinical skills procedures in children's and young people's nursing which enables nurses working with children and young people to practice confidently and deliver clinically effective family-centred care. Key features Offers access to clinical procedures developed through the extensive expertise from Great Ormond Street Hospital Contains evidence-based recommendations for expert care Encompasses all aspects of children's care Contains procedures guidelines students can rely on and effectively use in practice following qualfication Highlights specific needs of neonates and adolescents Placed in the context of inter-disciplinary care of the child Includes the rationale for each procedure - the 'why' as well as 'how' Information presented in a similar way to The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures - offering continuity to those working in both adult and paediatric settings This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from iTunes or the MedHand Store.
Call Number: 618.9200231 MAC + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Mental Health Care for Elderly People by Helping older people and their families cope successfully with mental health problems is the responsibility of a multi-disciplinary team of health and social care professionals. This textbook reflects this approach and applies theory and research to the practical care of elderly people with mental health problems from a multi-disciplinary perspective. The book is divided into four sections: Mental Health, Old Age, and Society; Understanding Mental Health Problems in Later Life; Therapeutic Interventions; and The Organization of Care for Elderly People with Mental Health Problems. Case material is interspersed throughout to illustrate the application of theory and research in practice and all chapters include annotated bibliographies of recommended reading as well as reference lists.
Call Number: 362.20846 NOR
Publication Date: 1996
Pocket Pediatrics by This pocket-sized guide covers all of the common conditions and emergency situations that typically occur in general and neonatal pediatrics. Covers all common conditions and emergency information. Pocket-sized for convenience. Revises and updates all information. Adds 8 additional contributors for well-rounded perspectives. Offers expanded neonatal coverage. Features the latest drug dosage recommendations. Provides more illustrations for clearer guidance. With 8 additional contributing experts.
Call Number: 618.92 OCA
Publication Date: 2003
Caring for People with Learning Disabilities by Featuring 11 chapters, each one with a detailed glossary, Learning to Care for People with Learning Disabilities is designed to be used as a reference book in either the clinical setting, classroom or at home. Chapters are re-divided into discrete sections reflecting contemporary Learning Disability nursing practice. References to care in a range of primary and secondary care settings are made throughout the book. Each chapter begins with key points and concludes with a summary of the significant points to reinforce learning.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2006
A guide to the care of the elderly by This text looks at the increasing demands of caring for the elderly. It is divided into four sections covering: the foundations of elderly care; common medical problems encountered by the elderly; specific important diseases and their management; and new ideas, research and audit.
Call Number: 362.6 SHU
Publication Date: 1996
Caring for people with disabilities by The text clearly covers the subjects of physical and mental handicap and is aimed at students on BTEC, City and Guilds and NVQ related courses.
Call Number: 362.4 SKE
Publication Date: 1993
Caring for People with Learning Disabilities by Caring for People with Learning Disabilities is an introductory textbook for those new to learning disability care, and will assist anyone who is commencing a career in this field. This book teaches students the importance of caring for the physical and psychological needs of people with learning disabilities, and is written in an easy to understand style offering practical advice on developing caring skills and planning appropriate care.
Call Number: 362.3 TAI
Publication Date: 2002
Clark's Positioning in Radiography 13E by First published in 1939, Clark's Positioning in Radiography is the preeminent text on positioning technique for diagnostic radiographers. Whilst retaining the clear and easy-to-follow structure of the previous edition, the thirteenth edition includes a number of changes and innovations in radiographic technique. The text has been extensively updated, including a new section on evaluating images, The 10-point plan, which is linked throughout to a listing of Essential image characteristics for each procedure. The section on digital imaging has been expanded not only to elaborate more extensively on the technology but to demonstrate its various clinical applications. New sections also include imaging informatics and its role in the modern world of medical imaging, holistic approaches to patient care and discussion of the important aspect of the patient journey. Students will also benefit from more detailed reference to positioning errors and how to avoid mistakes, as well as a greater emphasis on standard radiation protection measures and guidance on the most recent radiation dose reference levels for specific examinations. Clark's Positioning in Radiographycontinues to be the definitive work on radiographic technique for all students on radiography courses, radiographers in practice and trainee radiologists.
Call Number: 616.07572 WHI + eBooks
Publication Date: 2015
Caring for the elderly by Aimed at potential carers working with the less able elderly, this text covers the facts needed to work in a caring profession whilst promoting a positive image of elderly people.
Call Number: 362.60941 WIN
Publication Date: 1996