Accident and Emergency Radiology by
Since it was first published, Accident and Emergency Radiology: A Survival Guide has become the classic in-my-pocket-reference and an indispensable aid to all those who work in the Emergency Department. The core and substantial value lies in the step-by-step analytical approaches which help you to answer this question: "These images look normal to me, but . . . how can I be sure that I am not missing a subtle but important abnormality?" "This book will provide essential reading and support to A&E trainees, medical students, radiology trainees, reporting radiographers and clinical nurse specialists, all of whom may be faced with trauma cases requiring accurate diagnosis and treatment." Reviewed by: RAD Magazine Feb 2015 "... Very nearly flawless...contains just the right amount of information to accommodate readers from trainees through to consultant or attending level." Reviewed by African Journal of Emergency Medicine , Jun 2015 Ensure accuracy in reading and interpretation of any given image. Common sources of error and diagnostic difficulty are highlighted. Prevent mistakes. Pitfalls and associated abnormalities are emphasized throughout. Avoid misdiagnoses. Normal anatomy is outlined alongside schemes for detecting variants of the norm. Each chapter concludes with a summary of key points. Will provide a useful overview of the most important features in diagnosis and interpretation. Easily grasp difficult anatomical concepts. Radiographs accompanied by clear, explanatory line-drawings. Spend less time searching with an improved layout and design with succinct, easy-to-follow text. A templated chapter approach helps you access key information quickly. Each chapter includes key points summary, basic radiographs, normal anatomy, guidance on analyzing the radiographs, common injuries, rare but important injuries, pitfalls, regularly overlooked injuries, examples, and references. Grasp the nuances of key diagnostic details. Updated and expanded information, new radiographs, and new explanatory line drawings reinforce the book's aim of providing clear, practical advice in diagnosis. Avoid pitfalls in the detection of abnormalities that are most commonly overlooked or misinterpreted. Access the complete contents and illustrations online at Expert Consult-fully searchable!
Tortora's principles of anatomy & physiology by
This is designed as an introductory course and assumes no prior knowledge by the student. Completely revised, it includes some new and innovative learning devices, and interesting, new clinical applications.
Grainger and Allison's Diagnostic Radiology by
Effectively apply the latest techniques and approaches with complete updates throughout including 4 new sections (Abdominal Imaging, The Spine, Oncological Imaging, and Interventional Radiology) and 28 brand new chapters. Gain the fresh perspective of two new editors--Jonathan Gillard and Cornelia Schaefer-Prokop -- eight new section editors -- Michael Maher, Andrew Grainger, Philip O'Connor, Rolf Jager, Vicky Goh, Catherine Owens, Anna Maria Belli, Michael Lee -- and 135 new contributors. Stay current with the latest developments in imaging techniques such as CT, MR, ultrasound, and coverage of hot topics such as: Image guided biopsy and ablation techniques and Functional and molecular imaging. Solve even your toughest diagnostic challenges with guidance from nearly 4,000 outstanding illustrations. Quickly grasp the fundamentals you need to know through a more concise, streamlined format.
Skeletal radiography; a concise introduction to projection radiography. 2nd ed. by
This is the second edition of an old favourite written for all students of radiography at all levels of interest. The book includes descriptions of projection radiographic techniques combined with an outline of the more common or noteworthy associated trauma and pathology. Each projection is numbered and cross-referenced; a useful table of projections is included at the beginning of each chapter. Skeletal Radiography provides a good introduction to the medical terminology encountered in radiographic practice. Content has been expanded and updated to take into account the latest guidelines from the Royal College of Radiologists, changes in treatments and other medical knowledge. Some new projections have been added, others removed and a few (notably in the skull chapters) have been retained for historical interest.
ABC of Emergency Radiology by
Rapid acquisition and interpretation of radiographs, portable ultrasound (US) and computed tomography (CT) are now the mainstay of initial successful management of sick and traumatized patients presenting to Accident and Emergency Departments. The ABC of Emergency Radiology is a simple and logical step-by-step guide on how to interpret radiographs, US and CT. It incorporates all the latest technological advances, including replacing plain radiographs with digital radiographs, changes in imaging protocols and the role of portable US and multidetector CT. With over 400 illustrations and annotated radiographs, this thoroughly revised third edition provides more images, new illustrations, and new chapters on emergency US and CT that reflect current practice. Each chapter starts with radiological anatomy, standard and then additional views, a systematic approach to interpretation (ABC approach) and followed by a review of common abnormalities. The ABC of Emergency Radiology is an invaluable resource for accident and emergency staff, trainee radiologists, medical students, nurses, radiographers and all medical personnel involved in the immediate care of trauma patients. This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from iTunes, Google Play or the MedHand Store.
Essential Orthopaedics and Trauma by
New edition of a classic textbook on orthopaedics and trauma for medical students and junior doctors now available with StudentConsult access [an on-line student learning facility available from Elsevier] New edition of a classic student text now available in full colour! Clear writing style and full artwork programme makes learning easy and enjoyable Learning objectives at the start of each chapter enables the reader to assess his or her learning progress Additional case studies provides practical examples of patient management to bring the subject to life Common conditions are given more discussion to reflect frequency with which the student or practitioner will encounter them Extensive update on trauma management reflects recent changes in the field - for instance, the use of locking plates in osteoporotic fractures Contains additional clinical images including new X-rays and MRI scans Chapter learning objectives help guide self-study Includes new topics covered such as biological treatments and gene therapies Chapter summaries aid retention of key facts Now available on StudentConsult- the unique online learning facility that provides fully searchable text on-line, image downloads and further valuable self-study aids!
Digital and Radiographic Imaging by
This book covers all the existing imaging modalities currently in use in imaging departments, providing a sound basis for understanding how individual systems work. It is designed to be accessible to students without minimising the content. Although conventional imaging is being phased out, it still exists in certain areas, e.g. dental surgeries, and therefore is reduced in size and placed in an Appendix. The text has been restructured in list form to increase clarity and aid study Pedagogic features include an introduction and summary for each chapter Glossaries of imaging terms and computer buzz words, and a key to commonly used abbreviations are included New edition is completely rewritten: Digital imaging is main focus CT, ultrasound, MRI and NMR imaging added 'Conventional' imaging retained as an Appendix Text simplified, and block diagrams, flow charts and tables added to increase accessibility of content
Accident and emergency radiology : interpretation of plain films by 
A-Z of Emergency Radiology by
A-Z of Emergency Radiology is aimed at trainee and practising radiologists, as well as all other healthcare professionals involved in interpreting scans of all imaging modalities in the emergency room setting. It provides a simple, easily accessible guide to the key aspects of the most commonly encountered problems. The simple A-Z format of the book allows the reader to look up the key features of a known condition, or to quickly confirm a suspected diagnosis. For each condition, the presentation, key features on seen imaging, and the diagnostic (and differential diagnostic) aspects are all described, with suggestions made for further useful investigations and subsequent treatment where appropriate. Linked conditions, or those with a similar appearance on imaging, are cross-referenced throughout. Image quality is paramount, and the key features of each image are clearly labeled to help the trainee identify the points of interest.
Atlas of Normal Roentgen Variants That May Simulate Disease by
Seeing is believing with the Atlas of Normal Roentgen Variants That May Simulate Disease, edited by the late Theodore Keats and Mark W. Anderson. Now streamlined into a more concise, portable print format, with a wealth of additional content online, this medical reference book's thousands of images capture the roentgenographic presentation of a full range of normal variants and pseudo-lesions that may resemble pathologic conditions, helping you avoid false positives. You'd be hard pressed to find a comparable image collection in any one place online. Make the correct diagnosis with hundreds of MR and CT correlations. Recognize the entire spectrum of normal variants with over 6,000 images, the largest collection available on this topic. Prepare for the pitfalls of the oral exam with an easily accessible text that's designed to help you avoid false positives. Find the most essential content more quickly with a much more compact print volume that covers only the most important skeletal presentations. Access the complete contents of the book online at www.expertconsult.com, plus Complete coverage of soft tissues Hundreds of additional skeletal images Browse the best collection of normal variants in the world!
Orthopaedics by
For nearly a quarter century Miller's Review of Orthopaedics and the accompanying annual Miller Review Course (www.MillerReview.org) have been must-have resources that residents and practitioners have turned to for efficient and effective exam preparation. This 7th Edition continues to provide complete coverage of the field's most-tested topics, now reorganized to be more intuitive, more user-friendly, and easier to read. Numerous study aids help you ace your exams: a superb art program, including full-color tables, images, and pathology slides; improved concise, bulleted text design; "testable facts" in every chapter; multiple-choice review questions written by experts in the field; and much more. Video clips and SAQs available online for easy access. Content and topic emphasis are fully aligned with the ABOS (American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery) and OITE (Orthopaedic In-Service Training Exam) exams, giving you the confidence you need to prepare for certification and recertification. Completely revised sections on anatomy, spine, and tumors, along with input from many new authors, keep you fully up to date. An increased emphasis on imaging, along with the most current results and techniques, ensure that you're prepared for today's exams. Includes new coverage of femoroacetabular impingement, spine trauma, common medications used in orthopaedics, and recent advances in basic sciences. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Accident and Emergency Radiology by
Since it was first published, Accident and Emergency Radiology: A Survival Guide has become the classic in-my-pocket-reference and an indispensable aid to all those who work in the Emergency Department. The core and substantial value lies in the step-by-step analytical approaches which help you to answer this question: "These images look normal to me, but . . . how can I be sure that I am not missing a subtle but important abnormality?" "This book will provide essential reading and support to A&E trainees, medical students, radiology trainees, reporting radiographers and clinical nurse specialists, all of whom may be faced with trauma cases requiring accurate diagnosis and treatment." Reviewed by: RAD Magazine Feb 2015 "... Very nearly flawless...contains just the right amount of information to accommodate readers from trainees through to consultant or attending level." Reviewed by African Journal of Emergency Medicine , Jun 2015 Ensure accuracy in reading and interpretation of any given image. Common sources of error and diagnostic difficulty are highlighted. Prevent mistakes. Pitfalls and associated abnormalities are emphasized throughout. Avoid misdiagnoses. Normal anatomy is outlined alongside schemes for detecting variants of the norm. Each chapter concludes with a summary of key points. Will provide a useful overview of the most important features in diagnosis and interpretation. Easily grasp difficult anatomical concepts. Radiographs accompanied by clear, explanatory line-drawings. Spend less time searching with an improved layout and design with succinct, easy-to-follow text. A templated chapter approach helps you access key information quickly. Each chapter includes key points summary, basic radiographs, normal anatomy, guidance on analyzing the radiographs, common injuries, rare but important injuries, pitfalls, regularly overlooked injuries, examples, and references. Grasp the nuances of key diagnostic details. Updated and expanded information, new radiographs, and new explanatory line drawings reinforce the book's aim of providing clear, practical advice in diagnosis. Avoid pitfalls in the detection of abnormalities that are most commonly overlooked or misinterpreted. Access the complete contents and illustrations online at Expert Consult-fully searchable!
Medical Imaging by
This new volume in the popular Illustrated Colour Text series explains everything a non-radiologist needs to know about diagnostic imaging. It provides valuable guidance on which radiological tests to order under various circumstances...how to get the best results from the radiology department...how to read and interpret the resultant reports...and what role interventional radiology can play in diagnosis and treatment. Richly illustrated, user-friendly page layouts make this information easy to understand and apply. Uses a two-page spread to present all of the information on each topic at a glance. Offers abundant diagrams to clarify important principles. Presents summary boxes to expedite review.
Radiology of Skeletal Trauma by
Thoroughly updated and revised, the new edition of this classic 2-volume set offers a comprehensive description of the role of diagnostic imaging (including plain film, computed tomography, isotopic bone scanning, and magnetic resonance imaging) in the evaluation of skeletal injury. The 3rd Edition includes the latest advances in the use of CT, especially helical CT, in the assessment of trauma to the skull, face, spine, pelvis, and various sites in the appendicular skeleton. Discusses the epidemiology of fractures; the classification of various special fractures, including chondral, osteochondral, stress, and pathologic; and the patient with multiple injuries. Explores the effects of various traumatic childhood injuries upon the growing skeleton. Offers a chapter on the skull, focusing on differential diagnosis as it relates to congenital anomalies. Addresses diagnostic pitfalls for a complete range of common, rare, and acute injuries. Presents the latest information on the role of helical CT and MR imaging in the evaluation of acute skeletal trauma. Provides nearly 3000 radiographs, CTs, and MR images along with a wealth of line drawings-richly depicting the principal features of all common fractures and dislocations. Incorporates contributions from 28 new authors, providing expert perspectives on all of the latest techniques.
iRefer; Making the best use of clinical radiology 7th ed. by 
Apley's System of Orthopaedics and Fractures by
Since the publication of the first edition in 1959, Apley's System of Orthopaedics and Fractureshas been an essential textbook for those seeking to understand the structure and function of the musculoskeletal system, its diseases, and its response to trauma. As the leading textbook of modern orthopaedics for over 50 years, this book is a testament to the late Alan Apley's skills as a teacher, and the care and forethought he brought to the presentation of the content. The current authors have developed and extended this foundation to produce a thoroughly modern textbook of orthopaedic surgery, bringing contemporary expertise while retaining the book's characteristic philosophy and approach. They are joined by a selection of expert contributors from around the world who provide added material on a wide variety of subjects-- including radiology, open fractures, neuromuscular disorders, and inflammatory arthropathies. This ninth edition echoes its predecessors in following Apley's approach to the orthopaedic patient. As before, the work is divided into three sections: General Orthopaedics, Regional Orthopaedics, and Fractures and Joint Injuries. The material has been fully updated and revised and includes more than 1,000 illustrations. Apley's System'swide readership of practicing orthopaedic surgeons, postgraduate trainees and residents in orthopaedics and general surgery, A&E specialists, and physiotherapists is evidence of the authors' ability to instruct and inspire. The book is a truly fitting introduction to modern-day orthopaedics.amp;nbsp;ninth edition echoes its predecessors in following Apley's approach to the orthopaedic patient. As before, the work is divided into three sections: General Orthopaedics, Regional Orthopaedics, and Fractures and Joint Injuries. The material has been fully updated and revised and includes more than 1,000 illustrations. Apley's System'swide readership of practicing orthopaedic surgeons, postgraduate trainees and residents in orthopaedics and general surgery, A&E specialists, and physiotherapists is evidence of the authors' ability to instruct and inspire. The book is a truly fitting introduction to modern-day orthopaedics.
Gray's Anatomy by
In 1858, Drs. Henry Gray and Henry Vandyke Carter created a book for their surgical colleagues that established an enduring standard among anatomical texts. After more than 150 years of continuous publication, Gray's Anatomy remains the definitive, comprehensive reference on the subject, offering ready access to the information you need to ensure safe, effective practice. This 41st edition has been meticulously revised and updated throughout, reflecting the very latest understanding of clinical anatomy from field leaders around the world. The book's traditional lavish art programme and clear text have been further honed and enhanced, while major advances in imaging techniques and the new insights they bring are fully captured in new state-of-the-art X-ray, CT, MR, and ultrasonic images. The completely reconfigured accompanying eBook version is richly enhanced with additional content and media, covering all the body regions, cell biology and embryogenesis. This unlocks a whole new level of related information, interactivity and understanding, in keeping with the spirit of innovation that has characterized Gray's Anatomy since its inception. Presents the most detailed and dependable coverage of anatomy available anywhere. Regional organization collects all relevant material on each body area together in one place, making access to core information easier for clinical readers. Anatomical information is matched with key clinical information where relevant. Numerous clinical discussions emphasize considerations that may affect medical care. Each chapter has been edited by experts in their field, ensuring access to the very latest evidence-based information on that topic. More than 1,000 completely new photographs, including an extensive electronic collection of the latest X-ray, CT, MR, and histological images. The downloadable Expert Consult eBook version included with your purchase allows you to search all of the text, figures, references and videos from the book on a variety of devices. Carefully selected electronic enhancements include additional text, tables, illustrations, labelled imaging and videos - as well as 24 specially invited 'Commentaries' on new and emerging topics related to anatomy. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.
Skeletal Imaging by
Use this atlas to accurately interpret images of musculoskeletal disorders! Taylor, Hughes, and Resnick's Skeletal Imaging: Atlas of the Spine and Extremities, 2nd Edition covers each anatomic region separately, so common disorders are shown within the context of each region. This allows you to examine and compare images for a variety of different disorders. A separate chapter is devoted to each body region, with coverage of normal developmental anatomy, developmental anomalies and normal variations, and how to avoid a misdiagnosis by differentiating between disorders that appear to be similar. All of the most frequently encountered musculoskeletal conditions are included, from physical injuries to tumors to infectious diseases. Over 2,100 images include radiographs, radionuclide studies, CT scans, and MR images, illustrating pathologies and comparing them with other disorders in the same region. Organization by anatomic region addresses common afflictions for each region in separate chapters, so you can see how a particular region looks when affected by one condition as compared to its appearance with other conditions. Coverage of each body region includes normal developmental anatomy, fractures, deformities, dislocations, infections, hematologic disorders, and more. Normal Developmental Anatomy sections open each chapter, describing important developmental landmarks in various regions of the body from birth to skeletal maturity. Practical tables provide a quick reference to essential information, including normal developmental anatomic milestones, developmental anomalies, common presentations and symptoms of diseases, and much more. 400 new and replacement images are added to the book, showing a wider variety of pathologies. More MR imaging is added to each chapter. Up-to-date research includes the latest on scientific advances in imaging. References are completely updated with new information and evidence.