Clinical Anatomy - 14th Edition by
Now in its fourteenth edition, Clinical Anatomy is the definitive text offering medical students, postgraduate trainees and junior doctors the anatomical information they need to succeed in a clinical setting. Professor Harold Ellis and Professor Vishy Mahadevan provide an accessible, comprehensive, and detailed exploration of anatomy, specifically designed for students and trainees at all levels. Revised and updated, the fourteenth edition contains more information about the nervous system as well as medical images, diagrams and photographs that are overlaid with anatomical illustrations, revealing detailed surface anatomy. This edition: Puts greater emphasis on clinical relevance and contains more content for non-surgical trainees Offers a variety of illustrative clinical scenario case studies Contains many more medical images and diagrams such as CT and MRI Presents expanded information on the nervous system Includes a companion website that contains digital flashcards of all the illustrations and photographs presented in the book Written for medical students, junior doctors, and those studying for The Royal College of Surgeons examinations, the new edition of Clinical Anatomy continues to be an essential resource for understanding the basics of clinical anatomy.
Practical Clinical Oncology. 2nd edn by 
Cancer and Its Management. 7th edn. by 
External Beam Therapy by
External beam therapy is the most common form of radiotherapy, delivering ionizing radiation such as high-energy x-rays, gamma rays, or electron beams directly into the location of the patient's tumour. Now in its third edition, this book is an essential, practical guide to external beamradiotherapy planning and delivery, covering the rapid technological advances made in recent years.The initial chapters give a detailed insight into the fundamentals of clinical radiotherapy. This is followed by systematic details for each tumour site commonly treated with radiotherapy, covering indications, treatment, and planning. The final chapter covers the all important aspect of qualityassurance in radiotherapy delivery.This third edition has been fully updated and revised to reflect new techniques, including details of intensity modulated radiotherapy (IMRT), image guided radiotherapy (IGRT), stereotactic body radiotherapy (SBRT), and proton therapy.Written by experts in each field, External Beam Therapy is an invaluable companion to professionals and trainees in medical physics, therapeutic radiology, and clinical or radiation oncology.ABOUT THE SERIESRadiotherapy remains the major non-surgical treatment modality for the management of malignant disease. It is based on the application of the principles of applied physics, radiobiology, and tumour biology to clinical practice. Each volume in the series takes the reader through the basic principlesof the use of ionizing radiation and then develops this by individual sites. This series of practical handbooks is aimed at physicians both training and practising in radiotherapy, as well as medical physics, dosimetrists, radiographers, and senior nurses.
Developing Reflective Practice. by
From Reviews: "...In this book the clinical psychologist Natius Oelofsen describes the processes of learning and the three-step reflective cycle, explaining how keeping a reflective journal offers insights into self and behaviour, and using critical analysis to reflect on even ordinary, everyday incidents. He shows how the insights of understanding help our interactions with patients and colleagues. Reflection helps us work together, offer support and see where we are able to fit in as team members. The chapter 'All for one and one for all: building supportive teams' is particularly illuminating. There is so much in this book, including getting the most from supervision, ethical issues and dealing with work-based stress, as well as exercises, activities and case examples." Nursing Standard, Vol. 26, No. 48, August 2012 "Developing Reflective Practiceis a thorough and concise book enabling students, qualified nurses and any other health professional to become confident reflective practitioners within their own field.... A well-written and educational tool particularly for a nursing student and even a social work student." Nursing Times, 11 October 2012 Developing Reflective Practiceis suitable for students and practitioners in a variety of fields, including nursing, psychology, social work, therapeutic child care, and education. What all of these fields have in common is that practitioners deal with fundamental human needs such as physical and mental health, housing, and education. Students on placement as well as qualified and experienced practitioners can benefit from reading this book and working through the reflective exercises that accompany the text. The goal of the book is to help the reader feel confident and competent when confronted with complex and emotionally demanding situations in the workplace. By working through the numerous and varied activities and exercises detailed in this book, the reader will acquire the skills needed to make sense of their experiences in a professional context.
Treatment of Cancer by
Treatment of Cancer is a multi-author work and comprehensive guide on modern cancer treatment that aims to give clinician and student alike the framework for an integrated approach to patient care, including radiotherapy, chemotherapy, and surgery. Much information is presented in tables and charts for easy assimilation, and clear algorithms for patient pathways are included to make decisions straightforward while allowing for sound clinical judgement.
Principles of Anatomy and Physiology. 14th edn. by 
Practical Radiotherapy Planning by 
Reflective Practice in Nursing. 5th edn. by 
Oxford Handbook of Oncology. 4th ed. by 
Reflective Practice in Nursing. 3rd edn. by
Would you like to develop some strategies to manage knowledge deficits, near misses and mistakes in practice? Are you looking to improve your reflective writing for your portfolio, essays or assignments? Reflective practice enables us to make sense of, and learn from, the experiences we have each day and if nurtured properly can provide skills that will you come to rely on throughout your nursing career. Using clear language and insightful examples, scenarios and case studies the third edition of this popular and bestselling book shows you what reflection is, why it is so important and how you can use it to improve your nursing practice. Key features: #65533; Clear and straightforward introduction to reflection directly written for nursing students and new nurses #65533; Full of activities designed to build confidence when using reflective practice #65533; Each chapter is linked to relevant NMC Standards and Essential Skills Clusters
Beginning reflective practice 2nd ed. by 
Becoming a Reflective Practitioner by
'Christopher Johns is an internationally recognised pioneer of reflective practice in nursing and health care.' - Nursing Standard Becoming a Reflective Practitioner provides a unique insight into reflective practice, exploring the value of using models of reflection, with particular reference to Christopher Johns' own model for structured reflection. Now in its fifth edition, this book has been completely revised and updated to include up-to-date literature and reflective extracts. Contemporary in approach, this definitive text contains a variety of rich and insightful reflective extracts that support the main issues being raised in each chapter, and challenges practitioners and students to question their own practice. Now with further scenarios and case studies included throughout, these extracts provide the reader with access to the experience of reflective representation helping to explicate the way in which reflective practice can inform the wider notion of professional practice. With an increase in professional registration requiring reflective evidence, this new edition of Becoming a Reflective Practitioner is an essential guide to all those using reflection in everyday clinical practice.
Understanding Cancer by
Understanding Cancer is a brand new undergraduate textbook for students without prior training in biology that integrates an introduction to cancer medicine with descriptions of the biological processes that go wrong to cause cancer's onset and progression. It also highlights the human side of cancer with stories of patients and loved ones touched by the disease, dealing with diagnosis, treatment, and the prospect of death as well as the broader societal aspects of cancer and its prevention. Key discoveries that have improved our understanding of cancer are presented in sidebars. In spite of this diversity, the book maintains precision and simplicity in describing what is and is not known about cancer, describing the strengths and limitations of current treatments
Clinical Oncology by
A clear and comprehensive introduction to the principles and practice of clinical oncology, for medical undergraduates and clinicians who want to increase their understanding of the challenges of managing patients with cancer. Including questions for self assessment by the same authors, the reader can learn and test themselves on all aspects of cancer medicine, from epidemiology, aetiology, pathogenesis and presentation, through to diagnosis, staging, management and prognosis.
Critical reflection in practice; generating knowledge for care by 
TNM Atlas by
The complete, authoritative TNM cancer classification and staging system--now illustrated with new, full-colour figures for fast, effective, anatomical referencing Referring to "Tumour," "Node," and "Metastasis," the TNM system is the most widely used means for classifying and staging the extent of cancer spread. Published in affiliation with the Union for International Cancer Control (UICC), TNM Atlas, Sixth Edition presents the illustrated version of the TNM Classification of Malignant Tumours, Seventh Edition, promoting the uniform application of the TNM classification in cancer practice. Utilizing beautiful, full-colour medical artwork--illustrating the T and N categories in clear, easily understood graphics--this book aides in the practical application of the TNM classification system. It enables all disciplines involved in cancer classification, staging, and treatment to reach a more standardized understanding and documentation of the anatomical spread of tumours, and further enhances the dissemination and use of the TNM classification. The TNM Atlas, Sixth Edition: * Is based upon the very latest TNM Classification data available in TNM Classification of Malignant Tumours, Seventh Edition * Features over 500 full-colour figures that clearly illustrate and highlight anatomical sites of cancer involvement * Makes TNM classification even more clinically applicable in the day-to-day environment * Is an extremely useful tool for clinical reference, teaching, discussion, and patient education Based in Geneva, the UICC is one of the most widely affiliated cancer organisations in the world, with its core mission being cancer classification and control. Its TNM Atlas, Sixth Edition is a valuable reference for all medical, surgical, and radiation oncologists, anatomical and surgical pathologists, cancer registrars, oncology nurses and physician extenders, international cancer care centres, and governmental and NGOs dedicated to cancer control. This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from Google Play.
Walter and Miller's Textbook of Radiotherapy: Radiation Physics, Therapy and Oncology by
Walter and Miller's Textbook of Radiotherapy is a key textbook for therapeutic radiography students as well as trainee clinical and medical oncologists, clinical physicists and technologists. The book is divided into 2 sections. The first section covers physics and provides a comprehensive review of radiotherapy physics. This section is designed to be non-physicist friendly, to simply and clearly explain the physical principles upon which radiotherapy and its technology are based. The second section is a systematic review by tumour site giving an up to date summary of radiotherapy practice. The title also covers the place of chemotherapy, surgery and non-radiotherapy treatments as well as the principles of cancer patient treatment including supportive care and palliative treatments. It is a comprehensive must-have resource for anyone studying therapeutic radiotherapy. Highly illustrated in full colour including 350 photographs. Clearly and simply explains the fundamental physics for clinicians Gives an up to date summary of radiotherapy practice organised by tumour site making it very easy to navigate. Describes the wide range of devices and clearly explains the principles behind their operation. Comprehensively explains the calculation models of dose predictions for treatment preparation. Heavy emphasis on how clinical trials have influenced current practice. Shows how radiobiological knowledge has influenced current practice such as the fractionation regimens for breast and prostate cancer Proton therapy; machines, dose measurement, covering the clinical advantages and pitfalls of this treatment modality. New radiotherapy modalities such as stereotactic radiotherapy, types of intensity modulated radiotherapy and imaged guided radiotherapy are comprehensively covered as are recent advances in chemotherapy and molecular targeted therapy. In depth coverage of dose measurement and new devices.
Reflective Practice for Healthcare Professionals by
"This detailed, practical guide to reflective practice has relevance to all healthcare practitioners. Taylor offers readers her REFLECT model to guide them through the process of reflection... Throughout she uses a wide variety of techniques to explain and illustrate what to expect and how to adapt and accommodate to different circumstances and preferences... This book has such depth and detail and yet at the same time is practical and written in plain language. There is literally something for everyone..." Canadian Journal of Occupational Therapy, April 2011 78(2) "Taylor reveals how reflection and contemplation creatively welds the everyday working day world to a myriad of cultural, ethical, moral and managerial challenges. This book offers the beginning practitioner a broad understanding of why conscious awareness of one's thinking matters. Taylor's insight reveals her deep thoughtfulness as a meticulous researcher, supervisor and mentor and her guidelines will ground you in shaping your own development as a researcher in practice." Dr Margaret Martin, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand "Reflection, as a process of critical self-evaluation, continues to grow and be recognised as a successful,approach to improving, changing and managing healthcare practice. This latest text by Taylor is a welcome addition to the increasing body of knowledge on the subject. She writes, as always, with exceptional clarity and manages to combine practical guidance with experiential insights and theoretical frameworks. Highlighting the importance of ordinary human communication for all healthcare professionals, Taylor's text and presence is anything but ordinary." Professor Dawn Freshwater, University of Leeds, UK "This book is about more than reflection, it is about a philosophy of nursing that Taylor has espoused throughout her career, and it makes a connection with the reader in a way that many books do not.This is a must-have book for all who wish to move their practice forwards." Joanne Pike, Senior Lecturer, NEWI, North Wales This popular book provides practical guidance for healthcare professionals wishing to reflect on their work and improve the way they undertake clinical procedures, interact with other people at work and deal with power issues. The new edition has been broadened in focus from nurses and midwives exclusively, to include all healthcare professionals. Practice stories by a variety of healthcare professionals are interweaved throughout the book to illustrate reflective practice and 'author's reflections' boxes are used to illustrate the author's experience of reflective practice. The book contains a clear and comprehensive description of: The fundamentals of reflective practice and how and why it is embraced in healthcare professions Strategies for effective reflection Systematic approaches to technical, practical and emancipatory reflection A step-by-step guide to applying the Taylor REFLECT model This edition also introduces the concept of 'ordinariness' in health care, which used consciously with the reflective practice processes in this book should increase the likelihood that patients receiving healthcare will feel acknowledged, heard and comforted as intelligent human beings.
