Welcome to the reading list for your Living Well With and Beyond Cancer module.
Issues of Cancer Survivorship by Kantor, D.; Suzan, Z.Issues of Cancer Survivorship brings much-needed, expert guidance to the challenges of cancer care. This all-new, standardized text fully addresses the psychosocial issues experienced by the patient and interdisciplinary collaboration, covering areas such as psychological distress, short- and long-term effects of treatments, body image issues, and family relationships. This vital guide should be read by all nurses, and is indispensable to those seeking to provide the holistic care now increasingly required in oncology services. You'll benefit from experienced guidance through all aspects of cancer survivor care, including . . . Coverage of survivorship topics - Definition of cancer survivor; phases of cancer survivorship Coverage of cancer management topics: Clinical manifestations of cancer treatments - Nausea, vomiting, fatigue Psychological distress - Contributing factors; anxiety; depression Screening/assessment guidelines; National Comprehensive Care Network care guidelines Coverage of psychosocial issues: Personal concerns - Finances; family relationships; social support; medical treatments; spirituality/religion; fear of recurrence Short- and long-term effects of surgery, chemotherapy, and radiation - Temporary and permanent disability; body changes; bone health; end-of-life issues Coverage of pediatric cancer survivor issues: Long-term effects and secondary cancers resulting from treatment Specific needs of pediatric long-term survivors Impact on immediate family Developmental differences of pediatric patients Nursing theories - Helping patients deal with: uncertainty of outcomes; unpleasant symptoms; transitions; adaptations; increasing resiliency Coverage of health care team members roles and collaboration, including: The roles and responsibilities of oncology nurse navigators, oncology case managers, oncology clinical nurse specialists, mental health nurses, social workers, and clergy Pain and palliative care teams Survivorship care plan Chapter features include: key words, learning objectives, and case studies with thinking questions to help you absorb content
The Topic of Cancer by Burke, J.This book focuses on our emotional responses to cancer by offering a range of perspectives: psychoanalytic, medical, spiritual and religious, as well as literary. Once suppressed, akin to a taboo, the topic of cancer is now very much in the public consciousness. The prevalence of the disease and well-publicised medical advances in its treatment demand it.Topic of Cancer begins with Freud's cancer, widely known of but rarely understood in its historic and analytic context. Psychotherapeutic reflections are then offered on our understanding of the adult and adolescent with cancer, and the challenges of sustaining a thoughtful presence in the face of the trauma experienced when a child is diagnosed with cancer, and during treatment. The dilemmas and challenges faced by today's psychotherapist with cancer are explored next and, for the first time in cancer literature, an account of the emotional demands on nurses involved in sensitive, intimate care. With an increasing number of people living longer with cancer, "survivorship" and palliative care are the focus of the chapters that follow.As cancer is not the domain of any one discipline, Topic of Cancer looks next at the nature of religious and spiritual experience in addressing the psychological needs of people with cancer, and then considers how a poet might address painful experience, such as having to confront the possibility of approaching death. Lastly the cancer memoir is explored as an increasingly contemporary means of coming to terms with the "Emperor of all maladies".
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology by Katzung, B.G. ; Trevor, A.J.The most up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative pharmacology text in health medicine--enhanced by a new full-color illustrations Organized to reflect the syllabi in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, Fourteenth Edition covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors' many years' experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, and case studies that introduce clinical problems in many chapters. Presented in full color and enhanced by more than three hundred illustrations (many new to this edition), Basic & Clinical Pharmacology features numerous summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. * Student-acclaimed summary tables conclude each chapter * Everything students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice * Strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes * NEW! 100 new drug tables * Includes 330 full-color illustrations, case studies, and chapter-ending summary tables * Organized to reflect the syllabi of pharmacology courses * Descriptions of important new drugs
Rang and Dale's Pharmacology 8th edn. by Rang, H.P. ; Ritter, J.M. ; Flower, R.J. ; Henderson, G.For 25 years, Rang and Dale's Pharmacology has delivered the core basic and clinical science information required by students and healthcare practitioners worldwide. Authors H. P. Rang, J. M. Ritter, R. J. Flower, and G. Henderson have ensured that the 8th Edition of this easy-to-read, comprehensive text continues the tradition of excellence with new coverage of drugs affecting the skin and new components online at Student Consult. Get the essential pharmacology information you need from one authoritative source with an outstanding global reputation for excellence. Progress confidently through all relevant aspects of pharmacology, beginning with a molecular understanding of receptors and drug actions through clinical uses of key groups of drugs. Find important content quickly thanks to a color-coded layout that enables easy navigation and cross-referencing. Master difficult concepts with Key Points boxes, Clinical Uses boxes, and full-color illustrations throughout. Stay up to date with new information in the field, including an all-new chapter on drugs that affect the skin. Take advantage of new and unique features online, including 500+ chapter-specific multiple choice questions for immediate self-assessment. eBook version included! For the first time, you can access the entire book online or offline across all devices with the Student Consult eBook! Build your basic and clinical pharmacology knowledge with a comprehensive yet easy-to-use text