Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Oncology, Anatomy & Radiotherapy 2 reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Clinical Anatomy. 13th edn. by THE THIRTEENTH EDITION OF THE CLASSIC TEXTBOOK, FIRST PUBLISHED IN 1960 Written by one of the great teachers of anatomy, the thirteenth edition of Clinical Anatomy continues to provide thousands of medical students, postgraduate trainees and junior doctors across the world with essential anatomical information within a clinical setting. It is particularly appropriate for those preparing for the Intercollegiate Membership Examination of the Royal Colleges of Surgeons (I-MRCS). Professor Harold Ellis is again joined by Professor Vishy Mahadevan to provide detailed, easy-to-follow structured text suitable for anatomy students and trainees of all levels. Fully revised and updated with many new illustrations, this new edition features for the first time, several anatomical drawings overlaid on a living anatomy model to provide detailed topographical orientation and accurate surface representation. The companion website at www.ellisclinicalanatomy.co.uk/13edition contains digital flashcards of all the illustrations and photographs contained in the book - ideal for revision and teaching purposes.
Call Number: 611 ELL + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Practical Clinical Oncology. 2nd ed. by Practical Clinical Oncology, 2nd edition, provides a practical and comprehensive review of the current management of common types of cancer. Introductory chapters give background information on the main treatment modalities and other key issues such as acute oncology, palliative care and clinical research, with new chapters on pathology and advanced external beam radiotherapy. Subsequent chapters describe the diagnosis and treatment of malignancies, based on tumour site or type. Finally, multiple choice questions allow the reader to test their knowledge. This edition has been fully updated to reflect the most current developments in radiotherapy, tumour biology and drug therapy. With an emphasis on practical aspects of cancer care that will be relevant to day-to-day decision making, this book is an invaluable resource on contemporary clinical management of the cancer patient for all trainees and practitioners involved in clinical oncology, medical oncology and palliative care, as well as for specialist nurses and radiographers.
Call Number: 616.994 HAN
Publication Date: 2015
External Beam Therapy by External beam therapy is the most common form of radiotherapy, delivering ionizing radiation such as high-energy x-rays, gamma rays, or electron beams directly into the location of the patient's tumour. Now in its third edition, this book is an essential, practical guide to external beamradiotherapy planning and delivery, covering the rapid technological advances made in recent years.The initial chapters give a detailed insight into the fundamentals of clinical radiotherapy. This is followed by systematic details for each tumour site commonly treated with radiotherapy, covering indications, treatment, and planning. The final chapter covers the all important aspect of qualityassurance in radiotherapy delivery.This third edition has been fully updated and revised to reflect new techniques, including details of intensity modulated radiotherapy (IMRT), image guided radiotherapy (IGRT), stereotactic body radiotherapy (SBRT), and proton therapy.Written by experts in each field, External Beam Therapy is an invaluable companion to professionals and trainees in medical physics, therapeutic radiology, and clinical or radiation oncology.ABOUT THE SERIESRadiotherapy remains the major non-surgical treatment modality for the management of malignant disease. It is based on the application of the principles of applied physics, radiobiology, and tumour biology to clinical practice. Each volume in the series takes the reader through the basic principlesof the use of ionizing radiation and then develops this by individual sites. This series of practical handbooks is aimed at physicians both training and practising in radiotherapy, as well as medical physics, dosimetrists, radiographers, and senior nurses.
Call Number: 616.99406 HOS + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Walter and Miller's Textbook of Radiotherapy: Radiation Physics, Therapy and Oncology by Walter and Miller's Textbook of Radiotherapy is a key textbook for therapeutic radiography students as well as trainee clinical and medical oncologists, clinical physicists and technologists. The book is divided into 2 sections. The first section covers physics and provides a comprehensive review of radiotherapy physics. This section is designed to be non-physicist friendly, to simply and clearly explain the physical principles upon which radiotherapy and its technology are based. The second section is a systematic review by tumour site giving an up to date summary of radiotherapy practice. The title also covers the place of chemotherapy, surgery and non-radiotherapy treatments as well as the principles of cancer patient treatment including supportive care and palliative treatments. It is a comprehensive must-have resource for anyone studying therapeutic radiotherapy. Highly illustrated in full colour including 350 photographs. Clearly and simply explains the fundamental physics for clinicians Gives an up to date summary of radiotherapy practice organised by tumour site making it very easy to navigate. Describes the wide range of devices and clearly explains the principles behind their operation. Comprehensively explains the calculation models of dose predictions for treatment preparation. Heavy emphasis on how clinical trials have influenced current practice. Shows how radiobiological knowledge has influenced current practice such as the fractionation regimens for breast and prostate cancer Proton therapy; machines, dose measurement, covering the clinical advantages and pitfalls of this treatment modality. New radiotherapy modalities such as stereotactic radiotherapy, types of intensity modulated radiotherapy and imaged guided radiotherapy are comprehensively covered as are recent advances in chemotherapy and molecular targeted therapy. In depth coverage of dose measurement and new devices.
Call Number: 616.99406 SYM + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Cancer and Its Management. 7th ed. by Now in its seventh edition, this highly-regarded book is designed as an introductory and reference text on the principles of diagnosis, staging, and treatment of tumors. As for the last 6 editions of the book, the aim and scope of the new edition are once again to provide a thorough yet reasonably brief account of the whole field of oncology, focusing on the latest principles of cancer management.
The book is already well established, having been first published in 1986 and in continuous print since then. The authors are rightfully proud of their strong legacy of providing carefully revised new editions of this standard and well-received cancer text for audiences in the UK and abroad. Oncology is a very rapidly changing speciality, with many new treatments and even treatment modalities coming on stream with bewildering speed. Besides a thorough general updating of the text, figures, and tables, the new seventh edition adds a new chapter on Molecular Targeted Therapy, making the book 30 chapters in total. This accessible and practical resource is invaluable to trainees and specialists alike in oncology, palliative care and general medicine, as well as specialist nurses, general practitioners, medical students, and professions allied to medicine.
Call Number: 616.994 TOB + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Principles of Anatomy and Physiology by The phenomenally successful Principles of Anatomy and Physiology continues to set the discipline standard with the 15th edition. Designed for the 2-semester anatomy and physiology course, Principles of Anatomy and Physiology combines exceptional content and outstanding visuals for a rich and comprehensive classroom experience. Enhanced for a digital delivery, the 15th edition, gives students the ability to learn and explore anatomy and physiology both inside and outside of the classroom.
Call Number: 612 TOR
Publication Date: 2017
Practical Radiotherapy Planning by Planning is a critical stage of radiotherapy. Careful consideration of the complex variables involved and critical assessment of the techniques available are fundamental to good and effective practice. First published in 1985, Practical Radiotherapy Planning has, over three editions, established itself as the popular choice for the trainee raditation oncologist and radiographer, providing the 'nuts and bolts' of planning in a practical and accessible manner. This fourth edition encompasses a wealth of new material, reflecting the radical change in the practice of radiotherapy in recent years. The information contained within the introductory chapters has been expanded and brought up to date, and a new chapter on patient management has been added. CT stimulators, MLC shieldings and dose profiles, principles of IMRT, and use of MRI, PET and ultrasound are all included, amongst other new developments in this field. The aim of the book remains unchanged. Complexity of treatment planning has increased greatly, but the fourth edition continues to emphasise underlying principles of treatment that can be applied for conventional, conformal and novel treatments, taking into account advances in imaging and treatment delivery.
Call Number: 615.842 BAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Oncology by Cancer is one of the most exciting specialties in medicine. This book aspires to convey the authors' enthusiasm for oncology and this new edition of Oncology Lecture Notes is a must for students and trainees. There has been a revolution in the practice of oncology. The changes are due to amazing advances in basic science, and the development of new drugs and successful immunisation programmes that have followed. Cancer death rates have fallen and this is in part due to radical new treatments, effective screening programmes, and also, as a result of popular movements for change in patient care, and decreased exposure to carcinogens. Completely revised and updated, this new edition of Oncology Lecture Notes describes advances in molecular biology research and highlights the importance of patient perspectives in cancer care. The text includes many new figures and tables, an update of molecular biology and highlights new treatments. With learning objectives and key point summaries in each chapter, Oncology Lecture Notes is an ideal introduction to the biological basis and principles of treatment in oncology. Includes a companion website at www.lecturenoteseries.com/oncology featuring cases and self-assessment MCQs
Call Number: 616.994 BOW + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Oxford Handbook of Oncology by Now fully revised and in its fourth edition, the Oxford Handbook of Oncology has been the essential go-to guide for students and practitioners in oncology for over a decade. The scientific basis and diagnosis of cancers is covered, as well as drugs, biomarkers, and the presentation andpsychosocial aspects of oncology. Concise, practical, and comprehensive, there is no better companion for both common conditions and challenging emergencies.The field of oncology has surged forward since the last edition was published and the Oxford Handbook of Oncology has been fully revised and updated to reflect these recent advances so you can be sure that the vital information you need is in your hands. This handbook incorporates changes such asthe understanding of the science of cancer, novel therapies in breast, lung, renal, and melanoma, molecular sub-classification of common solid cancers, personalized therapy approaches, new agents in hard to treat cancers, the benefits of new technologies in radiotherapy, and the emerging data on theimportance of the immune response.Written by experts in the field to ensure that it is grounded in real life clinical practice, this handbook provides a concise guide to all aspects of oncology for all students, nurses, and junior faculty responsible for the care of cancer patients, while also providing further reading andhighlighting areas of controversy for those who need a more detailed understanding.
Call Number: 616.994 CAS + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Human Sectional Anatomy by First published in 1991, Human Sectional Anatomy set new standards for the quality of cadaver sections and accompanying radiological images. Now in its fourth edition, this unsurpassed quality remains and is further enhanced by the addition of new material. The superb full-colour cadaver sections are compared with CT and MRI images, with accompanying, labelled, line diagrams. Many of the radiological images have been replaced with new examples for this latest edition, captured using the most up-to date imaging technologies to ensure excellent visualization of the anatomy. The photographic material is enhanced by useful notes with details of important anatomical and radiological features. Beautifully presented in a generous format, Human Sectional Anatomy continues to be an invaluable resource for all radiologists, radiographers, surgeons and medics, in training and in practice, and an essential component of departmental and general medical library collections.
Call Number: 611 ELL + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Radiotherapy in Practice - Imaging by Imaging is a critical component in the delivery of radiotherapy to patients with malignancy, and this book teaches the principles and practice of imaging specific to radiotherapy. Introductory chapters outline the basic principles of the available imaging modalities including x-rays, ultrasound, CT, MR, nuclear medicine, and PET. Site specific chapters then cover the main tumour sites, reviewing optimal imaging techniques for diagnosis, staging, radiotherapyplanning, and follow-up for each site. Chapters are co-authored by oncologists and radiologists specialising in a specific area to provide an authoritative view on the role of imaging in the patient'sjourney and examples of relevant images are provided throughout. The important areas of radiation protection, exposure justification, and risks, are also comprehensively covered, exploring issues such as balancing radiation exposure with long-term risks of radiation effects such as second cancer induction.
Call Number: 615.842 HOS + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Women's Cancers by Patients with breast and gynaecological cancers have to contend with a large number of difficult and challenging issues. To help them to do this it is vital that their health carers are fully informed in all aspects of women's cancers. This book provides a comprehensive and meaningful picture of this oncological area, including epidemiology, histopathology, staging, genetic predisposition, sexual function, fertility, treatment and management, survivorship, and palliative care. To give this book added credibility and holistic application, contributions of women with cancer have been included, and the text is interspersed with patient accounts and experiences. Women's Cancers is essential reading for all nurses and health care professionals working in cancer care settings, as well as patients and families.
Call Number: 616.9940082 KEE
Publication Date: 2011
Contemporary Issues in Women's Cancers by Contemporary Issues in Women's Cancers addresses the incidence, prevalence, assessment, diagnosis and treatment of cancers specific to women--in particular, gynecological cancers. This new resource provides nurses with a comprehensive, up to date, ready reference that will enhance their clinical practice, and help them treat their patients amidst not only the changing healthcare system in US, but also the changing ways in which cancer is diagnosed and treated. Expert authors, all member of the SGNO, offer their expertise in exploring the psychological issues associated with having cancer, and offer insight on providing assistance and resources to the individuals and families facing this disease. Every health care provider who uses this text will grow and expand their knowledge, their care and their service to their patients
Call Number: 616.9940082 LOC
Publication Date: 2009
Bladder Cancer by Bladder Cancer: Diagnosis and Clinical Management is a 100% clinically-focused guide to bladder cancer, providing practical, modern and evidence-based guidance to the latest in diagnosis and management of the condition. It differs from other books in its complete clinical focus as opposed to a heavy analysis of pathogenesis or basic science. As a result, practicing urologists and oncologists in the clinical setting will find it an essential resource to consult. In addition to the latest in diagnostic tools and imaging methods, core focus is on the management of each form of cancer at its various stages with up to date genomic data and targeted therapies. Both drug therapies and the range of surgical options are covered, ensuring that this is the perfect tool for clinicians to consult when considering which type of management program is appropriate for each individual patient. A key addition is the final section dedicated to optimizing health care delivery, featuring chapters on highly topical issues such as quality of life, patient advocacy and surgical education. Full color throughout, and packed with excellent images, each chapter contains concise and didactic practical tips and tricks to enrich the reading experience, in addition to management algorithms and the very latest guidelines from the ASCO, AUA, ESMO and EAU concerning clinical management of bladder cancer.
Call Number: 616.99462 LER + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Clinical Oncology by A clear and comprehensive introduction to the principles and practice of clinical oncology, for medical undergraduates and clinicians who want to increase their understanding of the challenges of managing patients with cancer. Including questions for self assessment by the same authors, the reader can learn and test themselves on all aspects of cancer medicine, from epidemiology, aetiology, pathogenesis and presentation, through to diagnosis, staging, management and prognosis.
Call Number: 616.994 NEA + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Cancer Chemotherapy in Clinical Practice by A simple introduction explaining the broad principles underlying chemotherapy, this book gives trainees a framework within which they can place the specific aspects of cancer chemotherapy they encounter in their everyday experience. The first part of this book is unique in explaining the recent developments in the field in terms of their point of action in the natural history of cancer. The second and third sections contain a more straightforward description of practical aspects of chemotherapy, and the current place of drug treatment in everyday cancer management, including the outcomes of that treatment.
Call Number: 616.994061 PRI + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
TNM Atlas by The complete, authoritative TNM cancer classification and staging system--now illustrated with new, full-colour figures for fast, effective, anatomical referencing Referring to "Tumour," "Node," and "Metastasis," the TNM system is the most widely used means for classifying and staging the extent of cancer spread. Published in affiliation with the Union for International Cancer Control (UICC), TNM Atlas, Sixth Edition presents the illustrated version of the TNM Classification of Malignant Tumours, Seventh Edition, promoting the uniform application of the TNM classification in cancer practice. Utilizing beautiful, full-colour medical artwork--illustrating the T and N categories in clear, easily understood graphics--this book aides in the practical application of the TNM classification system. It enables all disciplines involved in cancer classification, staging, and treatment to reach a more standardized understanding and documentation of the anatomical spread of tumours, and further enhances the dissemination and use of the TNM classification. The TNM Atlas, Sixth Edition: * Is based upon the very latest TNM Classification data available in TNM Classification of Malignant Tumours, Seventh Edition * Features over 500 full-colour figures that clearly illustrate and highlight anatomical sites of cancer involvement * Makes TNM classification even more clinically applicable in the day-to-day environment * Is an extremely useful tool for clinical reference, teaching, discussion, and patient education Based in Geneva, the UICC is one of the most widely affiliated cancer organisations in the world, with its core mission being cancer classification and control. Its TNM Atlas, Sixth Edition is a valuable reference for all medical, surgical, and radiation oncologists, anatomical and surgical pathologists, cancer registrars, oncology nurses and physician extenders, international cancer care centres, and governmental and NGOs dedicated to cancer control. This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from Google Play.
Call Number: 616.9940012 WIT + eBook
Publication Date: 2014