Welcome to your Radiotherapy Physics and Technology 1 reading list. Here you will find the materials to assist you throughout this module.
Practical Radiotherapy by Cherry, P.; Duxbury, A. M.Now in its third edition, Practical Radiotherapy continues to keep pace with current and emerging technologies, patient pathways, and the rapidly expanding role of therapeutic radiographers. Extensively revised and updated, this accessible book examines all the essential aspects of radiotherapy, from the physics and mathematics of radiation beams, to in-depth descriptions of the equipment used by radiotherapy practitioners, to new and expanded coverage of MR-linac and Halcyon technology, proton therapy, stereotactic body radiotherapy, sealed-source verification and quality assurance for MV equipment. Covers all the core information essential to radiotherapy practice Describes the major aspects of therapeutic radiography in a practical context Includes images, diagrams, supplemental reading suggestions and more radiotherapy-specific examples Features expanded coverage of legislation, advanced treatment delivery, flattening filter free treatment and more Practical Radiotherapy is a valuable resource for radiotherapy and medical physics students, radiotherapists, therapeutic radiographers, radiation therapists, clinical oncologists and oncology nurses.
External Beam Therapy by Hoskin, P.External beam therapy is the most common form of radiotherapy, delivering ionizing radiation such as high-energy x-rays, gamma rays, or electron beams directly into the location of the patient's tumour. Now in its third edition, this book is an essential, practical guide to external beamradiotherapy planning and delivery, covering the rapid technological advances made in recent years.The initial chapters give a detailed insight into the fundamentals of clinical radiotherapy. This is followed by systematic details for each tumour site commonly treated with radiotherapy, covering indications, treatment, and planning. The final chapter covers the all important aspect of qualityassurance in radiotherapy delivery.This third edition has been fully updated and revised to reflect new techniques, including details of intensity modulated radiotherapy (IMRT), image guided radiotherapy (IGRT), stereotactic body radiotherapy (SBRT), and proton therapy.Written by experts in each field, External Beam Therapy is an invaluable companion to professionals and trainees in medical physics, therapeutic radiology, and clinical or radiation oncology.ABOUT THE SERIESRadiotherapy remains the major non-surgical treatment modality for the management of malignant disease. It is based on the application of the principles of applied physics, radiobiology, and tumour biology to clinical practice. Each volume in the series takes the reader through the basic principlesof the use of ionizing radiation and then develops this by individual sites. This series of practical handbooks is aimed at physicians both training and practising in radiotherapy, as well as medical physics, dosimetrists, radiographers, and senior nurses.
Call Number: 616.99406 HOS + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Radioisotope Therapy by Hoskin, P.J. (Editor)Radioisotope therapy is an internal form of radiation used to treat cancer; it may be administered orally or intravenously and represents the nearest treatment option to the 'magic bullet', specifically targeting sites of disease whilst sparing surrounding normal tissues. Radioisotope therapyhas an important role to play in modern medicine, particularly in the treatment of thyroid disease, neuroendocrine tumours, bone metastasis and non-Hodgkin's lymphoma. It is found in both the diagnostic setting and in therapy, but recently there has been a renaissance in the application ofradioisotope unsealed sources in therapeutic indications. It is an active area of research, with the quest for new compounds that will be specific for therapeutic targets. This book is an essential, practical guide to the use of radioisotope therapy, and also includes the background and developmental biology which underpins its use. Individual tumours and diseases are explored, with specific focus given to radioisotope treatment options. The barriers to radioisotopetherapy, such as ease of access, acquisition of radioisotopes, radiation protection regulations, and cost are also discussed. ABOUT THE SERIES Radiotherapy remains the major non-surgical treatment modality for the management of malignant disease, with over 50% of patients receiving treatment at some time during the management of their malignant disease. It is based on the application of the principles of applied physics, radiobiology, andtumour biology to clinical practice. Each volume in this series takes the reader through the basic principles of different types of radiotherapy, and then develops these by individual sites. This series of practical handbooks are aimed at physicians both training and practising in radiotherapy, aswell as medical physicists, dosimetrists, radiographers and senior nurses.
Walter and Miller's textbook of radiotherapy: radiation physics, therapy and oncology. by Symonds. R. P.; Mills. J. M.Walter and Miller's Textbook of Radiotherapy is a key textbook for therapeutic radiography students as well as trainee clinical and medical oncologists, clinical physicists and technologists. The book is divided into 2 sections. The first section covers physics and provides a comprehensive review of radiotherapy physics. This section is designed to be non-physicist friendly, to simply and clearly explain the physical principles upon which radiotherapy and its technology are based. The second section is a systematic review by tumour site giving an up to date summary of radiotherapy practice. The title also covers the place of chemotherapy, surgery and non-radiotherapy treatments as well as the principles of cancer patient treatment including supportive care and palliative treatments. It is a comprehensive must-have resource for anyone studying therapeutic radiotherapy. Highly illustrated in full colour including 350 photographs. Clearly and simply explains the fundamental physics for clinicians Gives an up to date summary of radiotherapy practice organised by tumour site making it very easy to navigate. Describes the wide range of devices and clearly explains the principles behind their operation. Comprehensively explains the calculation models of dose predictions for treatment preparation. Heavy emphasis on how clinical trials have influenced current practice. Shows how radiobiological knowledge has influenced current practice such as the fractionation regimens for breast and prostate cancer Proton therapy; machines, dose measurement, covering the clinical advantages and pitfalls of this treatment modality. New radiotherapy modalities such as stereotactic radiotherapy, types of intensity modulated radiotherapy and imaged guided radiotherapy are comprehensively covered as are recent advances in chemotherapy and molecular targeted therapy. In depth coverage of dose measurement and new devices.