Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Radiotherapy Planning reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Principles and Application of Radiological Physics. 6th edn. by Printed book plus Pageburst access - you will receive a printed book and access to the complete book content electronically. Pageburst enhances learning by not only bringing world class content to your fingertips but also letting you add to it, annotate it, and categorize it all in a way that suits you. Pageburst frees you to spend more time learning and less time searching. Principles and Application of Radiological Physics 6E provides comprehensive and easy-to-follow coverage of the principles and application of physics for both diagnostic and therapeutic radiography students. Regardless of changes in technology and clinical grading, the most important role of the radiographer remains unchanged - ensuring the production of high quality images and optimal treatment. These should be performed with the minimum of radiation hazard to patients, staff and others. An understanding of physics and the basics of radiographic technology is essential to do this effectively. The book covers all the physics and mathematics required by undergraduate diagnostic and therapeutic radiography students, catering for those who do not have a mathematics qualification as well as for those who do. NEW TO THIS EDITION: A focus upon application of physics to reflect current teaching approaches Completely revised structure, leading from science principles to applications New chapters on CT, MRI, ultrasound, PET, RNI, mammography and digital imaging Electronic learning resources for students, hosted on EVOLVE *Strong links between theory and practice throughout *Clear and concise text Focus on application of physics, as well as principles New, updated 2-colour design New Sections - Equipment for X-ray production, The Radiographic Image and Diagnostic Imaging Technologies Electronic learning resources for students support the text
Call Number: 616.0757 GRA + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Imaging by Imaging is a critical component in the delivery of radiotherapy to patients with malignancy, and this book teaches the principles and practice of imaging specific to radiotherapy. Introductory chapters outline the basic principles of the available imaging modalities including x-rays,ultrasound, CT, MR, nuclear medicine, and PET. Site specific chapters then cover the main tumour sites, reviewing optimal imaging techniques for diagnosis, staging, radiotherapy planning, and follow-up for each site. Chapters are co-authored by oncologists and radiologists specialising in a specificarea to provide an authoritative view on the role of imaging in the patient's journey and examples of relevant images are provided throughout. The important areas of radiation protection, exposure justification, and risks, are also comprehensively covered, exploring issues such as balancingradiation exposure with long-term risks of radiation effects such as second cancer induction.About the Series:Radiotherapy remains the major non-surgical treatment modality for the management of malignant disease, with over 50% of patients receiving treatment at some time during the management of their disease. It is based on the application of the principles of applied physics, radiobiology, and tumourbiology to clinical practice. Volumes in this series take the reader through the basic principles of different types of radiotherapy or components of radiotherapy, and then develop this by individual sites. This series of practical handbooks are aimed at physicians both in training and practisingradiotherapy, as well as medical physicists, dosimetrists, radiographers and senior nurses.
Call Number: 615.842 HOS + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Human Sectional Anatomy. 4th edn. by First published in 1991, Human Sectional Anatomy set new standards for the quality of cadaver sections and accompanying radiological images. Now in its fourth edition, this unsurpassed quality remains and is further enhanced by the addition of new material. The superb full-colour cadaver sections are compared with CT and MRI images, with accompanying, labelled, line diagrams. Many of the radiological images have been replaced with new examples for this latest edition, captured using the most up-to date imaging technologies to ensure excellent visualization of the anatomy. The photographic material is enhanced by useful notes with details of important anatomical and radiological features. Beautifully presented in a generous format, Human Sectional Anatomy continues to be an invaluable resource for all radiologists, radiographers, surgeons and medics, in training and in practice, and an essential component of departmental and general medical library collections.
Call Number: 611 ELL + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
External Beam Therapy. 2nd edn. by External beam therapy is the most common form of radiotherapy, delivering ionizing radiation such as high-energy x-rays, gamma rays or electron beams directly into the location of the patient's tumour. External Beam Therapy, Second Edition is an essential, practical guide to the use ofexternal beam radiotherapy, highlighting the rapid technological advances made in recent years. It provides a firm background to the physics of external beam radiotherapy, taking the reader through the basic principles and discussing issues such as quality assurance. Experts within each field then expand upon techniques for treatment delivery within each anatomical site, covering indications, treatment and planning. This new edition also includes information on Stereotactic radiotherapy and coverage on the physics of proton beams. xternal Beam Therapy, SecondEdition is an invaluable companion to trainees in medical physics, therapeutic radiography, and clinical or radiation oncology.ABOUT THE SERIES:Radiotherapy remains the major non-surgical treatment modality for the management of malignant disease. It is based on the application of the principles of applied physics, radiobiology, and tumour biology to clinical practice. Each volume in this series takes the reader through the basic principlesof the use of ionising radiation and then develops this by individual sites. This series of practical handbooks are aimed at physicians both training and practising in radiotherapy, as well as medical physicists, dosimetrists, radiographers and senior nurses.
Call Number: 615.842 HOS + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
PET-CT in Radiotherapy Treatment Planning by Here is an exciting new guide to the use of PET-CT imaging in radiotherapy. You'll get practical, useful information for utilizing this novel imaging technique-from different methods for contouring biological target volumes in various anatomic regions to how different experts use this imaging in targeted treatment. This thorough text helps you make concise, accurate treatment choices based on current evidence and expert authority. The result is an essential tool for everyone on the radiotherapy treatment team in the era of image-guided radiotherapy. Helps familiarize you with the basics of PET imaging in nuclear medicine. Covers the use of PET-CT with radiotherapy treatment planning, offering practical guidance in how different experts use this relatively new technology. Highlights contrast using full-color images, clearly indicating target volumes and different radiation dosages. Outlines the advantages and disadvantages of different techniques in contouring PET-CT target volumes for radiotherapy. Features case illustrations in using PET-CT in radiotherapy treatment planning for different tumor sites.
Call Number: 615.842 PAU
Publication Date: 2008
Applied Physics for Radiation Oncology by The updated, second edition of the textbook Applied Physics for Radiation Oncology, originally published in 1996 is intended for both radiation therapists and students of radiation therapy. Chapters cover treatment planning, photon and electron dosimetry, brachytherapy, methods of dose calculation, isodose curves, beam-modifying devices, patient and beam geometry, radiation protection, and clinical use and operation of linear accelerators. The authors unify the principles of radiation therapy physics with the real world of clinical practice. A must for radiation therapists.
Call Number: 615.842 STA
Publication Date: 2009