Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Radiotherapy Practice 6 reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Clinical Anatomy. 13th edn by Written by one of the great teachers of anatomy, the thirteenth edition of Clinical Anatomy continues to provide thousands of medical students, postgraduate trainees and junior doctors across the world with essential anatomical information within a clinical setting. It is particularly appropriate for those preparing for the Intercollegiate Membership Examination of the Royal Colleges of Surgeons (I-MRCS).
Professor Harold Ellis is again joined by Professor Vishy Mahadevan to provide detailed, easy-to-follow structured text suitable for anatomy students and trainees of all levels.
Fully revised and updated with many new illustrations, this new edition features for the first time, several anatomical drawings overlaid on a living anatomy model to provide detailed topographical orientation and accurate surface representation.
The companion website at www.ellisclinicalanatomy.co.uk/13edition contains digital flashcards of all the illustrations and photographs contained in the book - ideal for revision and teaching purposes.
Call Number: 611 ELL + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Practical Clinical Oncology by Practical Clinical Oncology, 2nd edition, provides a practical and comprehensive review of the current management of common types of cancer. Introductory chapters give background information on the main treatment modalities and other key issues such as acute oncology, palliative care and clinical research, with new chapters on pathology and advanced external beam radiotherapy. Subsequent chapters describe the diagnosis and treatment of malignancies, based on tumour site or type. Finally, multiple choice questions allow the reader to test their knowledge. This edition has been fully updated to reflect the most current developments in radiotherapy, tumour biology and drug therapy. With an emphasis on practical aspects of cancer care that will be relevant to day-to-day decision making, this book is an invaluable resource on contemporary clinical management of the cancer patient for all trainees and practitioners involved in clinical oncology, medical oncology and palliative care, as well as for specialist nurses and radiographers.
Call Number: 616.994 HAN
Publication Date: 2015
External Beam Therapy by External beam therapy is the most common form of radiotherapy, delivering ionizing radiation such as high-energy x-rays, gamma rays, or electron beams directly into the location of the patient's tumour. Now in its third edition, this book is an essential, practical guide to external beamradiotherapy planning and delivery, covering the rapid technological advances made in recent years.The initial chapters give a detailed insight into the fundamentals of clinical radiotherapy. This is followed by systematic details for each tumour site commonly treated with radiotherapy, covering indications, treatment, and planning. The final chapter covers the all important aspect of qualityassurance in radiotherapy delivery.This third edition has been fully updated and revised to reflect new techniques, including details of intensity modulated radiotherapy (IMRT), image guided radiotherapy (IGRT), stereotactic body radiotherapy (SBRT), and proton therapy.Written by experts in each field, External Beam Therapy is an invaluable companion to professionals and trainees in medical physics, therapeutic radiology, and clinical or radiation oncology.ABOUT THE SERIESRadiotherapy remains the major non-surgical treatment modality for the management of malignant disease. It is based on the application of the principles of applied physics, radiobiology, and tumour biology to clinical practice. Each volume in the series takes the reader through the basic principlesof the use of ionizing radiation and then develops this by individual sites. This series of practical handbooks is aimed at physicians both training and practising in radiotherapy, as well as medical physics, dosimetrists, radiographers, and senior nurses.
Call Number: 616.99406 HOS
Publication Date: 2019
Principles of Anatomy and Physiology by The 14th edition of the phenomenally successful Principles of Anatomy and Physiology continues to set the standard for the discipline. The authors have maintained a superb balance between structure and function and continue to emphasize the correlations between normal physiology and pathophysiology, normal anatomy and pathology, and homeostasis and homeostatic imbalances. No other text and package offers a teaching and learning environment as rich and complete.
Call Number: 612 TOR
Publication Date: 2014
Practical Radiotherapy Planning. 4th edn. by Planning is a critical stage of radiotherapy. Careful consideration of the complex variables involved and critical assessment of the techniques available are fundamental to good and effective practice.
First published in 1985, Practical Radiotherapy Planning has, over three editions, established itself as the popular choice for the trainee raditation oncologist and radiographer, providing the 'nuts and bolts' of planning in a practical and accessible manner.
This fourth edition encompasses a wealth of new material, reflecting the radical change in the practice of radiotherapy in recent years. The information contained within the introductory chapters has been expanded and brought up to date, and a new chapter on patient management has been added. CT stimulators, MLC shieldings and dose profiles, principles of IMRT, and use of MRI, PET and ultrasound are all included, amongst other new developments in this field.
The aim of the book remains unchanged. Complexity of treatment planning has increased greatly, but the fourth edition continues to emphasise underlying principles of treatment that can be applied for conventional, conformal and novel treatments, taking into account advances in imaging and treatment delivery.
Call Number: 615.842 BAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Oncology by Cancer is one of the most exciting specialties in medicine. This book aspires to convey the authors' enthusiasm for oncology and this new edition of Oncology Lecture Notes is a must for students and trainees.
There has been a revolution in the practice of oncology. The changes are due to amazing advances in basic science, and the development of new drugs and successful immunisation programmes that have followed. Cancer death rates have fallen and this is in part due to radical new treatments, effective screening programmes, and also, as a result of popular movements for change in patient care, and decreased exposure to carcinogens.
Completely revised and updated, this new edition of Oncology Lecture Notes describes advances in molecular biology research and highlights the importance of patient perspectives in cancer care. The text includes many new figures and tables, an update of molecular biology and highlights new treatments. With learning objectives and key point summaries in each chapter, Oncology Lecture Notes is an ideal introduction to the biological basis and principles of treatment in oncology.
Call Number: 616.994 BOW + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Oxford Handbook of Oncology by Now fully revised and in its fourth edition, the Oxford Handbook of Oncology has been the essential go-to guide for students and practitioners in oncology for over a decade. The scientific basis and diagnosis of cancers is covered, as well as drugs, biomarkers, and the presentation and psychosocial aspects of oncology. Concise, practical, and comprehensive, there is no better companion for both common conditions and challenging emergencies.The field of oncology has surged forward since the last edition was published and the Oxford Handbook of Oncology has been fully revised and updated to reflect these recent advances so you can be sure that the vital information you need is in your hands. This handbook incorporates changes such as the understanding of the science of cancer, novel therapies in breast, lung, renal, and melanoma, molecular sub-classification of common solid cancers, personalised therapy approaches, new agents in hard to treat cancers, the benefits of new technologies in radiotherapy, and the emerging data on the importance of the immune response. Written by experts in the field to ensure that it is grounded in real life clinical practice, this handbook provides a concise guide to all aspects of oncology for all students, nurses, and junior faculty responsible for the care of cancer patients, while also providing further reading and highlighting areas of controversy for those who need a more detailed understanding.New to This Edition:Incorporates novel therapies in breast, lung, renal and melanoma oncologyCovers the emergence of immunotherapy as a real modality
Call Number: 616.994 CAS + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Human Sectional Anatomy. 4th edn. by First published in 1991, Human Sectional Anatomy set new standards for the quality of cadaver sections and accompanying radiological images. Now in its third edition, this unsurpassed quality remains and is further enhanced by some useful new material.
As with the previous editions, the superb full-colour cadaver sections are compared with CT and MRI images, with accompanying, labelled line diagrams. Many of the radiological images have been replaced with new examples, taken on the most up-to date equipment to ensure excellent visualisation of the anatomy. Completely new page spreads have been added to improve the book's coverage, including images taken using multidetector CT technology, and some beautiful 3D volume rendered CT images. The photographic material is enhanced by useful notes, extended for the third edition, with details of important anatomical and radiological features.
Call Number: 611 ELL + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Radiotherapy in Practice - Imaging by Imaging is a critical component in the delivery of radiotherapy to patients with malignancy, and this book teaches the principles and practice of imaging specific to radiotherapy. Introductory chapters outline the basic principles of the available imaging modalities including x-rays, ultrasound, CT, MR, nuclear medicine, and PET. Site specific chapters then cover the main tumour sites, reviewing optimal imaging techniques for diagnosis, staging, radiotherapyplanning, and follow-up for each site. Chapters are co-authored by oncologists and radiologists specialising in a specific area to provide an authoritative view on the role of imaging in the patient'sjourney and examples of relevant images are provided throughout. The important areas of radiation protection, exposure justification, and risks, are also comprehensively covered, exploring issues such as balancing radiation exposure with long-term risks of radiation effects such as second cancer induction.
Call Number: 615.842 HOS + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Clinical Oncology by A clear and comprehensive introduction to the principles and practice of clinical oncology, for medical undergraduates and clinicians who want to increase their understanding of the challenges of managing patients with cancer. Including questions for self assessment by the same authors, the reader can learn and test themselves on all aspects of cancer medicine, from epidemiology, aetiology, pathogenesis and presentation, through to diagnosis, staging, management and prognosis.
Call Number: 616.994 NEA + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Developing Reflective Practice by An essential toolkit that helps students, qualified nurses and other healthcare professionals to become confident reflective practitioners. Developing Reflective Practiceis suitable for students and practitioners in a variety of fields, including nursing, psychology, social work, therapeutic child care, and education. The book offers a simple three-stage reflective cycle that will enable students and practitioners to incorporate reflective practice into their workplace and to help them feel confident and competent when confronted with complex and emotionally demanding situations in their practice. Introduces reflective practice and provides a range of reflective methods and techniques. Invites readers to acquire and develop skills by working through practical reflective activities. Illustrates concepts and techniques with extended worked examples. Encourages structured reflection with journal exercises. Provides practical advice on team working, case supervisionand recognising and avoiding stress and burnout. Students and qualified practitioners will benefit from reading this book and working through the reflective exercises that accompany the text. From Reviews: "...In this book the clinical psychologist Natius Oelofsen describes the processes of learning and the three-step reflective cycle, explaining how keeping a reflective journal offers insights into self and behaviour, and using critical analysis to reflect on even ordinary, everyday incidents. He shows how the insights of understanding help our interactions with patients and colleagues. Reflection helps us work together, offer support and see where we are able to fit in as team members. The chapter 'All for one and one for all: building supportive teams' is particularly illuminating. There is so much in this book, including getting the most from supervision, ethical issues and dealing with work-based stress, as well as exercises, activities and case examples." Nursing Standard, Vol. 26, No. 48, August 2012 "Developing Reflective Practiceis a thorough and concise book enabling students, qualified nurses and any other health professional to become confident reflective practitioners within their own field.... A well-written and educational tool particularly for a nursing student and even a social work student." Nursing Times, 11 October 2012
Call Number: 362.1 OEL + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
PET-CT in Radiotherapy Treatment Planning by Here is an exciting new guide to the use of PET-CT imaging in radiotherapy. You'll get practical, useful information for utilizing this novel imaging technique-from different methods for contouring biological target volumes in various anatomic regions to how different experts use this imaging in targeted treatment. This thorough text helps you make concise, accurate treatment choices based on current evidence and expert authority. The result is an essential tool for everyone on the radiotherapy treatment team in the era of image-guided radiotherapy.
Helps familiarize you with the basics of PET imaging in nuclear medicine.
Covers the use of PET-CT with radiotherapy treatment planning, offering practical guidance in how different experts use this relatively new technology.
Highlights contrast using full-color images, clearly indicating target volumes and different radiation dosages.
Outlines the advantages and disadvantages of different techniques in contouring PET-CT target volumes for radiotherapy.
Features case illustrations in using PET-CT in radiotherapy treatment planning for different tumor sites.
Call Number: 615.842 PAU
Publication Date: 2008
TNM Classification of Malignant Tumours by TNM Classification of Malignant Tumours, 7th Edition provides the latest, internationally agreed-upon standards to describe and categorize cancer stages and progression. Published in affiliation with the International Union Against Cancer (UICC), this authoritative guide contains important updated organ-specific classifications that oncologists and other professionals who manage patients with cancer need to accurately classify tumours for staging, prognosis and treatment. The major alterations addressed in the 7th Edition concern carcinomas of the oesophagus and the gastroesophageal junction, stomach, lung, appendix, biliary tract, skin, and prostate. In addition, there are several entirely new classifications: gastrointestinal carcinoids (neuroendocrine tumours) gastrointestinal stromal tumour upper aerodigestive mucosal melanoma Merkel cell carcinoma uterine sarcomas intrahepatic cholangiocarcinoma adrenal cortical carcinoma. A new approach has also been adopted to separate anatomical stage groupings from prognostic groupings in which other prognostic factors are added to T, N, and M categories. These new prognostic groupings, as well as the traditional anatomical groupings, are presented for oesophageal and prostate carcinomas. Visit www.wileyanduicc.com for more information about the International Journal of Cancer and our other UICC book titles
Call Number: 616.994 SOB + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Walter and Miller's Textbook of Radiotherapy: Radiation Physics, Therapy and Oncology by Walter and Miller's Textbook of Radiotherapy is a key textbook for therapeutic radiography students as well as trainee clinical and medical oncologists, clinical physicists and technologists. The book is divided into 2 sections. The first section covers physics and provides a comprehensive review of radiotherapy physics. This section is designed to be non-physicist friendly, to simply and clearly explain the physical principles upon which radiotherapy and its technology are based. The second section is a systematic review by tumour site giving an up to date summary of radiotherapy practice. The title also covers the place of chemotherapy, surgery and non-radiotherapy treatments as well as the principles of cancer patient treatment including supportive care and palliative treatments. It is a comprehensive must-have resource for anyone studying therapeutic radiotherapy. Highly illustrated in full colour including 350 photographs. Clearly and simply explains the fundamental physics for clinicians Gives an up to date summary of radiotherapy practice organised by tumour site making it very easy to navigate. Describes the wide range of devices and clearly explains the principles behind their operation. Comprehensively explains the calculation models of dose predictions for treatment preparation. Heavy emphasis on how clinical trials have influenced current practice. Shows how radiobiological knowledge has influenced current practice such as the fractionation regimens for breast and prostate cancer Proton therapy; machines, dose measurement, covering the clinical advantages and pitfalls of this treatment modality. New radiotherapy modalities such as stereotactic radiotherapy, types of intensity modulated radiotherapy and imaged guided radiotherapy are comprehensively covered as are recent advances in chemotherapy and molecular targeted therapy. In depth coverage of dose measurement and new devices.
Call Number: 616.99406 SYM + eBook
Publication Date: 2019