Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology by
The seventh edition of Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology provides students with the most readable and comprehensive survey of research methods, statistical concepts and procedures in psychology today. Assuming no prior knowledge, this bestselling text takes you through every stage of your research project giving advice on planning and conducting studies, analysing data and writing up reports. The book provides clear coverage of experimental, interviewing and observational methods, psychological testing, qualitative methods and analysis and statistical procedures which include nominal level tests, multi-factorial ANOVA designs, multiple regression, log linear analysis, and factor analysis.　It features detailed and illustrated SPSS instructions for all these and other procedures, eliminating the need for an extra SPSS textbook. New features to this edition include: Additional coverage of factor analysis and online and modern research methods Expanded coverage of report writing guidelines References updated throughout Presentation updated throughout, to include more figures, tables and full colour to help break up the text Companion website signposted throughout the book to improve student usability Improved and extended web links and further reading associated with every chapter. Each chapter contains a glossary, key terms and newly integrated exercises, ensuring that key concepts are understood. A fully updated companion website (www.routledge.com/cw/coolican) provides additional exercises, testbanks for each chapter, revision flash cards, links to further reading and data for use with SPSS.
Doing a Successful Research Project by
This straightforward, student-friendly guide contains all the practical advice for successfully undertaking a research project, leading students through all the stages of the research process. The second edition of this no-nonsense textbook supports students in conducting their own research projects, whatever discipline they are from. Describing processes, tools and strategies in a simple, succinct way, it supports the reader carefully through the planning and design stages, to implementation, analysis and completion. Doing a Successful Research Project is suitable for an interdisciplinary audience all over the world. It is aimed at undergraduate and postgraduate students undertaking a research project or dissertation across the social sciences, applied social sciences, education, health and business studies. It can also be used as essential or complimentary reading on modules on qualitative and quantitative research and research design.< New to this Edition: - Enhanced coverage of essential topics, including research ethics, the literature review and online methodologies - Increased coverage on quantitative methods - New up-to-date examples of real-life research studies - Broadened scope to encourage appeal to a wide range of academic disciplines
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by
An essential guide for succeeding in today's competitive environment, this book provides beginning scientists and experienced researchers with practical advice on writing about their work and getting published. This brand new, updated edition also includes a new chapter on editing one's own work, a section on publicizing and archiving one's paper, and updates on authorship, including information on new authorship criteria and on the author identification number ORCID. The book guides readers through the processes involved in writing for and publishing in scientific journals, from choosing a suitable journal, to writing each part of the paper, to submitting the paper and responding to peer review, through checking the proofs. It covers ethical issues in scientific publishing, explains rights and permissions, and discusses writing grant proposals, giving presentations and writing for general audiences.
Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics by
With an exciting new look, new characters to meet, and its unique combination of humour and step-by-step instruction, this award-winning book is the statistics lifesaver for everyone. From initial theory through to regression, factor analysis and multilevel modelling, Andy Field animates statistics and SPSS software with his famously bizarre examples and activities. What's brand new: A radical new design with original illustrations and even more colour A maths diagnostic tool to help students establish what areas they need to revise and improve on. A revamped online resource that uses video, case studies, datasets, testbanks and more to help students negotiate project work, master data management techniques, and apply key writing and employability skills New sections on replication, open science and Bayesian thinking Now fully up to date with latest versions of IBM SPSS Statistics©. All the online resources above (video, case studies, datasets, testbanks) can be easily integrated into your institution′s virtual learning environment or learning management system. This allows you to customize and curate content for use in module preparation, delivery and assessment. Please note that ISBN: 9781526445780 comprises the paperback edition of the Fifth Edition and the student version of IBM SPSS Statistics.
Modern Statistics for the Life Sciences by
This textbook teaches statistics in a different way. It is aimed at undergraduate students in the life sciences, and it will also be invaluable for many graduate students. It makes the powerful methods of model formulae and the General Linear Model accessible to undergraduates for the firsttime. The computer revolution has finally made it possible to teach life sciences undergraduates how to use the statistics they really need to know - this book provides the course materials needed to fulfil that possibility. This text presents the fundamental statistical concepts without being tiedto any one statistical package. Three supplements available on the web site provide all the information you need to conduct the analyses in either Minitab, SAS, or SPSS. All datasets are available on the web site.
Research Methods for the Biosciences by
Scientific research is a proven and powerful tool for discovering the answers to biological questions. As such, today's students need to be well-versed in experimental design, analysis, and the communication of research. Furthermore, they must appreciate how all of these aspects areinterlinked - how, for example, statistics can be used to inform the design of a particular experiment. As a resource which skillfully integrates all of the key aspects relating to biological research, Research Methods for the Biosciences is the perfect guide for undergraduates.The exceptionally clear layout takes students through choosing a project and planning their research; collecting, evaluating, and analyzing their data; and finally reporting their results. Research methods, which can often seem abstract, are brought to life through the use of examples taken fromreal undergraduate research. Friendly guidance and advice is provided throughout the text, and little prior knowledge or mathematical experience is required. Since statistics is a subject best learned through doing, frequent worked examples appear throughout Part Two "Handling your data", showingstep-by-step how to carry out the various statistical tests. In addition, online software walkthroughs and video screencasts clearly demonstrate how to use software such as SPSS, Minitab, and Excel to carry out statistical analyses.Online Resource CentreThe Online Resource Centre to accompany Research Methods for the Biosciences features:For students:* New video screencasts showing how to carry out statistical tests using software* Statistical software walkthroughs for SPSS, Excel, and Minitab* Additional statistical tests not included in the main text* Full details of calculations given in the in-text boxes* Interactive and printable decision tree, to help you design your experiment* Interactive and printable risk assessment form* Integrative exercises to help students test their understanding of the topics in the bookFor lecturers:* A test bank of questions* Figures from the book available to download
A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology by
From reading technical literature, to writing scientific papers and lab reports, gain practical advice in communicating specifically for biology with the Student Handbook for Writing in Biology.
Successful Scientific Writing by
Thoroughly revised and updated, the new edition of this acclaimed and best-selling guide offers a rich blend of practical advice and real-life examples. The authors draw on fifty years of experience, providing detailed step-by-step guidance designed to help students and researchers write and present scientific manuscripts more successfully through knowledge, practice, and an efficient approach. Retaining the user-friendly style of the previous editions, this fourth edition has been broadened to include detailed information relevant to today's digital world. It covers all aspects of the writing process, from first drafts, literature retrieval, and authorship to final drafts and electronic publication. A new section provides extensive coverage of ethical issues, from plagiarism and dual publication to honesty in reporting statistics. Both the text and 30 hands-on exercises include abundant examples applicable to a variety of writing contexts, making this a powerful tool for researchers and students across a range of disciplines.
Consult your subject guide for recommended journals.