Doing a literature review in health and social care : a practical guide by 
Partnerships for Public Health and Well-Being by
Written by a leading author, this text provides a much needed account of UK public health and well-being policies and considers their influence on practice. With an emphasis on the importance of inter-agency and inter-professional approaches, this text is vital reading for all students and practitioners of public health and well-being.
Essential Public Health by
How can society most effectively prevent disease and promote health? That is the challenge addressed by this textbook. Public health is the art and science of preventing disease, prolonging life and promoting health through the organised efforts of society. The 'science' is concerned with making a diagnosis of a population's health problems, establishing their cause and determining effective interventions. The 'art' lies in creatively addressing these problems. Essential Public Health captures both the art and science of the field. This second edition has been fully updated with contemporary examples and includes new chapters on sustainability and change, management and leadership. Examples are taken from health systems throughout the world, giving readers a wider perspective of the challenges faced. This is essential reading for all trainees in health care, social care and related disciplines. An internet companion includes supplementary information and interactive, self-assessment questions to test understanding and aid learning.
Introduction to Health Research Methods by
"Designed to empower new investigators to conduct their own original research projects, the Third Edition of Introduction to Health Research Methods provides a practical, step-by-step guide to conducting quantitative and qualitative research in medicine, public health, and other clinical and population health fields. Organized in five sections, the text covers the entire research process from formulating a study question and selecting a study approach to collecting and analyzing data and then disseminating the findings. Chapters about methods for primary studies (collecting new data), secondary analyses (analyzing existing data), and tertiary studies (conducting literature reviews and meta-analyses) provide comprehensive coverage of the scope of health research. By breaking the research process down into a series of achievable steps, Introduction to Health Research Methods shows students and early career scholars how they can contribute to improving the health of individuals and communities through research"--
Foundations for Health Promotion by
This hugely popular textbook provides a broad-based and user-friendly introduction to health promotion and its use in practice. Written by Professor Jane Wills, the book takes the reader through health promotion theory, strategy and methods, settings and implementation. It is clearly structured and accessibly written, with a discursive style that will appeal to readers of all levels and sufficient theoretical depth for undergraduates and postgraduates alike. Foundations for Health Promotion is suitable for students and practitioners of nursing, medicine, dentistry, allied health and social work, who will learn the essentials of health promotion as a discipline and reflect on its potential for their own work. Packed with interactive exercises to consolidate learning Focus on application of knowledge to practice Self-reflection on practice in each chapter to encourage deeper engagement Case studies and research examples provide evidence base for health promotion in different professions and areas of practice New chapters on health protection, communicating health and healthy universities New chapter on evaluating research and evidence - key components of workforce competencies Thoroughly revised and updated throughout to reflect recent changes in health promotion theories, practice and policy Accompanying videos narrated by Professor Wills give an overview of key topics
Public Health for Children by
This re-titled new edition of Public Health Practice and the School-age Population has been updated and expanded to include children of all ages. Following radical changes in public health provision, Public Health for Children, Second Edition examines the implications for children and young adults as well as for those who provide care, prevention,
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals by
What is evidence-based practice and why do we need it?How do I critique evidence?How do I use evidence to drive practice?If you are looking for jargon-free answers to these questions and much more, this is the book for you.In Evidence-based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare, the authors use case studies, examples, and theoretical overviews to guide you through the concept of evidence-based practice and provide practical guidance on its utilisation in clinical practice.The new 4th edition has been fully updated to reflect contemporary practice and includes a new chapter on the 'History and Development of Clinical Academics,' which looks at clinical academic careers and the impact and benefits this has for nurses and healthcare professionals on their clinical practice. Written to support nurses at pre and post-registration, the book includes an interdisciplinary focus covering health and social care curricula.
Leadership : theory and practice by
The market-leading Leadership: Theory and Practicepresents an academically robust account of the major theories and models of leadership with a focus on how theory can inform practice. Author Peter G. Northouse uses a consistent structure for each chapter that allows readers to easily compare and contrast different theories. Case studies and questionnaires provide students with practical examples and opportunities to deepen their understanding of their own leadership style. The fully updated Ninth Editionfeatures a new chapter on inclusive leadership, 17 new real-world cases that profile leaders from across the globe, a new discussion on leadership and morality, and examples of timely issues such as leadership during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Principles of planning, evaluation, and research for health care programs by
Principles of Planning, Evaluation, and Research for Health Care Programs provides a basic understanding of the importance of and the key approaches used to conduct health program research and evaluations. The book also examines ethical and cultural competency issues unique to conducting evaluations. Additionally, it offers an introduction to systems thinking and its implications for evaluating the impact of interventions.Written with the undergraduate in mind, this book is ideal for students pursuing a wide spectrum of health careers. Through activities and case studies, readers will gain a solid foundation for understanding all aspects of evaluation while developing the critical thinking skills needed to dissect peer-reviewed publications as well as popular media health claims.Key features- Comprehensively covers the the topics needed to review published literature, collect primary data, analyze data using basic statistics, and present results in written or verbal formats for their intended audiences.- Students will learn terminology, levels and types of measurement, data collection methods, sampling and basic statistical analysis.- New chapter on program planning that includes community partners, stakeholders, and useful models, such as MAP-IT.- Numerous examples and case studies, including additional ones on timely topics such as opioids, gun violence, mental health, and LGBTQ- New Critical Thinking boxes engage students and offer links to relevant YouTube videos.
Qualitative Research by
Written by leaders of qualitative methodology, this book provides up-to-date and interdisciplinary insight into a range of qualitative methods.Bringing together different perspectives, contributors discuss theoretical underpinnings of these methods before taking readers through the process of each approach and helping them develop skills needed to carry out this type of research autonomously and with confidence.Highlights include: New chapters on multimethod qualitative research, using digital data and video, and addressing social issues in research. More guidance on how to store and manage data appropriately. Advice on how to publish research in journals. Full of practical tips, exercises and summaries, this book continues to be a masterclass in qualitative research for students and researchers across the social sciences and beyond.
Community and Public Health Nursing by
"An extremely popular and valuable resource to students, practitioners and managers in community health care nursing" - Journal of Advanced Nursing The fifth edition of Community and Public Health Nursing is an essential source of information for all those working in primary and community healthcare. Comprehensive and accessible, it draws on the knowledge of a wide range of experts and conveys all the information and skills nurses working in modern primary care settings require. It includes material on policy developments, research perspectives, health visiting, practice and district nursing, team working, advanced nursing practice, non-medical prescribing, inter-professional practice, and user involvement. New edition of the definitive textbook on community healthcare nursing Covers learning disability nursing, caring for patients with mental health conditions, and community children's nursing and school nursing Written by experts in the field - providing authority and insight Thorough, comprehensive, and up-to-date with the latest policy guidelines Community and Public Health Nursing is an invaluable resource for novice and experienced practitioners, and for all healthcare professionals who work in the primary care and community setting, including practice nurses, nurse practitioners, district nurses, community staff nurses, health visitors, school nurses, walk-in centre nurses and sexual health nurses. This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from iTunes, Google Play or the MedHand Store.