Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Dissertation reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Reading by Subject
Doing Your Early Years Research Project by Undertaking a research project can be a daunting task for early years students. This step-by-step guide clearly shows you how to organize and structure your project, write a literature review, interpret findings, and successfully present your research. Bringing the whole process to life through practical examples and real case studies, the book is packed with summaries, key points, checklists, and discussion topics, encouraging you to engage with and reflect on your own work. The Third Edition is fully updated to include: New chapters on writing your literature review and structuring your final project Increased coverage of e-research data collection methods New real-life student examples and case studies from the UK and internationally Additional online 'top tips' videos from the author. This is an essential companion for students on undergraduate and postgraduate early childhood courses, teacher education, nursing, and social sciences. It is also useful for early years practitioners required to carry out small-scale research. Dr. Guy Roberts-Holmes is Senior Lecturer in Early Childhood Education at the Institute of Education, University of London.
Call Number: 372.21072 ROB
Publication Date: 2014
Your Research Project by In the third edition of this bestselling book, you'll find everything you need to embark upon your research project and write your proposal with confidence. Written with the needs of undergraduate and postgraduate students as well as practitioners in mind, Your Research Project will guide you through the process of formulating a research question, choosing your research methods, planning your research, and writing your proposal. Fully updated and revised, the new edition features: o A comprehensive introduction to the purpose and nature of research o Expanded coverage of writing a research plan or proposal o An overview of qualitative and quantitative methods of data collection and analysis, as well as more on mixed methods research designs o New sections on digital media and online research methods o Exercises and examples to provide students from across the social sciences with the practical tools needed to succeed in their project. Nicholas Walliman is Senior Lecturer in the School of the Built Environment at Oxford Brookes University.
Call Number: STSK 300.72 WAL
Publication Date: 2011
Developing Effective Research Proposals by Lecturers, request your electronic inspection copy This is your step-by-step guide to success with your research proposal. This new edition covers every section of the proposal, telling you all you need to know on how to structure it, bring rigour to your methods section, impress your readers and get your proposal accepted. With practical tips and advice throughout, new features include: Comprehensive explanation of method and methodology, and how to maximize this crucial section of your proposal A new section on mixed methods: an increasingly common approach in research A new chapter on how to get it right with ethics Fresh exercises and activities, now for each key chapter. The Third Edition provides an authoritative and accessible guide for anyone tackling a research proposal. It is perfect for students in education, nursing, health, and across the social sciences.
Call Number: STSK 300.72 PUN
Publication Date: 2016
Social Research Methods, 5th ed. by This introduction to research methods provides students and researchers with unrivalled coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods, making it invaluable for anyone embarking on social research. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, Social Research Methods, Fifth Edition, is packed full of engaging examples and practical tips to equip students with the tools and knowledge needed for them to complete their own research projects. In addition to providing practical advice, author Alan Bryman deftly explores the nature of social research and the wider issues impinging on it.
Call Number: STSK 300.72 BRY
Publication Date: 2016
Research Design: Research design : qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches, 4th ed. by Not for sale in the USA & Canada The eagerly anticipated Fourth Edition of the title that pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design is here! For all three approaches, Creswell includes a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research approaches, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. He also presents the key elements of the research process, giving specific attention to each approach. The Fourth Edition includes extensively revised mixed methods coverage, increased coverage of ethical issues in research, and an expanded emphasis on worldview perspectives. PRAISE FOR CRESWELL'S RESEARCH DESIGN: 'It provides all of the necessary information and tools to guide my doctoral students through writing their dissertation (research) proposals. Each chapter provides content information, examples that demonstrate the application of the content, suggestions for writing activities, and additional resources. All of this together in one textbook is phenomenal.' -- R.M. Cooper, Drake University 'Creswell's is a more comprehensive discussion of design. Most texts approach this issue as either a book on qualitative methods, or one on quantitative methods. Additionally, my students appreciate the language. While not simple, the language and tone in this book are both accessible and inviting.' -- Gilberto Arriaza, California State University-East Bay 'The accessibility of the content is a key strength. The students indicated that they will continue to use as a resource after the class is over.' -- Heather J. Brace, Whittier College
Call Number: STSK 300.72 CRE
Publication Date: 2013
Interpreting Qualitative Data by In this fifth edition of his field-defining text, David Silverman, a true guru of qualitative research, walks the reader through the basics of gathering and analyzing qualitative data. The book offers beginners unrivalled hands-on guidance to help them get the best out of a research methods course or research project. New to the fifth edition: A streamlined structure to aid navigation and guide readers smoothly through the research process. A new chapter on generalizing from case-study research which addresses the perennial issue of 'how many cases do you need?' New material on doing qualitative research online and the ethics of internet research. Additional sections covering organizational documents and documents of everyday life, including blogs and diaries. Many more recent case study examples drawn from a broad range of disciplines including business, education, social work and geography as well as health studies. A new and improved companion website, full of additional resources for students and lecturers. This is the perfect companion for all those new to qualitative research. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Call Number: STSK 300.721 SIL
Publication Date: 2015
Research with Children by The entirely revised third edition of Research with Children forms a unique resource book on the methodology of childhood research with a core emphasis on theory driven practices. As in the previous two editions, this edition presents particular standpoints in the field, whilst also reflecting the latest developments in the now well-established interdisciplinary field of childhood studies. A rich collection of contributions from leading researchers across a range of disciplinary backgrounds, research practices and theoretical perspectives discuss central questions of epistemology and methodology, demonstrating the links between theory and practice. This edition includes exciting new chapters on: Internet-based research and contemporary technology, Family based research, Children as researchers, Participatory research in the global context, New directions for childhood research. Both theoretical and practical questions are set out in a well-argued fashion that enables easier navigation through the various complexities of the epistemological and methodological questions arising in contemporary research practices with children. As such, this text will appeal to both the newcomer to childhood studies and to experienced researchers in the field. With fully updated chapters, new material and a revised, clearer structure, this new edition will be a valuable resource for researchers working with children.
Call Number: 305.23072 CHR
Publication Date: 2017
Listening to Young Children by Viewing children as 'experts in their own lives', the Mosaic approach offers a creative framework for listening to young children's perspectives through talking, walking, making and reviewing together. Serving as a tool to ensure that children's views and experiences become the focus for reviewing quality in early childhood provision, it explains how children's own photographs, tours and maps can be joined to interviews and observations to enable adults to gain deeper understandings of young children's lives. This updated second edition builds on the authors' original ground-breaking work, and offers case studies of the Mosaic approach in action, as well as guidance on using and adapt the framework in different settings. The Mosaic approach can also be adapted to work with older children, particularly those with communication difficulties or for whom English is an additional language. Listening to Young Children is required reading for practitioners in nurseries, children's centres, pre-schools and schools and residential settings. It will also be welcomed by early childhood students and other researchers looking for new theoretical, practical and imaginative ways of listening to young children.
Call Number: 372 CLA
Publication Date: 2011
Understanding Research with Children and Young People by How do views about children shape research concerned with their lives? What different forms can research with children take? What ethical issues does it involve? How does it impact on policy and practice, and on the lives of children themselves? This book helps you to understand how research is designed and carried out to explore questions about the lives of children and young people. It tackles the methodological, practical and ethical challenges involved, and features examples of actual research that illustrate: Different strategies for carrying out research Common challenges that arise in the research process Varying modes of engagement that researchers can adopt with participants and audiences; and The impact that research can have on future studies, policy and practice.
Call Number: 305.2307 CLA
Publication Date: 2013
Researching Children's Experiences by This accessible book presents approaches to planning, carrying out, and analyzing research projects with children and youth from a social constructivist perspective. Rich, contextualized examples illustrate how to elicit and understand the lived experiences of diverse young people. Data-collection methods discussed in depth include drawing, photography, the Internet, games, interviewing, focus groups, journaling, and observation. Also covered are strategies for fostering the active contributions of children in the research process; navigating consent and ethical issues; enlisting the support of parents, school personnel, and other gatekeepers; and interpreting data. Throughout, the authors emphasize the need to attend to the social setting in which research with children is done. End-of-chapter questions and exercises encourage readers to reflect on taken-for-granted conceptions of children and childhood and to try out the book's ideas in their own research projects.
Call Number: 155.4 FRE
Publication Date: 2008
Doing Ethical Research with Children by "Doing Ethical Research with Children is an invaluable resource for all student and practitioner-researchers who wish to honour children as active agents and significant voices in research. The book guides the reader through the processes of ethical research with (not on!) children, positioning the child as competent and capable. It includes practical guidance and examples of research so that issues that may emerge during a research project can be anticipated. My advice is - do not embark on an Early Years research project before reading it!" Lyn Trodd, Chair of the National Sector-Endorsed Foundation Degree in Early Years Network (SEFDEY), University of Hertfordshire, UK "Doing Ethical Research with Children provides an invaluable guide to understanding and managing the ethical implications of research projects with children. The highly accessible format includes useful case-study examples, questions and checklists and the four-phased approach supports the reader to reflect on ethical considerations at every stage of the research process. This book is a welcome and essential resource that positions ethical perspectives at the heart of research activity with children." Shirley Allen, Senior Lecturer Early Childhood Studies, Middlesex University, UK "This is an admirably clear and well-structured book that will be invaluable for anyone serious about research with children. The authors write from long experience, and provide a very helpful 'step by step' guide that is always underpinned by deeply principled, insightful considerations that exemplify good practice and respect for children. The use of real examples along with the authors' questions, invite the reader to reflect on their own thinking and actions, and the extensive checklists and sample documentation provide clear guidance that will be a valuable support for students and their supervisors, researchers, and practitioners alike. I look forward to making good use of this book in my own work and in my work with students of early childhood." Sue Robson, Principal Lecturer, Subject Leader for Early Childhood Studies University of Roehampton, London, UK This book provides a step-by-step guide to approaching your research project and will support you in developing, conducting and disseminating research relating to children and childhood with an ethical imperative. Doing Ethical Research with Children will help you focus and identify many of the key issues surrounding research with children. The book presents an overview of both contemporary and traditional perspectives relating to child related research practices. The authors combine relevant theoretical and practical information, offering a guide to the essential elements for conducting ethical research with children. You are prompted to consider and systematically address these elements, with the help of: Real world 'points to ponder', offering unique insights 'Over to you' reflection activities Case studies considering ethical dilemmas Written specifically as a guide and reflection tool for beginning researchers studying early years and childhood, the book follows the research journey from conceptualisation to dissemination and looks at the unique considerations for research involving children.
Call Number: 305.23072 SAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Focus Group Methodology by Focus Group Methodology is an introductory text which leads readers through the entire process of designing a focus group study, from conducting interviews to analysing data and presenting the findings. It also includes discussions on cross-cultural and virtual focus group. Liamputtong presents clear, practical advice in simple terms which will be appropriate for undergraduate and postgraduate students who are undertaking research, making this an ideal starter text for anyone new to focus group research. Like her previous book, Researching the Vulnerable, Liamputtong's latest work pays close attention to research ethics and will also be of great interest to researchers who are working with different social groups - such as women, men, older people, children and ethnic groups - and anybody who is engaging in cross-cultural research. Illustrated with case studies and examples throughout, this is a perfect introduction to focus group methods for students and new researchers alike.
Call Number: 300.723 LIA
Publication Date: 2011
Reflexive Methodology by Praise for the First Edition: 'Reflexive Methodology is a textbook indispensable to any young researcher. It does not tell its readers how to do research. It does something much more important: It shows how research has been done in the qualitative tradition, thus encouraging the readers to make their own choices' - Barbara Czarniawska, Goteborg University 'I would go so far as to argue that this book should be on the reading list of all social scientists and philosophers with an interest in the theory and practice of research' - Prometheus Reflexive Methodology established itself as a groundbreaking success, providing researchers with an invaluable guide to a central problem in research methodology - how to put field research and interpretations in perspective, paying attention to the interpretive, political and rhetorical nature of empirical research. Now thoroughly updated, the Second Edition includes a new chapter on positivism, social constructionism and critical realism, and offers new conclusions on the applications of methodology. It also provides further illustrations and updates that build on the acclaimed and successful first edition. Reflexivity is an essential part of the research process. In this book, Mats Alvesson and Kaj Skoldberg make explicit the links between techniques used in empirical research and different research traditions, giving a theoretically informed approach to qualitative research. The authors provide balanced reviews and critiques of the major schools of grounded theory, ethnography, hermeneutics, critical theory, postmodernism and poststructuralism, discourse analysis, genealogy and feminism. This book points the way to a more open-minded, creative interaction between theoretical frameworks and empirical research. It continues to be essential reading for students and researchers across the social sciences.
Call Number: STSK 300.72 ALV
Publication Date: 2009