Special Education in Contemporary Society by
The Fifth Edition of Richard Gargiulo's well-respected Special Education in Contemporary Society: An Introduction to Exceptionality offers a comprehensive, engaging, and easy-to-read introduction to special education. Grounded in research and updated to reflect the most current thinking and standards of the field, the book provides students with the skills and knowledge to become successful teachers. Gargiulo's text encourages a deep awareness and understanding of the human side of special education. The book provides students a rare glimpse into the lives of exceptional students and their families, as well as the teachers that work with exceptional persons throughout their lives. The New Edition of Gargiulo's groundbreaking text maintains the broad context and research focus for which it is known, while expanding on current trends and contemporary issues to better serve both pre-service and in-service teachers of exceptional individuals. The text is organized into two distinct parts to offer students a truly comprehensive and humane understanding of exceptionality. In Part I, readers are provided strong foundational perspective on broad topics that affect all individuals with an exceptionality. In Part II, Gargiulo engages students with thorough examinations of individual exceptionalities, and discusses historical, personal, and educational details of each exceptionality as it affects a person across the lifespan. "This is a well-written, comprehensive, well-organized text. It is obvious that much thought has been put into the supplementary materials and features."--Jenny Fererro, Palomar College
Exceptional children : an introduction to special education by 
Disorders of childhood : development and psychopathology by 
Introduction to Abnormal Child and Adolescent Psychology by 
Commonsense Methods for Children with Special Educational Needs by
This fully revised and updated seventh edition of Commonsense Methods for Children with Special Educational Needs continues to offer practical advice on evidence-based teaching methods and intervention strategies for helping children with a wide range of disabilities or difficulties. The advice the author provides is embedded within a clear theoretical context and draws on the latest international research and literature from the field. Coverage includes: learning difficulties and disabilities students with autism spectrum disorders, intellectual disability, physical or health issues, and sensory impairments gifted and talented students developing social skills and self-management behaviour management teaching methods literacy and numeracy curriculum differentiation and adaptive teaching computer-based instruction and e-learning. Peter Westwood also provides additional information and advice on transition from school to employment for students with disabilities, lesson study, e-learning, and computer-aided instruction, and reflects on the important changes made within the latest Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5).
Atypical Child Development in Context by
The book considers the important issue of what is 'normal' and what is 'atypical' in child development. It examines the main processes involved in developing atypically, as well as the circumstances and conditions associated with it. The second edition is fully updated and features new research, case studies, real-life examples and figures.
Educating Special Students by
Educating Special Studentsis the definitive guide toevidence based practice and professionally informed approaches to provision for special students. Now in its third edition, the book sets out ideas of best practice relating to different disabilities and disorders, helpfully discussing what might constitute effective provision. This edition has been updated to take account of new ways of classifying disabilities and disorders, and recent developments in research and practice, including the 2014 SEND Code of Practice (England) and the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders Fifth Edition DSM-5(tm). A new appendix provides information on basic anatomy and physiology. International in scope, the book explores issues relating to: intellectual disability (profound, moderate to severe, and mild) sensory impairments orthopaedic impairment and motor disorders, health impairments, and traumatic brain injury oppositional defiant disorder, conduct disorder, anxiety disorders, depressive disorders, and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder communication disorders (speech, grammar and comprehension, semantics and pragmatics), and autism spectrum disorder specific learning disorders with impairment in reading, written expression and mathematics, and developmental co-ordination disorder. Educating Special Studentswill be of interest to all those studying special education, professionals, and others committed to seeking the best provision for special students.
Special educational needs, inclusion and diversity by 
Special Educational Needs: A Guide for Inclusive Practice by
′This book is timely. I hope that it will be very widely read′ - Mary Warnock With a Foreword from Baroness Mary Warnock, this book provides a comprehensive overview of the field of special educational needs (SEN). It contains chapters written by a range of experts on different aspects of SEN, and is full of practical suggestions for how to achieve effective, inclusive practice. Various research perspectives are considered, the value of labels is examined and the need to recognize the overlapping characteristics between different syndromes is highlighted. Chapters focus on translating theory into classroom practice, and include case studies covering the Birth to 19 age range. There is coverage of: SEN and the state of research SEN and legal issues Parents′ perspectives Speech and language difficulties Dyspraxia and occupational therapy Dyslexia and dyscalculia Auditory Processing Disorder Behavioural Optometry Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) Asperger′s Syndrome and Autistic Spectrum Disorder Tourette′s Syndrome. Ideal for those undertaking teacher education courses, as well as experienced teachers, therapists and policy makers, this book is a guide to understanding and supporting learners with additional needs.
Child Development and Teaching Pupils with Special Educational Needs by 
Providing Support at Home for Children and Young People who have Complex Health Needs by 