Developmental Psychology by
What does it mean to say that one child is more intelligent than another? Does it really make a difference if we talk to babies even though they can't understand us? What makes children with the same parents have different characters? At what age are children likely to become involved in cyberbullying? Developmental Psychology 2nd edition provides a clear and lively coverage of the main topics and concepts required by the British Psychological Society (BPS). The book takes a broadly topical organisation addressing the social and cognitive strands of development, providing an intuitive pathway through the core topics, and a final section which focuses on the clinical and applied aspects of the subject. This second edition include updated and expanded coverage of play, motor development, genetics and research methods
An Introduction to Child Development by
An Introduction to Child Development, Third Edition provides undergraduate students in psychology and other disciplines with a comprehensive survey of the main areas of child development, from infancy through to adolescence, in a readily accessible format. It equips students with an appreciation of the critical issues, while providing balanced coverage of topics that represent both classic and cutting edge work in this vast and fascinating field.The new edition has been fully updated and features: Topical research examples from current literature in psychology, education, nursing and medicine including new material on fetal learning and the role of play New and expanded sections covering key contemporary issues in cognitive, emotional and social development New features such as ′Points for Reflection′ boxes, designed to encourage the reader to reflect more deeply on the subject matter Access to an enhanced SAGE Edge companion website which features online readings, Powerpoint Slides, 'Test Yourself' questions and much more (https://edge.sagepub.com/keenan3e). This textbook is essential reading for undergraduate students taking an introductory course in child development or developmental psychology and provides a clear and accessible foundation for essays, assignments and other projects.
Theories of Human Development by
Key human development theories that continue to guide research and practice are examined in this engaging text. Ten key theories are grouped into three families - those that emphasize biological systems, environmental factors, and those that reflect an interaction between the two. This organization enhances students' ability to evaluate, compare, and contrast theories both within and across families. Each family is introduced with an overview of their unique perspectives and the rationale for grouping them together. Discussion of each theory includes the cultural/historical context during the theory's development, its key concepts and ideas, extensions of the theory in contemporary work, an example showing a modification of the theory, an application of how the theory is used to inform practice, and an analysis of how the theory answers 6 basic questions that a human development theory should address. Each chapter includes an overview of the strengths and weaknesses of the theories to facilitate comparisons.　 Theories that have a clear lifespan focus along with cases and examples that address issues across the lifespan are included The second edition features: -A new chapter on bioecological theory that highlights the increased use of this theory in the development of family, school, and community intervention programs. -A new epilogue that examines the same case via each of the ten theories illustrating their similarities and differences and how these ideas cast a unique light on a common situation. -New opening casesthat bring theory to life along with narrative that links the case to the chapter's concepts, guiding questionsthat help students compare theoretical perspectives, critical thinking questionsthat focus on using the theory to interpret the case and personal life experiences, and recommended resources that extend students' understanding. -More examples from various disciplines that address topics students are likely to encounter as professionals.　 -A new glossary that defines the boldfaced key terms. -Enhanced website at www.psypress.com/9781848726673 that provides instructorswith a test bank, Power points, discussion questions and activities, additional cases with questions, teaching notes for using the book with various types of majors, and a conversion guide outlining changes to the new edition and students withkey terms with hot links to their definitions, chapter summaries and outlines, and additional resources for further study. -Updated research and applications highlight the latest scientific developments. Ideal for advanced undergraduate or beginning graduate courses in theories of development, lifespan or child development taught in psychology, human development, family studies, education, and social work.
Developmental Psychology by
This popular, topically organized, and thoroughly updated child and adolescent development text presents you with the best theories, research, and practical advice that developmentalists have to offer today. Authors David R. Shaffer and Katherine Kipp provide you with a current and comprehensive overview of child and adolescent development, written in clear, concise language that talks "to" you rather than "at" you. The authors also focus on application showing how theories and research apply to real-life settings. As a result, you will gain an understanding of developmental principles that will help you in your roles as parents, teachers, nurses, day-care workers, pediatricians, psychologists, or in any other capacity by which you may one day influence the lives of developing persons. Available with InfoTrac Student Collections http://gocengage.com/infotrac.
The Developing Person Through Childhood and Adolescence by
Edition after edition, Kathleen Stassen Berger's "The Developing Person Through Childhood and Adolescence" re-emerges as the ideal textbook for the chronologically-organized development course--a perennial bestseller that always provides an authoritative portrait of the field, carefully crafted learning tools, and a narrative style and emphasis on cultural contexts that make the material relevant to its broad student audience. The new edition continues that tradition, incorporating the latest research, while providing deeper consideration of the impact of diversity on development, and a new generation of media tools."
A Student's Guide to Developmental Psychology by 
Child Development from Infancy to Adolescence by
This exciting chronological introduction to child development employs the lauded active learning approach of Laura E. Levine and Joyce Munsch's successful topical text, inviting students to forge a personal connection to the latest topics shaping the field, including neuroscience, diversity, culture, play, and media. Using innovative pedagogy, Child Development From Infancy to Adolescence: An Active Learning Approach reveals a wide range of real-world applications for research and theory, creating an engaging learning experience that equips students with tools they can use long after the class ends.
The development of children 8th ed., International ed. by 
An Introduction to Theories of Human Development by 
Key Concepts in Developmental Psychology by 
An Introduction to Developmental Psychology by
A representative and authoritative 'state of the art' account of human development from conception to adolescence. Written at an easy-to-comprehend level by an international team of respected researchers, conveying their knowledge with enthusiasm and skill. Full supporting materials - chapter overviews, discussion questions, suggestions for further reading, and glossary. Chapters covering applied issues in developmental psychology
Developmental Psychology and Early Childhood Education by 
