Understanding Research with Children and Young People by 
Doing Ethical Research with Children by 
Introduction to Social Research by
In the new edition of Introduction to Social Research, Keith Punch takes a fresh look at the entire research process, from formulating a research question to writing up your research. Covering qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods, the book focuses on matching research questions to appropriate methods. Offering concise, balanced coverage, this book clearly explains the underlying principles of social research and shows you how to put this understanding into practice. The third edition includes: - A new chapter on literature searching and reviewing - Expanded coverage of ethics - A new section on using the internet in research - A range of additional student learning features - A brand new companion website including full-text journal articles, additional case studies and student exercises. Using a range of examples from student research and published work, the book is an ideal introduction for any social science student taking a research methods course or embarking on their own undergraduate or postgraduate research project.
There are no specific journals recommended for this module, however, the following are important journals for Early Childhood Studies:
Early Childhood Research Quarterly
There are no specific websites recommended for this module, however the following are useful government websites for Early Childhood Studies:
Children's Rights Alliance
Ethical Research involving Children (ERIC)
National Children's Bureau
UNICEF
Researching Children and Youth by
Clark, J. and Richards, S. 'The cherished conceits of Research with children: Does seeking the agnetic voice of the child through participatory methods deliver what it promises?'
Researching Children and Youth: Methodological Issues, Strategies, and Innovations, part of the Sociological Studies of Children and Youth series, seeks to fill a void in current publications directly addressing the problems and pitfalls that often accompany researching children and youth in today's society. Sociologists face increasingly limited access to children and youth given their "vulnerable" status, growing requirements from Institutional Review Boards, and more restricted access from organizations and educational institutions. As a result, researchers must be creative in the pursuit of researching kids and teens. Chapters in this volume address such topics as participatory and feminist ethnographic approaches, digital mining, children's agency, and navigating IRBs. The importance of contextualizing sociological research with children with special consideration of space, location, and identity thematically runs throughout all of the contributions to this volume.
Social Research Methods by
Chapters 1, 2 and 6
This introduction to research methods provides students and researchers with unrivalled coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods, making it invaluable for anyone embarking on social research. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, Social Research Methods, Fifth Edition, is packed full of engaging examples and practical tips to equip students with the tools and knowledge needed for them to complete their own research projects. In addition to providing practical advice, author Alan Bryman deftly explores the nature of social research and the wider issues impinging on it.
Researching Children's Experience by 
Doing Research with Children by 
The Reality of Research with Children and Young People by 
Doing Quantitative Research in Education with SPSS by 
Research Methods for Education by
Research Methods for Education, Second Edition takes the student by the hand and guides them through the complex subject of research methods in an engaging, witty and clear way. The book covers the philosophical approaches and epistemology, as well as the practical aspects of research, such as designing questionnaires and presenting conclusions. Each chapter is split into 'Context' and 'Practice' and both sections are packed with exercises, examples and comparative international material from other educational contexts, Peter Newby's book is the student-friendly text which demystifies the research process with clarity and verve. Key features: -written in a clear and friendly manner to help students feel more confident dealing with the complexities of research and particularly useful for those new to research or less confident with numbers -a mixed methods approach, which doesn't simply prioritise quantitative or qualitative methods, allowing for greatest possible coverage contains guidance on analytic procedures that require more advanced tools such as SPSS and Minitab -many excellent international examples and case studies specifically from education, which breaks away from a parochial focus on UK education system.
Doing Your Early Years Research Project by
This bestselling guide to undertaking your Early Years research project takes the reader on a practical step-by-step journey. Breaking down each section into accessible and digestible topics, and accompanied by a multitude of practical examples, case studies, research summaries and key points, the author brings this process to life. The updated and revised fourth edition includes: Useful additional resources at the end of each chapter Extended material on the child's voice within research Signposted glossary terms throughout the text Updated website materials for further study From learning how to structure and organise your project, through to the final presentation and written report of your findings, this is the essential guide and companion for undergraduate and postgraduate students throughout their early childhood and social science courses. Guy Roberts-Holmes will be discussing key ideas from Doing Your Early Years Research Project: A Step-by-Step Guide in the SAGE Early Years Masterclass, a free professional development experience hosted by Kathy Brodie. To sign up, or for more information, click here.
Real World Research by
Real World Research provides a clear route-map of the various steps needed to carry out a piece of applied research to a high professional standard. It is accessible to those without a social science background while providing rigorous and fully up-to-date coverage of contemporary issues and debates. It brings together materials and approaches from different social science disciplines, seeing value in both quantitative and qualitative approaches, as well as their combination in mixed-method designs.
Qualitative Research by
A who's who of methodologists, this book introduces students to the big picture of qualitative research, teaching both the 'why' and the 'how to' of getting started, selecting a method and conducting research and data analysis. With practical tips, summaries, exercises and further reading, each chapter is like a masterclass from a leading scholar in qualitative research. New to the fourth edition: A streamlined structure to guide readers step-by-step through the research process Substantial new section with 4 chapters on how to collect and analyse online data A new chapter on reflexive ethnography More hands-on advice on how to conduct research at every stage, making this a perfect field handbook Updated reading lists provide a go-to guide to the literature and help improve citations The most comprehensive qualitative research book available, this is the perfect all-in-one companion for any student embarking on a qualitative research course or project.
Interpreting Qualitative Data by 
Ethical Research with Children by
An increasing interest in children's lives has tested the ethical and practical limits of research. Rather than making tricky ethical decisions, transparent researchers tend to gloss over stories that do not fit with sanitized narratives. This book aims to fill this gap by making explicit the lived experiences of research with children.
